Imagens das páginas

Creil, as in Route 1. Ascending the Oise, the prisoner (1430), in a sally from Vieux Pont gate, by next station is

the Burgundians, who sold her to the English. This Pont-Ste-Maxence (77 miles), in a pleasant | gate is close to the Tour de la Pucelle. part of the Oise, under a wooded hill, which has, The Château, as rebuilt by Louis XV., and finished remains of an old one, a good three-arched by Napoleon (who first met his bride, Marie Louise,

1, resting on here), was the residence of Charles of Spain, in 1808. groups of open pillars, not solid piles. Some old It is a favourite resort of the present Emperor Louis houses are left, though it has suffered in past times. Napoleon, both for hunting and for the Reviews at Much grain is sold. Moncel Abbey ruins are turned the Camp, which was first formed by Louis XIV. into a wine depôt.

The noble front, towards the forest, is 624 feet wide. Coaches to Gournay-sur-Aronde and Senlis (see In the grand gallery, of 100 feet, are Napoleon's vicRoute 1.) The former (20 kil. north-east,) was the tories, painted by Girodet. An avenue of nearly a birth-place of Montaigne's adopted daughter, Made-mile leads from the château to the forest, which moiselle de Gournay.

covers 29,600 acres (46 square miles) and is much finer Before reaching the next station, you pass Sarron, than that at Fontainebleau, though less frequented. on the Oise, near the château of Plessis-Villette | It is pierced with 275 leagues of road; one now called which belonged to Voltaire's niece, Madame de Brunehaut, was a Roman way leading to Soissons. Villette. They show, here, a statue of the poet, on a

St. Corneille, or the Abbey Church, contains some pedestal, containing his heart, besides his desk, and

old royal tombs, and had the organ (the first brought sofa, &c.

into Europe) which Constantine Copronymous, the Verberie (67 miles), on a hill side, now much

| Greek emperor, gave to Pepin, 755. Its tower is surdecayed (pop., 1,400), had once three bridges over

mounted by a turret. St. André and St. Antoine are the Oise, and a palace, in which Charles Martel died,

Gothic; St. Jacques partly in the Renaissance style. 741. His son, Pepin, called a council here, and his

At the Carmelites' church is the tomb of the Count grandson, Charlemagne, built a chapel. Charles the

of Toulouse, by Lemoine. One of the best buildings Bold hela the synod of Soissons here, and gave his is the picturesque. Gothic Hotel de Ville, with its daughter to Ethelwolf of England. It was burnt by delicate carvings, high roof, carved spire turrets, and the Normans, and restored by Charles V. ; but few

fine spire belfry. The three-arched Pont Neuf has a traces of antiquity are left. In the time of Louis

pyramid, 33 feet high, in the middle of it. There is a XIV., the walls were strengthened, and the town

public library of 28,000 volumes, and a museum of called Villeneuve (new town). Near it is the old

autiquities. The walks around are extremely pleachurch of Rhuys, with a Romanesque tower.

sant. Coaches to Soissons, Pierrefonds-les-Bains. (At 18 kils. south-cast is Crépy, or Crespy, founded in the 10th cent., along with St. Arnould's

SOISSONS (35 kil. east), a sous-préfecture of 9,500

souls (department Aisne), a fortified town, and Abbey. It was the capital of the Valois coun

seat of a diocese, in a fertile valley, on the Aisne try, and a strong place, having a palace called

was the chief hold of the Suessones when Cæsar Bouville. Only one (St. Denis, with a good choir,) of its five churches remains, with ruins of

took it. Clovis made it the capital of the Franks another. There are also a tower, and part of the

(486), after routing its Roman governor Syagrius.

Pepin deposed Childeric here, 752, and Charles château fort. The English took it, 1431, and tho

the Simple was beaten, 922, by his competitor Leaguers, 1588; but is best known for the treaty

Robert. In 1315, it suffered from the Burof 1544, between Francis I. and Charles V.)

gundians and Armagnacs; the Huguenots raCompiegne (7) miles), 63 miles from Paris.

vaged it, 1567; and it was taken and retaken Hotels.De la Cloche; De France; Du Soleil d'Or. A sous-préfecture of 10,800 souls, on a slant

twice over, 1814. It is well-built, and defended of the Oise, where the Aisne joins. It is a quiet by ramparts. Hotel.-Croix d'Or.

place, except when frequented by the court, The Gothic Cathedral of the 12th cent., on the with narrow ill-built streets. Near its great Forest site of that in which Pepin was crowned by stood the Roman Compendium, with a small hunt St. Boniface, has a tower 160 feet high, and ing seat of the time of Clovis and Charles the Bold, | Rubens's “Adoration of the Shepherds,” given, who built an abbey and château here. Louis le Bègue they say, by him to the Cordeliers here, in graand Louis V. were buried in the abbey (which was titude for their care of him when sick. St. pulled down at the Revolution); and it was held for Pierre is in the Lombard style, small and round, Charles VII. by Jeanne d'Arc, when she was taken with buttresses and a dome; St. Leger, in that of the Renaissance. Only the fine Gothic portal is said) John Cauvin, or Calvin, was born, 1509, his and spire are left of St. Jean-des-Vignes Abbey, father being diocesan secretary. He went to the on a hill, founded in the 11th cent.

school of the Capettes here, and, through favour of the The old Château, on the site of the palace, is bishop, received a benefice when he was only twelve;

flanked by heavy round towers. Other buildings two years after, to escape the plague, he was sent to are, the Intendance, the college, Hotel Dieu, Paris. house of correction, museum and library of | The cathedral Church is chiefly Romanesque, of the 19.000 volumes, two barracks, theatre, &c. A 13th cent. (an earlier one was begun by Pepin), 351 bridge leads over to St. Vaast.

feet long, and 217 high at the west towers. The In the neighbourhood are some remains of St. interior is very imposing. One of its bishops was

Medard's Abbey, founded 1545, with the dungeon Pope Innocent I. where Louis-le-Debonnaire was for a time con- Trade in grain, leather, linen, cottons, coal, &c fined by his rebellious sons. Clotaire, son of Pop., 6,400. Clovis, king of Soissons (whose dominions took Hotels.-Du Nord ; Des Chevaleta in all the north-east of France) was buried in it. Coaches to Roye, Nesles, Guiscard, Ham. Another spot is Braisne, which belonged to the (RoYE (15 kil, north-west), a small old place, on the Counts of Egmont, before the Revolution, under

Avre, in department Somme (part of Picardy), the name of Château de la Folie. Coucy Castle is said to be the ancient Rodium, and has suffered and Anizy, built by Francis I., may be visited

from eleven sieges and three plagues. It has a from here.

church with excellent stained windows; a carved Childeric I., Clotaire II., the Duke of Mayence timber house on the Place; public baths, mineral

(the chief of the League against Henry IV.), and springs, and manufactures of stockings, &c. Collot d'Herbois, the infamous terrorist, were Pop. 4,000. A sect of Guerinets, so called after natives of Soissons.

their leader, Guerin, the curé here, were extir. Linen and pottery are made; trade in grain, vege pated, 1626. tables, cattle, &c.

NESLES (10 kil. north-east of this), gave name to one Coaches to Laon (33 kil. further -- Route 6), of the earlier marquisates in France; and has

Rheims, Château-Thierry, &c. A railway is an old church, in which nearly all its inhabitants projected to run from Soissons direct to Paris.

were butchered by Charles the Bold, 1472. At 12 kil, south-east of Compiégne, near one end of

HAM (18 kil. north-north-east of Noyon), on the its forest, are the picturesque walls and towers of

Somme, is as old as 875, and known for its moated Pierrefonds Castle, a vast ruin on a hill. It was so Château or state prison, built 1470, by the Con

strong that a determined soldier, Rieux, in 1592, stable St. Pol. On the gate is his motto in Gothio held out against three or four of Henry IV.'s letters, “Mon Mieux" (my best); the great round commanders, and was at last only bought over

keep stands 108 feet high, 108 diameter, and 36 with gold. In 1617, no fewer than 15,000 men feet thick. A stone, which served as pillow to a invested it, and took it after six day's continual monk, is pointed out, on which girls who wish firing, when it was dismantled. It is one of the to be married within the year come to kneel. finest remains of antiquity in France. There is Among persons confined here were Charles the a sulphur spring here, called Pierrefonds-les Simple; Joan of Arc, after her capture at Bains, now much frequented in summer, Compiègne; St. Pol, its owner (before Louis and beneficial in cases of weak lungs. Amuse XI. sent him to the block); Mirabeau; the ment is afforded by fishing in the lake, and ministers of Charles X.; Louis Napoleon, now excursions in the forest.)

emperor; Cabrera, the Carlist; and lastly, Thourotte (5 miles).

Cavaignac, Changarnier, &c., in 1848. Louis Ribecourt (31 miles).

Napoleon was kept here six years, and then Ourscamps (21 miles). Here spinning is car escaped to England. The church has a good ried on in the remains of an abbey.

choir, and carvings of scriptural subjects. Noyon (41 miles), the Roman Noviadunum, be General Foy was a native.] came the seat of a bishop, 511, and was the place Appilly (5 miles), in department Aisne. where Hugh Capet was elected king, 987. It stands Chauny (51 miles), a decayed fortified town, on on a hill side, among gardens, in the valley of the Oise, where the St. Quentin canal joins, in a Chaunay, on the Vorse, near the Oise ; and is well fertile plain. Linens are made, and there are large built. having four gates, and the house in which it works for polishing the plate glass made at the im

[ocr errors]

portant factory of St. Gobain, 10 miles S.E., first | Tergnier-la-Fere (41 miles), where the branch established by Louvois. Pop., 6,390. The canal line, via Laon, turns off to Rheims and Epernay, as opens a way between the Oise and Somme.

in Routes 6 and 55. In winter the meadows along the Oise are inundated

Montescourt(5) mies), whence Har (as above) by the rain, and swarm with ducks, plovers, cranes,

may be visited. At 87 miles further, over a marshy herons, and other wild fowl.

tract, which cost the engineers some trouble to con(The forest of St. Gobain, above mentioned contains

solidate, you come to many striking spots, such as the remains of a vast Premonstratensian Abbey, now used as a glass

ST. QUENTIN, works; le Tortoir, a house which belonged to

1063 miles from Paris. the Knights Templars; the ruins of St. Nicholasaux-Bois, a Bernardine house; and the Croix

TOTELS.-Du Cygne; D'Angleterre; Du Lion d'Or, Coesine, an ancient expiatory monument, erected

This place, seated on a hill between the Somme and by St. Louis. South of St. Gobain, and about

St. Quentin canal, is a sous-préfecture (in department 7 miles from Chauny, are the magnificent ruins

Aisne), of 24,400 souls, who carry on here, as the cenof

tre of a wide district, thriving manufactures of cotton, Coucy Castle, or Coucy-le-Château, a great object of

thread, table linens, silk, tulle, muslin, shawls, steamattraction to visitors, and among the finest of

engines, oil, soap, &c. It was the Roman Augustathe kind in France or western Europe. The most

Vivamenduorum, but was called St. Quentin from

884, after the martyr of that name. It suffered from conspicuous remains are one entire wing, with

the Vandals, 401; Attila and his Huns, 451; the great corner towers, and, rising above all, the massive circular Keep, a solid machicolated pile,

Normans, in the 8th and 9th cents.; and was made 190 feet high, and 30 to 32 feet thick. This castle

the head of the Vermandois country by Louis I., belonged to the De Coucys, or Courcys, a tur

for his nephew Pepin. Louis XI., and his rival, bulent and warlike race, who gave continual

Charles of Burgundy, frequently contested it. In trouble to their neighbours and sovereigns until

1557, it was defended by Coligny against 50,000 they died out, and their seat was at last destroyed

Spaniards under Philip II. (King of England) and by Mazarin. They bore the proud device

Emanuel of Savoy, but taken, after a long siege. A

battle fought close to it, 10th August, the same year, " Je ne suis Roy, ni Duc, Prince, ni Comte aussi :

in which Philip was again victorious, led to his buildJe suis le Sire de Coucy." (I am neitber King, Duke, Prince, nor Count:

ing the Escurial, in fulfilment of a vow he had made. I am the Lord of Coucy.)

The houses are modern ; three faubourgs stretch Twelve of this warlike house died in Palestine. | beyond the site of its old ramparts. Overlooking the fighting against the infidels; Joha de Coucy town, on the hill-top, is the fine Church, a large and became a favourite of King John, and the first

imposing Gothic specimen, about 420 feet long from Earl of Ulster; and a daughter of Ingelram de

the large Fulrad porch to the Virgin chapel, and 127 Coucy (who is buried near Sursee, in Switzerland,

feet high in the nave (which is 212 feet long) ; it has where he fell in battle, 1376) became the queen

110 windows, some stained, and 422 feet high, with of Alexander II. of Scotland.

le chapels, and 78 pillars. A tall spire used to There are remains of another Château in the village.

rise above the square tower. It was a cathedral till where Clothaire IV. died in 719, and where La

the bishop removed to Noyon. Belle Gabrielle gave birth to the Duc de Vendôme, The Hôtel de Ville, in Grande Place, built 1509, in Henry IV.'s son.

the Gothic style, is worth notice for its handsome Half way between this and Chauny, is another seat front and arcade, quaint carvings, and lantern tower,

of the Coucys, Folembrai (now a bottle factory), in which is a good chime of bells. A Latin inscription which, like their original castle, was forfeited to on the front magnifies the behaviour of the citizens the French kings. At times it has been the re- in the siege above mentioned, before and after the sidence of Diane de Poictiers and Gabrielle battle. It stood eleven assaults, and was given up to d'Estrées.

plunder when taken. There are also a college, palais Near Chauny is Quiéray, where Charles Martel died, de justice, library of 17,000 vols., new theatre, gas

also remarkable as the spot where the treaty works, besides a conseil-de-prud'hommes (who arrange was made between Pepin and Stephen II., in prices, &c., between masters and workmen), schools 743, which confirmed to the Papacy its possessions of design, founded by La Tour (a native partssus in Italy)

painter), botanic garden, hospital, &c,

The St. Quentin canal, which is part of the system whose monument, by David, is in the present called Canal de Picardie, unites the Oise and Somme cathedral: the old one in which he was buried to the Schelde, near Cambrai; one of its tunnels, near was razed at the Revolution. Bellicourt, is 5,677 metres, or 33 miles, long. Charle It was the Roman Cameracum, and the head of a voix, the Jesuit historian, was a native; so was Babeuf, district called Cambrésis, held by the bishop as a the Communist, who died on the scaffold, 1797. Traces fief of the German empire. It stands in a fertile of three Roman ways are seen. The old town kept its pasture land, near the source of the Escaut os Latin name for a long time in the form of Aoste.

Schelde, which runs through it. The fortifications Within a few miles of St. Quentin are-Caulain are strengthened by a citadel of Vauban's, on a court (near the Oise), the seat of the Duke de Vicenza, hill, which was occupied by the English, in 1815. which was rebuilt 1773, after having been destroyed

Ige leads out on one side. The

Hôtel de Ville fronts the large Place d'Armes by the Spaniards; St. Simon, once the property of the Duke de St. Simon, (author of Memoirs of Louis (exercise ground). The Esplanade is also of XIV. and the Regency ;) and Moy, which belonged to

great extent. It has a military hospital, a colCardinal de Brienne, one of the ministers of Louis lege, a public library of 30,000 volumes, mont de XVI.

piété (loan fund), theatre, and several gableCoaches to Le Catelet, Ribémont, Guise, La Ca

fronted houses and public buildings. An alliance, pelle. The railway from St. Quentin, via Ham, to

or league was concluded here in 1508, by France, Amiens, and thence to Rouen, is now open,

Spain, and Austria, with Pope Julius II., for (GUISE (26 kil. east-north-east), a small third-class

spoiling Venice of her continental possessions. fortress, in a pretty spot on the Oise, is as old as

Monstrelet, the historian antiquary, and General 1050, and was given, 1520, to Claude de Lorraine,

Dumouriez, were natives. first Duke of Guise. Mary, Queen of Scots, was

Fine linen, cambrics to which this town first gave his grand-daughter; and Francis, surnamed le

the name), lace, throad, &c. are made. Pop Balafré (from a scar in his face), was his grand

21,400.) Hotel.-De l'Europe, good. son. The old Château, 164 feet above the town,

Le Cateau (53 miles), or Cateau. Cam. now used as a barrack, has a round keep left. Presis, on the Selle, a place of 5,946 inhabitants, is Henry IV., against whom the Guises headed the best known for the treaty of peace, made 1559, beween League, burnt it, 1594.

Philip of Spain and Henry II. of France. It Jean de Luxembourg, who sold the Maid of Orleans

was the head-quarters of the Duke of Wellington to the English, and Camille Desmoulins, were

in 1815. Marshal Mortier was born here. It had a

castle or château built by Bishop Hallais. natives. ]

(SOLESMES (8 kil. from Le Câteau, along the ValenThe next station is

ciennes road) on the Selle, has the cloister, &c., Essigny-le-Petit (5 miles). Then

of an abbey of old date, with a modern church, Fresnoy-le-Grand (5 miles), the nearest sta having a spire 213 feet high. Pop. 5,000. Linens, tion for Guise, above-mentioned.

muslins, &c., are made, besides soap and leather.)

Landrecies (71 miles), a small fortified town, Bohain (24 miles).

Coaches to Avesnes and Le Quesnoy. Busigny (3} miles). Here the junction rail from

(LE QUESNOY (about 12 miles east), a fourth class Somain (in Route 4), via Cambrai, falls in. It Las

fortress, on a hill, in a wide plain, near Mormal eight stations-BERTRY, CAUDRY, CATTENIÈRES,

Forest, with an arsenal, a curious church, a nail CAMBRAI, IWUY, BOUCHAIN, LOURCHES, and

factory, &c. It was taken by Prince Eugene, DENAIN (used for the Anzin and other coal mines

1712, taken and retaken, 1793, and occupied by only) ; none of which are of any importance, except

the Allies, 1815-18.] Bouchain, a small sous-prefecture of 1,600 souls, and

Aulnoye (84 miles). Coach to Avesnes. Cambrai, as below. It serves mainly to open a com

[AVESNES (10 kil. east), the Roman Avesnce, a sousmunication with the coal mines round Valenciennes

préfecture and fortified town, on the Sambre, (Cambrai, 38 kil. north of St. Quentin, on the near the Belgian frontier, taken by the Prussians,

road to Douai, is a sous-préfecture in depart 1815. It has a church, with a tower about 320 feet ment Nord, an ancient and strongly-fortified high, Hôtel de Ville, clock tower, &c., and is town of the second class, in the old province of noted for prepared boars' heads. Pop. 3,600.] Flanders, and seat of a bishopric; but it was an Hautmont (41 miles). Archdiocese when held by the excellent Fenelore, I Maubeuge (27 miles), a small frontier fortrons

on the Sambre, with a population of 7,400, and | The Cathedral Church of Notre Dame, the most remanufactures of fire-arms, nails, iron, &c. Coal and markable building, is an excellent uniform specimen of marble are got near. The Austrians were defeated the early pointed style in France; it was built 1112-14. here, 1793.

It has five towers, portals pierced with deep entrances (BAVAY, or Bavai (8 miles north-west), the Roman (three in the west front), stained rose and other

Bayacum, has, in the Place, a seven-sided pillar, windows, and several ornamented side chapels. St. marking on its faces as many Roman ways, and I Martin's Church is as old as the 12th cent.. and has said to replace a Roman milliary stone which two good towers. The abbey of that name is now the stood here within the last two centuries.)

Hôtel Dieu. JEUMONT (6 miles), a French douane. Across the | Another abbey (Notre Dame, founded 645,) is Belgian frontier is

occupied by the préfecture, where the library of Erquelines (13 mile), another douane, where 17,000 volumes is placed. There are also the college, luggage is examined. Thence to

theatre, barracks, the citadel (on the site of a castle Charleroi (18 miles), from which trains run to built by Louis Outremer, and pulled down, 1831), and Waterloo, and

the leaning tower of Penchée in the walls, near the Brussels (45 miles), and to

Porte St. Martin Cologne (1384 miles). See Bradshaw's Hand Lothaire I., St. Remi, and Marshal Serrurier, were Book to Belgium.

born here. It was taken by the Allies in 1814-15.

Clovis made it the seat of a bishop, who afterwards ROUTE 6.

came to be styled Duke of Laon, &c. The caves in

the rock are worth notice. Paris to Creil, Tergnier, Laon, & Rheims.

Manufactures of stockings, hats, leather, nails, and Distance, from Tergnier 494 miles. Four trains

a trade in corn, wine, excellent artichokes, &c. daily.

Conveyances to Soissons, Marle, Vervins, &c. This line was constructed by the Ardennes Company in 1857. With that from Rheims to Mezières, it

(VERVINS (37 kil.), on the Vilpion, a small place fills up the frontier ground (occupied by the depart

and sous-préfecture of 2,800 pop., was frequently monts of Ardennes, &c.,) between the Northern and

ravaged in the civil wars of France. Henry IV. Lastern systems, and works in connection with both.

and Philip II., of Spain, made peace here, 1598. Tergnier, as on the Paris and St. Quentin line.

In the chapel to the hospice, founded 1570, by Route 5; then comes

Jacques de Coucy, is a picture by Jouvenet (St. La Fere (34 miles), on the Oise, where the Serre

Charles Borromeo during the Plague of Milan), joins it;-an old fortress, where the Spaniards, in

and another, by the same hand, is in the parish 1592, met the Leaguers, about putting a Spanish prince

church.) upon the throne, instead of Henry IV. The Allies Coucy-Notre Dame de Liesse (63 miles). took it (1815) after six months' siege. It has the

Saint Erme (41 miles). oldest artillery school in France (1719), with a large

Guignicourt (8} miles), near the Aisne. arsenal and barracks. Crepy (7miles), from which the glass works of

Loivre (61 miles). St. Gobain and the fine castles of Coucy and Anizy Rheims is 63 miles further, as in Route 55. may be visited, as in Route 5. At 67 miles beyond this is


Paris to Creil and Beauvais. Laon, 110 miles from Paris.

By rail, 65 miles. Three trains a day. HOTELS.- La Hure ; De l'Ecu; De la Barrio:.

Creil, as in Route 1. The intermediate stations Pop., 10,100. Capital of department Aisne (in the as you ascend the Thirain, are of no importance. old province of La Brie), a fortified town, and for- They are merly seat of a diocess, on a rocky hill, 720 feet above Cires-les-Mello (5 miles). sea level, in a fertile wine country, half way between Mouy (37 miles). the Aisne and Oise. It was the ancient Laudunum, Heilles (31 miles). and as it stands high, the air is keen, though healthy. Hermes (11 miles). The old walls and ramparts command a succession of Rochy-Conde (4) miles). And 41 miles further e prospects on all sides.

) is

« AnteriorContinuar »