« AnteriorContinuar »
St. Just (93 miles), at the head of the Arre. rebuilt by Louis XII., on the site of Charle Coaches to Roye, Ansauvilliers, Cavilly, Montdidier, magne's, has a plain front, with a corner spire Rosières. The country improves towards the next on a pinnacled tower, 225 feet high; also two station.
good north and south porches, built by Francis I. Clermont-Oise (8} miles), a sous-préfecture,
There are, besides, a theatre in St. Aignan's old of 3,200 souls, was burnt by the English 1359; and has
church; a hospice, now the Hôtel de Ville, a & famous prospect of the Vallée Dorée, on the hill
public library of 8,000 vols. over the Bresche, from the Chatellier promenade,
At 2 kil. from Senlis is the old abbey of St. Victoire, close to the old castle, now a central House of Deten
a favourite resort of Louis XI. The cross-bow tion for women. Here Philippe le Bel was born.
men of this place were noted in the 16th cent. It once belonged to Robert, son of St. Louis. who,
Trade in wool, cotton, lace, grain, wine, chicory, marrying a dame de Bourbon, then a small fief in
stone, &c. the centre of France, first brought that illustrious
Hotel.-Du Grand Cerf (Stag). name into the royal line. Another seigneur was
St. Leu-d'Esserent (41 miles), in department the accommodating hugband of La Belle Gabrielle. Oise, on a hill side, with a conspicuous church in the who was married to her by Henry IV., on condition
transition style. It has important lime quarries, and of never seeing her after the ceremony. Notice
lace is made. Coaches to Senlis and Chantilly. the old church, near the town-house, both spire
[CHANTILLY (4 kil, east) which belonged to the buildings; also a museum of agriculture and geology,
Counts of Senlis, has remains of a Château of with a library of 6,000 vols. Cherries and other fruit the Montmorencys and the great Condé, who was are abundant here. At St. Felix, in the neighbour
visited by Louis XIV., when Vatel, his cook, bood, excellent fossil shells are found.
killed himself because the fish had not come; Hotel.-L'Epée (Sword).
and which, as enlarged by his family, was pulled
down at the Revolution. What remains, inLiancourt (54 miles), on the Dresche, in a pretty
cluding a hunting seat on the lake, a chapel, spot, has part of the Château (of the time of Louis
splendid stables, for 180 horses (built 1719-35). XIII.) of the late Duc de la Rochefoucald-Liancourt, who, after the Revolution, established an English
the English garden and grounds, was sold, 1852, farm here, with a school of industry, &c., beside;
by the Duke d' Aumale, along with the forest of introducing vaccination. He is buried in the park,
20,000 acres, and Hez forest of 43,000 acres, to under a plain tomb.
Majoribanks and Antrobus, the bankers, for Creil (41 miles), a buffet for refreshments, 42 miles 11,000,000 fr. Twelve roads meet at the centre from Paris. Here the branch lines to St. Quentin of this forest, called the Round Table, where the and Beauvais, &c., turn off (sce Routes 5, 7). It stands "Derby” and “St. Leger" are run for, at the among hills, on the Oise, and has an old bridge, a annual Races of the French Jockey Club, in church with a good spire, manufactories of pottery May and October. On lake Commelle, is a and pipes; with traces of the old château (on an lodge, built, they say, by St. Louis's mother, island), where Charles VI. was placed when lunatic, Blanche of Castile, and lately restored. and of St. Evremond's Abbey. A direct line to Paris. Blonde lace, articles in wood, &c. are made. to cut off the corner towards Pontoise, is now Hotels. --Du Cerf; Du Cygne; Dos Bains; Du Lion finished, and a branch to Senlis and Chantilly bas 1 d'Or. Pop.. 2.500. been commenced. Pop., 3,181. Hotel du Chemin
Precy (27 miles) is the next station. de Fer. Coach to Senlis.
(MORTEFONTAINE (18 kil. south-east), has a chateau, [SENLIS (16 kil, north-east) is a sous-préfecture with built 1770, which belonged to Joseph Bonaparte
5,800 pop., in department Oise, on a hill side when the French treaty with America was among the forests of Halatte, Chantilly, &c., signed here, 1800. The preliminaries of the where the Aunette and Nonette join. It was Peace of Amiens were a Ijusted in the Vallière the capital of the Silvanectes, in Cæsar's time, pavilion, in the park (on tre site of a castle of and has traces of Roman-built walls, with the 11th cent.), where they used to show the several old gates, as the Porte de Meaux, Porte boat in which Sir Sidney Smith was captured de Bellon, Porte de Compeigne, &c., besides St. at Havre, 1796. This picturesque mixture of Louis' ruined castle. Philippe Auguste was woods, hills, rocks, lakes, canals, falls, &c., is married here, 1180, to Elizabeth of Hainault; thought to be more English than any other place and it stood seven or eight fierce assaults of the in Franco. Traces of a Roman camp are seen Leaguers, 1588. The old cathedral Church, 1 at Butto-Mabet.)
Boran (2} miles), and its suspension bridge became the seat of Queen Hortense (Duchess of St.
Beaumont-sur-Oise (41 miles), on a rock at Leu), mother of Louis Napoleon, who, out of love to the bridge over the river, has a tower of its old feudal | her memory, began, in 1851, a handsome new chur castle, which commanded the pass here. The pro-l on the site of the old Gothic building. Here his menade overlooks a rich prospect. Coaches to father, Louis, King of Holland; his grandfather, Viarmes (near Royaumont old abbey, in Chantilly Carlo Bonaparte; and other members of the family forest); Noailles (near Pierre-aux-Fées druid stones); now rest. Jouey, Presle, &c.
Ermont (14 mile), from which coaches go to TAt 12 kil. east is LUZARCHES, on a hill side, with Sannois, Montlignon, Domont; to Andilly, a fine spot
remains of a Château on the site of a palace in Montmorency forest; St. Prix; and Eaubonne, in which Charlemagne gave to St. Denis' Abbey. | a pretty valley of the forest, near an oak planted by The Collegiate Church, of the 13th cent., was Franklin, who lived here, as did St. Lambert, Rousbuilt over the relics of St. Côme, the patron seau, &c. of surgeons..)
Enghien-les-Bains (2 miles on lake St. Ile-Adam (41 miles), so called from an island in Gratien, is noted for its sulphur springs, used between the river. on which stood a château built, 1200, by June and September, and has a large bathing-house, the seigneurs, one of whom was the famous Grand ball-room, &c. It is a favourite excursion for tho Master of the Knights of St. John, Philippe de l'Ile-Parisians, as it combines the amusements of boating, Adam, who held out so long at the siege of Rhodes, donkey-racing, rambling in the forest, and eating the 1522, against 200,000 Turks. The neighbourhood is delicious cherries off the tree in the season. Trair.3 striking. Its château afterwards came to the family come up almost hourly. The springs were discoveredl of Condé.
in 1766, and are about 60° temp.; the neighbourhood Auvers (41 miles), on the Oise, has an old con- is very pleasant. Hotel de Quatre Pavillons. Coaches spicuous church.
to Soisy, Groslay, and Montmorency. Pontoise (24 miles) a sous préfecture of 4,300 [MONTMORENCY (3 kil, north), a pretty place on ? persons, in department Seine-et-Oise, on a rock, over hill, founded 1008, by Burchard the Bearded, a the Oise, where the Viosne joins), here crossed by a robber chieftain of this part. It gave name to a bridge or pont, which gave it its present and its noble house, the premier Christian Barons, as ancient name (Briva-Isarce.) It was held by the Nor they used to be called; and came to the family mans, and by Talbot, 1419-41, who took it by a ruse of Condé with the title of Duke, to which de guerre, viz., dressing his men in white when snow Louis XIV. added that of Enghein, after the was on the ground. St. Maclou's church is ancient, above place. The large Gothic church of tho and has an alarm bell, with an inscription on it. 14th cent. has some good stained glass. There are also a large hospital and a library of 3,000 One walk through the chesnut Forest leads to vols., besides remains of its old walls and a castle. Ecouen, past Mont Louis, and the Hermitage, General Leclerc was a native; as was Flamel, an where the pernicious sentimentalist, Rousseau alchemist, and illuminator of the 14th cent.
wrote his Emile, &c. It has his bust and furni. Hotels.-Grand Cerf; Des Messageries.
ture. Gretry, the composer, died in it.) Coaches to Magny and Gisors (see Route 8) ar | Epinay (2miles), a station on the Seine, has many to Marines, Moyneville, and Chaumont.
country houses, with that of Brêche, which Gabriello (CHAUMONT-OISE, (30 kil. north-west), on a hill, d'Estrées, Henry IV.'s mistress, lived in. Fourcroy,
topped by the Gothic church, whence there is a Lacepéde, Marquis Somariva, &c., resided here ; wide prospect. The houses are of good brick. I and Mad. Houdetot, at Ormesson. Blonde lace, leather, &c., are made; and there (ARNOUVILLE to the north-east, on the Crould, has are large fairs for cattle and horses.)
an old unfinished château, of the last century, At Pontoise the line turns round to the south built by garde-des-sceaux (lord keeper) Machault. east to
A little further on is Gonesse, the birth-place of Herblay (5} miles), which lies to the west, by the Philippe Auguste, 1166, and for a long time Seine.
famous for its bread. At 9 kil. north is Ecouco Franconville (11 mile) in a very attractive château, on a hill, built in the Renaissance style. part of the valley of Montmorency.
with high roof, pilasters, &c. Latterly it belonged Coach to St. Leu-Taverney, (3 kil. north), where to the prince of Condé.] Mad. de Genlis had a seat in which the last Duke of St. Denis (14 miles) a sous préfecture of departBourbon hung himself, 1830. After Mad, de Genlis, it ment Seine, with a pop. of 9,600, on two little branches of the Seine, and on the canal joining the river to
ROUTE 2. Canal de l'Ourcq, is the old burial-place of the French kings, who were interred in the Church of the Bene- ! Boulogne to St. Valery, Abbeville, Amiens. dictine Abbey, founded 613, by Dagobert. Length,
and Paris. 390 feet. ; breadth, 100; and 80 feet high to the vault.i. Distance, 168 miles, or 272 kil.; four trains daily, It was rebuilt, 1144-1281, the oldest part being Abbé
two express, in 6 to 8 hours. Segur's Romanesque front and towers, one of which
BOULOGNE-SUR-MER, Tas till lately, 360 feet high, and has been restored by 77 miles from Amiens ; 29 sea miles from Folkestone, Tia: oleon and his successors with great splendour. HOTELS.-Des Bains et de Belle Vue.-First-class The new windows are stained with historical subjects, hotel for families and gentlemen. Mr. E. Munton
Houssé, proprietor. and the chapels, &c., are full of paintings and frescoes.
Du Pavillon Imperial des Bains de Mer.-A large Among the monuments, &c., are those of Dagoberts and extensive first-rate hotel, admirably situated, (not older than St. Louis's time), Louis XII. and i facing the sea. M. Bourgois, proprietor.
Grand Hotel Christol. - A large hotel, well situated, Queen, Henry II, and Queen, Francis I. and Queen,
and very good, Duguesclin the soldier, Henry III. and IV., Francis D'Angleterre.-A well situated hotel. II. (Mary Stuart's husband), and the twelve Apostles,
Brighton and Marine Hotel.-Very good, and one in the Choeur d'Hivre. The oriflamme, or banner of ment: kept by Mr. Edouard Lecerf.
of the best situated, opposite the Bath EstablishFrance, which used to be kept here, was carried in | Hughes' Royal Hotel.- A well-conducted excellent front of the army to the old cry of “Montjoie St.
Hotel de Londres, kept by Mr. Charles Fournier, Denis," down to the battle of Agincourt; there is a the oldest establishment in the town. Good attend. fine organ. In the crypt below are statues and ance. Table d'hôte at 6 o'c cenotaphs of all the sovereigns, some as old as the
Bedford Hotel, facing the landing place of the
De London and Folkestone steamers. 11th cent.
De l'Europe, close to the steam-packet stations, The abbey house, as rebuilt by Cotte, is used as an highly recon mended.
Packham's Hotel du Louvre, facing the terminus Asylum for orphans of the Legion of Honour, founded of the Paris Railway. Comfortable, and moderate in 1809. Omnibuses run to Paris. Many corn-mills, charges. Situated near the station. breweries, and tanneries; a large sheep fair in June.
Select Boarding Establishment, 87, Rue Neure
Chaussée, near the landing place, kept by Mrs. Le A bridge across Ile St. Denis, in the Seine, leads to
Du Nord; De la Paix; Univers; De la Gare; Hotel.-Du Lapin que Fume.
Croix de Bourgogne.
The Boarding Establishment of Mr. Howe is es. Our line now passes St. Ouen, a place on the Seine, with a château, inhabited at various times by several! There is a Buffet and every accommodation at the
station. distinguished personages, and specially noted for the
ENGLISIT LIBRARIES AND READING ROOMS.promise of the Charter, here given by Louis XVIII.,
Mr. Merridew, 60, Rue Napoleon, and Mr. Seal's, 34 when re-entering Paris in 1814. The caves about it and 39, Grande Rue, next door to the Museum, both are used as granaries and icchouses.
of which establishments are depots for the sale of
Bradshaw's Guides and Hand-books. Clignancourt on one side, and Aubervilliers on the
| Post Office, No. 8, Rue des Vieillards; open from other, are next passed. Then Montmartre, a hill | 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. 300 feet above the Seine, with a church, citadel, and | The English Consul. W. Hamilton, Esq., resides at reservoir at the top, whence there is a fine view over the top of Rue des Vieillards, near the sous-préfec. Paris. It is also marked by its quarries of plaster of
ture; office open from 10 to 2, and 7 to 8, for certifi.
cates to obtain permits to embark. The permit office Paris, its windmills, and guinguettes, for pleasure is at the Douane, on the packet boat quay. The seekers.
distance between London and Paris by this route is Chapelle St. Denis is just outside the Barrière St.
70 miles shorter than by way of Calais (with 29 miles
of sea), the company's boats being as regular as those Denis, which divides the city from the old province of the government, and the conveniences for landing, of Ile de France, now called the department de
&c., equally good. A low water landing-stage is
nearly completed. Luggage, i fr. each large package; Seine; and at length the Embarcadère, or
the porters are civil and quick. Omnibuses to the Paris Terminus, is reached, at Clos St.
railway station. Passengers by through trains (in 10
hours) are now not examined till their arrival at the Lazaire, Place Roubaix, near the Barrière. It was
London or Paris terminus. Those going on to Maropened in 1846. A new terminus is to be built seilles should declare to that effect, to save delay at opposite Rue de Denain. Omnibuses, &c., wait on
Paris. Paris time, 94 ininutes before London. (See
Bradshaw's Continental Railway Guide.) every train. See Bradshaw's Paris Guide and the
| English Episcopal Chapels.-Upper Town, Rev. Continental Guide; and Routes 10 and 34, for Ver-w. G. Hawtayne Lower Town, Rev. W. K. Groves; sailles, and other places round Paris,
Rue Royale, Rev, J. Bewsher; Rue de la Lampe,
Rev. J. C. Furlong. Wesleyan Chapel-Rev. W. , newest houses are at Tirtelleries, on the north, Toase. Scotch Chapel-Rey. Mr. Stewart. There where most of the English reais
where most of the English residents live. Of the is a French Protestant chapel.
gates only three are left, the principal one being Population, 29,860.
Porte des Dunes-after the dunes or sand hills which T OBJECTS OF NOTICE. -- Citadel - Fotel de line the shore towards Calais. Water is supplicd Ville – Museum – Napoleon Column-Fishermen's by 17 fountains and a reservoir; the lamps are now Chapel.
lit with gas, supplied by a usine à gaz. Boulogne is a sous-préfecture, (department Pas- Among the chief buildings are, Notre Dame de-Calais), port, military post of the 2nd class, and church, a Grecian pile, with a cupola built 1827, on packet station, on the Channel, 112 miles from the site of the cathedral; the bishop's palace, now a London. In spite of 6,000 of his countrymen who school: the old hotel of the Dukes d'Aumont; and live here, an Euglishman feels himself at once in a the house which Napoleon stopped at now rather foreign country on landing, and his first walk up grandly styled the Palace Impériale; all in the Upper Rue de l'Ecu, is like a scene in a play. The en town. In this part also is the Hotel de Ville, with ais trance to the harbour lies between two wooden lola Beffroi or belfry tower near it. 140 feet high. piers or jetties, at the mouth of the Liane, 2,200 This stands on the site of a castle of the anciens feet and 1,640 feet long, which lead up to the Port Counts of Boulogne. and Bassin; the former being in the channel of the The Museum, in Grand Rue, has a collection of river. The latter was made by Napoleon, to arms, coins, Roman, and other antiquities, natural hold his flat-bottomed transports for conveying his objects, &c., and is open three days a-week. Among troops to England. Above it are three bridges, beyond the coins, notice a medal (now exceedingly rare) which the Liane expands into something like a lake. struck by Napoleon, bearing the vain-glorious inscrip.
Boulogne was called Gesoriacum Bononia by the Ro- tion, ("hooknosed Cæsar's thrasonical boast") mans, after Bononia (now Bologia) in Italy. They Frappée à Londres, 1804,' but really struck at Paris. used it as a military port, and built a light-honse here | The publio library (bibliothèque) attached to this, (the Tour d’Ordre), which was carried away by the contains 22,000 vols. and 300 MSS., some being illusea, 1614, except some traces near the baths. Attila minated. attacked it, as did the Northmen, in the 9th There are also a palais de justice, hospitals, century; and Henry VIII. took it, 1544-one of barracks, many French and English schools, three his knights (buried at Hardres, in Kent,) carrying convents, a house in Rue de Château, replacing one off its gates, with a famous image of the Virgin which Le Sage (the author of Gil Blas) died in, and & from Notre Dame, which was afterwards re- theatre in Rue Monsigny, on the site of the Cordeturned, but destroyed with the cathedral at the liers' convent. Campbell the poet, died in Rue St. Revolution. Hence the old signs of Bull and Gate Jean. The handsome new Baths have dancing, (Boulogne Gate) and Bull and Mouth, in London. music, billiard, and reading rooms attached. SubEdward VI. gave it up to the French six years later. scriptions 20 fr. a month; a bath, 1 fr. The bathNapoleon intended to invade England from here, keeper, M. Hennin, is a fine looking man, covered and collected 300,000 men under Soult, for that pur with medals, received at various times for saving the pose, but never ventured out of port. In connexion | lives of more than seventy persons from drowning. with this, it is curious to note that the British army, The races in August attract many visitors to when they took Paris, 1814, encamped in the Bois de Boulogne. Boulogne, near that city-a wood, it may be remarked, The Napoleon Column, one mile out of the town, first named after a branch religious house of this was begun 1804, by the Grande Armée, and finished Boulogne by the seaside.
by Louis XVIII. ; a statue of Napoleon was put up, . Boulogne is divided into Haute and Basse Ville 1841. It is in the composite style, 180 feet high, 13 feet (Upper and Lower town); the former, on the hills, diameter, with a staircase within, and commands & being the oldest. Here are Vauban's Citadel, includ fine prospect. Beyond this is a Chapel containing ing some older towers, and the old walls, now turned ex voto offerings of the fishermen, who form a dis. into a pleasant promenade, from which you may tinct class here, as elsewhere. It deserves a visit. catch a glimpse of Dover. Louis Napoleon was, at In the neighbourhood are Mont Lambert, Mont first, confined in the citadel after his unsuccessful | Outreau, Mont St. Etienne, and other points of attempt of 1840, when, with a tame eagle on his fist, | view, and remains of a Roman road to Vissant, the he landed here almost alone, from one of the General | ancient Portus Itirs; t Steam Navigation Company's boats. The best and the châteaux of Cregni, Colombert, and de la Co
cherie; the botanic gardens of Mont Pelé; the church has a fine tall buttressed door-way. The quarries of Marquise and Ferques. A good mineral Montreuil peaches are celebrated.) spring on the Wimille road.
Rue (10 miles), in department de la Somme, is Conveyances to Calais, St. Omer, &c.
reached after crossing the Authie, and has the Church [From Boulogne, on the road to Calais (to which of St. Esprit, with a front richly sculptured, besides
the telegraph is laid down), you pass through a its carved pillars, roof, &c. It is still a place of pilflat, sandy, and marshy soil, to
grimage, and stands on a little stream which runs up WIMILLE (4 kil.), where the two unfortunate æro to the field of Crécy, a few miles east, and Monties
nauts, Rosier and St. Romain, are buried. In forest, where Charles, the favourite son of Francis trying to cross the Channel, 1785, they fell from | I., died of the plague, 1545. A coach to Le Crotoy, a height of 3,000 feet. Lower down the stream is down the Somme, the small port of Wimereau.
Noyelle (7 miles) is then reached, with a view of MARQUISE (9 kil.), on the Slack, which has a fine the sea.
linden tree and marble quarries, is near Amble- From this a branch line of six miles strikes off teuse, where James II. landed, 1688, in his across the river, to flight from England. Pop., 2,600. Near it are | St. Valery -Sur-Somme, a small bathing the quarries of Ferques and Landretun, with place, from which William the Conqueror sailed some remains of Beaulieu Abbey (founded 1150), to England in 1066. Pop., 3,700. Notice the fisherand Druid stones near the former.
men's chapel and the ruins of Tour de Harold. LE HAUT BUISSON (9 kil.)
Hotel.-Les Armes de France. At 13 kil. further is Calais (see Route 1). A railway This line brings Tréport within six hours of Paris.
is projected from Boulogne to Calais and the Coaches to that bathing place, to Eu, and Cayeu. Marquise quarries, which will shorten the direct
[Along the road to Dieppe you pass the Eu Calais route to Paris by 35 miles.)
(34 kil. west-south-west) and its Château, the Leaving the Boulogne terminus, near Place Belle noble seat of the Dukes of Guise and of Louis vue, you ascend the Liane.
Philippe, who, on his visit to England, emPont de Brique (4 miles). Beyond this is barked at Tréport (a little below Eu), which has Clocheville, where Napoleon once lodged; then Har some fine old mills and a curious church. Here delot forest, and Condotte, with abundance of game Queen Victoria landed, 1843. and rabbits. Next comes
The Chateau d'En, standing in a vast park, contains Neufchatel (41 miles); and
a large collection of portraits made by the king,
70 principal apartments, 250 inferior ones, with Etaples (84 miles), a decayed fishing port, on a
stables, &c., for 130 horses and 60 carriages. sandy plain, at the Canche's mouth, which the Romans
Hotel.-De Commerce. used, having some good old houses, and remains of a
At 30 kil, further is Dieppe (see Route 8.)] château, built 1160. Pop., 2,300. The viaduct across
From Noyelle it is 73 miles to the river is 984 feet long. The flat, marshy sea
ABBEVILLE, border of this part of Boulonnais was in old times
49 miles from Boulogne, 120) from Paris. A buffet appropriately called Marquenterre.
for refreshments. Montreuil-Verton (7 miles), or Verton; HOTELS.-Tete de Boeuf ; St. Jacques ; De France; Montreuil being some distance off, as under. Coach | Du Lion Noir; Du Commerce. to Hesdin, beyond which lies Agincourt.
A sous-préfecture and large fortified town, of [MONTREUIL-SUR-MER (8 kil. east), a. sous-pré 19,200 inhab. on the river Somme, in department
fecture of 3,950 souls, and fortified town of the Somme, and the old province of Picardy, about 18 second class, on a bill by the Canche, where miles from the sea. Under the name of Abbatis Cæsar built a fort, called Vinacum. It was re Villa, it belonged to St. Riquier's Abbey; and was built 878, by Heltgaut or Hergot, along with the given up to the English as part of king John's ranabbey church and castle, and called Monastorio. som, after the battle of Crécy; but it soon returued lum, whence comes the modern name. The to the possession of its own sovereign. houses, divided into Haute and Basse Ville, are some of the streets are pretty good, but the greater of brick. A large citadel, with a view of the part are old fashioned, narrow, and ill-paved. Its river and flat sea-coast, replaces the castle, of houses are chiefly brick, with a few stone buldings, which the gate towers are left; and St. Saulvo's and several ancient looking ones, u. Abbey is now the Hótel de Ville. The fiambr, ant planted on the ramparts, but