« AnteriorContinuar »
remains, on the hill above it, of a castle of the bishops large enough for 300-tons ships. Libourne succeeded of Angoulême. Its Romanesque church has been a place called Condat and Fouera, and as one of the restored by Abbadie.
chief places in Gascony, was rebuilt and fortified by Chalais (10 miles) was taken by Charles VII. Edward I. of England. The old machicolated tower from the English, 1472. Some traces remain of the styled Tour de l'horloge (with a peaked top added) castle of the Counts of Périgord, whose motto in remains at the Port ; it was formerly called Tour da provincial patois was Ré qué Diou (rien que Dieu). Richard, after the Black Prince's son (Richard 11.), Coach to Barbezieux.
born at Bordeaux. The church of St. Jean was (At 29 kil. west-north-west is BARBEZIEUX, a sous rebuilt 1856. The walks are beautiful. It has also
préfecture of 3,500 population (departmant Cha a public library of 3,000 vols., a botanic garden, large rente), and a pretty place on the Dronne, in the cavalry barracks, glass factory, &c.; and a good trade Cognac brandy country. There are remains of a in eaux-de-vie, oil, timber, iron, salt. castle, and it has a good mineral water.
Hole!s.-De France; Des Princes, Hotels.-De la Poste; de l'Écu de France.
The old pilgrims' chapel of Notre Dame de-Condat AUBETERRE (12 kil. east), on the Dronne, a pretty little place under a hill, in which the church is
in the neighbourhood, was built by Eleanor of
Guienne, through whom Henry II. acquired this scooped out, just below the top, where the ruined
territory. Fronsac, across the Dordogne, is known for castle stands. Méré château is near. RIBERAC,
its red and white wines. It stands under the Tertre an unimportant sous-préfecture, is 18 kil, fur
de Fronsac, a hill about 230 feet above, commanding ther.) Laroche-Chalais (84 miles), in department
a goo: panoramic view. Its ancient castle is gone. Dordogne, on a hill. Montlieu, on the high road, is
[At 7 miles east, up the Dordogne, in a gorge 28 kil. west-north-west. Coaches to Jonzac.
among vineyards, is the decayed fortified town of (JONZAC (58 kil. north-west), is another sous-préicc
St. ÉMILION, having many antiquities to show: ture (department Charente Inférieure), with a
as, a parish church of the 12th cent., with handfine old castle over the Seigne. A good trade in
some slender spire; the façade of Cardinal de wine, brandy, cheese, and poultry. Pop., 2,000.)
Cauterai's palace; remains of the Convents of Les Eiglisottes (41 miles).
the Dominicans and Cordeliers; the hermitage of Coutras (51 miles), in department Gironde, at
the Saint, near the Place, cut in the rock, close the junction of the L'Isle and Dronne (two suspension to a fountain, where they show his stone bed ar 1 bridges), is near the site of Corterate. Pop., 3,370.
chair; his monolithic temple or church, in the Here the junction rail from Limoges and Péri
rock, 85 feet by 53, with a vault resting on eight gueux falls in Only the gate of its once large
great pillars, and various carvings, and what is castle remains. The line traverses the grounds.
called the Rotonde or round chapel, in a light It belonged to the family of de Foix. Here
Gothic style, of the 12th cent. There are also Henry of Navarre slept after the Battle of Coutras,
remains of the castle, built by Louis VIII., 1587, in which ho defeated the Leaguers, under
which has a square tower, &c. Guadet, tho the Duc de Joyeuse, who was killed. This was
Girondist, was born here, and was beheaded at the first victory gained by the Protestants, and
Bordeaux, with Barbaroux, &c., after their prowas announced to Henry by the victor in these words,
scription by the Jacobins. Pétion and Buzot "Sire, mon seigneur et frère, remerciez Dieu, jái
were found starved to death in a corn field, since battu, vos ennemis et votre armée,” Henry III. being
called “Champ des Emigrés." The wines of St. Becretly favourable to the Protestant leaders. After
milion are of good quality, Pop., 3,000. crossing the L'Isle, on a bridge of six arches, each 49 CASTILLON, 20 kil. higher up the river, (pop., 2,900), feet span, you come to
is celebrated for the battle of 1453, in which the St.Denis-de-Pile (5) miles), and its Romanesque
English, under the great Talbot (who, with his church, shaped like a Greek cross. The Château of son, was killed) were defeated by the French, Grave belongs to the Duc Decazes. Follow the L'Isle and finally driven out of France.—About 5 kil.
to the north-east (in department Dordogne) is Libourne (41 miles), a fine well-built town and St. Michel Montaigne, the old feudal château sous-préfecture (in department Gironde) of 12,000 of Montaigne, who wrote his “Essais" here. pop., on the Dordogne, where the Isle joins it, under They show his room, in which are sentences from a handsome suspension bridge. Another of nine the Bible and the classics, a portrait of his arches crosses the main stream, which has a Port daughter Eléonore, also his writing table, books
and bed, and the clock which he refers to.-To: Ships are built at Blage, and there is a good trade the north is
in corn, wine, brandy, oil, fruit, and timber. Villefranche de Longchapt, a very old place on a Hotels.-De l'Union; de France. Coaches to
rock, walled round by the English, and taken by Rochelle, &c.; steamers to Bordeaux, Pauillac. assault, 1577, by the Huguenots, Sully being and Royan.) among them.)
After La Grave, the line bends to the south, past Leaving Libourne, you cross the Dordogne, by a hills covered with vineyards and country seats, and bridge on nine arches, the Tertre de Fronsac being three short viaducts on eighteen, four, and seven in view ; then succeeds a long viaduct of 3,870 feet on arches, succeeded by three short tunnels, to 100 arches, to
| Lormont (14 miles), a place of 3,000 souls, the Arveyres (3 miles), a pleasant spot on a hill. | ancient Mons Laurens. on the Dordogne. Here was Coach to Branne.
a country seat of the Archbishops of Bordeaux. A Vayres (21 miles), anciently Varatedum, hasthe old fourth tunnel, of 1,312 feet, is followed by a fifth of castle of its marquises, to the west; partly dating from 919 feet, which brings you out in sight of Bordeaux, the 13th cent. They show Henry IV.'s bed. Pop. 2,000. and to the embarcadère at la Bastide, opposite the St. Sulpice (34 miles).
town, close to the bridge, a building 984 feet long. St. Loubes (2 miles). The plain between the Dordogne and Garonne is called Entre Deux Mers,
BORDEAUX, a sort of Mesopotamia, on a small scale.
| 383 miles from Paris, 1234 from Bayonne, 1601 from La Grave d' Ambares (6 miles), a village of Toulouse. 2,700 inhab. Coaches to Cubzac and Blaye.
The stations from the latter are on the south-west CUBZAO (6 kil.), on the Dordogne, here crossed by a ride of the towu. Omnibuses run between, past splendid wire Suspension Bridge, in five bends,
Place de la Comédie, &c. 1,788 feet long between the river's banks, or
ITOTELS.-Hotel des Princes et de la Paix, kent 5,079 ft., including the viaducts which approach it
CRMr. Gremailly; newly furnished; admirably on each side, 24 feet wide, and 92 feet above the
Le stated. water. It was built 1835-9, by Fortuné-de
De Nantes.- A first-class hotel; splendidly situVergey, for £120,000. The Bordeaux merchants
ated. Good cuisine. have large warehouses at this spot, where the
Hotel de Paris.-First-class hotel; very well situhigh road from Paris falls in.
ated on the Promenade des Quinconces. SLAYE (37 kil. further on), a sous-préfecture of 4,300
Marine et des Colonies, Americains, Commerce, souls, in department Gironde, and a pilot station,
Voyageurs, Quatre Soeurs; Des Ambassadeurs, in on the east bank of the Garonne. It was the Rue Cours | Intendence; Hotel des Sept Sceurs, ancient Blavia, and had a strong castie, taken by opposite the Post Office. the Huguenots, 1568, and then by the Leaguers. . Cafés. - De la Comédie, near the Theatre; de la
Préfecture Fossés-du-Chapeau Rouge; Helvetius, &c. This now makes part of the citadel, on a rock in
Restaurants.-De Richelieu ; de la Préfecture. &c. Upper Town, commanding the river (about 4 kil.
I Breakfasts and dejeuners a la fourchette, 75c.to bread), in conjunction with the fort of le Paté 1 franc at the cafés, or 14 to 2 francs at the hotels : (or the Pie), on an island in the midst, and Fort a good dinner for 3 francs at the hotels. Médoc on the opposite side. In the old Gothic | English Consul, T. B. G. Scott, Esq., No. 7. Placa
du Champ de Mars. tower of this castle the Duchessé de Berri was
Chaplain, at British Chapel, Quai de Chartrons. confined, 1833.
Rev. E. S. Froward. The Revs. MM. Villaret. P. & good mairie, hospital, theatre, &c., are in the Durand, and Pellissier, are French Protestant pas
Lower Town, where the merchants and pilots tors here. live. At the Austin abbey here. King Caribert | Bankers. -Barton and Guestie, Cours Pavé, 35, near
Quai des Chartrons; Johnston and Sons, Rue Foy, 2i. of Aquitaine was buried, 631. Charlemagne's
Library and readiny room at M. Chaumas-Gayet, Champion, Roland, who fell in battle against the
e opposite the préfecture. " Paynim sons of swarthy Spain,” at Ronces
Post Office, 5, Rue-Porte-Dijeaux, valles, in 778, was brought bither to be buried.
| Conveyances, by Malle-poste, daily, to Nantes (23 Here the hero was born. From Bourg, St. hours), Lyons (38 hours). Diligences to these and Disant du Gua, Chénac, and other points. I other places, as Rochefort, La Rochelle, Bourbon.
Vendée, &c. Steamboats to Mortagne, Blaye, and fine views may be obtained of
Pauillac, daily; to Royan, twice a week; to Nantes. “Thy mirror'd wave, Garonne,
twice a week, Sailing packets to Hayre every five And Blaye's empurpled shore." days; a steamer also runs,
OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-The Chartrong-Bridge the archbishops, and was built, 1780-1, by Prince de -Bourse-Theatre Hôtel de Ville-Palais de Jus- Rohan, then primate of Aquitaine; it is a large tice-Museum-Churches of St. Michael, St. Croix, square pile, with a court in the midst, and a picturo &c. - Tour de l'Horloge - Cathedral - Effigies of gallery. Here they show Napoleon's own Cross of the Montaigue-Palais Gallien-Place des Quinconces Legion of Honour, a History of his Battles, with his Wine Cellars.
MS. notes, and other curiosities, presented by Pop., 130,000. Bordeaux is the third commercial General Bertrand ; also a collection of antique port in France, the centre of the vin de Bordeaux, or arms. The pictures number 465, including Lesueur's Claret trade, chief town of the department Gironde Urania. Rubens Martyrdom of St. Just, &c., but (formerly of the province of Guienne or Aquitaine), they are ill arranged, Catalogue 1: fr. An older head of a military division, seat of an archbishop, &c. Gothic town hall is in the street leading to the bridge. It stands on the west bank of the Garonne, à bord The Palais de Justice (law courts), near the Hôtel de dos-eaux. 70 miles from the sea, where the river is Ville, is a large and rather elegant building, 480 feet 500 to 800 yards broad (the Thames at London Bridge long, built 1839-46, and has Maggesi's statues of is 350 yards) : and it is from the water that you see Malesherbes, d'Aguesseau, l'Hôpital, and Montesque, to advantage its noble range of quays and buildings, (who lived at Château de Brède, 10 miles off); behind stretching like a crescent, three miles long, from the it are the prisons, and opposite, the Hótel Dieu, or ship-yards at the south end to the fine streets and | public hospital of St. André, with 650 beds. It was houses at the north extremity, towards the Chartrons rebuilt 1825-9, but founded as far back as 1390. In and Chapeau Rogue quarters, where the merchants Rue St. Dominique, is the Museum, comprising the live. A fine, nearly level, stone Bridge, of seventeen public library of 120,000 vols., and 300 MSS., among arches, 531 yards long, 50 feet broad, was built 1811-21, which is Montaigne's annotated Copy of his Essais; by Deschamps, from the Porte de Bourgogne to the also the museums of antiquity and natural history, village of La Bastide opposite. This will soon be and the Observatory, open daily to strangers. The accompanied by a railway bridge uniting the termini Hospice des Enfans Trouvés, where 700 foundlings are of the lines which centre here. The river below | provided for, is on the Quai de la Paludatte. forms the Port, where as many as 1,000 sail may lie; | St. André's Cathedral, built by the English in the
r at Pauillac, which is 13th century, the foundation having been laid the real port. High water at full and change, 3 by Henry II. and his Queen, is a large but irregular o'clock.
structure, with buttresses, &c.; it is 413 feet long, and The Houses are large and well-built; the higher has two spires, 150 feet high, in the north transept, a classes are wealthy and luxurious in their habits, good rose window, a fine altar, and an arched roof, and particularly well disposed towards the English, 56 feet broad, of the 16th century. It contains to whom Bordeaux and the province belonged for pictures, by Veronese and Jordaens. Its detached three centuries, down to 1451. Its climate, however, clock tower, called Pey Berland, 156 feet high, was is damp. The principal buildings are as follows: built, 1440, by Archbishop Pierre Berland, and is a
The Bourse (exchange) in Place Royale, near the fine piece of Gothic work, with buttresses at the bridge, is 98 feet by 65, and 78 feet high to the middle corners, and a circular turret at the top. of the glazed dome. The Chamber of Commerce St. Michael's Gothic church, near the Quai de la occupies a place here, with a library of 6,000 vols., Grave, was also built by the English, but has a north which includes a good collection of voyages. The front of later date. Length 243 feet. It was restored Douane, or custom house, is near the Bourse: both 1855. Its clock-tower, 180 feet high, is also detached and buildings are by Gabriel. In the Rue Chapeau Rouge buttressed at the angles. The vault below the church (a fine street like Portland Street), is the principal is laid out with bones brought from a neighbouring Theatre, a large and noble structure, built by Louis cemetery.
has a Corinthian portico St. Croix, near Quai St. Croix, though quite irreguof twelve columns, with a great vestibule and stair lar within and without, is a most curious and interestcase, and will hold 4,000 persons. It is usually ing church, and the oldest here. It is Romanesque, reckoned the best out of Paris. The Theatre de of the 10th and 11th cent., and was founded by William Gymnase is new. Another, called les Variétés in the Good, Duke of Aquitaine. The curious carvings Iue Fossés de l'Intendance, was burnt down in 1855. on the front, the wall paintings, and old carved font,
The Préfecture, in Rue de la Comédie, is the work all deserve notice. of Louis, 1775, and has been restored. Hôtel de Ville St. Seurin (or Severin) in Place de Prado, though (or town hall), pear the Cathedral, was the palace of modern in the front, is worth visiting for its ancient
crypt of St. Fort. of the 11th cent., to which mothe: walks are laid out with avenues of trees. Fairs are take their children every 16th of May, and to which, or held the first ten days in July, at the hippodrome at rather to an earlier building on its site, the body of Gradignan (10 kil. away). Roland was brought after his death at Roncesvaux. There are at Bordeaux, a college or university (as Nôtre Dame, a modern church, was rebuilt 1701 ; and old as 1441), schools of architecture and medicine, the Feuillant's church, attached to the Lyceum, has deaf and dumb institution, and many benevolent the mailed effigy of Montaigne, who was a judge of the societies; an abattoir, large barracks, &c. Bordeaux parliament, was twice mayor, and died, 1592, 1 Among the persons born here are, Ausonius, the in Rue des Minimes. There are, besides these, seven Latin poet of the 4th cent.; Richard II. of England: other Catholic churches, four Protestant churches, and Clement V.; Marcellus Empiricus, the first of quacks; a handsome synagogue, the last in Rue Causserouge. Ducos, and other “Girondists," who figured in the Some remains of the Chartreuse abbey church are left Revolution. Another native was Girard, the rich in the public Cemetery outside the town, where Moreau merchant of New York, who sailed hence, 1762. as is buried. It gives name to the Quai des Chartrons, cabin boy, and died worth two and a half millions &c.
sterling The amphitheatre, or Palais Gallien, now hardly to i Bordeaux was called Burdigala by Strabo, and was be seen for the houses on it, is a Roman remain, near the chief town of the Bituriges. Ausonius praises it the Jardin des Plantes (botanic garden). It was 241 for its soft climate, its long spring, and short winter. feet by 177, and 64 high. Tour de l'horloge, or clock. He describes it as four-sided; with high towers, and tower, which was attached to the old Hotel de Ville, broad well-planned streets, and watered by the stream is an old gate built by Henry III. of England, and called Devitia (now La Devise); "and when father
three peaked turrets, with a lion on the middle ocean flows up, the whole surface is covered with one. It stands 135 feet high. Round the bell is fleets," i.e., fleets of boats and merchantmen. inscribed its round of duties, viz. :-"Convoco arma, The Roman city stood between Place Royale on the Signo dies, Noto horas, compello nubila, concino læta, Quay, and the Cathedral. It had fourteen gates, of Ploro rogos." Another gate, Porte du Palais, or du which the last (Porte Basse) was pulled down, 1805. Cailhau, near the Custom House and Quai de Bour- The Visigoths burnt it, 412, and the Saracens again gogne, was built, 1495, by Charles VIII. It is 112 feet about 732. Bordeaux was for a time the capital of high, and known by its five or six peaked turrets. It Gascony; and through Eleanor, wife of Henry II. (of serves as a prison. In Place d'Aquitaine is the ancient England), it came to the English crown, as head of the évéché or bishop's house, near a gate or porte, which duchy of Guienne. Henry III., who built the old Hôtel served for a triumphal arch when the Bourbons re- de Ville, made Simon de Montfort governor; Edward turned, in 1814.
1., when prince, lived here: and from hence the The Entrepôt Réel, for colonial produce, is a large Black Prince marched to the battle of Poitiers, and pile on the Quai des Chartrons; on Quay de Bacalan, brought back John of France prisoner. Charles VII. are the Victualling Office and Viellard's (formerly took it from the English 1451, and built Château Johnson's) large porcelain factory, which communi. Trompette to defend it. This was fortified by cates by canals with the river. Hótel des Monnaies Vauban, and called Fort Louis; to build which stones (mint) is in Rue de Palais Gallien ; the Bank, in Rue were taken from a Roman Temple, "Augusto Esprit des Lois. Joubert's spinning factory is on a sacrum, &c.," called Pilliers de Tutelle. Its altar large scale. Cruse's caves, or cellars, containing is in the museum of antiquities. To this fortress 30,000 barrels of wine, are worth visiting ; so are was added Castle Ha, or Cailhau, abovementioned, Guestier's, in Pavé des Chartrons. Excellent public forming part of L'Ombrière, the old palace of the baths, near the Bourse, and in Place Lainé; also two dukes of Aquitaine, which disappeared in 1800, swimming schools, mineral baths, &c.
when this space was cleared. In the present day The best Promenades are in the Cours d'Albret de it is remarkable for the banquet of 9th October, 1852, Tourny (so called after M. de Tourny, formerly given to the Prince President, Louis Napoleon, when Intendant, and a great benefactor to the town, whose he uttered his memorable words, "L'Empire, c'est la statue is near), and du Jardin publique (which, how Paix," which served to rally so many hesitating ever, is no garden, but an open space)-but especially adherents round the imperial throne. in the large Place Quinconces, on the site of the Trade.-The produce brought up by the Canal du Château Trompette. It is about a quarter of a Midi, and Cette rail, and shipped to the French colomile long. At one end are baths, at the other, two nies, &c., consists of hides, flour, seeds, brandy, columns, 65 feet high, with gas reflectors. All these almonds, prunes, chesnuts, cork, resin, verdigris, honey, hams, &c. The manufactures are pefumery, duchy, by Louis XIII., for his favourite Charles liqueurs, ornamental fruit-boxes, stockings, carpets, Albert de Luynes, who was originally his falconer. cotton, earthenware, bottles, casks, hats, paper, vine- It stands in a pretty spot under the rocks (and was gar, tobacco, refined sugar, rope, &c., and gloves from hence sometimes styled Rochoir-sur Loir), which are André's factory. Imports of all kinds from abroad. hollowed out for people to live in ; above, is the old About 100,000 tons of shipping are employed, which Chateau, with a heap of peaked turrets. Paul Courier, possess one-fourth of the French colonial trade. The assassinated here, 1824, was a native. Near it are famous claret wine is produced below the city, on the about fifty pillars of an ancient Roman aqueduct. west side of the river, in the district of the Médoc; The rail crosses the Loire by a 19-arch viaduct, to about 50,000 tuns of the premier crus, or “first Cinq-Mars (41 miles), which stands on the cliffs, growths" (called Château Margaux, Lafitte, Latour, near an old Castle, and a famous antiquaries' puzzle, and Haut Brion), are made yearly, and the best of it called the Pile de Cinq Mars, a slender solid tower of is sent to England.
large bricks, 13 feet square, 92 high, to the corner [From Bordeaux down the west side of the Garonne, turrets, which rise 10 above. A fifth turret over the in the wine country of Médoc, you pass
middle was blown down, 1751. It has neither door Blanquefort, which belonged to the Black Prince. nor window, and the builder is unknown; but it is
Then La Barde; Château Margaux (noted for its supposed to be a mausoleum. Cinq-Mars, one of the first growth claret), opposite Blaye; Beyche- favourites of Louis XIII., and son of Marshal d'Effiat, ville, and Château Léoville (second growths); having conspired against Richelieu, was taken in his Château Latour (first growth); Chateau Lafitte own castle, and beheaded. He is the hero of de (another first growth), near which is PAUILLAC, Vigny's novel. a port on the river, 44 kil. from Bordeaux, where Coaches to Chateau-la-Vallière, Cléré, Savigné, large ships stop,
Rille, Chaunay, Mazières. The best Clarets are produced on a most unpicturesque | Langeais (37 miles), on the north bank, has an gravel strip about two miles broad, and 50 to
d, and 50 to old Gothic Château of the 10th cent. (now a prison), 80 feet above the river. The vines are trained built by Foulques Nera, Count of Anjou, and enabout two feet high in open fields; vintage takes larged by St. Louis' barber, Pierre de Labrosse. In place in September. The grape-plague appeared the hall, the marriage of Charles VII. with Anne of here, 1852.
Brittany was celebrated, 1491. Pop., 3,310. LESPARRE (68 kil. from Bordeaux), a small sous-pré [Coach to AZAY-LE-RIDEAU (8 miles south-east,
fecture in department Gironde (pop., 1,232), which has, on an island in the Indre, a beautiful among vineyards and meadows. Passing through turreted Chateau, in the Renaissance style, with good pasture land, you come to SOULAC (25 kil.), a richly carved portico and staircase. The devices at the mouth of the Garonne, opposite the of Diana de Poitiers and Francis I. (the salabathing place of Royan, and near the
mander), are seen, and the motto “Ung sex Tour de Cordouan, a round, solid light-house of desir" in one part. It contains a gallery of
three stories, 234) feet high, built 1611, by Louis portraits. Pop., 2,200.) de Foix, having large refractors on Fresnel's St. Patrice (5 miles), near the Bois de Bismond, system.)
and Rochecotte, the handsome modern seat of Talley
rand's niece and heiress, the Duchesse de Dino. It ROUTE 36.
contains his collection of pictures and objects of art. Tours to Angers, Nantes, and St. Nazaire,
A little further is Trois-Violets, opposite the chátears
d'Ussé, seat of Duc de Duras, formerly of Vauban, DOWN THE LOIRE.
who partly built it. By rail. -Distance to Nantes, 196 kil., or 122 miles. La Chouze-sur-Loire (41 miles), or La Tour trains a-day, in 3 to 6 hours.
Chapelle-sur-Loire. A little north-east is Tours, as in Route 35. The line runs close to the Bourgeuil, in a charming red-wine country on the high levée road, which hems in the river, Passing Doigt, and having remains of a Benedictine abbey of Plessis-les-Tours, opposite St. Vallières, and St. Cyr l the 10th cent., founded by Edme, Duchess of Guienne. (where Beranger lived), you come to
Pop., 3,190. Savonnieres (87 miles), on the south bank, Port-Boulet (2) miles), at the suspension bridge near the Cher, and the Villandry dropping caves, and to Candes, which stands at the Vienne's mouth, near opposite to Luynes, which was called Maillé as far the picturesque ruins of Montsoreau Castle. Candes back as 475, and was made, in 1910, the head of a has the church in which St. Martin de Tours dioch