« AnteriorContinuar »
left in a dying state. It was to the Bernardine con- | Travellers through to Marseilles shoulù declare vent here (founded 656) that Héloise retreated after
to that effect, to save any delay at Paris. parting from Abélard.
Omnibuses run to Ingouville. Colombes, a station of the Banlieue line, near which Rollin wrote his Ancient History; the neigh Population about 32,000, including English, &c. bourhood is pleasant. At
Havre is a thriving port, a fortress, sous-préfecture, Asnieres, the Rive Droite (right or north bank) packet station, &c., in department of Seine-Inféri
It rank line to Versailles turns off up the river (see Route 10), 1 eure, in the old province of Normandy. among several country houses. Here is a well-sup- the second port in France, by which the Paris foreign ported Regatta Club and Swimming School. The old trade is carried on; and its harbour is perhaps the château is now a restaurant. A bridge of riveted | best in the Channel, on the French side. It stands in iron plates, wide enough for four lines of rails, replaces a flat, damp spot, on the north side of the Seine's one burnt in 1848. This brings you over to
| mouth (where it is five miles wide), 100 miles from CLICHY-LA-GARENNE, which was a country seat of Southampton, and 80 from Newhaven. iebon roi Dagobert, who was married here. The washer- Francis I. walled it round, Richelieu added a ci. women, an important class, hold their annual fête | tadel, &c., and others have since improved it; but, here, at mi-carome. On one side are Neuilly and the before the 15th cent., it was an insignificant fishing Pois de Boulogne: St. Denis Cathedral and the red place, near which Henry V. of England landed on his bils of Montmorency, on the other. Then by two or way to Agincourt, and whence Henry VII. embarked three short tunnels (one is 1,322 feet) to
as Earl of Richmond, Warwick held it for ElizaLes Batignolles, outside the Barrière, near beth, 1562, but gave it up after a long siege; and the engine shops. The large and handsome terminus, Rodney bombarded it, 1759.
Within the fortifications, the town is composed of Paris, is in Rue Amsterdam, behind the Made two divisions, St. François on the North, and leine, 10! miles from Maisons. See Bradshaw's Hand- Notre Dame, on the South, with the Docka lving dock for Paris.
tween. The Rue de Paris is the most bustling street, as it leads to the Docks and Quais; but the newest
bouses are up Ingouville Hill, in the north suburbs, ROUTE 9.
where most of the English live.
Few of the town buildings are of any note. Havre and Fecamp to Rouen and Paris.
Hôtel de Ville, built in 1753, stands in Place Francis By rail from Havre, four trains daily, 51 to 7 hours.
I., whose crest (the salamander) is over the door,
T . The Fécamp branch joins at Beuzeville.
whence there is a good view of the Docks. The HAVRE, or Le Havre de Grace,
Bourse or Exchange is also here; built in 1785. The 57) miles from Rouen, 143 from Paris. HOTELS.-Hotel et Bains Frascati, situated on the
Custom-house, or Douane, built 1754, is on Quai sea-shore; well furnished hotel, moderate charges.
Nôtre Dame; so called after that church, built in the De l'Europe, Rue de Paris, highly recommended;
16th cent., cross-shaped, in the Renaissance style; good rooms, excellent cuisine.
the front was restored, 1829. Originally it was a De Bordeaux, Rue de Paris and Place du Theatr fishermen's chapel. St. François' church was erectal well situated, moderate charges,
between 1553 and 1681. De l'Amiraute, on the quay.
| One of the best buildings is the Theatre, or Salle de Angleterre; Commerce; France; Normandie;s Marine; Richelieu ; Paris; Rouen ; Trouville, Seine,
Spectacle, at the end of the Bassin du Commerce, Wheeler's; Belle-vue; Dieppe; Espagne; Paix, i begun 1817, and rebuilt since the fire of 1845, by
English Consul, G. Featherstonehaugh, Esq. Charpentier. At the Cercle de Commerce, or Lloyd'ha
English Chapel, in Place du Commerce, Rue d'Or the merchants meet. The old prétoire, or bailliage, leans, Rev. H. A Wilson; American Chapel, in Rue in the Market Place, is now the Palais de Justice. de la Paix, Rev. E. E. Adams; French Protestanu Temple, Place du Commerce, Rev. M. M, Poulain
lain. A public library of 25,000 volumes is in the new and Amphoun are Protestant pastors here.
Museum (on the site of the ancient Hôtel de Ville), English Physician, Dr. Tarrel.
with David's statues of Saint Pierre and Delavigne Post-office, in Place Louis Seize.
in front. It is open on Sundays and Thursdays. A Large sea baths besides those at the Frascati Hotel, marble slab marks the house, in Rue de la Corderie near the north jetty.
(No. 47)where St. Pierre (the author of Paul and OBJECTS OF NOTICE-The Docks-Theatre-St. Virginia) was born ; and another, at a house on Quai Pierre's House-Ipsouville Church-La Hêve Lights. de la Barre, marks the birth place of Delavigne. It is near the government tobacco factory and Entrepôt, 1 Count Denouetto, who was silpwrecked off Ireland both large buildings. Mad. de Scuderi, Mad. de la in 1834. More distant excursions may be made to Fayette, Ancelot, &c., were also natives of Havre. Etretat and its chalk cliffs, near Cape Antifer; Hon
Three bassins or docks, viz., Bassin du Commerce, fleur and Trouville, across the Seine. Bassin du Roi (or Vieux Bassin, begun by Colbert, in! Among the articles manufactured are tobacco. 1665), and Bassin de la Barre, open into the Port soap, pottery, iron, cordage, starch, vitriol, paper, Neuf (dating from 1843), and Avant Port, which are beer, refined sugar, lace, &c. The imports are sugar, just inside the jetties, and round which the steamers coffee, spices, cotton, &c., to the value of £10,000,000, and hotels are found. A telegraph at the entrance, of which cotton is one-fourth; and the exports inon Francis I.'s old Tower (69 feet high, 85 round), clude silks, cloths, gloves, perfumes, trinkets, wine, communicates with La Hêve Lights. These Docks, brandy, &c. with that of Vauban (opened in 1842), will hold about Conveyances by coach to Fécamp, Dieppe, Mont700 shipping. The tide rises 20 to 27 feet, so that brilliers, &c. By steam to Honfleur, daily, 1 hour; large ships may come in three hours before and after Caen, daily, 4 hours ; Cherbourg, weekly, 12 hours ; high water. At low water the Avant Port is dry, and Dunkirk, weekly, 20 hours ; Trouville, daily, 2 hours ; its mouth is kept clear by sluices from a reservoir St. Malo, three times a month. 20 hours; Morlaix, called the Retenue de la Floride.
every 5 days, 20 hours ; Rotterdam, every 3 days, 24 The Bassin de la Barre has a floating dock at one hours ; Hamburg, weekly, 60 hours; Copenhagen and end, with a communication to Bassin Vauban, near St. Petersburg, thrice a month, 4 and 8 days; Souththe railway station in Cours Napoleon. New docks ampton, three times a week, 12 hours ; Brighton, 10 are projected along the Seine, between it and the | hours; London, every 5 days, 20 hours; Liverpool, Florida reservoir, near the south Jetty. Many use-weekly, 60 hours; San Sebastian, Corunna, Cadiz, less fortifications are levelled ; and Louis Napoleon and Malaga, every 20th day, in 8 days; New York, having decreed a new Boulevard Impériale, which monthly, 15 days. There are also lines of sailing unites the town with Ingouville, great improvements packets, &c. See Bradshaw's Continental Railway may be looked for in Havre, commensurate with its Guide. increasing prosperity. The Seine runs with such The first station from Havre (leaving Graville and power past the pier-heads of the harbour as to pre- its old abbey church, to the north) is vent the water inside from falling sensibly for even Harfleur (49 miles), a decayed village on the three hours after high water; so that 120 sail have Lezarde, now 3 kil. from the Seine's mouth (here been known to leave in one tide, with the wind against seen to advantage), but once the chief port of Northem. Both sides of the river above Havre are well mandy. Henry V. took it after seven weeks' siege, lighted, to guide small craft past the shifting sands. 1415, and sent the pop. (8,000) to Calais and elseThere is good anchorage in the Roads, with plenty of where-which was the ruin of it. The Church has water : but the current often sets with dangerous a slender tower, and good portal, with a beautiful swiftness. It was off this port that Sir S. Smith was crocketed spire. On a certain day in each year, the captured, 1796, and sent to the Temple.
bell strikes 104 times, to commemorate the escape of Ship-building and kindred trades are carried on. | as many of the townspeopren after the siege aboveMany ships are engaged in the Newfoundland cod, mentioned. Coach to Montvilliers (5 kil. north), up the herring, and other fisheries. One of the first the river. ships ever built here, was the Nej Francoise; a great | A little east is Orcher château, seat of Madame vessel of 2,000 tons, in the reign of Francis I. Un- Mortemarte, once belonging to Law, the financier. fortunately, before she got off the stocks, she was The line winds round the hill at the back of Honoverturned by a tempest of wind, and her timbers fleur, and comes to were used to build houses at the Barre.
St. Romain-de-Colbose (7 miles), a station At Ingouville there is an old church; and the 2 kil. from the village, which stands in a pleasant prospects are extremely good, especially from La Côte, country, and has 1,710 pop., with manufactures of where the villas of the English and foreign merchants stockings and prints. Coaches to Criquetot, Semeval, are fixed. The low space to the north-west is lined | Angerville, Etretat (on the Channel). with wind mills, and leads to Cope la Héve, where the 1 (At 8 kil. east-south-east, on the high cliffs of the chalk cliff's begin, on which stand the two fixed lights,
Seine, opposite Quilleboeuf, are the fine remains 446 feet above the sea. St. Adresse, near this, is a
of Tancarville Castle, including the gate and its well-wooded spot, with a pretty church, cemetery, massy round towers, chapel, &c. It belonged to oyster park, &c., and a monument on the heights to the Conqueror's chamberlain (ancestor of the
English Tankerviles); the Harcourts; Dunois, ! [LILLEBONNE (8 kil. south), in a hollow, on the Bol. the soldier; Law, the financier; and is now held bec, once the Roman Julia Bona, so called after by the Montmorencies, but is not inhabited.]
Cæsar's daughter. It remained a place of some Further on you come to Mirville aqueduct, 1,640
note under the Norman dukes, and has been feet long, on forty-eight arches, some 108 feet high.
revived by the cloth inanufacture. Pop., 5,200.
An ancient semi-circular theatre, about 200 feet Beuzeville (5 miles), or, B. le Grenier, whence there is a branch rail to Fécamp, across the
across, cut out of the hill side, was traced 1826;
ard baths, coins, pieces of statuary, &c., have Pays de Caux.
been discovered. There is a good spire church. (Beuzeville to Fécamp, 10 miles, by rail, four trains
Above it are the tower and ruined walls of the a day. Beuzeville is 397 miles from Rouen, 16:|
Harcourts' old castle.) from Havre.]
Yvetot (7 miles), to the left, in a fertile spot, a Grainville-Goderville (4 miles) stat. is 2
suus-préfecture of 9,920 souls, with a brick church, miles from Goderville. Both villages are in a fertile
old wooden houses, and manufactures of ribbons, country.
cotton velvets, &c., is celebrated for its roi d'Yvetot, Les Ifs (31 miles), near Tourville; and 3) miles a burlesque title, first conferred in an edict of 1392, further is
i on its seigneur (like the king of Kippen, in PerthFecamp, a fishing port, in a healthy spot in a gap shire), and taken up in Béranger's well-known song. of the cliffs, having the church (all that is left) of the
written in 1843 :abbey of Notre Dame, built between the 11th and 16th
"Il faisait ses quatre repas cents.; partly Norman, but mostly early Gothic in
Dans son palais de chaume, style ; with some good carving, effigies of abbots, and
Et sur un âne, pas à pas, a tower, 231 feet high. The light-house, on Montagne
Parcourait son royaume." de-la-Vierge cliff (near a chapel) is 427 feet high,
At Allonville 6 kil, south-west, is a famous oak, 36 and can be seen 21 miles.
feet round, and eight centuries old. It is fitted up It has a chamber of commerce, navigation school,
| as a chapel. Coaches to Cany, Ourville, Valmont, theatre, library, &c. ; with cotton and saw mills,
and Caudebec. Herrings, mackerel, &c., are caught. Pop., 11,500.
[CAUDEBEC (11 kil. south), is a pretty fishing village Hotels.- Grand Cerf; De la Forte; Du Commerco.
of 2,500 souls, in a gap of the cliffs on the Seine, [About 9 miles south-west is Cape de Caur, or Cupe where the sands begin to be troublesome. It
d'Antifer, past fine chalk cliffs all the way, from belonged to St. Wandrille's abbey. Henry V. 150 to 700 feet high. They rival those of the
of England, Charles VII., and Henry IV., at Isle of Wight for brilliancy and variety of shape.
various times took possession of it, -the last, in The picturesque cliffs and caves of
1592. The old walls are gone, but it retains ÉTRETAT were first brought into fashion by Al
many curious wooden houses, and a beautiful
Gothic Church, built 1416-48, having a richlyphonse Karr. Pop., 1,500. Hotel-Blankuet.
carved triple portal (the old arms, "three About 42 kil, further is HAVRE.
pearls, on a blue field," are seen), a side From Fécamp towards Dieppe, you pass St. Valery tower, with a tiara-shaped spire, and a Virgin
en-Caus (44 kil.), a fishing port, in a pretty spot. chapel, with its great pendant, hanging from Pop., 5,400.
the roof. Biscuits, beer, &c., are made ; at one At Bourg-Dun, 18 kil. further, is a church of the
time it was noted for gloves, and for hats called 15th cent. DIEPPE is 19 kil. beyond it (see
"Caudebecs." The ruined churches of St. Route 8)).
Gertrude and Notre Dame-de-Barre-y-va, are Bolbec-Nointot (37 miles) stat., to the south near the latter being of tho 13th cent.. and of which (3 kil.) is Bolbec, a thriving town of 9,800 a votive chapel for the bargemen, &c. Opposite souls, where four valleys meet, on a stream which it was an island, which sunk in 1641, with a runs down to the Seine. Here was born General monastery on it. Ruffin, whom Marshal Lannes presented to Napo At 4 miles east, are the Gothic remains of a Church, leon, after the battle of Friedland, as the "most on the site of the abbey founded 684, by St. valiant" of his generals. Cotton and linen gooils, Wandrille, kinsman of Clovis, and called Fonleather, &c., are made.
tenelle, but burnt in 1230. Theodoric, son of Hotels.--De Rouen ; de l'Europe.
the last Merovingian king, died here. The buildCoach to Lillebonne,
in's rouud it are used for a cotton factory. Sto Saturnin's little Norman chapel is near; and out of the Chemin de Fer de l'Ouest. For the short there was another, Caillouville, so full of statues line to Sceaux, sce Route 34. that it was called the " gathering of paradise." By rail to Versailles (rice droite, i.e., right or north Across the river (4 kil. south), in Brotonne bank of the Seine, opened 1839), and St. Germain forest, is the old château of Meilleraye, or (opened 1839), 35 minutes past every hour, from the Meslerde, seat of Madame de Mortemarte. At terminus, Rue St. Lazare. Omnibuses meet all the 4 kil. south-west of Caudebec, is the pretty trains. Distance to Versailles, 23 kil, or 14 miles; to village of Villeruier, and its spire Church, in a St. Germain, 18. kil. or 11 miles, gap of the river.)
The stations to Versailles areMotteville (5 miles), in the wide and fertile plain | Asnières, Suresnes,
Viroflay, of the Pays de Caux, or Vexin Normand, as it was Courlevoie, St. Cloud,
Versailles. called, was the seat of Madame de Motteville, who Puteaux,
Sèvres, Ville d'Avray, wrote the Memoirs of Anne of Austria. Coaches go! Asnieres, as in Route 8. to Yerville, St. Laurent, Luneray (35 kil.), on one Courbevoie (at the bridge to Villiers), has & road: and to Doudeville and St. Valery-en Caux (38 large barrack and a church, rebuilt 1789. Pop. 5, 100. kil.) on another,
The Marquis de Fontanes' seat is one of the best about Leaving this, you come to Flamanville tunnel, 5 here. Here Francis II. and Marie Stuart parted. A feet long, the first of a series between this and Rouen. little further on, over the river (here crossed by Then
Peronnet's beautiful stone bridge, built 1772, 750 feet Pavilly (7 miles), up the Austreberthe, in a pretty long, of five arches, each 120 feet span), is Neuilly spot, has an old château, Esneval, of the 13th cent. (see Route 10-C.) (now a cotton work), and a church, in which the first Puteaux, on the border of the Seine, has so wife of Diane de Poictiers' husband is buried. Pop. pop. of 4,350. 3,160.
Suresnes, in a pretty spot. Pop. 3,200. Its (At 15 kil. south-south-east, are the fine Norman vines and roses were at one time equally celebrated. ruins of the abbey church of
In front is Mont Calvaire, or Valerian, 590 feet above Jumièges, founded 661, by St. Philibert, and rebuilt sea level. A suspension bridge crosses the Seine to
in the 11th cent. It has two conspicuous towers the Longchamps walk in the Bois de Boulogne. over the west front, and parts of the central St. Cloud, on a well-wooded hill side, close to towers, &c. To this abbey the Confessor sent the Seine (by which steamers come up), in a charming Harold to renew his promise of the kingdom to spot, is so called after Clovis's grandson, St. Clodoald, William. Charles VII. was here when his mis- / who was murdered here. It was burnt by the Engtress, Agnes Sorel, died at Mesnil château (3 lish, 1358: here Henry III. was assassinated, 1389; miles south-east) now a farm house, near the and Henrietta Maria, wife of Charles I., died here, river, opposite Mauny forest.)
1670, in great poverty. Barentin (14 miles) lower down the Austreberthe The Palace, built, 1572, by Gondy, a banker, having (which falls into the Seine at Duclair cliffs, 11 kil. south been bought by Louis XIV., was given to his brother, south-west in the forest of le Trait-to which a coach | the Duke of Orleans, and rebuilt by Mansard, &c. runs) has some cotton works, and a pop. of 3,070. It makes three sides of a square, with a principal Beyond this is a great viaduct, on twenty-seven
front of 170 feet long, and has many painted and arches, 108 feet high, 1,640 feet long, as rebuilt by the
gilt saloons full of pictures, statuary, Sèvres china, contractors, after a fall in 1846. To this succeeds the tapestry, &c. Louis XVI. gave it to his queen; tunnel of Notre Dame des Champs, 7,218 feet long
Bonaparte, when consul, carried out the revolution of (under Poville hill); then a cutting 105 feet deep,
18 Brumaire (10th November, 1799,) here; the capiin some parts; and at length,
tulation of Paris was here signed, 1815, when it was Malaunay (5 miles) and its viaduct, at the occupied by Blicher; and hence Charles X. issued junction with the Dieppe line (see Route 8) which
the famous ordonnances against the press, 1830, which comes down the valley of the Cailly.
ended in another revolution. It is now the principal
residence of the Emperor Louis Napoleon. ROUTE 10-A.
The private grounds and Grand Park were laid out
by Le Notre, and are open to the public. In the latter, Paris to St. Cloud and Versailles.
are the water-works and cascades, with a jet d'eau, This is one of the three or four Tignes de Banlieue, rising 140 feet, and Napoleon's Lantern of Diogenes, or short lines, in the enyirons of Paris, which branch a copy of that at Athens, whence there is a fine proste pect. A three-weeks' fête is held in September. The Coach to Bougival (5 kil. south) near La Jouchère unfinished church has two paintings. A fourteen château, once the seat of Louis Bonaparte and Count arch bridge leads over to Boulogne, in the Bois or Bertrand. At La Celle-St. Cloud is the château, wood of which the English encamped, 1815. It is given by Louis XV. to Madame de Pompadour, with noted for its duels, races, its new waterfall, and the that of Beauregard, in a fine spot, on a hill. Longchamps promenade. A tunnel under the park | Chatou, in Vesinet wood, where the railway opens out, with
crosses the Seine, resting on Ile Chiard, is to the Sevres on the left, near the bridge, towards right. To the left are Croissy and Les Gabillons. Passy. It was founded 560, and has a pop. of Coaches to Le Pecq and Neauphile-le-château. 4,600, with a church full of new stained windows, | [Beyond (across the river) are seen the Port and the government factory of porcelain, or Sèvres Marly waterworks. and aqueduct, on 36 arches, china, established 1755. The show-rooms are open
2,165 feet long, 70 feet high, erected at great cost, daily; there is also a fine museum of china, pottery, for supplying Versailles. The viaduct strikes &c., of all ages and countries, to be seen, by order. towards Louveciennes on the hill-side, and
The line here runs close to the rive gauche, or Maisons pavilion, which belonged to Madame south-bank line, past
du Barri. Louis XIV.'s seat at Marly was Viile d'Avray. Chaville, Grand Montreuil pulled down at the Revolution. (where Gen. Hoche was born), to the main line of the Vesinet. Here a short branch turns off to Le chemin de l'Ouest at
Pecq bridge, opposite St. Germain, but the main lino Viroflay, leaving the old line to go on to the goes round by another bridge to the old palace. terminus in Rue Duplessis, at
ST. GERMAIN-EN-LAYE, or
18 kil. west of Paris, in a healthy spot on the slope (Lignes de Banlieue.)
of a hill, is celebrated for its royal Château, begun by Paris to St. Germain.
Louis-le-Jeune, 1143, but rebuilt and enlarged by By rail: trains, 35 min. past every hour. To Francis I. and Louis XIV., who was born here ; as Argenteuil, 5 min, past every hour. The stations were Henry II. and Charles IX. It was the resito St. Germain are
dence of Mary Stuart (in her youth), Henry IV., and Asnières, Rueil,
Vesinet, of James II. of England, who died here, 1701, and Colombes, Châtou,
St. Germain. was buried in the Italian church, which contains a Nanterre,
monument to him by George IV. It is a large heavy Asnieres, as in Route 8. The small branch to pile; and after being used as a barrack and military Argenteuil (Route 8) turns off before
school, is now turned into a military penitentiary. Colombes (dept. Seine) where our present James's body having been embalmed had been rebranch turns off from the Rouen line. Coaches to moved to the convent of English Bernardines at Bezons, Honilles.
Paris for interment in England, when the sans Nanterre was the birth-place of St. Geneviève, culottes, at the Revolution, broke open the coffin, the patron saint of Paris, and is noted for its sau- but it was at length safely restored to St. Germain's. sages and cakes. The rest of the line to St. Germain where it now lies. A noble shaded terrace, begun by is worked on the atmospheric plan, by two fixed Henry IV., is above 100 feet broad, and 7.870 feet engines here, and others at Châtou and St. Germain. long, and commands a fine prospect. The forest to
Rueil (dept. Seine-et-Oise) to the left, has a the north was called Laia when the monastery of large barrack, and a church, partly as old as the 13th St. Germain was founded in the 11th cent. It covers cent., in which are monuments of Josephine and 8,000 acres, and two fairs are held in itone near the her daughter, Hortense; the latter placed here by her Château des Loges. La Muette pavilion is used for bon, the present Emperor. Pop. 3.600.
a racing stud, under the management of Prince, of Malmaison, the favourite seat of Napoleon and Newmarket. Josephine (who died in it, 1814), now belongs to
Pop.. 13.500. Many English live here. Rev. N.
Peyrat is the French Protestant pastor. Queen Christina. It is a plain building, and includes
Good hotels, but all dear. Café du Pavillon Napoleon's library and cabinet (near the lodge), in
d'Henri IV. which he was nearly captured, 1815, by Blücher's Coaches to Marly. Maule, Meulan, Poissy. At cavalry, but his guards having time to break down Cambourcy 12 kil.), near Marly forest, are some fine the wooden bridge of Chaton ho fled to Rochefort. I chesnuts, and the domain of Ketz, called the Desert.