Imagens das páginas
PDF
ePub

the late Dr. Lee, Physician to King George II. at the expence of 20,0001. with a proper stipend to the Lecturer, &c. In it is a fine collection of anatomical preparations and injections. The Wide Gravel Walk, shaded on each side with elms, deserves our notice, being a quarter of a mile in length, and of a proportionable breadth. It commands a sight of Lord Harcourt's seat, a pleasant prospect of the Meadows, the Thames, and some adjacent villages.

This College was founded by Cardinal Wolsey, upon the place where formerly stood the Priory of St. Frideswide, which, and several other religious foundations, were dissolved, in order to endow the new College intended by the Cardinal. The design was far from being completed at the time of the Cardinal's disgrace; little more being built than the east, south, and part, of the west sides of the great quadrangle, and the Kitchen, And as to the foundation itself, , whatever it might be at that time, it is certain it was afterwards lessened, and the form of it. altered two or three times by the King. The disgrace of the Cardinal happened in the year 1529, when the King seized upon this College, as well as the other estates belonging to the Cardinal. In the year 1532, at the instance of Lord Cromwell, the King new-modelled the foundation, and gave it the name of King Henry the Eighth's College. This was suppressed in

1545, and in the year following the Episcopal see was removed from Oseney to this College, and the Church of St. Frideswide constituted a Cathedral, by the name of Christ's Church.

This foundation has continued in the same form ever since. It consists of a Dean, eight Canons, 101 Students, part of which are elected annually from Westminster School; and the other vacancies, as they happen, are filled up by the Dean and Canons; eight Chaplains, eight Singing-Men, and as many Choristers, a Schoolmaster, an Organist, &c. Since the tiine of Queen Elizabeth, this College has largely experienced the bounty of several benefactors, particularly Bishop Fell, who left ten Exhibitions of 101. per ann. to Commoners, to be held for ten years from the time they were nominated to them. The 101st Studentship was added by William Thurston, Esq. 1663. Several Exhibitions were given by Lady Holford, for Scholars educated at the Charter-House, and more by other benefactors.

Visitor. The King.

PEMBROKE COLLEGE, PEMBROKE College, so called from the Earl of Pembroke, Chancellor of the University at the time it was founded, is situated near St. Ale date's Church, in a direct line from the grand Gate of Christ Church, and consists of two small courts, The quadrangle is uniform, having the Hall at the north-west angle, in which are pictures of the Founders and some Benefactors, and a bust of Dr. Johnson, by Bacon. The Chapel is a small, elegant building, of the Ionic order, with a beautiful Altar-piece, a copy, by Cranke, from Rubens's picture at Antwerp of our Saviour after his Resurrection. In the Garden, which is west of the Chapel, is a pleasant Common Room, and a Terrace-walk. The Master's Lodgings, which join to the College on the north, is a modern edifice.

This College, formerly Broadgate Hall, was founded anno 1620, by Thomas Tesdale, of Glympton, Esq. and Richard Whitwick, S.T. B. Rector of Ilsley, Berks, for a Master, ten Fellows, and ten Scholars. Four of Mr. Tesdale's Fellows to be chosen out of his relations, and the rest to come from Abingdon Free-School.

As to Mr. Whitwick's benefaction, two of the Fellows and two Scholars to be of his kindred, and the rest from Abingdon School.

King Charles I. granted to this Society the perpetual advowson of St. Aldate's Church, and certain lands for the maintenance of one Fellow, to be chosen from Guernsey or Jersey.

Archbishop Abbot, Juliana Stafford, and Francis Rous, were the 'next Benefactors; and Dr.

[ocr errors][ocr errors]

George Morley, Bishop of Winchester, founded five Scholarships for the natives of Guernsey and Jersey.

Queen Anne annexed a Prebend of Gloucester to the Mastership. Lady Holford gave two Exhibitions of 201. a year each; Dr. Hall, Master of this College, and Bishop of Bristol, built the Master's Lodgings; Sir John Bennet, Lord Ossulstone, endowed two Fellowships and Scholarships ; Mr. Townshend gave eight Exhibitions to young Scholars from Gloucestershire; and Sir John Philips, Bart. in 1749, founded one Fellowship and one Scholarship.

The present members are, a Master, fourteen Fellows, thirty Scholars and Exhibitioners; the whole number of Students usually about 70.

Visitor. The Chancellor of the University.

HALLS. Five Halls or Academical Houses, not incorporated, are still remaining. Originally the Students lived chiefly in Halls or Hotels, where Professors and Tutors resided. But when the Colleges were founded, and still more when the Reformation took place, the liberal education now in use brought the Students to the more convenient accommodation in Colleges. These Societies are not endowed, though they have

had considerable benefactions, which are dispensed to the Students in Exhibitions, which they enjoy for a stated time. They are under the government of their respective Principals, whose incomes arise from the room-rent of the chambers. The Students take an oath to obey the statutes and customs of the Hall, which statutes are made and altered by the Chancellor, who has the nomination of the Principals, and is Visitor of all the Halls, except St. Edmund Hall, which is dependant on Queen's College, and the Principal appointed by that Society.

ST. ALBAN HALL. I. Sr. ALBAN Hall, which is in St. John's parish, adjoins to Merton College on the east. It had its name from Robert de St. Alban, a citizen of Oxford, who conveyed the premises to the Abbey of Littlemore. Of this Hall were Archbishop Marsh ; Dr. Lamplugh, Archbishop of York; Benedict Barnham, Alderman of London, who built the front of the Hall as it is at present; and William Lenthall, Speaker of the Long Parliament.

ST. EDMUND HALL. II. Sr. EDMUND Hall is opposite to the east side of Queen's, on which College it is dependant, and has about forty Students. The buildings were completed, and other considerable improvements made, while the late Dr.

« AnteriorContinuar »