« AnteriorContinuar »
irons, which produce an exsudation from the cloth, are so incorporated into its texture and substance, that they are proof against a brush, or even the harshest touch. The subject is the Lord's Supper, and on either side the figures of Abraham and Melchisedec, and the Children of Israel gathering-Manna. The north side of the Chapel and the adjoining parts of the College are advantageously seen from the Garden, which is one of the most pleasing in Oxford.
The Fellows of this College must resign their Fellowships after the expiration of eighteen years computed from the completion of their Regency in Arts. Of the Scholars, from whom the Fellows are chosen, three must be natives of Somersetshire, and three of Essex; the rest may be natives of any county in Great Britain.
Dr. Hody founded ten Exhibitions, four for the study of the Hebrew, and six for the study of the Greek Language. The Exhibitioners are examined every term by the royal Professors of Hebrew and Greek. Richard Warner, Esq. founded an Exhibition for the study of Botany; besides which there are twelve Exhibitions, founded by Bishop Lisle, John Goodridge, M. A. Sir Benjamin Maddox, and others. Lord Wyndham left 1500l. to increase the Warden's salary. But the most munificent benefactor was Dr. John Wills, Warden of this College, who died in June 1806. His principal bequests to the
liancy of the colours, and the natural air of the figures, give it, when viewed at a proper distance, all the effect and softness of a highly finished and original oil-painting.
The Hall is spacious and well proportioned, and, adorned with portraits of the Founder, of Dr. Bathurst, and Mr. Warton, the latter by Mr. Penrose of New College. Over the chimneypiece (which presents a very rare instance of the Arms of England and Spain being quartered together) are the Arms of Queen Mary and King Philip
In the Library windows are several compartments of fine old painted glass, much injured in former times, and placed here in 1765.
The second court, planned by Sir Christopher Wren, was one of the first pieces of modern architecture which appeared in the University. It consists of three sides. The opening to the gardens on the east has an agreeable effect.
The gardens are extensive, and laid out in two divisions. The first or larger division is thrown into open grass-plats. The north wall is covered with a yew-hedge. The centre walk is terminated by a well-wrought iron gate, with the Founder's arms at the top, supported by two piers. The southern division is a pleasing solitude, consisting of shady walks, with a wilderness of flowering shrubs, and disposed into serpentine paths.
This College was founded March 8, 1594, by Sir Thomas Pope, Knight, of Titten hanger in Hertfordshire, Privy Counsellor to Queen Mary, and a singular friend to Sir Thomas More, for the maintenance and education of a President, twelve Fellows, and twelve Scholars. The Founder directs, that the Scholars, who succeed to the Fellowships, shall be chosen from his manors : but if no candidates appear under such qualifications on the day of election, that they shall be supplied from any county in England. He also appoints, that no more than two natives of the same county shall be Fellows of his College at the same time, Oxfordshire excepted, from which county five are admitted.
The principal and almost only benefactor was Dr. Ralph Bathurst, formerly President, who expended 1900l. in rebuilding the Chapel.
This College consists of a President, twelve Fellows, and twelve Scholars. These, with the other members, Gentlemen Commoners, Commoners, &c. amount to about 90.
Visitor. The Bishop of Winchester.
BALLIOL COLLEGE. BALLIOL College is situated to the west of Trinity, and consists chiefly of one court, which we enter by a Gothic gate. The buildings about
this court are ancient, 'except the east end, which is finished in the manner in which the rest of that quadrangle may be built.
The Chapel stands at the north-east angle of the great court. The great east window, which is well executed, represents the Passion, Resurrection, and Ascension of Christ. The Hall is at the west end of the same court. In the Master's Lodgings are some good rooms, particularly a spacious Hall, having a well-preserved ancient window to the east. Their Library, the interior of which was rebuilt by Wyat a few years ago, is well furnished with a very large collection of useful books, and many ancient manuscripts.
Over the gate of the College are the arms of the Balliol Family.
Besides this court, there is an area to the north-west, consisting of several detached lodgings for the Students, purchased for their use by Archbishop Abbot; and an elegant new building, rather resembling a modern dwellinghouse, with a beautiful front to the street, erected at the expence of Mr. Fisher, late Fellow of this Society, in which are several handsome apartments. This inscription is on the north side, by desire of the Founder; VERBUM
NON AMPLIUS FISHER.
Sir John Balliol, of Bernard Castle, in Yorkshire, father of John Balliol, King of Scotland, first designed the foundation of this College for the education of Scholars, to whom he gave yearly Exhibitions; but dying before he purchased land, he recommended his design to his widow Devorgilla, daughter of Alexander III. King of Scotland, who first settled these Exhibitions; and in 1284 purchased a tenement for her Scholars of Balliol, and conveyed it to the Masters and Scholars of this House for ever for their habitation, having obtained a royal charter for that purpose. She afterwards added several new buildings to it, and settled lands for the maintenance of the Scholars, dedicating her foundation to the 'honour of the Holy Trinity, the Blessed Virgin, and St. Katharine the Martyr; which benefactions were afterwards ratified by her son John Balliol, King of Scotland, and Oliver Bishop of Lincoln, in whose diocese Oxford then was. The value of the lands and revenues belonging to this College did not exceed 271. gs. 4d. per ann. at that time; but their estates were soon after greatly enlarged by the benefactions of others, particularly Sir Philip Somerville. Dr. John Warner, Bishop of Rochester, founded four Scottish Exhibitions, endowing them with a revenue, which has since been augmented by John Snell, Esq. The members of this Society are at present a Master, twelve Fellows, fourteen Scholars, and eighteesf