Imagens das páginas
[ocr errors]

sented it lately to the committee-room of the New Gaol, where it may now be viewed, with a suitable inscription.

In pursuance also of the same act of Parliament, on the north side of the High-Street, between St. Martin's and All Saints' Churches, was erected the New General Market, from a plan furnished by Mr. Gwynn, 317 feet long, and 112 wide, equal to any thing of the kind in the kingdom.

The City of Oxford, with its suburbs and liberties, consists of fourteen parishes. 1. St. Mary's.

3. St. Mary Magdalen's, 2. All-Saints.

9. St. Peter's in the East. 3. St Martin's, or Carfax. 10. Holywell. 4. St. Aldate's, or St. Old's. 11. St. Giles's. 5. St. Ebb's.

12. St. Thomas's. 6. St. Peter's in the Bailey. || 13. St. John's. 7. St. Michael's.

14. St. Clement's. Only three of the Churches belonging to these parishes are worthy of observation, viz. St. Mary's, All-Saints, and St. Peter's in the East.

St. Mary's stands on the north side of the High-Street, and is the Church used by the University on Sundays and Holydays. It is well proportioned, and handsomely built in the Gothic style. The Porch is in a more modern taste; the benefaction of Dr. Morgan Owen in 1637, and built by Nicholas Stone, senior. The Church consists of three ailes, and a large chan

cel, which is paved with black and white marble. The Vice-Chancellor sits at the west end of the middle aile, on a throne elevated some few steps; a little below which sit the two Proctors; on either hand the Heads of Houses and Doctors; below these the young Noblemen ; and in the area, on benches, the Masters of Arts. At the west end also, with a return to the north and south ailes, are galleries for the Bachelors and Under-Graduates; and under the middle ones are seats for the Ladies. The tower and spire, which rises to the perpendicular height of 180 feet, is a noble and beautiful structure, and contains a ring of six large bells. The room on the north side of the chancel, lately repaired in the style of the rest of the Church, is now the Common Law School, where the Vinerian Prafessor reads his Lectures.

The Church of All Saints, situated in the High-Street, is an elegant inodern structure, much in the style of many of the new Churches in London. It is beautified, both within and without, with Corinthian pilasters, and finished with an attic story and balustrade. There is no pillar in the Church, though it is 72 feet long, 42 wide, and 50 high. The ceiling, altar, pulpit, &c. are finely executed. The steeple is remarkable in the modern inanner.

Its architect was Dr. Aldrich, forinerly Dean of Christ Church.

The Church of St. Peter in the East, standing

near the High-Street, was partly built by St. Grymbald, about the year 886, and is supposed to be the most ancient structure, not in ruins, in England. It was formerly the University Church; and even at present, with a view of ascertaining their original claim, the University attend their sermons in it every Sunday in the afternoon during Lent. The tower and east end are curious pieces of antiquity. In the year 1760 this Church was beautified and new pewed at the expence of the Parish; and in 1768, by a liberal subscription from the Inhabitants and such Heads of Houses as live in the Parish, the Organ was rebuilt by Messrs. Green and Byfield, of London.


The Public Schools, with one side of the Library on the west, form a square of 105 feet: the principal front on the outside is about 175 feet in length; in the middle of it is a gate with a magnificent tower. Three sides of the upper story of the Quadrangle are one entire room, called the Picture GALLERY, near the middle of which is a Statue in Brass of PHILIP Earl of Peinbroke, by Hubert le Sæur, the Artist who cast the equestrian Statue of Charles I. at Charing-Cross: it is also furnished with the Portraits of most of the Founders of the Colleges, by

[ocr errors]

Sunman, many learned and famous men, by various artists, several large Cabinets of Medals, and some Cases of Books, being intended as a continuation of the Bodleian Library. Dr. Tanner, Bishop of St. Asaph, gave his valuable Collection of Manuscripts to the University, together with a sum of money to erect proper cases for them : they are deposited near the entrance into the Gallery; as are Mr. Willis's and Mr. Godwyn's, together with other Collections of Books and Coins.

Dr. Butler, formerly President of Magdalen College, and the late Duke of Beaufort, were at the expence of new wainscotting the Gallery, since which the Pictures have been cleaned and repaired, more, advantageously disposed, and their number greatly increased by late Benefactors.

The UNIVERSITY LIBRARY, usually called the Bodleian, from Sir Thomas Bodley, its principal Founder, is a large lofty structure, in the form of a Roman H, and is said to contain the greatest number of Books of any Library, in Europe (except that of the Vatican), a Catalogue whereof is printed in two folio volumes.

The ground, on which the Divinity-School is built, was purchased in the year 1427 ; the building was begun at the expence of the University, and, after some intermission, carried on and completed in 1480 by Humphrey Duke of

« AnteriorContinuar »