« AnteriorContinuar »
Hitel de Ville, which has a simple Corinthian façade, I de Sotteville, was built in 1835. The Circus is at the built 1818, and grand staircase, with busts of Louis Tivoli Normand. A caserne, or barrack for cavalry. XV. and the Corneilles. It contains the Musée, is on the site of Bonne Nouvelle Priory, founded by founded 1809, with a gallery of French and other pic- the Conqueror's queen, and burnt and rebuilt in 1665; tures lopen from 10 till 2), and Caffieri's statue of P. and a foot barrack, in Place St. Sever, near the bridge, Corneille; and the Bibliothèque (open on Thursdays) in what was an immense salt store. A third barrack of 35.000 volumes, besides 1,200 MSS. from the 11th is that of Martinville, built in 1776, in front of the cent. Here are D. d'Aubonne's graduel or missal, Champ de Mars. with 200 paintings, &c., in it (which took 30 years to The Hôtel de Préfecture stands in Rue de Fontenelle, fill. is 21 feet long, and weighs 79 pounds), and Bishop so called after the philosopher, whose birthplace Jacques de Lieur's Livre des Fontaines (given 1525), (marked "Fontenelle est né dans cette maison, le 11 full of arabesques, &c.
Fevrier, 1657,") is a little distance off, in the Rue des Of other churches (14 being left out of 37) there are Bons Enfans; while that of his uncle, the dramatist, is -St. Maclou, in Rue Malpalu, ranking next to St. close by the Préfecture, in the Rue de la Pie (marked Ouen's, and built 1472. It has a finely-carved triple "Iciest né, le 9 Juin, 1606, Pierre Corneille"). The door, portal, a dome 154 feet high, much stained glass, a which some English amateur wished to buy, is placed good staircase to the organ, &c. St. Patrice, near at the Rouen Museum. The next house to it was inBoulevard Bouvreuil, built in 1535, in the Renaissance habited by Thomas Corneille, his brother, to whom style, cross-shaped, with good stained windows. St. the author of the “Cid,” used to apply for a rhyme, Vincent, in Rue de la Vicomte, in the same style, when in difficult with a good porch, &c. St. Amand, another Renais. On the Quai du Havre are the Douane, or Custom sance church, in Rue St. Nicholas, belonged to an House, the Bourse (Exchange), and Tribunal de Comabbey, founded 1030, of which a small part is left merce, in a building called the Consuls (opposite Boielcovered with wood carvings of abbesses, &c., one of dieu's statue), which contains a hall, with a Christ, whom was Anne de Souvré (died 1654), whose body by Vandyke, and two pictures by Lemonnier, a native was found in 1800, undecayed. St. Romain, near the of Rouen. Here, too, is the Thiâtre des Arts near the railway station (rive droite), built 1679, has the granite bridge, having an Ionic front, with a medallion of the tomb of its patron saint, whose life is pictured in the "Grand Corneille." The Théâtre Français built in dome. &c. besides various stained windows which 1793. is in the Vieux Marché (or Ola Market Place). were saved at the Revolution, from the churches of the oldest in the city, where the scaffold is erected. St. Maur, St. Etienne, and St. Martin, all now turned A short turn leads into the Place de la Pucelle, into magazines, &c. St. Godard, in Rue de l'Ecole, so called after the unfortunate Maid of Orleans, who of the 16th cent., has the genealogy of Christ in one was burnt at the stake on a spot now marked by a of its stained windows, and a painting by Letellier, I fountain and a ridiculous bronze of her, by Bonet Poussin's nephew.
Opposite it is an excellent subject for the artist At St. Eloi's (near the poultry market and Theatre and antiquary, an old house, called Hótel du Bourge Français), a church used by the Protestants since 1803, Theroude, in the mixed Gothic and Italian style there was a well in the choir, with an iron chain to it, of the 15th cent., with a turret hanging over the which gave rise to a proverb, current here, "It is as front, and, in the cour
It is as front, and, in the court, various carvings and basold as the well-rope of St. Eloi.” In Rue Chasse- reliefs of the Field of the Cloth of Gold (see Ardres), lièvre, in the north-west outskirts, is St. Gervais' and other subjects. Shrewsbury (the French call him church, with a very ancient crypt. It was attached "Scherosbery'), Elizabeth's ambassador to Henry IV.. to the abbey in which William the Conqueror died. I was lodged here. Near St. Lo's, behind the Palais de Justice, traces of | The Rue de la Grosse Horloge, is so called from the the Roman wall were found in the 18th cent. St. I Gothic Clock Tower. dated 1389-98. (the great be Nicaise, built 1388, and St. Vivien, are not far behind which still sounds the couvre-feu, or curfew, is a cenSt Quen's. St. Hilaire, is near the Rue de Darnetal.tury later). It is ascended by 200 steps; is joined to St. Paul's stands on the Cour de Pais, near the river part of the old Hôtel de Ville, built 1527, and has, on side, and includes a fragment of the former one in its the fountain, bas-reliefs of Arethusa and Alpheus, sacristy. St. Sever's, in the midst of that faubourg, I which the people take for “Le Bon Homme Rouen," is in Rue d'Elboeuf. In this part also are St. Yon's the "founder" of the town. A little further, in Ruo A sile des Aliénés (Lunatic Asylum), on a large scale.des Carmes, near the cathedral, are, the half Gothic
The new Jardin des Plantes is open daily. A large Bureau des Finances, built 1509, decorated with arawell regulated abattoir, or slaughter-house, in the Rue besques, and the écu de France, supported by porcupines; and the old Chambres des Comptes, built 1525, Coeur-de-Lion's heart, in a box, are preserved in the by Francis I. In the Rue aux Juifs (Jew street), is departmental Museum, at the utu unvent of St. one of the most beautiful things in Rouen, the Marie, in Rue de Poussin, besides a collection of
Palais de Justice, opposite the Neuf Marchó (New natural history: open Tuesday and Thursday, from Market), a low-pitched Gothic structure, built 1493-9, twelve to three. Old carved houses may be noticed by Louis XII.'s minister, Cardinal d'Amboise, for the in Grande Rue (Nos. 115, 120, &c.), Rue du Change, ancient Echiquier or provincial States, and lately Rue Eloupée (No. 4), the house of Jouvenet, the restored. The front, towards the court, is 212 feet painter, and many more. On Sapins hill is the lony with pinnacled windows in the roof, and an Cimitière Monumental; there are six others, one octagon tower in the middle: a staircase, built 1607, being for Protestants. Ecoles de Natation, or swimleads to the Salle des Procureurs, 181 feet by 53, ming schools, on Iles Lacroix and Petit Gay. having a woodwork ceiling, compared to the frame of Besides the Corneilles and Fontenelle, Rouen a ship,
claims as natives, Benserade, the poet; Jouvenet, In Rue du Grand Maulevrier, is the College, first Restoul, and Géricault, the painters ; Boieldieu, the built for the Jesuits, by Cardinal de Joyeuse, whose composer; Count Mollier, Napoleon's minister of tomb is in the chapel, which Catherine de Medicis finance ; Armand Carrel; and Louis Brune, who added. 1614. Behind is the Seminary for priests. saved the lives of more than sixty persons : on his Between Rues Caquerel and Cavilles is the Bicêtre, house you read this memorial from his townsmen, or House of Correction; and nearer the Boulevard "Å Louis Brune, la Ville de Rouen.” Martinville, the general Hospice, or asylum, an ex Its Manufactures are the cotton Rouenneries already censive pile, where 2,000 orphans and poor people are mentioned, calicoes, prints, linen, thread, flannels, kept. At the opposite side of the town, in Rue de cloth, soap, chemicals, steam engines, leather, refined
ecat, is the great hospital for the sick, the Hótel sugar, confitures of great fame, &c.; and it is an enDieu, or Madeleine, built 1749-56, having 600 beds, trepôt for wine and spirits, grain, salt fish, spices, and a chapel, built 1781, with a dome, a Corinthian dyewoods, cotton, wool, hemp, slate, iron, tar, &c. portico, and two pictures by Vincent.
The shipping and foreign trade are about one-third At or close to the site of Basse Vielle Tour (near that of Havre. By improvements made latterly in the Quai de Paris), where they say John murdered the navigation of the Seine, a large American vessel, his nephew Arthur, are the three Halles, or market the Mary Ann, laden with cotton, &c., from New halls (328 feet long) for corn, linen, cotton tissues, and Orleans, was, in 1852, able to reach the city--the first checks, called Rouenneries, &c., which offer a very direct importation of the kind. lively appearance on Wednesday, between six and Conveyances---By rail, to Fécamp, Paris, Dieppe, twelve. To the west is the old Fontaine de Lisieux, Havre, &c.; by coach, to Alençon, Argentan, Avranbuilt 1518; another, the Fontaine-de-la-Crosse, at the ches, Beauvais, Caen, Falaise, Forges-des-Eaux, Gisors, top of Rue des Carmes, has many arabesque orna Gournay, Pont-Audemer, Lisieux, Le Mans, Laigle, ments about it; the Fontaine de Croix-de-Pierre, is in Pont l'Evêque, Neufchâtel, Seez, and Vire; by steamcr. Rue St. Hilaire: altogether there are 38 fountains, to Elboeuf and Bouille. Steamers to Havre have ceased fed from four different sources. Of eight open places running since 1917. The towers of Robert le Diable, for markets, that for butter is at Rougemar (in Rue and of the old abbey of Jumièges, are passed by the Bourglabbé), where Duke Richard, in 949, beat the Seine route. French and Germans; the Boulingrin (bowling geeen), Leaving Rouen, by rail, we cross to Sotteville and in Bouvoisine Boulevard is used for the sale of horses. its factory chimneys and workshops; then comes St. The road here leads up to the churches of Long- | Etienne de Rouvray, and the forest in which Williain paon and Carville, and Leveille's spinning works, at the Conqueror was hunting when he first heard of the Darnetal. Near the Champs de Foire (Fair Field), the death of Edward the Confessor. The next station is site of the old palace built by Henry V., is the tower Oissel (9) miles), which has a church with à tall of Mal-s'y-frotte (which means "He meddled for the tower and spire. Pop. 3,480. Thence across the worst,'') lying on this side of the spot where William | Seine by a narrow viaduct on six arches, each 98 feet Long-sword, son of Rollo, routed the people of span. to Cotentin.
Tourville () mile) where is a coach to Elbouf. Two tower's, called Donjon and Gascon, in Rue de The total fall of the railway from Paris to this station la Glacière, are left of Philippe Auguste's château, is 91 feet. built 1205, and afterwards turned into an Ursuline [At 10 kil. west, across the suspension bridge over a conveat. Many local antiquities and relics, including bend of the river, is
ELBEUF, a thriving cloth town, of 17,550 souls, cent., and timber houses (in the old town), are
among factories, in a valley bordered by a chain seen; besides several factories, dye-works, a of hills, which crop out at the chalk cliffs of Orival bibliothèque, salle-de-spectacle, three bridges, in the river. It has two churches, St. Etienne &c.) being the older and smaller, and both orna Gaillon (91 miles), 2 kil. west of the rail., in mented with stained glass; and it is watered by a fine spot, has a House of Correction, on the site of artesian wells.
the château of the Rouen archbishops, built about Steamers to Rouen daily.
1262, burnt by the English, and restored in the reHotels-Le Boeuf d'Or (Golden Bull); Lion d'Or.) naissance style of the 16th cent., by Cardinal Amboise, A tunnel 1,140 feet long leads to the next station, but finally ruined at the Revolution. Its gate is now
Pont-de-l'Arche (31 miles) to the south, across placed in the Palais des Beaux Arts, in Paris, and a the Seine, here spanned by a long 22-arch bridge, to painting of it is at the primate's palace at Rouen, Part which it owes its name, is a pretty place, in Ouche of the beautiful park remains. It was a favourite district, in Upper Normandy, and was built and for retreat of Francis I. This is the most northerly place tified 854, by Charles the Bold, who held two councils in France for wine-a poor sort, from a small black there. Its high-roofed Church has a spire and but grape. Near this is the Château de Navarre, built tresses, with stained glass of the 14th cent. A house by Jeanna of Navarra
by Jeanne of Navarre, 1532, and rebuilt 1686, by stands in the middle of the bridge, near an island, on Mansard, for the Ducs de Bouillon, and for a time which it rests, once covered by a fort. Behind the the seat of the Empress Josephine. Grisolle and village stretches a large forest. Coaches to Charleval, | Rotoirs are also near, and Abloville, where MarFleury, St. Andelle, La Forêt, Pont St. Pierre. montel died.
At Villers, where N. Poussin, the painter, was [COURCELLES is across the river. At 10 kil. north born, 1594, is a tnnnel 5,643 feet long, cut through in of it, at the suspension bridge, on a bend of the seventeen months; another at Venables, 1,410 feet Seine is long. The river makes several islands here. At
LES ANDELYS, a sous-préfecture of 5,900 souls, neax Manoir, on the north side of the Seine, opposite the Château Galliard, a fine picturesque ruin, on a Eure's mouth, the railway crosses by a viaduct of
peak, built 1197, in defiance of Philip Augustus six arches, each 98 feet span.
(galliard, means careless or saucy). by Richard (At 8 kil, north-east, is
Coeur de Lion, at Petit Andely, to command the ROMILLY, and its large copper foundries, on the river, and dismantled by Henry IV. The vicious Andelle, which employ 1,100 or 1,200 hands.
Margaret de Bourgogne was strangled here, 1315, Here Cardinal d Amboise's great cathedral by order of Louis X.; and Cardinal Balue shut clock was brought from Rouen, and melted up his victim, Charles de Mellieu, in it. At the down for cannon, at the Revolution. Fleury, hospital, founded by the Duc de Penthièvre, is a 6 kil. further up, has good views of the valley of plaster figure of St. Main, against which mothers the river. About 10 kil. beyond this, is Lyons rub their children to cure them of colic. Grand la-Forêt, on the Lieur, near the remains Andely, on the Gambon, further inland, and an of the abbey church of Mortemer, founded by older place, grew out of a monastery called Ane Henry II. of England; and, on a hill, Roman delicum, founded by Clothilde, and burnt, 1170, remains have been found.]
by the English, Near the curious old chapel, St. Pierre-du-Vouvray (8 miles), near Pras called after her (now a vinegar work), is her lin Park, Igoville, André, and other châteaux. fountain, into which sick persons and new-born Coaches to Louviers, Beaumont-le-Roger, Neubourg,
infants are plunged. The half Gothic church Bernay, (see Route 11). Evreux is 22 kil. beyond
has a good portal, stained windows, and LeLouviers, in the same Route.
sueur's "Jesus in the Temple." At the Hôtel LOUVIERS (8 kil. south-west). a sous-préfecture of
de Ville is Poussin's "Coriolanus." Blanchard, 10,000 inhab., chiefly weavers of fine cloth, is a
the æronaut, was a native: Henry IV.'s father, flourishing and ancient town in the rich plain of
Antoine de Bourbon, died here, 1552, of a wound the Eure, where Richard I. and Philippe Au
received at the siege of Rouen ; T. Corneille had guste made a treaty, 1196. It was taken by
a house here in which he died. I.K. Brunel, tho Edward III., and again by Henry V., who dis constructor of the Thames Tunnel, was born at mantled it, except a small part of the walls. An
Hacqueville, in this neighbourhood. Cloth is old Church of the 12th cent., partly Norman in
made, and pèches d'ablettes, for false pearls, are its style: a Knight Templar's house of the 12th caught,
Hotels-Du Grand Cerf (Stag); des Trois Rois' Bonnieres (64 miles), where a branch to the Caen (Three Kings).]
and Cherbourg line turns off. (See Route 11.) Vernon (84 miles), belonged to the Norman an
[At 7 kil. north, on the bend made by the Seine, cestor of the Vernons, of Kinderton, in England. It here crossed by a handsome suspension bridge, stands in a fine hollow, at the 22-arched bridge to
is La Roche Guyon, with the Norman tower and Vernonnet; as a frontier town of Normandy, it was
chapel of an old castle, taken by the English, fortified by Henry II., and frequently suffered in the
1418; below which is the more modern seat of wars with France. An old tower, built by Henry II., the Rochefoucaulds, where they show the bed, remains; also a good Gothic church (Nôtre Dame) portrait, and furniture of Henry IV. Here having a carved black marble tomb; and St. Just's Francis de Bourbon was killed, by a box thrown hospital, or Hôtel Dieu, founded by St. Louis, and on his head, 1545.] rebuilt 1776, by the Duc de Penthièvre. It has, besides, | Next to Bonnières is a tunnel, 8,682 feet long, through an artillery depôt, and a small salle de spectacle. To the chalk, which cost twenty months, and nearly half the west is the charming Park, and Chúteau de Bisy, a million pounds of powder, to make; beyond which which belonged to the Orléans family. A tower at is the pretty village of Rolleboise, which has part of Vernonnet. is called Julius Caesar's; the Château de the castle taken from the English, by Du Guesclin. la Madeline was the seat of Casimir Delavigne, the on the slope of the river, a little further. poet. Pop. 6,460.
Rosny (34 miles), close to a forest. Here stands
the old high-roofed brick château in which Rosny, Duc Hotel.-Grand Cerf Stag).
de Sully, the faithful friend and minister of Henry
IV. was born, 1539. It belonged to the late Duchesse Joaches to Baugon, Berthennoville, Bézou, Bor
de Berry. deaux, St. Clare, Corbie, Dangu, Etrepagny, Gasny,
[At 22 kil. south-west, is Gisors, Morgny, St. Remy, Tourny.
IVRY-LA-BATAILLE, under a hill, on the Eure, (At 36 kil. north-east, is
celebrated for the victory of Henry IV. and his GISORS, a plesant old town, on the Epte, having
Protestant subjects, in 1590, over the Leaguers, the keep and other remains of a feudal Castle,
under their Captain-General, the Duke of May. begun by William the Conqueror and Henry I.
enne, assisted by the “hireling chivalry of Guel. (who received Pope Calixtus here, 1120,) and
dres and Almayne." The field is marked by a finished by Henry II. (who met Philippe
pyramid 56 feet high. Macaulay's stirring lines Auguste here, 1188, about a new crusade).
on this victory are well known :Philippe Auguste fled hither, some time after, on his defeat by Richard I., at Courcelles, and
"And then we thought on vengeance, and all along was nearly drowned by the falling of the bridge.
Remember Saint Bartholomew,' was passed from The town walls and moats are now turned into
man to man. promenades. A Gothic church of the 13th cent.,
But out spake gentle Henry, 'No Frenchman le has a well-carved Renaissance portal, a jubé and
my foe. marble figure by Goujon, and stained windows.
Down, down with every foreigner, but let your St. Paer's tower, of the 13th cent., is outside.
brethren go.'"] Pop. 3,700.
Mantes (39 miles), is a buffet, 35) miles from Paris, Hotels.-Du Bras d'Or (Golden Arm); de l'Écu
108 from Rouen. Here the line to Caen and Cherbourg (Crown Piece).
turns off Mantes, opposite Limay, at the bridge of 3 Further down, across the river, in the forest of arches (each 127 feet span, resting on Ile Champion).
Vernon, are Pressagpy, called l'Orgueilleux, (the | It is called la Jolie, or pretty, because of its situaProud), though it has little to be proud of-and tion, and is a sous-préfecture, with 4,370 souls. William Port-Mort, where Louis VIII. married Blanche the Conqueror burnt it, in 1096, to revenge himself on de Castile. The Seine is crowded with pretty | Louis, and received the hurt of which he died a little islands here.)
| while after. Edward III. pillaged the town on his Leaving Vernon, a skew bridge and a massive em
way to Crécy. It was taken from the English by Du bankment are passed. Near Port Villey (opposite
Guesclin, and again by Charles VII. the Epte's mouth, not far from Camp de Cæsar), Notre Dame church, with its triple portal, tall you leave the province of Normandy and department square towers of different ages, lofty nave, 105 feet Eure, to enter the department of Seine Inférieure. high (supported by buttresses), delicate choir, pillars, The next station is
1 &c., was founded by Jeanne of France. Of another
church. St. Maclou, only a beautiful slender tower, church, with a centre spire-tower, built by Francis I. : (1340-4) is left. The old château, in which Philippe it contains some stained windows, and Poussin's AdoraAuguste died, was pulled down, 1721. In Grand Ruetion of the Magi, which the Pope gave to Christina of is a house which la Belle Gabrielle lodged in when Sweden. The Princess of Condé had a seat here before Henry IV. came to visit her. He was here again the Revolution. The suspension bridge is about 1,970 with his queen, Marie de Medicis, in 1609, staying at feet long. Pop. 2,000. Coach to Vaux. the château above-mentioned, which appears to have Here the limestone banks begin to disappear, and been a favourite resort of his. The public library the scenery becomes somewhat tame. Médan, Vicontains 4.060 vols., and there are several fountains, laines, and Millaud are passed ; and then with some parts of the old walls. At Limay, opposite,
Poissy (5 miles), at the old 22-arch bridge is a hermitage, to which pilgrimages are made.
on the river, a country seat of the early kings, from Hotels.--Le Grand Cerf (Stag); De la Chasse Royal.
the time of Charles the Bold (860). It has a highTrade in wine, corn, leather, and timberCoaches
roofed Gothic Church, with buttresses and two slender to Aincourt, A.thies, Drocourt, Fontenay, Gisors,
spires, containing the font in which Louis IX, or Houdan, Magny, Mollest, Orvilliers, Richebourg,
Louis de Poissy (from being born here) was baptized, Rosé, Septeuil, Vert, Villette. A new bridge leads
and the tomb of Philippe, his brother. Another out of the town.
church, founded by his son, Philippe le Hardi, 1314 [At 26 kil. south-west is
(and destroyed 1793), belonged to the Ursuline abbey, ANET. near the Eure, with a wing, chapel, and where the famous Conference was held, 1561, between other remains of the beautiful château, built by
the Catholics and Protestants, Beza and Peter Martyr Delorme, for Henry the Second's mistress, Diane
attending, on the part of the latter; but it led to no de Poictiers (buried here), and pulled to pieces at
result except the massacre of St. Bartholomew. There the Revolution. Dreux is 16 kil. further. (See are also an old hospital, and a central house of detenRoute 15.)
tion, on the abbey site. A great cattle market for TOUDAN, 27 kil. south-south-west, on the Vés
Paris, on Thursday. gres (where the Opton meets it), once a fortified
Hotels.-De Rouen; de la Marine. Pop. 4,300. place, and having an old tower, with an excellent Gothic Church, as ancient as Robert the
L'Etoile-de-Conflans (37 miles), in the midPious. Pop. 2,000.
dle of the forest of St. Germain, (that town is to the MAGYY, 21 kil. north, a little village, on the
south, see Route 10.) leaves CONFLANS 4 kil. north, Aubette, in a fertile corn country, with a good
across the Seine near the Oise's mouth, and having a
church of the 11th and 12th cent., where St. Honorius church, and manufactures of woollen, paper, &c.]
was buried; besides a picturesqu château Pop. Epone (5 miles), is near a dolmen, or Druid pile.
1,430. Several Celtic and Roman remains have been found.
Maisons (24 miles), or Maisons-Lafitte, so It possesses an old church, and an older seat of the
called after the banker, whose château, built 1658, by Créquys. Coaches to Aunay, Maule, Nezel.
Mansard, was occupied by Comte d'Artois (Charles X.), Meulan (5 miles), is opposite Mereux, where the
and Marshal Lannes, Duke of Montebello. Voltaire station is, which the rail reaches by a skew bridge
was here writing the Marianne, when he caught the over the Ruplat stream. To Meulan, across the Seine,
small-pox. Herblay château lies 5 miles north-norththere is an old bridge, resting on Ile Belle. It was a
east, across the river. A wooden bridge over the river fortified town, which the Duc de Mayenne unsuc
brings you to Houille and the pretty village of Bezons cessfully besieged in the civil wars. One of its two
(in department Seine-et-Oise), where the rail again churches (it had also a priory and convent) is now a
crosses the Seine (which winds three or four times corn-market. Chateaubriand had a seat here; and
hereabouts), on a wooden viaduct the same size as M. Guizot is now a resident. Pop., 2.000.
the last, viz., nine arches, each 983 feet span, The Hotel-Royal.
early French kings had a mint here. (At 7 miles north, is Vigny château, which belonged
1 A little beyond Bézons is the junction from St. to Cardinal d'Amboise, minister of Louis XII., Germains, on the west (see Route 10), and next, that and a munificent patron of the arts. Jugien, of Argenteuil, from the east. further on, was a country house of the bishops Argenteuil (3 kil. north-west), with a pop. of of Chartres.]
4,600, is at a ferry over the Seine, and has parts of the Triel (64 miles), opposite Vernouillet (north side), old walls, with a hospital founded by St. Vincent de where Talleyrand's brother lived, has an old-fashioned | Paul, and the Château of Marais, which Mirabeau