« AnteriorContinuar »
In the chapel is the kneeling effigy of Cardinal Forbia 22} miles from Creil.
de Janson, by Coustou, and a piece of tapestry, the
“Healing of the Paralytic." One part, called the HOTELS.-Du Cygne, good;
Basse (Euvre, on the west side, is of the 9th cent. Hôtel d'Angleterre.
St. Etienne's (St. Stephen's) is a transition church, T CHIEF OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-Cathedral-St.
older than the cathedral, with good stained windows Etienne's Church Hotel de Ville-Bishop's Palace
of the 16th cent. Formerly this town had three abbeys, Tapestry Factory-Old Towers, in La Cité.
seven convents, six collegiate, and thirteen parish Pop., 14,200. Chief town of department Oise, and
churches, with a commandery of St. John, &c., a bishopric, with a tribunale de première instance, attached to it. college, societies of agriculture and arts, and manu
The Bishop's Palace, now the Préfecture, is in the factures, &c., standing in a fertile valley, on the
castle style, with towers, &c. The Hôtel de Ville, in rivers Thérain and Avalon, on the old road to Calais.
the Grande Place, is a fine, regular building, with an This very ancient place, was the Roman Cæsaro
Ionic front, built 1754. There are also, the college, magus or Bellovaci, which joined the league against
the bibliothèque, or public library of 7,000 vols., the Cæsar, without success. It gave name to the insur
Hôtel Dieu, a salle de spectacle, or theatre, cavalry rection of the "Jacquerie,” in king John's time, so barracks, and the governmenttapestry factory, founded called after one Jacques, a man of Beauvais, who
by Colbert. headed the mob against their feudal oppressors. The
L'Ile Adam, Grand Master at the siege of Rhodes, English besieged it, 1472, but were repulsed by Jean
was a native. Small canals and branches of the Lignière. It was again attempted by Charles the
Thérain run through the town. Its manufactures Bold, with 80,000 men, in 1472, when it was so well
are woollens, flannels, good carpets, tapestry, shawls, defended, by the valour of Jeanne Laine, or Jeanne
linens (called demi-Hollands), felt for hats, cotton le Hachette, and the women of the town, that they
thread, black lace; and it has a commerce in grain, have taken precedence of the men, in an annual
wine, woollen, and other goods. procession, in October, ever since. This heroine's picture and banner are in the Hotel de Ville.
Coaches to Songeons, Formerie, Crévecoeur, GrandIn La Cité, the oldest part, some round towers of
villiers, &c. solid construction may be seen, as ancient as the 3rd (CRÉVECEUR (20 kil. north), has the fine old brick or 4th cent. The ramparts of the 12th cent. are laid
château of its seigneurs; and in the church are out as promenades. You may notice a great number
good fragments of the tomb of Admiral Bonnivet, of timbered houses, curiously carved, with their gables
the favourite of Francis I. turned to the narrow streets.
GRANDVILLIERS (11 kil. north-west of this), in a St. Pierre Cathedral, in Rue St. Pierre, with its wide plain, was founded, 1213, by a bishop of buttresses and pinnacles, is the great object of attrac
Beauvais, and has near it the castle of Damerantion. It was begun, 1225, but is incomplete, having
court, a curious seven-storied building, with no nave or steeple. The latter was overturned in a
battlements and corner towers, 106 feet high, storm, 1574. A fine rose window stands over the
- and the pretty cháteau of Sarcus, built 1522, for entrance, in the south porch, which is full of niches
one of the mistresses of Francis I. and other ornaments. The magnificent choir, is From Beauvais, on the road to Dieppe, you pass 51 feet broad, but 145 feet high! so that in this res Gournay (31 kil.), a small place on the Epte, near pect it exceeds that at Amiens, by 13 feet, and West the mineral water of Jouvence. Gournay may minster, by about 57 feet. It is the highest choir, or be noticed as having give name to the ancestors roof, perhaps, in the world. The transepts were built, of the Gurney family, in Norfolk. Dieppe is 74 1500-55. The long narrow windows are richly stained. kil. further, (see Route 8.!!!
System of France, SUPPLYING MANTES, ROUEN, DIEPPE, HAVRE, EVREUX,
It stands under the cliffs of the Channel, where the
Arques, Bethune, and Aulne fall into the sea. Close Dieppe to Rouen and Paris.
to the edge of these cliffs, near the old chapel of By rail, 125} miles, or 201 kil. Four trains daily, in
Caude-Côte, stands the old Castle, built 1433 (on 4. to 7 hours. Each passenger is allowed 30 kil., or
the site of earlier structures) ; the conduits for about 60lbs. of luggage, free. From Dieppe to Havro
supplying water to Dieppe are in the ditch. It comis a single line of rail.
mands a good prospect, and overlooks the baths. DIEPPE, 64 miles from Newhaven.
June to September is the bathing season here. HOTELS.--Grand Hotel Imperial de Dieppe.-A There are bathing machines, hot and cold baths, at first-class hotel, affording extensive accommodation. the Establisement des Bains, a range which includes Eighly recommended.
assembly rooms, with a theatre, &c., all under the Hotel Royal, facing the sea, is a first-rate hotel in
direction of a Physician Inspector. an admirable situation.
A ball every Grand Hotel des Bains, exceedingly good in every Saturday. respect.
The Harbour at the north end of the town has a De Londres, on the quay, near the Custom House narrow, sandy mouth, and is entered between two azad Newhaven steamers; a most comfortable and
piers, one of which carries a light or pharos, kept for reasonable house.
month more than a century by the Bouzard family, who are De la Plage, facing the sea, and close to the Baths; a very good house.
I celebrated here for the number of drowning persons The Queen Victoria and North Hotel.-A good they have saved. This harbour includes an Avant house, close to the Custom House and steamers. Port, and floating Basin, and is scoured by means of a
The Douane is at the railway station, close to the bassin de retenue behind. It will hold about 200 quay ; baggage of travellers direct to Paris need not craft, up to 500 tons burden. Le examined till they get there,
A large street, Grande Rue, leads from the quay Protestant worship at the Old Carmelite Chapel, towards the castle at the other end. The houses are twice on Sundays. Rev. M. Reville is French Pro- of huick chiefly, with high-pitched roofs and balconies, testant pastor here.
mostly built since the English bombarded it, in 1694. English Physicians, Drs. Tabois and Moriarty. The Barre faubourg is the quietest part. The old
Bankers, Dufaur and Co., D. Destandes, V. San- walls are left. There are six places or squares, the chon, N. Segrial.
| principal, or Place Nationale, having a statue of "Money Changers, M. M. Segrial, Delapoyt, and Duquesne (a native), erected in 1844; and there are Reville Bremer.
as many as 68 fountains, supplied by an aqueduct, Post Office, Rue de l'Epée.
3 miles long. The fishermen live in Faubourg Pollet, W OBJECTS OF NOTICE. - The Castle-Pharos- which is worth visiting; here they remain a race Baths-Statue of Duquesne-the Pollet-Churches of distinct from, and almost hostile to, their neighbours. St. Remi and St. Jacques.
Among the buildings are, St. Remi's Gothic church, Pop. 17,700. A fishing port, sous-préfecture (de- near the castle, rebuilt 1500-43; St Jacques on the partment of Seine-Inférieure), and bathing place site of an abbey, a Gothic church, with buttresses, the nearest to Paris, and within 6 hours of Newhaven. some good carvings, and towers, whence you get a fine
prospect; Hôtel de Ville, near the Maison Quenouille, (NEUFCHÂTEL (28 kil. east-north-east), is a sousthe favourite residence of Mademoiselle, or the préfecture of 3,630 souls, on a wooded hill-side, Duchess of Berry, when she came here for bathing, on the fine valley of the Bethune, and is noted There is a public library of 3,000 vols., with a naval for its exellent cheese, of three sorts, viz., that Museum ; and a Navigation school in the Pollet.
from pure cream, the second sort called Hearts Dieppe figures in the history of geographical progress. of Bray (the district around), and the large round Its seamen discovered Canada, and conveyed the cheese. It was called Driencourt when Henry I. first settlers to Senegal, where they founded a port, of England built his new castle (Neufchâtel) here; called Petit Dieppe. Henry IV. was here before the which suffered in the wars of the League. At battle of Arques Castle (6 miles off), in 1589, when he Nesnière château they show his room. There is defeated the Leaguers under the Duke of Mayenne. a church, with painted glass; also manufactures Francis I. visited it in 1532, and was entertained by of wool, pottery, cotton, glass, and a trade in the merchant Ango, whose seat or manoir still remains cheese, beer, cider, &c. at Varengeville (8 kil.), not far from which is Cape | Hotels. - Du Grand Cerf (Stag); du Lion d'Or l'Ailly light, 304 feet high.
(Golden Lion). Coaches to Rouen, Paris, and Lace, pipes, clay figures, small baskets, and ivory Abbeville. trinkets (at St. Nicholas) are made. Oysters are At 23 kil. S.S.E. is eaten, fresh from the beds, near the Cours Bourbon. FORGES-LES-EAUX, so called because of its mineral
High water at the moon's full and change, 10h. 30m. waters, in a valley near the Forest of Bray, which
Conveyances, by coach, to Abbeville, Neufchâtel, are drunk from July to September; are clear Eu, &c.; by steamer, to Newhaven, daily. (See Brad and sparkling, with a temperature of 43°, and shaw's Continental Railway Guide.)
have an excellent tonic quality. Anne of Austria CHÂTEAU D'EU (see Route 2) is about 30 kil., on took them before the birth of Louis XIV.; and,
the road to Abbeville and St. Valery-sur-Somme. after her, Louis XIII., and Richelieu, they were At about 4 kil. on this road, you pass a large named la Reinette, la Royale, and la Cardinale. ancient camp, called Cité de Limes.)
Hotel.-Du Mouton d'Or (Golden Sheep or Fleece).] Leaving Dieppe, the line passes through the Appe Monville (94 miles), a centre of factories, up the ville tunnel, 5,389 feet long, ventilated by six shafts; Cailly (from which a branch rail goes to CLÉRES, 7 then the churches of St. Aubin, Saugeville, Vaudre-kil.), was dreadfully ravaged by a storm of wind and ville (the last turned into a factory), to
lightning, April, 1845. Another cutting brings us to Longueville (94 miles), on a stream which runs the junction with the Havre line at to the sea, near Dieppe. The stat. occupies the site of Malaunay (31 miles), which has paper and cotton an abbey, part of which is now a factory. Not far mills, on the Cailly, here crossed by an imposing viafrom the latter, on the east, is the ruined castle of duct, 95 ft. high, on eight arches, 49 feet wide. Arques, on a hill top, below which Henry IV. gained Maromme (2 miles), on the Cailly. Pop. 2,930, a great victory over the Leaguers and the Duke of employed in the cotton, paper, and powder factories. Mayenne, 1589. It was built in the 11th cent., [About 5 kil. south is Cantelou, in the forest of with corner towers, &c., and is noted in the history of Raumar, on a height, near the river, with a Condé's sister, the beautiful Duchesse de Longue château of the time of Louis XIV.; and 2 kil. ville. The church is worth notice.
west of this is the church of the abbey of St. Auffay (6 miles), in the industrious and charming Georges des Boscherville, founded 1144, by valley of the Scie, which the railway crosses and re William de Tancarville; it is a good Norman crosses above twenty times. Its church and the specimen, cross-shaped, with round towers and Virgin chapel deserve attention. There was a castle windows (except in the pointed ones of the west on the hill above it. Coach to Bacqueville, 15 kil.
spires), an east apse, pilasters, &c., and a tranSaint-Victor (3 miles), takes name from a very sition chapter-house.] ancient abbey, of which the church is left. Coaches to Hence the line passes Deville, where the archbishops Totes, 5 kil.: St. Jaens, 14 kil.; and to Neufchâtel. of Rouen had a country seat, and Bapeaume, with
The chalk hills and valleys of the Pays de Caux, the Seine in view. Enter two tunnels of 1,167 feet towards the summit of the line, are now traversed by 1 and 3,118 feet, in the chalk under Cauchoise faubourg, several deep cuttings and embankments, the most to the rive droite (right or north bank)) station in remarkable of which is Frithemesnil cutting, 7,874 feet Rue Verte. From this, two more tunnels (the first, long, 62 deep. The valley of the Cléres is crossed by 4,828 feet long) lead under boulevards St. Hilaire an ombankment on the same scale.
and Beauvoisine; thence the line passes Leveillé's
and other large spinping and dyeing mills at Darnetal, from the sea at Havre; but the direct distance is only on the Robec, (near the church, which commands a 45 miles. Several green islands, as Petit Gay, Lacroix, tineprospect of the old city), to St. Catherine's tunnel, Brouilly, &c., occupy the middle of the stream, which 3,445 feet long; then, by the 10-arched wooden bridge is about 500 to 650 feet wide, and is lined with tall over Ile Brouilly (each arch 131 feet span), with modern houses and broad quais, to which vessels of Rouen on one side and Bon Sécours church on the good tonnage can now come up. Mont Gargan, or other. to SOTTEVILLE, where the engine works of St. Catherine's Hill, to the south, commands a full M M. Alcard and Buddicom are established; and prospect of the city, styled by V. Hugofrom this a short branch runs to the rive gauche sta
“La ville aux vieilles rues, tion, at St. Severs, in Cours de la Reine, on the south Aux vieilles tous, debris des races disparues, side of the river and town. This is the débarcadère
La Ville aux cents clochers carillonnant dans l'air, or terminus, from Paris; but through trains turn
Le Rouen des chateaux.” off at Sotteville, to that on the north side. From
which, with its noble cathedral, its steeples, towers, Maromme the distance is 33 miles to Rouen.
factories, crooked streets, planted boulevards, and
spreading suburbs is here laid before the eye. DarROUEN.
netal Hill, further off, where Carville church stands, 38 miles from Dieppe, 558 from Havre, 85 from Paris. is another good point of view; so is that from the Ile
HOTELS.-D'Angleterre, on the quay. Table d'hôte Brouilly bridge. at half past five: price, 3fr. 50c.
Rouen is the Rothomagus of Ptolemy, which under Smith's Albion, deserving our best recommenda
Clovis became the capital of Neustria. Wrolf, or tion.
Rollo, the Northmen leader (912) made it the head of Alger; Empereur's; France; Nord; Midi; Grand
his province of Normandie, which Charles the Simple Ilotei; Normandie; Paris.
gave him with his daughter, and which King John, Restaurants, in Cours Boieldieu, &c.
upon the murder of his nephew Arthur, in Basse Omnibuses from the station to all parts of the town, Vieille tower, forfeited to his suzerain, Philippe 40 cents.; or 1 franc, with 132 lbs. of baggage, but the Auguste, 1204. Henry V. took it, 1418, before the baggage may be left at the station.
battle of Agincourt, which laid France at his feet. English vice-consul, M. Bréard, 47, Rue de la “Joan of Arc here expiated the crime of having saved Vicomté.
her country,” being burnt for a witch by the English, English Physician, Dr. Murphy, 10, Quai de la 1431. The French re-took it, 1449. It was given up Bourse.
to Henry IV., 1543, after a siege, in which his father, Post Offices, Quai du Havre (near the Custom Antoine de Navarre, was mortally wounded. The House) and Place des Carmes.
works then thrown up are still seen on St. Catherine's Money-changers, M. Barette, 46, Rue Vicomté; M. Hill, but the old towers and walls (extended for the Henault, 46, Basse-Vieille Tour.
fifth time since Rollo first built them, by Louis IX.), Rev. MM. Paumier and Allègre are French Protes are now replaced by open boulevards, planted 1770-83. tant pastors here.
This boundary line includes the old town and the High water at full and change, 1 h. 15 m.
buildings worth notice; outside, are the faubourgs KE CHIEF OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-The Cathedral - of Martainville and Hilaire (east), Beauvoisine and Churches of St. Ouen and St. Maclou-Hôtel de Ville Bourreuil (north), Cauchoise (west), and the large --Fontaine de la Crosse-Palais de Justice-Grande suburb of St. Sever, on the south bank, where most Horloge Arcade-the Vieux Marché-Place de la of the factories lie; but many small works, amounting Pucelle (Joan of Arc)--Hôtel de Bourg Theroude to 200 and 300, for tanning, dyeing, &c., are placed on Madeleine Hospital-the Douane, Quays, and Boule the little rivers Aubette, Robec, and Rouelle, which vards.-St. Catherine's Hill, for the prospect.
creep through the town to the Seino. Pop.. 100,265. This fine old city and port, as re Three streets, running north and south, namely, markable for its past history as for its present com- Rues Grand Pont, des Carmes, and Beauvoisine, mercial eminence, is the chief town of department make the principal thoroughfares, and open a way to Seine-Inférieure, in Normandy, seat of a military the cathedral, &c. They stand in line with each division, archbishopric, cour impériale, college, | other, and with Rue d'Ernemont, to the north, school of navigation, &c., and of the French cotton and with the suspension bridge and Rues St. Sever trade, and stands in a very agreeable spot, on and d'Elboeuf to the south, a line about 2 miles long. the Seine, at the bottom of a circuit of low hills, open | T he new Susy
The new Suspension Bridge, 646 feet long, opened to the south. By the bending river, it is 75 or 80 miles 1st September, 1836, bangs on a cast-iron arched
tower in the middle, with a pont-levis or draw-bridge 2,540 pieces of metal, weighing 517 tons. The Portal for shipping to pass. Two piles, a little above it, de la Calendre, in the north transept, is full or mark where the old pont-à-bateaux, or bridge of sculptures of the life of Christ; that in the south fifteen boats, crossed, as built, 1626, by Friar Nicholas transept, or Portal des Libraires, near the chapter Further up, is the Pont d'Orléans, between Quais de house, is richly decorated with subjects from the Last Paris and Grand Cours, built 1811-31, by Lunasson, | Judgment. In the inside are three rose windows, of six stone arches, (the 2nd and 5th, each 102 feet and 130 others, mostly stained, and of the 13th span), resting in the middle on the west corner of cent.; and twenty-five side chapels, including the Ile Lacroix, where David's theatrical bronze statue Virgin chapel, in which are Philippe de Champagne's of P. Corneille was placed, 1834. Beyond this is the “Adoration of the Shepherds,” effigies of Richard I., railway bridge across Ile Brouilly, on ten arches. Quai and the beautiful Renaissance marble tombs of Louis de Havre, below the suspension bridge, where the de Brézé (husband to Diana of Poictiers) by J.Goujon, steamers and shipping lie, is a lively spot; the barges and of Cardinal d'Amboise. The inscription on De up the river, lie at Quai de Paris, &c.
Brézé's monument, states that it was erected by his Grand Cours, or Cours de la Reine, on the St. “disconsolate widow, Diana,” who, as she had been Sever side. near the rail, is a fine promenade, 4,300 l an “inseparable and ever faithful wife to his bed. feet long, planted in the 17th cent., on the site hopes to be such in his grave! The Cardinal's Tomb of Grammont priory, founded by Henry II. of (of which there is a cast at the Crystal Palace) is a England. Other walks are at Cours Dauphin, most elaborate profusion of carved pilasters, figures, Avenue du Mont Riboudet, on the Dieppe road, and and arabesque ornaments, and has the two kneeling the hills of St. Hilaire, Bons Guillaume, and St. statues of the Cardinal and his nephew, both archAignan, where you look down on the town. The bishops. Several of the early dukes, three kings, and climate of Rouen is changeable and cold, but healthy fifteen prelates are buried here. in the upper parts of it.
The Palace, behind the Cathedral, was begun 1461, Highly carved mediæval timber and stone houses and finished by Cardinal d'Amboise, though altered meet the stranger at every turn, mostly as old as the since. In the Gallery of the States, are four large 15th cent.; but the first object of attraction is the views by Robert.
Cathedral of Nôtre Dame, in Rue Grand Pont, St. Ouen's Abbey Church, near the Hôtel de Ville, is begun about 1200 (on the site of that wherein Rollo la chef d'oeuvre of Gothic art, and one of the most was baptized). by King John, and finished 1509-30, beautiful structures existing. It was begun in 1318, by Cardinal d'Amboise. Its length is 434 feet;
by Abbé Marcdargent, and makes a cross, 443 feet by breadth, 105 feet; length and breadth of transept, 83, and 107 feet high to the vault, with flying buttress, 175 feet by 25 feet; height of nave, 90 feet. The Car
and pinnacles; 125 windows, in three rows (stained dinal built the richly carved front, between the
with the miracles of St. Romain, &c.,) and an ex towers, 180 feet broad, consisting of three deep por
tremely elegant Tower of the 15th cent., 260 feet tals, with six large windows, a rose window, and two
high to the crown, which rests on a square pinnacled spires above, besides the central porch. Two unlike
base, and is full of traceried windows and open work, towers, of an older date, flank it, 253 feet high; one,
The west front and rose windows stand between small St. Romain's, with a low pyramid at the top, has the
towers, 43 and 54 feet high: this front, after remaining oldest part of the cathedral in its base, and was
unfinished for three centuries, was completed between finished 1477 ; the other, with a beautiful eight-sided
1846-52, from original designs by M.M. Gregorie and crown, is called Tour de Beurre, because it was built
Desmarets. Rose windows are also seen in the tran(1485-1505), with the money of those who bought leave
sept; that over the south door (which has a host of to eat butter in Lent, and is also called after Cardi
figures and carvings), being the work of Berneval, pal d'Amboise, on account of his famous brass clock, the master sculptor (buried in St. Agnes' chapel), who, which was melted down, 1793, for cannon and for they say, stabbed his apprentice, because he was outmedals. These medals, now very rare, bear the fa- done in the opposite window. Eleven chapels surpatical republican rhyme
round the oval choir, (finished 1310) and its clustered “Monument de Vanité
pillars. In 1794, this beautiful structure was turned Détruit par l'Utilité,
into a factory for fire-arms, and several forges were L'an II, de l'Egalité."
in full work inside it. The great wooden spire, or lantern, 420 feet high, burnt What remains of St. Ouen's Abbey (one of the oldest by lightning in 1822, is replaced by one of cast-iron in Normandy) to which the church belonged, is now open work. by M. Alavoine, 460 feet high, made of enclosed in tho