Imagens das páginas
PDF
ePub

them beautifully illuminated; many early printed and rare English Bibles; a good collection of books on general literature, and several very curious tracts, arranged and bound up in volumes. The windows contain the arms, &c. of the benefactors, which are fully described by Wood, in his History of Oxford.

The Hall is on the west side of the quadrangle. Its interior is in the modern style. Under the Library is an elegant Common Room.

This College was founded by John Balliol, father of John Balliol, king of Scotland, and Devorguilla, his wife, between the years 1263 and 1268. Its revenues were amply augmented by the munificence of succeeding benefactors; particularly by that of Sir William Felton, and Sir Philip Somervyle. The foundation at present consists of a Master, twelve Fellows, and fourteen Scholars. This College has also a considerable number of Exhibitions. The Master and Fellows possess a peculiar privilege, enjoyed by no other College or Hall in the University; that of electing their own Visitor. The members on the books are usually about 160.

On returning into Broad-street from Balliol College, strangers are recommended to pay attention to the splendid view before them of the Museum, Theatre, Clarendon Printing Office, &c.

Proceeding westward to the end of the street,

/

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]
[graphic][ocr errors][merged small]

and then turning to the right, we pass the back buildings of Balliol College, opposite to which is the Church of St. Mary Magdalen. This edifice contains nothing particularly attractive, either in point of elegance or antiquity. Pursuing our walk northerly, we come to

O ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE.

Porter's Lodge is in the gate-way on the right. In the front of this College is a terrace, with elms before it. Over the gate by which we enter the first quadrangle are the arms of the Founder; and in a niche on the upper part of the tower, is the statue of St. Bernard. The first quadrangle consists of the Hall, Chapel, President's lodgings, and apartments for the Fellows and other members of the society. At the east end, opposite the gateway, is the entrance to the second quadrangle, which was begun in 1631, and completed in 1635, from a design of Inigo Jones, entirely at the expense of Archbishop Laud, with the exception of the Library on the south side. The east and west sides of this quadrangle are built on an arcade, or cloister, supported by eight pillars, over which are bustos, representing the Christian and Cardinal Virtues. On the east side are the Arts and Sciences: the cornice above them is also emblematically expressive of the Virtues represented by each bust. The central gateway of each cloister is of the Doric order, surmounted by Ionic columns, and a semi-circular pediment. Over the gateways, which are richly embellished, are the statues of Charles I. and his Queen Henrietta Maria, - in brass. They were cast by Francis Fanelli, a Florentine artist, and presented to the College by Archbishop Laud. From this quadrangle is the passage to the Gardens, which, when the weather permits, should be seen by every stranger who makes the tour of the University. They are extensive, and were originally disposed in that formal, rectilinear taste, which Kent, Brown, and Repton, have successively combined to destroy. They now display. all the diversity of which the spot is capable, and form a scene that blends Arcadian grace with academic solitude.

Besides the two quadrangles, there are other buildings to the north-east, consisting of the Common Room, apartments for the Members, &c.' The kitchen, and the chambers over it, at the west end of the Hall, were built by Thomas Clark, the senior cook, in 1613, the College allowing him to enjoy the rent of the chambers for twenty years.

The CHAPEL, which is on the north side of the principal quadrangle, originally belonged to the Monks of Bernard College, and was consecrated in 1530. It was afterwards repaired and beautified by the Founder, and underwent considerable improvements, and alterations, which were not completed until the year 1678. The east window was put up in

« AnteriorContinuar »