« AnteriorContinuar »
and an idol, which he brought from the island of Otaheite and New Zealand.
Among the Paintings are a few very good ones: a dead Christ, by Annibal Carracci. Thomas Earl of Arundel, and the Duke of Norfolk, his son, by Vandyke. Christ's Descent into Hell, by Brugell.
In this building are three small Libraries; the first, called Ashmole's Study, contains his printed Books and Manuscripts relating to Heraldry and Antiquity, and the Manuscripts of Sir William Dugdale, author of the Monasticon Anglicanum. The second contains Dr. Lister's Library. The third that of Mr. Antony à Wood, with his laborious and learned collections, relating chiefly to this University and City.
On the first floor is the apparatus for the Lectures in Experimental Philosophy, where the Professor reads his Courses of Lectures; underneath is the grand apparatus for the present ex. tensive Lectures in Chemistry now established in the University.
CLARENDON PRINTING-HOUSE. On the other side of the Theatre, and north of the Schools, stands the Clarendon PrintingHouse, built in the year 1711, with the profits arising froin the sale of Lord Clarendon's History; the copy of which was given to the University by the Lords Clarendon and Rochester, Sons to that noble Lord. It is a noble edifice, 115 feet in length, and consists of two lofty stories. Towards the street is a magnificent Portico of the Doric order; the height of the columns being equal to the two stories. This is answered on the opposite side next the Schools by a frontispiece supported by three-quarter columns of the same dimensions; and the Doric entablature encompasses the whole building. On the top are statues of the nine Muses; and over the entrance on the south side a statue of the Earl of Clarendon. As we enter on this side, on the right hand, are the apartments where Bibles and Common Prayer Books are printed, under the privilege and appointment of the University. On the left is the University Press; and a well-finished apartment, where the Heads of Houses and Delegates meet on the business of the University.
Southward of the Schools, in the centre of a beautiful
area, stands the new.or Radclivian Library; for the building whereof, that celebrated Physician Dr. John Radcliffe bequeathed the sụm of 40,0001. He fixed the salary of the Librarian at 150l. per annum; appropriated 1001. per annum to buy books, and 100l. per annu to keep the Library in repair.
The rustic basement, which is 100 feet in dia meter from outside to outside, is a double octa gon, or sixteen square; all of which squares ang distinguished by their projection, and by a pedi ment or frontispiece, which forms each into gateway.
The superstructure, raised upon this base ment, is perfectly cylindrical, and adorned with three-quarter columns of the Corinthian Order; which are ranged, not at equal distances, but in couplets. Between these there is an alternacy of windows and niches all round: over the latter, next to the architrave, are beautiful festoons of fruits and flowers. The entablature is much enriched with carving; and over it is a balustrade surrounding the whole, finished with vases on the piers perpendicular to the columns; above which is a cupola 60 feet high. Seven of the gateways above mentioned are entrances into the portico or arcade; in the centre of which within the piers is a wide-spreading dome; and without them a cloister almost encircling it. Over each of the entrances is a dome of smaller dimensions, curiously wrought with variety of Mosaic. The eighth gateway is appropriated to the stair-case, the well of which is oval; and the steps, which are of stone, adhering to the wall at one end, seem rather to be upheld by the iron