Imagens das páginas
PDF
ePub
[ocr errors]

may be reckoned among the best of his works; for in whatever point of view it is seen, it adds greatly to the beauty of Oxford. We ascend to the superb room, which contains the books, by a very handsome stone staircase. Over the entrance door is a fine statue of the Founder, by Rysbrach; and opposite this door are two beautiful Roman candlesticks, found at Tivoli, in the ruins of the Emperor Adrian's palace, and presented to the University, by Sir Roger Newdigate, Bart. In the Library are curious specimens of the Giant's Causeway, given by the Rev. C. M. Mount, of Corpus Christi College. Two very fine marble busts of the Belvidere Apollo and Esculapius, by Signor Nastri of Florence, were lately presented to this Library by J. S. and P. B. Duncan, Esqs. Fellows of New College, whose intention it is shortly to place here busts of Galen, Hippocrates, Aristotle, and Pliny, by the same artist. Above is a handsome gallery, which is appropriated to books and reading-tables.

The dome is 80 feet from the pavement of the Library, and is richly ornamented with stucco. We recommend those who visit this Library on a fine day, to ascend to the top of it; that is, to the commencement of the dome; the staircase is very good, and the slight labour of ascent will be amply repaid by the beautiful view. From this place Barker painted his Panorama of Oxford, which was exhibited in London a few years since.

[ocr errors]

On the 14th day of June, 1814, the Prince Regent, the Emperor of Russia, the King of Prussia, the Duke of York, the Duchess of Oldenburg, many other Royal personages, nobility, &c. to the amount of nearly 200, partook of a most magnificent dinner in this Library, provided by the University. The splendour of this fête can only be exceeded by the imaginary scenes of oriental description. The tables were loaded with elegant plate, the dresses of the company were superb, and many of them unique, as over their court dresses and regimentals, all those princes, noblemen, and gentlemen, who had received the honorary degree of D.C.L. wore the scarlet academic robes of that degree. The situation of the tables, and the names of the illustrious guests, are preserved in the Library, and shewn to strangers by the person who attends them. This person is in regular attendance at his Lodge, on the right hand side of the entrance opposite to St. Mary's Church.

On leaving the Library, and walking a few paces westward, is the entrance to

BRASENNOSE COLLEGE,
Or the King's Hall and College of Bräsennose.

Porter's Lodge is in the gate-way on the right. This College received its title from the cir, cumstance of its standing on the ground formerly occupied by Brasennose Hall, which had a large brass knocker on the gate in the shape

of a nose. We enter into the large quadrangle, in the centre of which is a cast, generally called “ Cain and Abel,” though supposed by some to be “ Sampson killing a Philistine with the jaw-bone of an ass.” It was given to the College by Dr. Clarke, of All Souls', who purchased it from a statuary in London. This quadrangle contains the Hall and apartments for the society. The lesser court, on the left, contains the LIBRARY and CHAPEL. The Hall is a fine spacious room, and contains portraits of the Founders, of Alfred, of Dean Nowell, Radcliffe, Yate, Yarborough, (by Romney), and Cleaver, late Bishop of St. Asaph, (by Hoppner), Principals; of Sarah, Duchess of Somerset, Mrs. Joyce Frankland, Lord Chancellor Ellesmere, John Lord Mordaunt, Dr. Latham, the President of the College of Physicians, and of the most noble George Grenville Nugent Temple, Marquis of Buckingham. The two last are by Jackson. There are two portraits of the Founder in the fine bay window at the upper end of the Hall, and two busts of the same. Over the door towards the quadrangle are two very ancient busts of Alfred and John Scotus Erigena; the former is said to have been discovered when the workmen were digging the foundation of the College, and is in high preservation, and rich in expression. The LIBRARY was rebuilt in 1780, and ornamented with a very elegant ceiling by Wyatt. It is a neat room, well

[ocr errors]

stocked with books. At the upper end of it is a very fine bust of the Right Hon. Lord Grenville, Chancellor of the University, executed by Nollekens, and presented to the society by his Lordship. The CHAPEL was finished in 1666. The beautiful east window, the gift of Principal Cawley, was executed by Pearson, in 1776, after the designs of Mortimer. The altar is deservedly admired for the taste and elegance of its decorations, and the roof, for the perfect resemblance which it bears to stone work. There is a monument in the ante-chapel, to the memory of Dr. Shippen, the bust on which is said to be an exact resemblance of that excellent man. The epitaph, which is generally admired, was from the pen of Dr. Frewin, a very eminent physician of Oxford. There is also a very elegant and wellfinished monument by Bacon, to the memory of Dr. Cleaver, Bishop of St. Asaph, the late Principal; and also a plain mural tablet, by Chauntrey, to the memory of the Rev. H. Cholmondeley, the late Dean of Chester, and sometime Fellow of this House. The Principal resides in a handsome house in the High-street, a short distance from the west end of St. Mary's Church.

This College was founded by William Smith, Bishop of Lincoln, and Sir Richard Sutton, Knight, in 1509. The present foundation consists of a Principal and twenty Fellows. There are also thirty-two Scholarships, and fifteen

Exhibitions. The number of members on the books is now about 350; and the Members of Convocation, or those who have votes at University elections, exceed 170.

Proceeding across Radcliffe-square, opposite to the north gate of the Library, we enter the

square of the

SCHOOLS. This is a handsome quadrangle: three sides of the upper story of it form the Picture Gallery; beneath are the Schools appropriated to the different sciences, and the receptacle of the marbles and statues. We know from experience, that strangers often suppose, from their title, that these Schools are for the education of youth. To undeceive them it is necessary to state, that they are not the property of any particular College, but belong to the University as a body, and are used for the examinations of candidates for degrees; for what is called “ "

Determining in Lent,” a ceremony which must be gone through previously to taking a Master's degree, and for some other purposes

of a similar nature. The gateway in this square, which is the entrance from Cat-street, is curious on account of its consisting of the five orders of architecture. In the tower of this gateway the Ar: chives of the University are preserved.

Immediately after entering this quadrangłe froin the Radcliffe-square, is, on the left, the

[ocr errors]
« AnteriorContinuar »