« AnteriorContinuar »
Enticing : yet at one time its reputation as an agree- there is a good Hôtel de Ville. Abbé Prévost able resort drew many persons of rank hither, whose was a native. Pop., 3,500. Near it are traces of houses have lately disappeared. Some traces of the Old Hesdin, or Hidisrum. castle of the Counts of Ponthieu are seen in the AGINCOURT, or AZINCOURT, 12 kil. beyond, in the prison. It has a communal college, theatre, foundling old province of Picardy, a small village, with hospital, &c., and a public library of 25,000 vols. At traces of a castle, 16 miles from Crescy, and the latter, are busts of natives (Sanson, thegeographer, equally memorable for a great victory gained Millevoye, the poet, Lesueur, the composer, &c.), and by Henry V., 25th of October, 1415, with 9,000 a copy of the Gospels, in gold letters, on purple men, against a French force of about 55,000, vellum, which Charlemagne gave to St. Riquier's chiefly by means of his archers, with their clothAbbey.
yard shafts, stationed in a wood still here. ShakBut the Gothic Cathedral of St. Wulfran is the spere's Henry V. speaks of 8,400 "knights, most remarkable object. It has two towers, 171 feet esquires, and galiant gentlemen," who fell, bem high, in its noble west front, built by Cardinal sides others. Fluellen, in that play, is the David d'Amboise, in the flamboyant style of the 16th Gam, or Squinting David, of Welsh history, who cent., and decorated with niched figures of saints.
told the king on this occasion, after counting The triple portal is enriched with carvings of the
the enemy, that "there were enough to kill, apostles, the Annunciation of the Virgin, &c. The
enough to make prisoners, and enough to run arches of the nave are also good, but the rest of the away." This victory left Henry V. master of the building is inferior.
best part of France, which was quickly overrun
by the English, but as quickly lost in the next Manufactures of fine linen (at the Champ de Foire,
reign. or Fair Field), first established by Colbert, velvets,
FRUGES, 5 kil, from this, under a slope, has a mineral carpets, muslins, cordage, leather; and a brisk trade
water. At 31 kil. beyond, is St. Omer (ses in grain, wine, cider, linen, and woollen goods, &c.
Route 1).) Diligences from Abbeville to Dieppe, at 11 morn.
The line ascends the Somme, after leaving Abbeand 3 aft.; also coaches to Huxy-le-Château, Hesdin,
ville; the next station to which is Blangly, Neufchâtel, Crécy. Boat to St. Valery.
Remy, or Pont-Rémy (5 miles), which has a ruined From Abbeville, along the road to Arras, we pass | castle; then ST. RIQUIER (10 kil. east-north-east) and the re- Longpre (5 miles); and
mains of its abbey, founded by Dagobert, in the Hangest (4 miles), near which is the camp of 7th cent.: enlarged by Charlemagne, and I l'Etoile, an old Roman fort. The next is called Centule, from its hundred towers ; Picauigny (5 miles), and its old castle, best now a college. The Church, partly restored, is known for the treaty signed here between Edward IV. worth notice for its beautiful front, full of niches I and Louis XI., in 1475. ' and carvings, as well as for its carved stalls, iron Ailly (3 miles) belonged to a noble family of that gates, and curious frescoes (of the 16th cent.) I name two of whom (according to Voltaire), father in the treasury, including the Dance of the Three
and son, taking opposite sides, fought hand to hand, Dead and Three Living. An old belfry, and re- at the battle of Ivry. At 6 miles beyond this is mains of the great town walls, are seen.
Amiens, on the main line, as in Route 1. From Abbeville, along the road to St. Omer, you pass near the field of
ROUTE 3. CRESCY or CRÉCY (16 kil. north-east), in a forest, where the Black Prince (1346) defeated the
Dunkirk to Hazebrouck and Paris. French, 30,000 being slain. The walls of the Distance to Hazebrouck, 41 kil. or 254 miles. Four windmill, in which they say Edward III. stood trains daily. to watch the battle, as related by Froissart, are crowded with names of Englishmen who have
DUNKIRK, or Dunkerque, visited this memorable spot.
222 miles from Paris ; about 40 from Dover. HESDIN (35 kil. from Abbeville, further on), in de- / HOTELS.-Chapeau Rouge, clean and good; Du
partment Pas-de-Calais, on the Canche, was Sauvage. founded (1544) by the Dukes of Savoy, in the English Protestant Chapel in Rue-des-Soeurs Blan. midst of a beautiful country, flat, but well ches, Rev. C. Cooke. wooded and cultivated. The air is healthy, and! British Consul, Major N. Pringle.
Passengers før Belgium, &c., should have their (under Condé) took it, 1558, but restored it immelugsige plombe, to savo examination crossing France. I diately: again, in 1658, it was taken by Turenne at
High water at moon's full and change, 1lh, 18m. the Battle of the Dunes, given up to Cromwell, but
ROT OBJECTS OF NOTICE.Hotel de Ville-Museum sold, in 1662, by Charles II. to Louis XIV., who of Paintings-St. Eloi and St. Jean's churches- fortified it. This happened when Clarendon was Statue of Jean Bart-Fishermen's church.
building his great house in Piccadilly, which the mob Pop., 30,000. A sous-préfecture in department nicknamed "Dunkirk House." The fortifications Nord, a bustling port, and military post of the were razed, 1715, but afterwards restored. The Duke second class, on the Belgian frontier. The cleanliness of York tried to take it, 1793, but without success. of Dunkirk, its cheap living, and the good character Admiral Roussin was born here. borne by the Flemish servants, have attracted a num- Manufactures of ropes, sugar, candles, &c., and a ber of English here. It grew out of a church founded good trade in eaux-de-vie, gin, soap, salt, tobacco, in the seventh century, by St. Eloi, called the "Church butter, fish, cheese, beer, grain, pottery, &c. of the Dunes," from the dunes, downs, or sand- Conveyances, by rail, to Lille, Brussels, Paris, &c. hillocks, which line this terribly flat coast. It has an | By steamer to Havre, on Saturday (10 and 20 francs, anchorage lying at some distance, in the road, and is in 20 hours), to Rotterdam (10 and 20 francs, in 12 as noted for smugglers in peace, as for its privateer-hours), Hamburgh, Copenhagen; by canal-boat to ing exploits during war. Its most special hero is Bourbourg (6 hours), Ostend, &c.; by packet to RamsJean Bart, who was a native, and whose statue is in gate and London, Hull, Dundee, &c. (See Bradshaw's Place Royale. Jean Gauthier, Jean Lion, who styled Continental Railway Guide). himselt Godts Vrient, i.e. God's Friend, Koster, and (From Dunkirk, along the coast, you pass the Jacobsons, are almost equally celebrated person LAFRENOUCK (3 miles); then Laytcoote, near the ages here.
Belgian border (6 miles from Dunkirk), across Canals run inland to Bergues, Ostend, Bruges, &c. which, the first place you come to is Furnes, White brick houses of two stories make up the with its two churches.) neat broad streets, but there is a want of good water. The first station from Dunkirk, towards Paris, is Many of the people, workmen and others, live in Bergues (5 miles), a small frontier post, on the cellars. Thetown is defended by ramparts, the citadel, Colme, and a canal, which brings vessels of 300 tong Fort Risbau, &c.; and has two Basins, one of which up from the sea. It stands among marshes, and has was restored 1794, and frigates launched in it. There often suffered from war, having been taken or pillaged is a jetty at the quay, besides a long pier over the flats. | about sixteen times. It has an Hotel de Ville, built A Light-tower. 194 feet high stands near the basin for 1664, with a good collection of pictures ; a fine belfry, the chasse-marées, at the mouth of the canal which 164 feet high, shaped like St. George's new tower leads up to the Port.
at Westminster; two towers of St. Winnoc's abbey, The Hotel de Ville, built 1644. is an old-fashioned which servo for sea marks; and a good public library pile, with a low spire. A solid square clock tower, of of 5,000 volumes. Cardinal Dubois was abbot of St. brick. 154 feet high,' called Tour de l'Eglise, because Winnoc's, which was destroyed in 1793. once part of the church, is now cut off from it by the
he church is now out off from it, by the The trade is in butter, cheese, grain (for which there road. This Church (St. Eloi's) is Gothic, with a hand- | is a large market), lace, eaux-de-vie, &c. Pop., 6,000.
me Grecian portico of ten pillars, added by Louis, Esquelbeca (52 miles), is followed by and contains some paintings. At the Church of St. Arneeke (41 miles); then Jean are two pictures by Vandyke and Guido, to be | Cassel (41 miles), an old town, once fortified, and geen for a fee. The Jesuits' church is replaced by the having a parish church of the 13th cent., part of a college; the public library contains 7,000 volumes. Jesuits' convent,'a Flemish mairie, two (out of six) The Museum is rich in Flemish pictures. Large bar gates, &c., is most remarkable for the prospect it racks are also seen, a salle de spectacle, school of commands from the hill on which it stands (800 feet navigation, &c.; and there are sea and other baths. high), over the flat and populous country around. It The Fishermen's Chapel des Dunes, near the shore, was once a Roman station; and an anchor found here, is, as usual, crowded with votive offerings. Genuine 1815, about 12 feet down, and other signs, show that Flemish is spoken all round Dunkirk.
this flat was once covered by the sea. The view takes Its position has made it the scene of many contests. in part of the North Sea (even to Dover in clear A castle was built by the Counts of Flanders, which weather), 32 fortified towns, and about 100 villages, the English burnt, 1388; they took the town, 1538, including Dunkirk, Nieuport, Ostend, Bruges, Ypres, but gave it up to Spain the next year. The French Courtray, Lille, Bethune. St. Omer, Calais, Haze. brouck, Gravelines, &c., extending above 30 miles | It has several good promenades, and commands a every way. General Vandamme, who fought at fine view, from the tower, of the citadel. Froissart, Waterloo, was born here; and his house and gardens or Froissard, the historian, Watteau, the painter, and are shown.
d'Argenson, the statesman, were born here; as were Hazebrouck (64 miles) on the main line, as in Mad. Duchenois, the tragedienne, and Lemaire, the Route 1.
sculptor of the Madeleine, at Paris. ROUTE 4,
Among the manufactures carried on are, muslins,
gauzes, excellent lace, linens, wine, saltpetre, linseed Paris to Douai, Valenciennes, Mons, and oil, chicory, pottery, pipes, soap, leather, toys; it has Brussels.
several sugar and salt refineries, printworks, distilDistance, 231 miles, or 370 kil. Five trains daily,
leries of eaux-de-vie; and there is a large trade in
these articles, besides coal. The mines at Anzin in 8 to 12 hours.
employ 4,000 hands. Douai, as in Route 1: The next station is
Coaches to Bavay, Berlaimont, St. Amand-lesMontigny (54 miles); then Somain (41 miles), where the junction of the
Eaux, Landrecies, Quesnoy, Condé, Bon-Secours,
Solesmes, Le Cateau. branch from Busigny, on the St. Quentin line, takes
[ST. AMAND-LES-EAUX (10 kil. north-north-west) place, by way of Cambrai and Bouchain. Between
on the Scarpe, with a pop. of 9,500, who make the latter (a small fortress and sous-préfecture) and
lace, &c., is known for its waters, its artesian Somain, there is, at Denain, a line to the coal mines of St. Anzin, near Valenciennes. At Denain, a pillar
wells, and its Clock tower, 318 feet high, which stands on the spot where Marshal Villars routed the
was the spire (built 1635-6), to the church of St. Allies, 1712.
Amand's abbey, founded 634. Wallers (5? miles), in a forest. Then
The mineral springs, near Croisette (2 kil.) are three, Raismes (3} miles) with its coal mines aud foun
viz., Fontaine-de-Bouillon, Source de Pavillon, dries: and 41 miles further is
and Fontaine de Verito; temperature 770. They
are useful in rheumatism, paralysis, ulcers, &c. VALENCIENNES,
Season, from June to August. There are bathing173 miles from Paris. Travellers from Belgium houses and an assembly-room, &c. Bon-Secours are examined by the douaniers at the station.
hermitage is near. HOTELS.-Du Commerce ; Des Princes; Du Mon-, CONDÉ (11 kil. north-east) on the Schelde, close to ton Blanc; De Moulin ; De Brussels; Des Flandre. the Belgian frontier, is a fourth-class fortress 1 OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-Rubens' pictures, &t the
(by Vauban), with a large arsenal and good Hôtel de Ville and St. Gery's Church-Theatre - Hôtel de Ville. It gave title of prince to Museum.
the Bourbons, to whom it came in the 15th A sous-préfecture, in department Nord, a large cent. The Spaniards at one time held it, and strongly-fortified town, and second-class military the Allies took it, 1793. Pop. 5,200. Nails, &c., station on the frontier, formerly the capital of are made. Mademoiselle Clairon, the actress, Hainault, in the midst of a coal field and thriving was a native. Near it is Ermitage, the seat of manufactures. It is well built, and divided into two the Duc de Croi.) parts by the Estcaut, or Schelde, and has one of After Valenciennes, the next station is Vauban's citadels. Pop. 23,300.
Blanc-Misseron (7 miles), near the Belgian Among the best buildings are-St. Gery's Church, frontier, with a douane. Then comes founded 1225, by Jeanne, daughter of Baldwin, em Quievrain, mile further, the Belgian douane. peror of Constantinople, 171 feet long, with two of Here change carriages. To Mons is 10 miles ; and Rubens' pictures; the half Gothic Hôtel de Ville, built Brussels is 391 miles from this. See Brada 1612. with three pictures by the same master: public shaw's Hand-Book to Belgium and the Rhine. library of 18,000 vols, and MSS., and the Museum, containing minerals, armour, pictures, &c. Its tall
ROUTE 5. clock tower, 180 feet high, built 1237, fell with a crash in 1843. An academy of painting, sculpture, and
Paris to Creil, St. Quentin, Charleroi, architecture was founded, 1782, by Baron Pujol, a
Brussels, and Cologne. native of this town. At the hospital, founded 1751, This is the direct route to Cologne. Distance, 3161 is a good chapel; the salle de spectacle (theatre), is by miles. To Brussels (via Charleroi), 2223 miles. Four Pujol; and there is a mont de piété,
trains daily to Cologne; express about 12 hours,