Imagens das páginas
PDF

Watten (7} miles), the ancient Ilium prom.to Hazebrouck (61 miles), where the line to Dunwhich the sea came up in Cæsar's time. It has an į kirk turns off (see Route 3), is a sous-préfecture of old watch tower on the hill, from whence England 8,000 souls, in a fertile spot, on a branch of the Lys. may be seen, and where stood a house of pilgrimage. It has a large church, built 1490-1520, with a bandThe next station (5 miles farther) is

some spire-tower of 276 feet;,a new Hôtel de Ville,

fronted by a portico of twelve pillars; a government ST. OMER,

tobacco factory, at the old Augustine convent; & 23 miles from Calais, 210 from Paris,

library of 4,000 volumes. Linen, soap, &c., are made.

Hotel.-Des Trois Chevaux (three horses). HOTELS.-Hotel de la Porte d'Or, Rue St. Bertin. Coaches to Lillers and Aire. New proprietor, D. Coolen. Very attentive and The direct line to Arras, via Bethune, is now charges moderate.

open, thus reducing the Paris journey about 30 miles Hotel d'Angleterre; Du Commerce.

LILLERS (14 kil. south-south-west), in department English Service, on Sundays, in Rue de Bon

Pas-de-Calais, on the fertile banks of the Nave, Pasteur.

where one of the earliest artesian wells in France OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-The Church-St. Ber

was bored, so-called from the old name, Artois, tin's Tower- Jesuits' College.

of this province. The fountains rise up in jets. A fortified town of the third class, and sous-pré Pop. 5.200, engaged in the manufacture of potfecture, in department Pas-de-Calais, in a marshy

tery, linseed oil, &c. spot, on the Aa, where six great roads meet; with

AIRE (13 kil, west-south-west), a third-class fortress, 19,340 inhabitants. During the fury of the Revolu

where the Lys and Laquette meet the St. Oner tion its name was changed to "Morin la Montagne!”

and Bassée canals. It has a belfry of the last It is surrounded by the canals and gardens of a

century; and St. Paul's Gothic church, in which Flemish-speaking population. St. Audomar founded is a ridiculous picture of Herodias with the a church here, and gave his name to the town, Baptist's head. Mallebranche was a native. Louis XIV. took it from Flanders, 1677. The old

Pop. 8,300. Hotels.-D'Angleterre; De France. cathedral Church of Notre Dame was begun in the

Strazeele (4 miles). 34tb cent., on the site of St. Audomar's, whose tomb it contains, besides good carved work, a picture by

Bailleul (3 miles), an ancient-looking place, on Rubens, &c. It is 321 feet long, and deserves exa- a hill, with old carved houses, St. Waast's old church. mination: the clock shows the moon's changes, the and a Jesuits' college. Pop. 10.200. months, the signs of the zodiac, &c. This is at one

Steenwerck (2] miles). end of the town; at the opposite end stands a Tower Armentieres (5) miles), on the Ly3, noted for only of St. Bertin's abbey, where Childeric III. died. | its grain, linen, &c. Pop. 8.400. It was one of the finest convents in this part. with Perenchies (37 miles). The next place to this an income of half a million livres. The tower of St.

lion livres. The tower of St (5 miles) is Lille. Denis's church is in the same massive style. The

LILLE.
Jesuits' College, built 1615-36, for English Roman
Catbolics, is now occupied by a commercial school;

65 miles from Calais, 171} miles from Paris. its church is worth notice. Here O'Connell began HOTELS.-De l'Europe, the best in the town. his education when a boy. The Hôtel de Ville is Paris; Nouveau Monde; Flandre; France; modern, with a dome; the museum has some an Chemin de fer du Nord. tiquities; and there are 18,000 volumes in the public English Service, twice on Sundays. library. An arsenal was built in 1781. Occasionally, S OBJECTS OF NOTICE.--Citadel-Church, and military manoeuvres on a large scale are practised Porte St. André-St. Maurice's Church-Hôtel de here, and at Helfaut Camp, 18 miles distant.

Ville-Museum Hôpital Comtesse. Linens, flannels, paper, excellent pipes, &c., are Pop. 76,000. A large manufacturing town, on the made, and a good trade carried on.

Belgian frontier, capital of department du Nord (for In theneighbourhood are Clairmarais abbey (5 kil.), merly of French Flanders), a strongly fortified post, and its floating islands, and the old Castle of Arques and head quarters of a military division, &c., stand(2 kil.) near the Sept Ecluses, or seven locks of the ing in a fertile and populous plain, covered with Aa, which falls 40 feet here, in its descent to windmills and factories, 15 leagues from the sea, on Gravelines.

the Deule, and the canal from the Scarpe to the Lys. Eblinghem (61 miles)..

It grew out of an abbey, founded about 840; was im

proved by Baldwin V., in 1047, and after many events, 1 official bureaux ; also an old chapel, and a modern including the taking of it from the Spaniards, by Louis belfry. Charles V. and Henry VIII. visited it XIV., in 1667, and from the French, by Marlborough, I together, 1542. The Hôtel de la Préfecture is near in 1708, it was finally given up to France, 1713. the Place du Concert and the Theatre.

In shape it is an oval, about 2,620 yards by 1,300 Not far from Place St. Martin are the following:yards, entirely closed in by ramparts and ditches, The Museum, in the old church of the Friars Minors, strengthened by 15 bastions, by Fort St. Maurice, on having several pictures, including some by Vandyke, the south-east side, and a Citadel of great extent, on Rubens, &c., portraits of the Dukes of Flanders, and the west. The latter, one of Vauban's best, is five- valuable drawings by Raphael, Giotto, and others, sided, and considered almost impregnable. The Aus given by Wicar, a native of Lille, who died at Rome, trians tried to take it, 1792, but without success; a 1834. Next it is the old men's hospital, or Hôpital fact commemorated by a bronze column, in the Comtesse, founded in the 13th cent., by Countess Grande Place, near the Bourse.

Jeanne, daughter of the emperor, Baldwin IX., and Porte St. André is the oldest of its seven gates,

having a slender spire like a minaret. The Hôtel de having been built in 1670; the Porte de Paris has a

Monnaie (or mint) adjoins the Cirque, which they triumphal arch, by Volans, built 1682, in honour of

say marks the site of the Château de Buc, built by Louis XIV., whose bust is here, accompanied by

Lyderic,” founder of the town. At the College is figures of Hercules and Mars. The best streets are

the public library, of 24,000 volumes, besides MSS. Rue Royal, Rue de Paris, Rue d'Esquermois, Rue St. The Bourse, or Exchange, stands in Grande Place; it Sauveur, and Rue St. André. Most of the houses are was built 1652, with a square court inside. Behind it modern and regular, and generally two stories high; is the Theatre, begun 1785, but since enlarged, and but many work-people live in cellars. A broad Es- having a handsome portico of eight columns. planade near the citadel is planted with trees, and! A large Military Hospital is seen near the Porte watered by the Deule.

Bethune, built 1765. The hospital St. Sauveur is near The largest open part, next to the Grande Place,

that church, and the Hôtel Dieu. is the cattle and wood Market, near the Douane

At the Administration des Hospices, are a picture (custom-house); some of the oldest houses are in

by Vandyke, and the halbert of the famous Jeanne this neighbourhood, having their fronts carved in

Maillotte, leader of the townspeople against the inthe Flemish or Spanish style; and here are the surgent Flemish, who attacked the place, 1582. public baths. Pont Neuf is a small bridge of six There are at Lille, as might be expected, several arches, built 1701, on the Grand Rivage, a branch of Casernes, or barracks, and magazines; also schools the Deule, where goods are landed. Pont Royal is of medicine, painting, . &c.; and a botanic garden. ascended by steps and covered over. In this quarter, Here died, 1852, an old veteran, aged 88, called also, are the Palais de Justice (with a portico of four Coulomben l'Immortel. Among other escapes, when pillars) : the general hospital, founded 1783; tho taken in the Vendéan war and shot for not giving the government tobacco factory, magazines, barracks, the pass-word, he fell pierced with ton balls and four stabs artillery depôt, large public granary, &c.

of the bayonet, and yet survived sixty years after. The six parish churches are those of St. André, the Another celebrity was M. Fokedy who died, near best, restored since the Revolution ; St. Catherine, this, in 1853, at the great age of 95. He was one of which has an altar piece by Rubens, and a high tower;

the members of the Convention who voted against St. Etienne, having a good portal; St. Madeleine, with the execution of Louis XVI. a cupola and pictures; St.Sauveur, which had a Gothic | Revs. MM. Marzian and Deboeck are Protestant pire battered down, 1792; and the ancient Gothic | pastors here. church of St. Maurice, (begun 1022), with its side The Manufactures are cottons and linen, Lille chapels, and the Duc de Berri's mausoleum. A part thread, lace, soap, chemicals, beet-root sugar, linseed of St. Peter's old tower is all that remains of that oil, eaux-de-vie, and various other articles.

Conveyances, by railway to Calais, Dunkirk, Brus.

a tha sels, Mons, Cologne, &c.; by coach, to Bethune, &c.; Narx the Citadel, in Rue de la Barre, stands the

also by baraque to these and other places, on the Yolei die vie, called the Palais de Rihoult or Riche

canals. Cysoing, to the south-east, has part of an old bourg, when it belonged to the Dukes of Burgundy, who began it in the 13th cent. It is a Gothic pile of

abbey, and a pyramid in honour of Louis XV., who matroas dates; and includes the tribunal of commerce

was here after the battle of Fontenoy. Pinterentrem permen two pictures. by Wamps), and various! From Lille, on the rail to Ghent or Gand, you pasa

Roubaix (54 miles), a large town of 31,700 people, dressed in armour. This popular show has been kept and a thriving seat of the cotton manufactures. I up for four centuries. At the English College for Hotel.-Hotel Frreaille.

priests, founded by Cardinal Allen, the Douai version Tourcoing (14 miles), noted for its linge-de-table, of the Old Testament was first published, 1609. A or table linen. Pop., 28,000. Hotel-Du Cygne. worthy seminarist of Douai, visiting England in the

Mouscron (3 miles), where carriages are changed 17th cent., was asked, “Quid vidisti ?"-What most for

astonished him there? “Vidi," said the scandalized Belgium. Travellers are advised not to have priest, "Vidi episcopos, et episcopas, et episcopatulos.” cigars, tobacco, lace, &c., about them, without declar (I have seen bishops, and bishops' wives, and bishops' ing it at the douane, as the regulations are very strict; 1 children !) about half-a-pound of tobacco and 25 cigars are allowed. Pop., 20,607. Tapestry, sewing thread, bone lace, (BETHUNE (38 kil. south-west of Lille), a sous-pré- &c., are made.

fecture on the old road to Calais, and a strong Coach to Cambrai (see Route 5). military place of the second class, on the river At Douai, the line to Valenciennes and Brussels Brette, and two canals, which meet here. The parts off, as in Route 4. The next stations on our grand place (square) has, near the Hôtel de Ville. | present line are a curious and lofty spire tower or belfry. Much

Vitry (54 miles), and of the water is supplied by artesian wells, which

| Roux (41 miles); and 58 miles beyond that, is were first tried here. It has a good trade.

ARRAS, Pop., 7,100.

102 miles from Calais, 1341 miles from Paris. Hotels-De France; d'Angleterre; du Lion d'Or

HOTELS.-Du Griffon ; L'Europe; St. Pol: Coin(Golden Lion),

merce; Du Petit Paris. The wood of Dames Chartreuses offers a fine IT OBJECTS OF NOTICE. - Hôtel de Ville-St. panorama.)

| Waast's Abbey-Robespierre's House. Leaving Lille, the next station (after passing the | Pop. 24,000. A strongly fortified town, chief place faubourg of Fives, where changes are sometimes of department Pas-de-Calais (formerly of Artois promade) is

vince, which gave title of Comte d'Artois to Charles Seclin (6 miles). Pop., 3,400.

I X.), a third-class military station, seat of a bishopric, Carvin (67 miles), in department Du Nord, with tribunal, college, chamber of manufactures, &c., in a its pop. of 5,100 starch-makers, &c.

fertile plain, on the Scarpe. It was the Atrebates of Leforest (34 miles), in department Pas-de-Calais; Caesar, and even in St. Jerome's time (5th cent.) was then comes du Nord again, at

noted for its trade. Douai (5 miles), a strong town, and sous-pré

| The Cité, or old town, on the highest ground, was fecture, having a cour impériale, tribunal, college,

built round the hermitage of St. Waast (founded in and School for Artillery and engineers, to which the

the 6th cent.), which afterwards became a large Duke of Wellington was sent when a boy.

abbey, and has left some remains in the public Library Hotels.-Du Commerce;

| (36,000 vols.) Near this is Notre Dame Cathedral, Du Flandre, &c.

built 1832, in the Grecian style, on the site of the old It was once a seat of the Caluaci, in Belgic Gaul, Gothic one, which was destroyed by the partisans of and stands on the river Scarpe, which is joined to the the infamous Robespierre, who was born here. His Escaut, or Schelde, by a canal. Marlborough took it house, a plain-looking one, built 1730, is pointed out in the wars of Anne's time. The old walls are in Rue des Rapporteurs. strengthened with several towers; there are good walks The Ville, or lower town, divided from the other by on the ramparts. It has a large place (square), a the brook Crinchen, has good houses and streets of Gothic Hôtel de Ville, with a pinnacled belfry tower hewn stone, and adjoins the citadel, built by Vauban. and chimes over it; an arsenal (where the English Near the Hôtel de Ville, a very good Gothic building, prisoners were kept in the war), cannon foundry; worth notice, are the great and little squares (places), public library of 30,000 vols., botanic garden, picture surrounded with old Flemish houses and arcades, gallery, museum, theatre. Every other year an Ex Other buildings are the Préfecture, the Museum, conhibition of works of industry takes place. Another taining remains of antiquity found here, the conspicu.

hibition, which occurs yearly in July, and is attended ous Beffroi, or clock tower, deaf and dumb school, by vast crowds from the country, is the procession of large barracks, riding and military schools, and Giant Gayant and his wife, with their family, and theatre. The ramparts are strong and high, and the other personages. The Giant is about ten yards high, I country can be soon laid under water,

Damiens, who was broken on the wheel for trying

sieged by the Spaniards, and by Henry el to assassinate Louis XV., was also a native. At one

Nassau, 1536, it styled itself la Pucelle (maiden), time it was held by the Spaniards, who put up this

but it was taken, 1815. It has an old Gothic rhyme on the gates

church, and Hôtel de Ville, with a belfry. At "Quand les Français prendront Arras,

Château d' Applincourt, the famous League Les souris mangeront les chats ;"

against the Protestants was signed by Henry III. which, when it came into French hands, some one

and the Guises. Hotel-D'Angleterre.] proposed to retain, Lierely suppressing the pin

Corbie (10 miles) has the curious portal, &c., of a prendront.

Benedictine abbey, founded, 664, by St. Bathilde. Manufactures of cotton, woollen, lace, soap, salt,

Coaches to Harlonnières and Rosières. At 94 miles beet-root sugar, linseed oil, pottery, leather, are

from this, we come to carried on; besides a trade in grain, wine, and spirits -some of the latter being kept in the chalk cellars

AMIENS. in the Cité part. “Arras” tapestry, once so much 143 miles from Calais, 92 miles from Paris, at a in use all over Europe, was made here.

bifurcation, where the line to Boulogne parts oil, Near this, at Plancy, is the society of St. Victor,

either at Amiens, or sometimes at Longueau, close founded 1841. by M. Colin, author of the Dictionnaire by it. Passengers by the night train may stop here, Infernal. At Mont St. Eloy (6 kil.) is a ruined abbey; to avoid getting into Paris too early. The 10 30 and two stones at Acg mark the spot where Charles morning train affords time to breakfast and see tha the Bold was defeated by Count Baldwin, 863. Cathedral, and then reach Paris by 2.

Coaches to Cambrai (see Route 5), Bethune, and HOTELS. – De France et d'Angleterre, highly St. Pol.

recommended. Omnibuses at the station convey (LENS (14 kil. north-north-east), an old place on the

passengers to the hotel, where there are private

carriages for the use of travellers. Eleux, where the Prince of Condé, in 1648,

Du Rhin, Place St. Denis, near to the railway. and gained a victory over the Spaniards.

highly recommended for cleanliness and moderate ST. POL (34 kil. north-west), on the old road to charges.

Montreuil. is a sous-prsfecture (pop... 3.500). 1 De l'Univers; Des Trois Pigeons; De la Somme. pleasantly seated on the Ternoise, in a healthy ' OBJECTS OF NOTICE.--Cathedral - Hotel de spot, where four great roads meet, and having Ville-Bibliothèque-the Hautóye.

traces of the old Castle of the Counts of St. Pol. Pop. 53,000. A large, fortified, and very old town. About 20 kil, further is Agincourt (see Route 2).) the capital of department Somme (formerly of Boileux (53 miles) is the next station from Picardy), seat of a cour impériale (assize court), urras.

tribunal, college, and bishopric, on the river Somine, Achiet (5] miles). Coach to Bapaime, a place which divides itself in its course here into eleven or old as the eleventh century, fortified by Charles V. twelve canals, and contributes to the manufacturing

France, but given up 1659. An artesian well prosperity of the town. It was the Roman Ambiani. was sunk here, 1723, by Reullon. It has a ruined The Spaniards took it by stratagem, 1597, but it was castle.

almost immediately recovered. In 1802, the peace oj Albert (11) miles), on a branch of the river | Amiens was signed here, as being a sort of half way Ancre, which makes a Epe cascade here. It has a place between London and Paris-a petite paix, at quarry, in which various fossils are found ; and at which the English rejoiced so much that it made the church is an image of "our Lady of Breberie,” to Nelsol ay he was "ashamed of his country," and whom the shepherds and shepherdesses of this part which lasted about a twelvémonth.

s. Coach to Peronne. The streets and houses are regular; the largest PERONNE (22 kil. east-south-east), à sous-pré- place or square is tho Marché aux Herbes (herb

fecture and fortress, with 5,000 inhab., in the market), which extends about 145 yards by 48. Good marshes of the Somme, was the old capital of walks are laid out on the old fortifications ; but the Santerre. It has a castle, enclosing a very old best is the Hautoye promenade, which is regularly tower, called Tour Hebert, where Charles the planted, and set off with a large piece of water. Simple (placed here by Heribert, Count of Ver- The Virgin Mary Cathedral, one of the finest in man lois) died a prisoner, 929, and where, too, France, was built between 1220 and 1288, Bishop de the old fox, Louis XI. was trapped by his vással, | Fouillay having laid the first stone. Length, about Charles the Boid, as related in Scott's “Quentin 440 feet; height of spire, an elegant one, 425 feet; the Durward." Having been unsuccessfully be- nave, which is 45 feet broad, is of the surprising height of 141 feet, and is supportea by above 120 deli one of Vauban's best constructed fortresses. catepillars, someof which sound like a bell when struck. Pop. 4,400. Hotels Du Grand Turo : de l'Eu. But the front, flanked by two towers, and pierced at rope. Arras is 35 kil. north-east. the base by three deep portals, is the finest part. It Boves (57 miles), on the Noye, where the Ayre has a circular window above; and the whole is a joins it, is the next station from Amiens. There are wonderful profusion of tracery, bas-reliefs, niched remains of its old castle. Then comes figures, including the Last Judgment, the Virtuc3 and Ailly-sur-Noye (61 miles), on the Noye. Vices, the Months and Seasons, the Massacre of the Coaches to Conty, Hangest, and Moreuil. Innocents, &c. Notice also the circular gallery, the [MOREUIL (8 kil. east) on the Ayre, or Avre, bo fine windows (not stained), the tombs of the founders, paper and stocking factories, and the château & Godefrey d'Eu and Cardinal Hemart, the carved Margaret de Rongé. Near it, on a high hill, is stalls and pulpit, and the monument of the Enfant the Folleville Tower, sometimes called Beauvoir, Pleureur (weeping child). It is in course of repair. because of the fine view it commands. It has The Hótel de Ville, built by Henry IV., stands on

a very striking appearance, and stands above 100 arcades, and has some pictures. Here they show the

feet high. The chapel remains, having the marroom where the plenipotentiaries signed the Peace of

ble etfigies of Raoul de Launay (and his wife), Amiens.

viceroy of Naples, with a chain round it, similar

to one given him by Louis XI. at the taking of The public Library (bibliothèque) is a large build

Quesnoy.) ing in the Ionic style, with a good collection of 45,000

Breteuil (101 miles), 6 kil. from the railway, is volumes, including 400 volumes of MSS. Other buildings are-the Préfecture, the Lycée or

at the Noye's head, and takes its name from the college, the museum, corn market, citadel, jardin

Roman Brantuspansium (1 kil. south-east), where des plantes (botanic garden), hospital of St. Charles,

coins, &c., have been discovered, and which was de

stroyed by the barbarians in the 5th cent. It came the cavalry barracks, la Barge cloister (of the 14th

into notice after St. Marie's abbey was founded, 1049; cent.), the King's House, in the passage of that name

was fortified, taken by the English, and belonged to (Logis du Roi).

the Montmorencies and others. The church is as old Peter the Hermit, Ducange, the scholar, the poet

as 1226. Pop., 2,750. Hotel d'Angleterre. Gresset, Delambre, the astronomer, were born here.

Coaches to Beauvais, Crèvecoeur, Aumale, MontManufactures of velvet, camlet, plush, ribands, and didier. Rove. cotton goods, and savon du nord (soap); but the velvets

(At 13 kil. west is cost twice as much as those made in Manchester, in

MONTDIDIER, a sous-préfecture of 4,000 souls, in consequence of protection.

department Somme, on a hill by the Dom. It was The old châteaux of Baves and d'Hoeilly, may be a seat of the Merovingian kings, and has remains visited from this point. Conveyances, by railway, to of its walls, with many old houses and buildings in Abbeville, Boulogne, and St. Valery. Coaches to

its narrow streets. St. Pierre's church, though Poix, Doullens, and Aumale ; also Rouen and St.

large and ugly, has a carved porch and curious Quentin. The railway to Abbeville and Boulogne

efigies of one of its early counts, Raoul II. In is described in Route 2. Lines are projected to run the porch of St. Sepulchre's stands the tomb of west to Rouen, and east to Ham and St. Quentin, another Raoul, as old as 1074; and its pulpit (VILLERS-BRETONNEAUX (16 kil. east), on the deserves notice. At the Ilotel de Ville, in the

Peronne road, has a thriving stocking manu belfry, is a niched figure, called Jean Duquesne, facture.

which strikes the hours. The ancient Bailliage AUMALE (43 kil. west-south-west) on the Rouen

is turned into the law court, or tribunal, where road, pleasantly seated on the Bresle, gives title several pieces of tapestry are to be seen. A to the Duc d'Aumale, and has two columns cabinet of natural history is placed in the Colnear the bridge where Henry IV. was wounded, lege, a large building; as is the hospital, or on his way from Rouen. The old fort stood Hotel Dieu. about a dozen sieges. On the north side Hotels.-De Condé; de Grenadier. are some useful mineral waters; and the ruins It was an Aubry de Montdidier who was overof Auchy Abbey are not far off.

come in single combat, and murdered in tho NEUFCHÂTEL (see Route 8) is 25 kil. further ; forest of Bondy, by Macaire, and the murder thence to Dieppe, 47 kil., or to Rouen, 46 kil.

discovered by the victim's dog - the dog of DOULLENS (30 kil. north) has a good church, and Montargis. Excellent pork pies are made here.

« AnteriorContinuar »