« AnteriorContinuar »
Conveyances: by railway to Nantes, Bordeaux, horseback, representing her n armour, with her Bourges, Limoges, Clermont-Ferrand, Lyons. banner and sword, returning thanks to God, at the Coaches, to Boiscommun, Bellegarde, Vitry, Donnery, crisis of her triumph here. It is about 30 feet high, Fay, Montargis, Lorris, Châteauneuf, Cosne, Gien, including the pedestal, the fourteen bas-reliefs round Sancerre, Sully, Jargeau, Briare, Dampierre, and which are just finished. Châteaudun.
Much of the old town consists of dirty irregular Omnibuses, to Ormes, Olivet, St. Mesnin, St. Denis, streets and places, with many curiously carved timber Bionne, Checy, St. Ay, &c.
houses. The faubourgs are better built; the largest By steamer, daily, up the Loire, to Gien (6 hours), being that on the Paris road; another, called St. Cosne (18 hours), Nevers (24 hours), and Moulins (30 Marceau, is across the bridge. Pleasant country bours).
houses lie beyond. One of the best promenades is O OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-Cathedral Churches on the boulevard or site of the old walls, of which of St. Pierre and St. Aignan-Hôtel de Ville-Statues a piece 26 feet high is left, supposed to be Roman; of Joan of Arc-Museum-Agnes Sorel's house. two old towers also remain at one of the gates, near
Pop., 47,390. Chief town of department Loiret the Croix de la Pucelle, where the English were (once part of Orléonais), seat of a bishop, &c., on the first driven back. A new street, Rue Jeanne d'Arc, north bank of the Loire, in a wide plain, near the learis to forest of Orléans. It was the Genabum of the Car St. Croix Cathedral, one of the best looking in nutes when Cæsar burnt it, and being rebuilt by France, rising above everything else in the town. Aurelian, A.D. 272, took his name, Aurelianum, of It was rebuilt about 1000, by Bishop Arnoul, but which the modern name is a corruption. It is noted having been ruined by the Huguenots, in 1567, it has not only as the head of a duchy, first created by been again gradually rebuilt (since Henry IV. laid Philippe de Valois for his second son (who died 1375), the first stone. 1601), on a regular cross-shaped plan, and revived by Louis XIII. for his brother, Gaston, in the Gothic style (spoilt by a mixture of Greek), whose descendant is the young Count de Paris, grand- with an east apse. It was finally completed in 1829. son of Louis Philippe; but also for the various sieges Over the three portals and rose windows of the front it has withstood. In 451 it was saved from Attila by are two cruciform towers, in four decreasing stories, Actius, the Roman commander; about 570, Childeric elegantly carved, and 263 feet high. The central rescued it from Odoacer; and again it was saved, in clock-tower spire is nearly as high; the roof of the 1429, when the English, who held nearly three-fourths nave is very lofty, and the high altar and Virgin of France, and had almost taken the city, were driven chapel are richly decorated. back by the famous Jeanne d'Arc, the Pucelle, or St. Pierre-le-Puellier, the oldest of all the churches, “Maid of Orleans," a simple shepherdess, of Domremy. in the worst part of the town, is part Romanesque, Believing herself inspired to save her country, she be- small, and ill lit, with a curious inscription to a came the means of turning the tide of conquest against young girl (puelle), called Rose of Paris. Its ancient the English, who thenceforth lost all ground in France, cryot, brought to light in 1852, deserves attention, tut revenged themselves on poor Joan, by burning | St. Aignan's is a good Gothic structure, much do her for a witch at Rouen, two years after. It was cayed, with a Romanesque crypt. The chapel of St. held by the Huguenots or Protestants in the civil Jacques, now a salt store, has a good front, and was wars of the 16th cent., when it escaped another siege, I built about 1155, by Louis le Jeune, it is said. by the sudden death of the Duke of Guise.
Another, St. Euverte's, also a magazine (as well as The river here is free from islands, and is lined with a third, St. Paul's) has a tower built 1566. This is to quays. (one built 1810) at each end of the modern I be restored to its original use. The Gra stone bridge, which was built 1751, on nine arches, Chapel contains some wood carvings, designed by and is 1,063 feet long (the centre arch 105 feet wide), Lebrun, originally for the chapel at Versailles. but has not much water under it in the summer. Among other buildings worth notice is the half From this Rue Royale, the best street, leads up to Gothic brick Hôtel de Ville, in Place d'Etapes, begun the Place du Martroy, and Rue Bannier, dividing the by Jacques Groslot, for Charles VIII., and finished city into two parts, having the Cathedral, Hotel de 1498; it offers a decorated façade, restored 1850-54; Ville, préfecture, &c., on the east, and Joan of Arc's and in the court behind it there stands an ancient house, the hospital, &c., on the west. In Place square tower or belfry. At the entrance is a copy of Martroy, a tasteless bronze (now removed to the the Princess Marie's well-known beautiful Statue of south side of the river, opposite the bridge), was in the Maid in armour, embracing her sword. In one 1855 replaced by Foyatier's statue of the Pucelle on oom Mary Stuart received the parting breath of her
first husband, Francis II. At the ancient Hotel de St. Ay (4 miles), in a pretty spot, among r1eVille (not far off) is placed the public Musée, founded yards. Pop. 1,200. 1325, containing between 500 and 600 paintings and (At 5 kil. south is designs of the French school, objects of natural CLÉRY-SUR-LOIRE, on a hill, in the dreary plain of history, and a gallery of medieval antiquities, with La Sologne, where stands the fine church of a portrait and statuette of the Maid. The Palais de Notre Dame (rebuilt after the English leader Justice was built 1821, with a portico of four pillars Salisbury, had burnt the first one, 1428), by the and sphinxes. There are also a bourse, large theatre, cruel and superstitious devotee, Louis XI., and halle-aux-grains (corn market), built 1826, a public containing the Virgin's image, a model of which abattoir (built 1825), a bibliothèque of 37,000 volumes, he carried on his hat; also his tomb and effigy, by (besides MMS. and coins), a college, Protestant or Bourdin (not older than 1622), besides an excelphan house, jardin botanique, &c.
Jent doorway and choir, with mosaic work, Several of the old Gothic houscs deserve examina carved stalls, &c. Trunois, the Bastard of Ortion, such as the maison d'Agnes Sorel, No. 15, Rue leans, lies in the Longueville chapel; but on du Taubourg, with a highly carved front; No. 45, in examination, in 1854, his coffin was found to have the same street, called Joan of Arc's; the maison de been opened. The house of Louis XI, is close to Francis I., No. 28, Rue Recouvrance, so called the church. At some distance is the Butie because of his arms on it; the Rennaissance house
de Mézières, a tumulus 43 feet high.) of Diane de Poictiers, in Rue Neuve; and the hôtel Meung, or Mehun (34 miles), at the suspension ile Crênaux, of the time of Louis XIII. Pothier the bridge on the river, has an old château, built by Louis lawyer, and Dolet the learned printer, who was le Gros, and taken by the English. It contains also burnt as an atheist, 1546, were natives.
an old collegiate battlemented church, and was a seat Trade in refined sugar, wine, brandy, corn, pottery,
of the Orleans bishops. Pop., 4,650, who make hats, &c.
leather, paper, &c. Meung, the continuer of the ROUTE 35-Continued.
Romance of the Rose, was a native. A viaduct on
twenty-five large arches, 951 feet long, crosses the Orleans, down the Loire, to Tours, Poitiers,
Beaugency (44 miles), which stands above the Distance from Orléans to Tours, 115 kil. or 714 miles. embankment of the Loire (here crossed by a bridge of Eight trains a day to Tours, one in 2 to 3 hours. 26 arches), and has, besides part of its old fortified Leaving Orléans at Faubourg Bannier, you return walls, the great keep of a very ancient castle, 122 feet
high, and about 70 square. It has suffered in almost Aubrais, for the line to Tours, which keeps the every contest, from the invasion of the Huns (451) north side of the Loire.
downwards. Roman coins have been found. The (CHATEAUDUN (50 kil. west-north-west of Orleans), Hôtel de Ville is in the Renaissance style. Excellent
is a sous-préfecture (department Eure-et-Loire) of wine, brandy, &c., are produced. Pop.. 4.700. 6.500 souls, who make coverlets, &c., and stands | Hotels.-De la Forêt; du Grand Cerf (Stag), in a picturesque part of the Loire, which here Near the château d'Avary stands an immense dolflows between cultivated hills, 426 feet high. men.--At 5 kil. east is Lailly, where Condillac is Much of the town has been rebuilt since a fire buried. in 1723. Its castle is chiefly of the 15th cent.. Pass the Tavors viaduct on 12 arches, to but the great keep is as old as Thibault le Mer (7} miles), among the vineyards and country Tricheur (i.e. the Tricker), who founded it, 935. houses, in deparment Loir-et-Cher. Pop., 4,200. The public library contains 5,000 vols.
Menars (7 miles), or Ménars-le-Château, has a The people are reputed to be so quick that there fine Château of the 17th cent. (with beautiful terraces
is a proverb, “Il est de Châteaudun; il entend à on the river), which, having belonged to Madame de demi-mot.” Jean Toulain, who invented enamel Pompadour and M. de Broglie, is now the property painting, was born here.
of Prince de Chimay, who, in 1832, established the Hotels.- Grand Monarque; Place Imperial. Con- Prytaneum here, (now called École Professionelle),
veyances to Chartres, Orleans, Vendôme, &c.] | where theoretical and practical education are carried The first station you pass is
on together. La Chapelle St. Mesmin (41 miles), sol (At 8 kil. to the south-east, is the Château de Cham. called from an abbey of which there are slight bord, on the Casson, in the middle of a great remains at a country bouse.
forest, where the deer and wild boar are found.
a len take oferecer
Francis I. began to build it (on a site of a hunt- duke was killed in the Queen's chamber, close to the ing seat of the counts of Blois), after the designs cabinet of Henry, and his body burnt two days after. of Primaticcio; and, as completed by his suc- and thrown into the river. The north front was built cessors, it makes a quadrangle, in the Renais by Francis I.; east front, in 1498, by Louis XII., who sance style, with great high peaked towers at the was born here, and from hence issued the Ordonnance corners (60 feet diameter), a central tower and de Blois, which guaranteed the liberties of the Gallican dome, 106 feet high, under which is the double church; west front, by Gaston, Duke of Orleans, after staircase, besides a chapel, erected in 1854, pic- Mansard's designs. Catherine de Medicis' Observatory ture galleries, &c. The front contains a great is on the south side, with the words "uraniæ sacrum” many windows, divided by pilasters and small on it, indicative of her astrological propensities. An columns, above which rises a picturesque heap of Old Gothic tower remains, in which are the oubliettes or turrets and chimneys. Some parts are richly dungeons. Another tower is called Château Regcarved, and the F. and salamander (for Francis nault, because that place (18 miles off) is seen from it. I.*), the H. and D. (for Henry JI. and Diana of
The Salle des Etats, where the county deputies used Poitiers) are noticed.
to meet, is of the 13th cent. This, and Francis I.'s At one time Chambord belonged to Stanislaus of Renaissance front, are now restored. The latter con
Poland; then to Marshal Saxe, the victor at tains the Museum. I'ontenoy, who amused himself by playing at Near the castle stands the Cathedral of St. Louis, soldiers and training horses, and died here. which was once part of the Jesuits' college, and reAfterwards it came to the Polignacs, and the built 1678, in a pseudo Gothic style. The bishopric Prince of Wagram (Marshal Berthier), of whose was founded only in 1697, to control the Protestants widow it was bought, 1820, for the Duke of Bor- / who survived the revocation of the Traint.
who survived the revocation of the Edict of Nai tez. deaux (now Count de Chambord, or Henry V. as They were obliged to conform and send their children he is called), by his friends. At present its 440 to the Convent des Nouvelles Catholiques, or to 20 rooms are deserted, but it is in cours of repara- into exile. The bishop's palace was originally buil: tion, though unfurnished, except a few busts, &c. | by Gabriel, for Colbert, the minister, who married a The Bourgeois Gentilhomme was first acted here, Blois lady ; its fine garden3 command a view of great 1670, before Louis XIV.)
extent along the river, &c. The Préfecture is in At 52 miles further, is
Grande Place; here Maria Louisa (with her son), BLOIS.
Joseph Bonaparte, &c., met in order to form a regency, A buffet, 1113 miles from Paris. Ask for the in 1814. At the Hotel de Ville is a library of 17,000 Crème de St. Gervais.
HOTELS.--D'Angleterre ; De Blois ; Château Tete" Noire.
Other buildings are—the college, or seminary, at V OBJECTS OF NOTICE.- Castle-Salle-des-Ebats Bourg Moyen old abbey, where the two Thierrys -Cathedral-Allée Promenade.
were educated; hospital, at St. Laumer's old abbey, Pop., 17,000. A fine old town, the chief place of the church of which, now being renovated, is a curious department Loir-et-Cher, in the old province of building of the 11th and 12th centuries; theatre and Orléanais, on the river Loire, beautifully seated on a abattoir; lunatic asylum (l'hospice des aliénés). hill slope, and joined to Vienne by a stone bridge There are also botanic gardens, with many publio of 11 arches, which bends much in the middle, where | fountains, supplied by a reservoir outside the walls, stands a pyramid, 60 feet high. A fine quay of great to which a so-called "Roman” aqueduct (styled Pont length fronts the river. It was the head of a county de César), half a mile long, brings the water. The which came to our King Stephen, through his mother best of the fountains, named after Louis XII., is near Adela, the Conqueror's daughter, and now belonging the castle. Above the town appears the Beauvoir ithe title, at least) to the Orleans family.
Tower, the old seat of the seigneurs of that ilk. The streets are narrow, steep, and winding. At the old houses worth notice are, Hotel d' Alluye, in top of the hill, above the old town, stands the royal Rue St. Honoré, in which Le Balafré resided; Castle (now used as a barrack), where Henry III. Hotel Denis-du-Pont, in Rue Porte Chartraine; compassed the murder of the Duke of Guise (La Petit Louvre, or Hotel de Cheverney, in Rue St. Balafré) and his brother the Cardinal, in 1588. The Martin; Hotel d'Amboise, in Place du Château, once
the seat of Cardinal d'Amboise, &c. At Château de • In a fit of jealousy he wrote on one of the windows (now
St. Lazare, which was a priory, Victor Hugo resided gono) Souvent femme varie
with his father, General Hugo. Mal habile qui s'y file.
The Alies promenade is of great length, leading by
the large forest of Blois. Each gate has an image of de Condé and the Protestant party against the Guisca, the Virgin, in remembrance of a deliverance from who discovered it in time, and took a bloody revenge. the pestilence, in 1631. Go to the bridge, from which The Edict of Amboise, in favour of toleration, was you have a noble view up and down the Loire ; its issued three years later. Napoleon gave it to his vast Tevées, or embankments begin here. In the colleague Roger Ducos, who neglected it, but the neighbourhood are the mineral waters of St. Denis chapel was restored by Louis Philippe. Abd-elles-Blois, which are used in summer, and the châteaux Kader was confined here 1848-52, until liberated by of Beauregard and Cheverney-the latter the seat of Louis Napoleon. Marquis de Vibraye.
| The Amasse runs into the Loire, which is crossed Manufactures of good gloves, serge, glass, and
by two bridges, resting on an island in the middle. hardware ; and trade in wine, vinegar, eaux-de-vie,
Madame de la Vallière was born at Amboise, and copper, &c.
Leonardi da Vinci lived at Claus, near this, before Conveyances: by coach, to Bracieux (18 kil.), Châ- his death at Fontainebleau. teau Regnault (33 kil.), Vendôme, St. Calais, Montri
_Hotels.-Du Lion d'Or (Golden Lion); Cygne; chard castle (38 kil.), Oucques (27 kil.), Romorantin Fais
Faisan. (40 kil., see Route 43), St. Aignan, Valençay, Cham The châteaux of Chanteloup (1 kil.) and Cheron. bord,
ceaux (4 kil.) are near. (ST. AIGNAN (38 kil. south of Blois), an old town (LOCHES (25 kil. south), an old town and sous
on the Cher (pop., 2,770), founded by the abbots préfecture (5,000 pop.) in department Indre-etof St. Martin de Tours, having an ancient tower, Loire, agreeably placed on the Indre, the arms of called Tour d'Agar, of a castle, built 1019, by the which are crossed by a line of bridges to Beaucounts of Blois.-Towards Selles, to the east, is lieu. Above it, on a rock, stands the picturesque the château of Chenonceaux, in good condition, remains of the Castle, older than the ninth cenon a bridge over the Cher, near the abbey church tury, and now used as a gaol. King John gave of Aiguesvives. It belongs to Vicomte René de it up to France, but Coeur-de-Lion retook it, 1194, Villeneuve, and was the seat of his grandmother, though it was taken back, 1205. Louis XI. made Madam Dupin, who died here in peace, 1799.
it a state prison, and confined Cardinal Balue in From Blois, along the railway to Tours, close by one of its oubliettes, or iron cages, which the the north bank of the river, which increases in beauty Cardinal had invented; Philip de Comines, the as you descend, you pass
historian, was also a prisoner. This was in the Chousy (5 miles); then
great machicolated round tower. Its neighbour, Onzain (4 miles); opposite which is
the square Donjon tower, is 130 feet high, in four CHAUMONT-SUR-LOIRE, in a delightful spot at the stories That part called Charles VII.'s château foot of a wooded height, crowned by a fine old château, (now the Mairie), was the seat of his mistress, which is seen a long distance round. It has been the beautiful and amiable Agnes Sorel; its carefully restored by Vicomte Walsh, its owner, and terrace commands a fine prospect; and in one of deserves a visit. Madam de Stael retired to it when the pointed towers is the mausoleum of Agnes, exiled from Paris, by Napoleon.
brought here, 1809, from the ancient church of Limeray (6 miles).
Nôtre Dame, or St. Ours. The latter, founded [At 20 kil. north-north-west, is CHÂTEAU REG as far back as 450, and rebuilt in the 11th cent
NAULT, and the donjon of a castle. built 1100. is worth notice for its four towers, 164 feet by one Regnault, its seigneur. It was occupied high, and an eight-sided vaulted roof, 85 feet by Henry IV. in the civil wars.]
from the ground. Money was struck here, as Amboise (33 miles), in department Indre-et well as at Tours and Chinon. Linens and woolLoire, away from the line, on the south bank, is another
lens are made. fine spot, with a château above it. Pop., 4,860. The Hotels.-De France; de la Promenade. Castle, an imposing pile, with its two large towers, Coaches to Tours, Châteauroux, &c. In the neighstands on the site of a fort, built (so they say) by Julius bourhood are Loches forest, Liget Chartreuse Cæsar, who gives name to some excavations in the which Henry II. founded to Becket's memory, rocks below, called “Greniers de César" (Cæsar's Chenonceaux château, &c.] granaries). Charles VII. began to fortify the castle Noisay (37 miles). when forfeited to the crown by the Counts of Berri ;| Vernou (2miles). and his son Charles VIII. was born here, 1470. Here Vouvray (21 miles), near the châteaux of Montthe conjuration d'Amboise was planned by the Prince contour and Rochcorbon. Here the line bends to
the river, and crosses it by a handsome viaduct, 85 feet | Entrépont, the other on Ile St. Simon. Two other high, 1, 157 feet long, on 12 arches of 81 feet span, to bridges, of 17 and 8 arches, oross the Cher, in the
Mont-Louis (mile), on the south side of the neighbourhood of Tours. river ; and 61 miles further is
From the end of the great bridge, where the Hôtel TOURS.
de Ville stands, the principal street, Rue Royale, runs A buffet, 1464 miles from Paris, 1211 from Nantes, | through for half a mile to the Poitiers Road; straight, 61 from Le Mans, 121from Bordeaux. The embar
wide, and bordered with pavements, and good threecadère is in the Mail. There is a bifurcation at St Pierre-le-Corps. Omnibuses to all the hotels.
storey houses, of white stone, with slated roofs. Most HÓTELS.-Hotel de l'Univers, one of the best
of the hotels and cafés are here. At the bridge end first-class hotels in France..
is Nieuwerkerke s statue of Descartes, bearing for its Grand Hotel de Bordeaux.-First-rate hotel; opposite the station. Wines for wholesale.
motto, “Cogito, ergo sum,” (“I think, therefore, I Grand Hotel du Faisan.-A house very highly
exist"). The old streets, out of Rue Royale, are narrow spoken of; in a good situation.
and dirty, but contain some ancient buildings. One Grand Hotel d'Angleterre.-Situated in the plea
I of the fountains (de Baune), in the market place, is santest part of the town; good and exceedingly comfortable.
a Gothic obelisk, with many carvings on it. PromeThe buffet at the station is good.
nades are laid out on the quays; and in the neighEnglish Chapel, near_the Préfecture; service at bourhood, fruit gardens, vineyards, and corn-fields 114 and 61. Rev. M, Fuzier is French Protestanare seen. pastor here. Post Office, Rue de Scellerie.
St. Gatien's Gothic Cathedral, begun in the 12th ACT OBJECTS OF NOTICE_The Bridge-Cathedral cent., was finished 1550; and therefore comprises -Château-Palais de Justice-Hôtel Gouin-Statue specimens of the Romanesque and Gothic styles in of Descartes-Plaises les Tours.
different stages, besides that of the later Renaissance Pop. 30,770. An ancient town, the capital of de- in the tower. It has a wide, richly carved west front, partment Indre-et-Loire, seat of a military division, with a triple porch, a rose window, and two towers, of an archbishop, college, &c., in a flat but pleasant
260 feet high, ornamented with statues and bas part of the Loire, on a tongue of land between it and reliefs (some grotesque), and built, they say, by Henry the Cher. Several English families reside here on V. of England. It is worth while to mount the account of the cheapness of living and its agreeable escalier royal for the view from the north tower. In climate.
the interior, which is 262 feet long and 88 high, are It was the Roman Caesariodunum, and the head of some beautiful stained windows, a fine choir, and the the Turones; afterwards of Neustria, &c.; and of the tomb of Charles VIII.'s two children. Some good county of Touraine, which was held by the Plantage- carvings are seen in the cloisters. nets till Philippe Auguste took it from King John, 1202. The famous abbey church, founded, 347, by St. The States-General were summoned here in the 15th Martin de Tours, being burnt, 561, was restored by cent., when the Leaguers held possession of Paris; they St. Gregory de Tours, and survived till the Revolumet in St. Julien's abbey, Paris. It had a mint for tion, when it was pulled down, except two towe coining “livres Tournois," or franc pieces, and still one called Tour de Charlemagne, the other used as a has one, ranking fifth (or letter E). Louis XI, esta- belfry. Alcuin was one of its Abbots. St. Julien's blished the silk manufacture here, and built his famous abbey church, of the 11th and 13th cent., after being château, Plessis-les-Tours (in which he died, 1483), used as an auberge, is to be restored for public worclose by (2 kil.); parts of it are left, including his and ship. St. Clement's is now a corn market. At the Cardinal Balue's chambers, and a brick donjon. barrack, in Quai Royal, is the tower of the old
Twelve gates surround the town, the old walls of château, built by Henry II. of England, from which which are replaced by a planted boulevard - called the Duke of Guise, then a prisoner, escaped, 1591. “Boulevart Beranger” and “the Mail;" beyond are The archbishop's palace, the préfecture, the palais the four faubougs of la Priche, St. Eloi, &c. A fifth, de justice, with its eight-column portico, are large and St. Symphorien, across the river, is joined to the handsome structures. In the Préfecture is the main part by an excellent level stone bridge of 15 bibliothèque of 40,000 vols., besides valuable MSS. and arches, each 80 feet span, built 1762-77; it is 1,752 feet illuminations; open 12 to 4, Tuesday to Friday; and long (174 less than the one at Bordeaux), 48 wide. at the Museum, in the Hotel de Ville, is a collection and 39 above the water. A little above it are of 200 pictures, specimens of natural history, antiremains of the old bridge, built by the Counts of quities, &c. There are also a college, a large general Touraine; and at equal distances above and below, hospital, botanic garden, public baths, and a theatre, are two new suspension bridges, one resting on Ile near the post office, M, Gouin, formerly minister of