Imagens das páginas
PDF
ePub

groups of shepherds and others who are approaching to pay their devotions to the Saviour of the world. Amongst these in the compartment to the south are the portraits of the artists Sir Joshua Reynolds, and Mr. Jervais. For this window, which was begun about the year 1777, finished cartoons were furnished by Sir Joshua Reynolds, and these were copied by Mr. Jervais. The genius of the architect has here assisted that of the painter, by contriving such an arrangement of the pipes of the organ, as to produce on the latter a kind of transparent effect, by which the picture may be seen with a peculiar advantage from the altar. Among the many curious objects in this Chapel, is the crosier or pastoral staff of Wykeham, of costly materials and beautiful workmanship. It is nearly seven feet high, of silver gilt, embellished with Gothic ornaments, and inclosing in the crook of it, the figure of the Bishop himself, in a kneeling posture. Some of the ornaments of his mitre, which are of gold and precious stones, with his gloves and ring, &c. are preserved in the muniment room. Many eminent men and several Wardens of this College have been interred in the ante-chapel, as their monuments in brass and stone testify; some of which have been removed from the inner Chapel; but a much larger proportion of the successive members have been interred in the cloisters. The choir is 100 feet long, 35 feet broad, and 65 feet high. The ante-chapel is 80 feet in length.

The Cloisters form the earliest example of such a collegiate appurtenance in this University, and the only one, except that of Magdalen College. They inclose an area of 130 feet in length, and 85 in breadth; and were consecrated, with the area, as a burial place for the College, October 19th, 1400. During the time that they were made a depot of the king's warlike stores, in 1643, many of the monumental inscriptions, especially such as were engraved on brass plates, were sacrilegiously conveyed away. In 1802, the monuments, &c. were carefully restored, and the place has since been preserved with a care suited to the solemn purposes to which it is devoted.

This fine College was founded by William of Wykeham, one of the most illustrious men of his age and country; of great abilities, unblemished integrity, solid piety, and splendid munificence. The foundation stone was laid in 1379-80, and on the 14th of April, 1386, the first Warden and Fellows made their public entrance into it with great solemnity. The foundation is for 70 Fellows and Scholars, elected from Winchester College, 10 Chaplains, an Organist, three Clerks, a Sexton, and 16 Choristers,

The Founder's kindred are actual Fellows on their first admission, the others are Scholars till the expiration of two years. The Members on the foundation of this College have the peculiar privilege of being examined for degrees in their own Society, and not in the public Schools.

The number of members on the books is usually about 120.

To continue our walk, we return to the top of New College Lane, passing the house of the Savilian Professor of Geometry. At the end of this Lane, to the left, is

HERTFORD COLLEGE, which is now dissolved, and decreed by Act of Parliament to become the residence of the Society of Magdalen Hall.

This College, formerly Hart Hall, received a charter of incorporation in 1740, from Richard Newton, D.D. Principal, who continued in that office after it was converted into a College. He framed such a body of statutes for its government, as had the effect, though unintentionally, of preventing any one's accepting the office of Principal, after the death of Dr. Hodgson in 1805..

Turning on the right from the top of New College Lane, we pass Seale's Coffee House and the King's Arms Inn, and reach

WADHAM COLLEGE. ** Porter's Lodge left hand of the Gateway entering the quadrangle.

The front of this College has been lately laid open according to the original plan.

The entrance to the spacious quadrangle, of 130 feet square, is through a gateway, with a tower rising above it. The Hall and Chapel are on the east-side, in the centre of which, and forming the entrance to the Hall, is a portico, enriched by the statue of King James I. in his robes, with the royal arms over it; that of Nicholas Wadham, in armour, holding in his right hand the model of the College, and on the left is the figure of Dorothy, his wife. In 1694, a building, which consists of three stories, was crected on the south-side of the front of the College, as an addition to the collegiate apartments.

The Hall is 75 feet in length, and 35 in breadth; it contains the portraits of Nicholas and Dorothy Wadham; Sir John Strangeways; John Goodridge; Lord Lovelace; Lord Camden; James Harris, Esq. author of Hermes, Philological Inquiries, &c. Arthur Onslow, Esq. Speaker of the House of Commons; William III. George I. Dr. Bisse; Dr. Hody, Regius Professor of Greek, and Mrs. Hody; Wright, Bishop of Bristol ; Smith, Bishop of Chester; Blandford, Bishop of Worcester; Ironside, Bishop of Hereford; Dunster; Baker, Bishop of Norwich; Lisle, Bishop of Norwich; Dr. Wills, the late Warden, by

Hoppner, and Dr. Lushington. In the great window, at the upper end, are two small portraits of Charles I. and his Queen.

In the COMMON Room, which is situated between the Chapel and the Hall, is a portrait of Dr. Wilkins, Bishop of Chester, who founded the Royal Society, the first meetings of which were held in this College; and another of Alice George, commonly called Mother George, whom Anthony Wood describes as “a very an« cient dame, living in Black Boy-lane. The “ perfect use of all her faculties at the age of 120 * years, occasioned a great resort of company to 5her house. It was her custom to thread a very * fine needle without the help of spectacles, and “to present it to her guests, who, in return,

gave her some small gratuity, towards her sup

port. In the latter end of her life, she re* moved into St. Peter's-le-Bailey, and died by

an accidental fall which injured her back."

The LIBRARY is a spacious room, 55 feet by 30, with narrow Gothic windows, except the large one at the upper end, which contains two small portraits of the Founder and Foundress.

The CHAPEL is spacious and well-proportioned, with a noble ante-chapel, at right angles with the choir. The fine east window, which is the work of Bernard van Linge, was presented to the College by Sir John Strangeways. It represents, in the upper compartments, the principal types in the Old Testament relating to our Saviour; and in the lower ones, the most

« AnteriorContinuar »