« AnteriorContinuar »
and repair. A few years since, the late Dr. Wills, Warden of Wadham College, left one thousand pounds for its repair.
The ground plan of this Theatre is taken from that of Marcellus, at Rome; and, by a consummate contrivance and geometrical arrangement, it is made to receive with convenience nearly three thousand persons. The roof, eighty feet by seventy in diameter, rests upon the side walls without cross beams, an invention which at first engrossed universal attention, but is now known to every architect. In consequence of the roof being in danger of falling, a new one was substituted in 1802. In imitation of the ancient theatres, the walls of which were too widely expanded to admit of a roof, the ceiling has the appearance of a painted canvas strained over gilt cordage. It was painted by Streater, sergeant-painter to Charles II. Several of the compartments are happily conceived; the outline of many of the figures is elegant and correct, and the colouring at once solid and lively. The subject is an assemblage of the Arts and Sciences in their various operations, accompanied by their appropriate virtues. In this superb room are the portraits of Archbishop Sheldon, the Founder; the Prince Regent, 'by Sir Thomas Lawrence, presented by his Royal Highness; the Emperor of Russia and the King of Prussia, by Gérard, of Paris, lately given to the University by these Sovereigns; James, Duke of Ormond, Chancellor
of the University in the reign of Charles II.; and of Sir Christopher Wren. The statues of Sheldon and Ormond, on the outside, were executed by Sir Henry Cheere.
In this Theatre are held Lord Crewe's Annual Commemoration of Benefactors; the recitation of Prize Compositions; and the occasional ceremony of conferring degrees on distinguished personages. When filled, this room is striking in' the highest degree. The ViceChancellor, Proctors, Noblemen, and Doctors, sit in their robes, in the northern or semicircular part of the Theatre, on elevated seats; in the area are Masters of Arts and Strangers; the Bachelors and Undergraduates, all in their academical habits, in the upper galleries, and the Ladies in the lower galleries.
Never did this Theatre appear with more splendor than in the memorable year 1814, when degrees were presented to the Emperor of Russia, the King of Prussia, Prince Metternich, Count Lieven, Prince Blucher, &c. &c. At that august ceremony the Prince Regent and the two other Sovereigns, were seated on superb chairs of crimson velvet and gold; their feet resting upon footstools of the same. The chair of the Prince Regent was mounted with a plume of feathers in gold. At a little distance below sat the Chancellor, Lord Grenville, in his robes of black and gold; even with the Chancellor on the right sat the Duchess of Oldenburg. The platform on which the five seats were placed was covered with crimson velvet. The numerous party of Princes, Noblemen, and Gentlemen, who accompanied the royal visitors to Oxford, were in their full court dresses, or regimentals; and the Ladies in the galleries were all dressed in the most superb manner. Eight congratulatory addresses were recited by Noblemen and Gentlemen of the University; and a most eloquent and appropriate Latin Oration was delivered from the Rostrum, by the veteran Public Orator, Mr. Crowe, which was honoured with the marked and particular attention of the Prince Regent.
The chairs of the Sovereigns are still preserved in the Theatre, and shewn to strangers. The Chancellor's chair, of most curious antique workmanship, was lent for the occasion by Alderman Fletcher, who, on afterwards hearing how much it was admired by his Lordship, most generously requested that he would honour him by accepting it. The colours in this room are those which were used by the Regiment of Volunteers, formed of members of the University, and commanded by John Coker, Esq. which regiment was disbanded at the peace of 1801. The
CLARENDON PRINTING OFFICE is very near the Theatre. Over the south entrance, is a good statue of the Founder, the Earl of Clarendon; the top is decorated with the statues of the nine Muses. Besides the offices required for printing, there is a handsome apartment where the Heads of Colleges and Halls, and Delegates of the Press, hold their meetings. The University printing was first carried on at the Theatre, the under part of which is still used as a warehouse for books printed at the Clarendon Office. In 1711, the profits arising from the sale of Lord Clarendon's History of the Rebellion, the copyright of which had been given to the University by his son, enabled it to erect the structure which bears his name; Vanbrugh was the architect.
On descending the fight of steps on the northern entrance, we are in “BROAD-STREET," or, as it is often called, “ CLARENDON-STREET;" turning to the right we soon arrive in New College Lane, which leads directly to
NEW COLLEGE. ** The Porter's Lodge is at the entrance on the right,
This College, according to the plan completed at the sole expense of the Founder, consisted of the principal quadrangle, (which includes the Chapel, Hall, and Library,) the Cloisters, the Tower, and the Gardens. - A third story was added to the original building about the end of the sixtecnth century; but the present uniformity of the windows was not completed till the year 1675. The quadrangle, the entrance to which is by a portal beneath a part of the Warden's residence, is about 168 feet in length, and 129 feet in breadth. The Chapel and Hall occupy the north side; the Library stretches along the east; and in the south and west angles are the Warden's and Fellows' lodgings. The middle gate leads from the quadrangle to the garden court, which appears to have been built in imitation of Versailles, without the colonnade; or, perhaps, as some have thought, of the palace built by Sir Christopher Wren, at Winchester, but with the addition of battlements; for which heterogeneous addition, a correspondence with the city walls, and the old quadrangle, is suggested as an ex
This court widens by triple breaks as the garden is approached, from which it is separated by an extensive iron pallisade, of 130 feet in length. The first stone of this part of the College was laid by Warden Beeston, February 13, 1682, and the whole finished in 1684. The spectator is recommended to take a view of the buildings from the garden gate, as they are there seen to the greatest advantage; indeed this view seems to have been a favourite object of the architect. The garden, which is appropriately disposed, has lost much of its original formality; and the mount in the centre, which formerly had a circular walk ascending to its summit, is now entirely covered with a shrubbery. To the south-east of the garden is a spacious bowling green, decorated with an Ionic