Imagens das páginas
PDF

might be almost run across. Megruies, 20 kil. I

ROUTE 33. south-east of this, is noted for three large

Montpellier to Lodeve, Muhau, and Rodez. caves.) At 28 kil. further, passing Molines is

Distance, to Milhau, 121 kil., or 75 miles. MENDE, (see Route 28); beyond that, is St. Chaley Montpellier, as in Route 30. About half-way (48 kil.) and

to the next place, is the very old church of Celle Neuwe, St. FLOUR (30 kil., on the Clermont-Ferrand road, composed of large, wall-cut stones. as in Route 52.

LA BARAQUE-DE-BEL-AIR (12 kil.)
ROUTE 32.

GIGNAC (18 kil.), on the Hérault, which a curious

bridge crosses, has a good church, a square tower, and Montpellier, up the Herault, to Mende.

the chapel of Notre Dame, on the heights, thought to Distance to Le Vigan, about 51 kil., or 32 miles.

have been a temple of Vesta. A little higher up the Montpellier, as in Route 30.

river is Aniane, where St. Bennet was born; the old MONTFERRIER (6 kil.), a little to the east of the abbey, founded, 782, by a count of Maguelonne, is here. road, makes a pleasing appearance, being on a vol

LODÈVE (24 kil), a sous-préfecture, with 11, 250 souls, canic peak about 140 feet above the sea, on or round

on the Ergue (a branch of the Hérault), in a pretty which are grouped an old château of its marquises, a

valley at the foot of the Cevennes mountains, which park stretching to the Lez, mills, &c. Another lava

are cultivated at the top. The old church of St. Fulpeak, Valmahargues, is to the west. One of these

cran (a cathedral till the Revolution), which was part heights was the site of a Roman or Gaulic town,

of St. Sauveur's abbey, has a great square machicalled Substantion and Seoctantio, according to in

colated tower, with turrets, &c., and was fortified scriptions, remains of walls, &c., found there.

against the Albigenses, when the town was wallet ST. GELY (5 kil.)

round. It has a mineral spring, and the Juifs' (Jews') (At 5 kil, to the east is Prades, at the head of the

grotto. Cardinal Fleury and General Lagarde were Lez, wliich has its source in a ravine (something

born here. like Vaucluse), behind the castle of Restin

Hotels.--De la Croix Blanche (White Cross); du clières.)

Cheval Vert (Green Horse). Coach to Beziers stat. ST. MARTIN (12 kil.) ST. GUILHEM-LE-DESERT (7 kil.). in a deep gorge! [CLERMONT-HERAULT (15 kil. south-east, near the of the Hérault, among the rugged limestone peaks

Ydriome), is an industrious town of 6,200 souls, of the Cevennes range, is under the large old Castle,

who make cloth, cotton, &c. It has an old castle, called the Géant, which belonged, they say, to the

and a Gothic church, with a fine rose window. giant, Gallone, who fought with St. Guilhem. In one

Coach to Beziers stat). part, is a primitive suspension bridge, in the Indian ST. PIERRE-DE-PAGE (15 kil.) style, running from cliff to cliff, about 127 feet long. LE CAYLAR (13 kil.), on a plateau above the source

ST. BAUZILLE-DU-PUTOIS (6 kil.), a small village, of the Legerce, has remains of its old walls. A on the Hérault, is remarkable for a succession of caves, charming path, called the Esoalette road, leads to in the limestone, called in the patois of this part) several fine points of view, near the source of the Baouma de las Doumaiselas, or the Ladies' Cavern Ergue. (another name is the Grotto of the Ganges), full of LA CABALERIC (22 kil.) stalactites and stalagmites of all shapes.

MILHAU (17 kil.), already described, (see Route 28), GANGES (5 kil.), further up the Hérault.

where the roads to Mende and Albi divide off. LE VIGAN, on the Arre, is alout 10 kil. north-west (About 23 kil. south of Milhau, is Nant, in the of this (see Route 31). St. Hippolyte, about 15 kil. beautiful valley of the Dourbie, where it joins east; and St. Jean du Gard, about 20 kil, north of the Tarn, in a spot remarkable for the Poujada St. Hippolyte.

and other grottoes.) From St. Jean the road to

BOIS DU FOUR (21 kil ) MENDE is as in Route 28, where these places are PONT DE SALARS (26 kil.) described.

RODEZ is 25 kil, further, as in Route 52

[ocr errors]

SECTION IV. ,

ROUTES TO THE CENTRE AND SOUTH-WEST OF FRANCE.

IN CONNECTION WITH THE CHEMIN DE FER D'ORLEANS, or Grand Central Rail.

way of France; SUPPLYING SCEAUX, CORBEIL, ORLÉANS, BLOIS, TOURS, POITIERS, ANGOULÊME, BORDEAUX, ANGERS, NANTES, ST. NAZAIRE, NIORT, ROCHEFORT, LA ROCHELLE, LIMOGES, PÉRIGUEUX, BOURGES, NEVERS, MOULINS, VICHY, CLERMONT-FERRAND, MONT DORE, BRIOUDE, ST. ETIENNE, LYON, &c.; IN THE OLD PROVINCES OF ORLÉANOIS, TOURAINE, ANJOU, POITOU, BERRI, BOURBONNAIS, MARCHE, LIMOISON, PÉRIGORD, AUVERGNE.

ROUTE, 34.

Paris to Sceaux and Orsay. Distance, 22 kil., or 13} miles; trains, every hour, to Sceaux, every other hour, to Orsay. Embarcadère, Barrière d'Enfer, behind the Luxembourg. A single rail, opened 1846. "

Passing in view the great Bicêtre Hospital, Petit Montrouge, and the fortifications, then Montrouge quarries and its new fort, you come to

Arcueil-Cachan (3miles), so called from the aqueduct made by the Romans over the Biévres, two arches of which are seen in the modern aqueduct, built 1613-24 by Desbrosses, for Mary de Medici's palace at the Luxembourg. It stands on 25 arches, is 72 feet high, and 1,200 long. The church is of the 13th-15th centuries. Laplace, the mathematician, resided here. Several country seats are about. Cachan, across the valley, was a country seat of Philippe le Bel's.

Bourg-la-Reine (14 mile), on the high road to Etampes and Orleans, a pretty place, with a country seat of Gabrielle d'Estrées, "la Belle Gabrielle,” mistress of Henry IV., whose decorated chamber is still shown. It was in the prison here that Condorcet, the philosopher and Girondist, poisoned himself, 1794. The cattle market, or Marché de Sceausc, is held near this, every Monday.

To the north-west are Chatillon on a hill, and Bagneaux on another hill the latter a healthy place, with an old church of the 12th or 13th century. L'Hay and Chevilly lie to the south-west, and Berni château to the south, beyond the viaduct.

Here the line to Sceaux turns off. (This serpentine rail has many small curves in it.

yards higher than Fontenay, and only 840 yards distant, as the crow flies. For this purpose the patent jointed carriages of M. Arnoux are used. The gauge is 6 feet Little wheels, fastenin to the rims of the great ones, keep the carriages on the line. They turn freely, and require no buffers. Curves of only 82 feet radius are thus safely passed. Fontenay-aux-Roses (9 kil. from Paris), a

charming village, was so called from the rose trees once cultivated here. The house in which Scarton lived now belongs to Lelru Rollin. The

vine, strawberry, &c., are grown. Sceaux (11 kil. from Paris), a sous-préfecture in

department Seine (pop. 1,800), had a château, built, 1670, by Colbert the statesman, and enlarged by the Duchesse de Maine, who married Mad, de Montespan's son. Here Voltaire wrote his “Semiramis,” &c. It was pulled down at the Revolution, except the orangerie or park, now a

public garden for Sunday balls. Near the Gothic church of St. Jean, which contains

a marble "Baptism of Christ,” is a pillar to Florian the novelist, who died here, 1794. The Hôtel de Ville is a good building. Plessis, and the forest of Meudon, are to the west ; also Robinson and its chesnut trees; Aulnay, where Châteaubriand wrote his “martyrs,” and other works; and Chatenay, where Voltaire was born,

1694. It is now the residence of Eugene Sue. Coaches to Lenas, Arpajon, Limours, Bonelles,

Epilly, Chatenay, and Amblainvilliers. At Orsay, 5 kil. above it, up the Yvette, is a fine

to accomplish the ascent to Sceaux, which is 24

moated château.] The next station to Bourg-la-Reines

Antony (14 miles), on the Biévre. Coach to the tion with the Salpêtrière, for 3,000 oli peoplo ancient village of Longjumeau.

and for lunatics, in a building about 1,000 feet Massy (13 miles). Coach to Verrières and its square. In the court is a great well (puits de wood. Vilgenis, near this, belongs to Jerome Bona Bicêtre), 7 feet diameter, and 187 feet deep, in parte.

the rock; the water is conveyed thence to a Palaiseau (62 miles), on the Yvette, under a reservoir, 57 feet square. Workshops, gardens, hill, was so called from its palatium or château of the a farm, &c., are attached. The Duke of Berri's early kings, and has a church of the 12th century. château replaced a Carthusian house, built by Coaches to Igny château (built in 1852, in the Renais Bishop John of Winchester, whence comes the sance style, by M. Tourneux, its owner), and Bièvre,

present name-Winchestre, Bicestre. Bicêtre. in a pretty part of that river. It is hence 9 kil. to

Vitry-sur-Seine (Villejuif to the left) among Versailles, past Jouy-en-Josas and Buc aqueduct, nursery gardens, has a seat which belonged to Count which supplies the palace with water.

Dubois, and is near a spot on the river, called Porte From Palaiseau, up the Yvette, after Lozére, you à l'Anglais, where the English, who held Paris in the come to

time of Charles VI., had a camp, to cut off the Orsay (3 miles) and its moated Château, in a Dauphin's communication by the river. Pop. 3,000. picturesque part of the river. Coaches to Forges, | An eight-arch viaduct brings you to Briis, Bonnelles, Limours, and Chevreuse, which has Choisy-le-Roi (6} miles), in department Seinesome fine Castle quins, and an old church. From the let-Oise, at the five-arch bridge on the Seine, built ruins of the Madeline, near it, there is a fine view 1802. It is so called from a château of Louis XV., over the Yvette.

which was here, but is now occupied by a porcelain From Chevreuse an omnibus runs to La Verrière factory. Here died, in 1836, Rouget de L'Isle, the station, on the Chemin de Fer de l'Ouest line.

author of the famous Marseillaise. Pop. 8,000. The PORT-ROYAL is within an hour's walk (see Route large glass-works are no longer carried on; but there 15): at Dampierre is the fine seat of Duc de Luynes. are factories for morocco leather, chemicals, &c.

Thiais is on the heights, to the south-west, and the (A.)--ROUTES TO THE SOUTH-WEST, VIÂ Lyons railway on the opposite side of the river. A THE LINE TO BORDEAUX.

little further, at the bridge on the Seine, is Villeneuve

le-Roi (opposite Villeneuve St. Georges), which beROUTE 35.

longed to Philippe Auguste, and has a good church

and several country houses. Paris, to Orleans, Blois, Tours, Poitiers,

Ablon (14 mile), in a pretty spot, had a Protestant Angouleme, and Bordeaux.

church, which Sully used to attend. There are large By railway Station, or embarcadère, Boulevard caves here. de l'Hôpital, near the Jardin des Plantes. Opened Athis-Mons (2 miles), on the Orge, near the to Corbeil, 1840, to Orleans, 1843, to Bordeaux Seine, a place of the 11th cent., where Louis X. and (throughout), 1853. Distance to Orleans, 76 miles, his grandson Philippe le Bel had a seat. Pop. 770. or 121 kil.; eleven trains a day, 2) to 4 hours. To Juvisy (24 miles), where the branch railway turns Bordeaux, 383 miles, or 578 kil.; fiye trains a day, 121 off to Corbeil (as below), is on the Orge, and has the to 191 hours. Baggage allowed, 30 kil., or 66 lbs. château of Marquis de Montessuy, which belonged to Omnibuses meet all the trains from the branch offices, the Brancas and Sevennes families. The park was at Rue Drouot, No. 4; Cours des Domaines, Rue du laid out by Lenútre. At the post-house of Fromenteau, Bouloi, 21; Rue St. Martin, 295; Rue du Bac, 121: Napoleon first heard of the capitulation of Paris, in Rue de l'Ancienne Comédie, 14; fare, 30 cent. (3d.), 1814. Pop. 410. exclusive of baggage.

[To Corbeil.-A short branch rail, out of the The line runs out by Barrière de la Gare and Pont Orleans line, running four trains a-day, in de Bercy, on the Seine, past the bastions at the bac about an hour. or ferry, and past Ivry (pop. 6,000) and its fort and Chatillon on the Seine, here covered with villas, harge workshops, with Grand Gentilly, and the Chemin is noted for a fète champêtre, in May, and is The Ceinture, to the left.

opposite Draveil and Champrosay. (Gentilly (5 kil. from Paris), on the Bièvre, is near! Riz, or Ris-Orangis (2} miles), at the suspenVilleroy château, and the famous

sion bridge on the Seine, built by Aguado the Bicêtre, once a château of Jean, Duke of Berri, and banker, whose seat was here. The château wag

a military hospital, now a vast asylum, in connec inhabited by Henry IV. That of Fromont belongs to N. Soulange Bolin, and has a well (MONTLHÉRY, or Mont-le-léry (2 kil. west), on a arranged horticultural garden. De Thou, the hill-side, is noted for the ancient Tower which historian, once resided here. A little further up rises over it, and belonged to the strong feudal the river are Doujons, Soisy-sous-Étoiles, and castle, built 999, by Thibauld-File-Etoupe (i.e., Petit Bourg, so called after the château of the tow thread, from his light hair). It had jurisDuc d'Antin, where Louis XIV. used to visit diction over 133 fiefs and 300 parishes, so that it Madame Montespan. A house of correction for was often troublesome, even to the sovereign at young criminals occupies the site. A hospital, Paris. Five gates in the ruined walls lead up

founded by the Duchess of Bourbon, is also here. to the Tower, which looks like the Eddystone Evry (2) miles), has an old church, and a pop. of lighthouse, and is 101 feet high, and 9 to 4 thick. 880.

It has been restored, and commands a fine range Corbeil (2 miles), at the five-arch bridge on the of view. The English had possession of it in

Seine, in a pleasant spot, where the Essonne 1360. Porte Baudry, in the town, built 1015, joins, and turns forty flour mills, is a sous-pré was rebuilt 1589, and restored by Bonaparte in fecture (Seine-et-Oise) of 5,000 souls, having a "l'An VIII. de la Republique." Pop., 2,800. large trade in grain, a halle-au-blé (corn market), There is a theatre, and some good shops. A St. Spire's old church, a library of 4,000 vols., and battle was fought here, 1465, between Louis XI. an immense granary of six stories, large enough and his brother.] to feed all Paris for a fortnight. The second Bretigny (11 mile), in a pretty valley, where wife of Philippe Auguste died here, 1236.

John of France made a Treaty with Edward III., A steamer runs hence to Melun and Montereau, then master of the best part of France. Pop., 830. Coaches to Melun, Fontainebleau (see Route 20),

Marrolles-en-Hurepoix (32 miles), near Milly Malesherbeg. Puiseaux, Beaumont, Men- the railway, has a merino-sheep farm at Chanteloup, necy, Ponthierry.

which was a country-seat of Phillippe-le-Bel. Bouchet A continuation of this rail is projected vid Pithi

I powder-mill is near this. Coaches to Arpajon, Boissy, viers, Montargis, Gien, to Nevers.

and St. Chéron. Essonne (2 kil. south-west) on that river, was the (ARPAJON (2 kil. west), where the Remarde joir3

old Axona or Exona, and a country seat which the Orge, was called Châtres till 1770, when it: Clothaire gave to St. Denis' abbey. Here is a

seigneur, Louis de Saverne, was made Marquis large fancy paper factory. Pop. 2,700.]

of Arpajon. They relate that after the happy Savigny-sur-Orge (11 mile), a village as old marquis had received his title, he used to plan, as 925, with a castle built by the chamberlain of himself in the road, with a stick, and inquire of Charles VIII., 1480, now belonging to the Princess of the passers by, "What is the name of this seat?” Eckmühl Villiers, near this, was the property of If they said "Arpajon," they were rewarde! Madame Brinvilliers, the poisoner. Viaduct to

with praises, and something substantial; but Epinay-sur-Orge (1} mile), a little way from woe to the unlucky stranger who called it by its Ville Moisson, on the Orge, where the Yvette joins. old name of Châtres. A large church and tim. A château here, and a church with a good “John bered halle here. -At St. Chéron (11 kil. southBaptist" in it. St. Geneviève forest is a little further, west), is the fine natural fountain of La Rachêe. At Longpont is one of the best churches out of Paris -At St. Vrain, is a domed pavilion, built by for design, but unfortunately in a state of decay. It Madame du Barri. belonged to a rich abbey here, and once had (perhaps LONGJUMEAU (3 kil. west), in the pleasant valley of has now), the real head of St. Denis (i.e., Dionysius the Yvette, is older than the 9th cent. The the Areopagite) according to a Latin rhyme,

square church of St. Martin has a good Gothic “Nostri tenent coenobita

portico.] Caput Areopagitæ.”

Bouray (2} miles), on the Juine, a little past

Mesnil Voisin, seat of the Duke of Polignac. Coaches This makes the seventh head of that famous personage to La Ferté-Aleps, Vaire, and Malesherbes, all on known to exist-and all genuine; others being St. the Essonne, to which Juine river runs. MaleDenis abbey, Notre Dame, &c. Coaches to Long

sherbes belonged to the bold defender of Louis XVI. jumeau and Balezy.

at his trial; formerly to one of the mistresses of St. Michel-sur-Orge (2} miles). Here are Henry IV., Henriette d'Entraigues. the workshops of the company. Coaches to Mont | Lardy (14 mile), on the Juine, where they make Thérz, Linas, Marcoussia.

| lace, edgings, &c. Here Marguerite do Valois lived. Etrechy (37 miles), on the same river, near which, shooting the officer sent to parley. Statue to in a wooded spot, are remains of the old feudal castle Poisson the mathematician, born here 1781. of Roussay. Gypsum quarries here. Pop., 1,200. In the neighbourhood are the grotto of St. Chamaraude cháteau is one of Mansard's.

Gregory, and remains of a castle, which Heury Etampes (5 miles), on the high road to Orléans, I. of England burnt. At Yèvre-le-Châtel are and on two little branches of the Juine, is a sous-pré the extensive ruins of another castle. fecture of 8,080 souls, called Stampae in old times, Trade in grain, wine, honey, saffron, gateaux near which Thierry defeated his uncle, Clotaire, 604. d'amandes (almond cakes), and pátés d'alouettes It is chiefly a long street, with good promenades (lark pies), for which it is noted. round it. At the Palais de Justice, on a rising point, Hotels.-De l'Ecu (Crown Piece): de la Ville are remains of a castle built by le roi Robert for his d'Orléans. Coaches to Orléans, Fontainebleau, wife, Constance; the wife of Philippe Auguste was

&c.] confined here, and it was razed by Henry IV. in 1590, We now begin to traverse the wide plain of Le e: c.pt the Quinette tower, the sides of which are eauce, where corn and hemp are raised. rounded on the plan. It belongs to the curé.

Monnerville (87 miles). From this there is a Notre Dame church is a large Gothic pile, of the coach to Méréville, (5 kil, south-east), on the Juine. 13th cent.. with a fine Norman tower, and battle- the seat of Comte de St. Romain, in a fine park, in mented walls: St. Martin and St. Basil are also which are a temple, Swiss cottage, statues, and worth notice, the latter for its restored portal, and

memorials of Capt. Cook, and La Peyrouse.- Near the former for its detached tower, which visibly

Champuisteux (16 kil. east of this), is Vignay, where inclines. Notice, too, the old Hôtel de Ville, lately the chancellor L'Hôpital died. restored and enlarged; and the house of Anne de Angervillé (3 miles), the last place in departPuisseleu, one of the mistresses of Francis I. In the ment Seine-et-Oise. Pop. 1,527. Here Davoust and 15th cent. fireworks were invented here by a towns- the army of the Loire agreed to acknowledge Louis nan, who was nick-named Jean Boutefeu. Petrified XVIII., in 1815. Coach to Chartres, 40 kil. westfossils are found in the gypsum quarries; and the north-west, (sce Route 15). tour de Brunehaut is near - a fine seat, belonging Toury (81 miles), in department Eure-et-Loire, to Viscount Viart.

close to the border of Loiret, has a pop. of 1,300, Geoffrey St. Hilaire, the naturalist, was born here.

with sugar works and an old château. Coaches to Diane de Poictiers was Duchess of Étampes, and,

Janville, Châteaudun, Courtalain (seat of the Mont

morencies), Droué, Montdoubleau (and its feudal upon the death of Henry II., retired to Jeuvre, near the town. Trade in grain, flour, soap, &c.

ruin), St. Calais (Route 15), and Chartres. There are more than 40 mills in and round the

Chateau-Gaillard (41 miles), a village, town, and a public granary.

Artenay (37 miles). Pop. 1,300. Near this are

the ruins of a famous château, the lords of which Hotel.-Grands Couriers. Coaches to Anneau. Dourdan. Pithiviers Inville. were so powerful in the feudal age that it resisted all

the forces of Louis le Gros in three several attacks. and Sermaise.

There is also a church of the 10th century. (DOURDAN (15 kil. north-west), an old place in a

[At Patay (15 kil. west), the great Talbot was, for forest, on the Orge, having a ruined keep (212

the first time defeated, 1428), and taken prisoner feet high), and eight other towers of its ancient

by the French, who were led on by Joan of Arc.] castle (built, they say, by Gourtrand, King of Orléans, in the 6th cent.); also a double spire

Chevilly (3 miles). Pop. 1,450. Here the sandy church, and a good timbered hall, built 1223, by

lain of the Orléanais begins, with the forest of Louis VIII. At 28 kil, south-south-east of Orléans, which covers 94,000 acres. Etampes, is

Cercottes (24 miles), in the forest, the pop. PITHIVIERS, a sous-préfecture, in department being wood-cutters. At Les Aubrais, the line to

Loiret (pop. 4,200), over a ravine on the Oeuf. Tours and Bordeaux turns off ; and, 61 miles from
It was a strong place, which the Prince of Condé Cercottes, is the Orléans terminus, near Porte Ban.
took twice in the League wars, and which Henry nier, in that faubourg.
IV. dismantled. You see here many Gothic

ORLEANS,
houses, the tower of an abbey, a venerable 73miles from Paris, 287 from Bordeaux.
church,'the spire of which, 270 feet high, was | HOTELS.-D'Or:eans ; De la Boule d'Or; Du Loireto
burnt in 1853, and fragments of the walls, &c. Rev. MM. Rosselloty, Nougarede, and Duchem,
It was given up to pillage by Platoff in 1815, for are Protestant pastors here.

« AnteriorContinuar »