Imagens das páginas
PDF

grottoes of Laroqueveille, and the mineral waters of MARSILLAC (23 kil. west-south-west of Figeac) down Cropières and Tessières les Boulies. Near Tournemire the Célé, has an old abbey church, and not far (13 kil.), on the Doire, is the feudal cháteau of Anjony, off, in a pretty valley, a famous Grotto (in the with its old towers, furniture, tapestry, paintings, &c., commune of Blars) or cavern, full of stalactites, all in good condition.

galleries, and chambers, under various fanciful (From Aurillac, on the road to Rodez, you pass names.

Arragon (5 kil.), in a beautiful valley, where the CAJARE (21 kil.), on the Lot, is a village of 2,000 Cère falls into the Jordanne.

souls, in a beautiful spot among vineyards and MONTSALVY (25 kil.), is a small place under the Puy hills, with an old Gothic church of the 13th cent.,

de l'Arbre mountain, on a plain, where Mechain and castle.-Ginouillac, a little west of this, is and Dalembert, in 1791, traced an arc of the on the road to Cahors, which is about 35 kil. meridian, to serve as a base for the new system further, vid Lentillac, Gironde, &c.) of French measures now in vogue. It has the After Figeac, as above, you come, leaving the castle old castle of Mandulphe, from which there is a of Cénievières on the west (a vast structure of different fine prospect: Notre Dame church, founded dates, with a noble prospect from its terrace), and 1073; an old Hôtel de Ville; a deaf and dumb Aubin, with a very ancient fort, on the right, to hospital, founded by Abbé Sicard ; and, a little

Villeneuve, a stat. on the St. Christophe and outside, the Mur du Diable (Devil's Wall), built | Montauban Rail, 170 kil. or 105 miles long, opened of enormous stone blocks.

1858, as part of a line to the river Lot, with branches ENTRAGUES (about 10 kil.), the next place (in to Marsillac and Rodez, and designed ultimately to

department Aveyron), is so called because placed | proceed to Brives and Clermont-Ferrand. between the two rivers Lot and Truyere, where The stations above Villeneuve (55 kil. from St. they join.)

Christophe) are the followingRodez is about 40 kil. further.

Salles-Courbatiers ( - miles). From Aurillac, on the road to Montauban, you Naussac (-- miles). pass

Capdenac ( - miles). ST. MAMET (18 kil.)

Panchot (- miles). MAURS (27 kil.), near the Céle.

Viviers ( - miles). FIGEAC (24 kil.), a sous-préfecture in department Cransac, (- miles), with large forges and iron Lot, on the Célé, in a most picturesque hollow. It mines; and grew out of an abbey founded, 755, and has, with St. Christophe (- miles). At Viviers, is a remains of ramparts and ditches, several quaint old short branch to the large forges, &c. of

narrow crooked streets; among which are Decazeville ( - miles). Baleine castle (now the Hôtel de Ville), with a large From Villeneuve the line passes to hall 32 feet high; the old half-Romanesque or round Villefranche 1-miles), a sous-préfecture of arched abbey church, 198 feet long, with a dome and 9,540 souls, in department Aveyron, in a fine valley, towers; and the church of Notre Dame de Puy, with where the Aveyron and Alzon meet, founded by Ala good carved screen. There are also two aiguilles, or phonse (brother of Louis IX.), Count of Toulouse, near pillar stones, at the west and south ends of the village, the site of a Roman station called Carentomagus. which served as landmarks. A pyramid has been Round the market-place are several large old houses raised to Champollion Jeune, the reader of hiero- with arcades in front. The collegiate church, which glyphic writing, and a native. Pop., 6,390. Hotels.- rises above everything else, has a good porch in the Born ; Pontié.

plain west front, with a high tower over it. Its clois(CARDAILHAC (10 kil. on the west) has some towers, ters now serve for a hospital. There are a college, a

&c. of a large castle, and was dismantled by Louis library of 7,000 vols., museum, &c.; and manufactures XIV. for its attachment to Protestantism.--At of linen, copper, iron, leather, paper, with a trade in Assier (16 kil. west-north-west of Figeac), are the grain, wine, truffles, hams, cattle, &c. fine remains of another castle, built by Gaillot Hotels.-du Grand Soleil ; des Quatre Saisons (Four de Genoulhac, whose monument is in the old Seasons). church, with the motto, “Après la mort, bonne The rail hence to Montauban follows the south side renommée demeure" (A good name lives after of the Aveyron (leaving the high road on the soutib death).-Brengues (18 kil. north-east), on the side) to Celé, has two or three old castles, in a very hilly,' Monteils (6 miles). romantic spot.

Najac (35 miles).

Laguepie (6 miles).

| about the year 1000, and has' a Gothic cathedral of Lexos (54 miles).

the 15th cent., the convent of the Jacobins, a priests* St. Antonin (74 miles), stat. is at some distance seminary, and a view from the bishop's Palace, as from the village, which lies across the river, on the well as other points, of Plom de Cantal, &c. Pop. road to Caussade. Pop., 4,200.

5,800. Penne (7 miles).

Hotels.-De France, Amangat. The road to Mende Bruniquel (41 miles), on the Varre. An ola (83 miles) and Nismes, by St. Cheley, turns off here castle here.

(see Route 32). Montricoux (37 miles).

CHAUDES-AIGUES (33 kíl.), i.e. Hot Springs, lies in Negrepelisse (44 miles) in department Tarn-et- a deep gorge of the mountains between Auvergne and Garronno. Pop., 3,300. It was taken by assault by Gévaudan. Five springs, varying in temperature Louis XIII, for its Protestantism. The old castle from 135° to 177o (that called Par is as hot as this), are stands in a pretty spot by the river.

used not only for the bath and drinking, but for St. Etienne (3} miles).

cooking, for hatching chickens, washing fleeces. &c. Montauban (8} miles), on the Bordeaux and LA GUIOLE (32 kil.), in department Aveyron, is a Cette line (see Route 66).

healthy place, of 2,100 souls, on a basalt peak, nearly

3,300 feet above the sea. They make good cheese ROUTE 52.

here. Marmont Ferrand tim Clermont-Ferrand to Toulouse, by way of

e manaf ESPALION (24 kil.), a small industrious sous-préfec

- ture, in the middle of a large basin, on the Lot, Issoire, St. Flour, Rodez, and Albi.

covered with vines, &c. Pop: 4,400.. A tower on the Distance, 335 miles, or 208 kil.

site of Benneval abbey, and Roquelauré Castle, may Clermont to Issoire, by rail, as in Route 45.

be visited. Hence to

[ST. GENIÈS DE RIVA D'OLT (21 kil. east-south-east), LEMPDES (20 kil.), where coal is found. Then

on the Lot, an industrious place, of 4,000 pop., MASSIAC (18 kil.), in a hollow gorge, on the Alag

who make flannels, woollens, &c. It stands

among vineyards and falls, in a charming valley non. [Here the road turns off to Aurillac, on a series of

of the Lot, here crossed by a bridge, and once terraces, passing, at 22 kil. distance,

called Oltis, whence the name, signifying on the MURAT, a sous-préfecture in department Cantal,

"bank of the Lot."] on the Alagnon, among the basalt hills round

At 32 kil. further is Mount Cantal.

RODEZ, or RHODEZ. One hill, Roche Bonnåvie, with a basalt cliff, in HOTELS.-Des Voyageurs (Travellers);

which are prismatic pillars (some 50 feet long), Des Princes; has the old castle of Jacques d'Armagnac on De la Ville de Paris. top. To avoid the steep road beyond this, the Population, 10,000. Tunnel of Lioran, about 5,000 feet long, was The chief town of department Aveyron (formerly of cut, 1839-47, through the volcanic heights which the province of Rouergue), seat of a bishop, tribunal, divide the Alagnon and Cère. It comes out near

re. it comes out near &c, finely placed in a healthy spot, on crest of a the old road, between Puy de Griou and

hill, 150 feet above the Aveyron, which winds rouna Plomb de Cantal, which is 6,095 feet above the sea, the bottom, and 2,170 feet above the sea. It was the

and a centre of a range of extinct volcanoes, as ancient Legodunum, a capital of the Rateni (from Puy de Miwy, Puy Chavaroche, &c., in continu- whom comes the modern name), so called from their ation of those in Puy de Dôme. It is a smooth goddess Ruthor Venus. Rhodanois money was coined cone, round which twenty or thirty streams (the here by its early counts, in the Rue de Saounario head waters of the Dordogne, Lot, Allier, &c.) (i.e., sous-factory), where the mint stood till 1824. take their rise almost as regularly as the spokes The château is gone, except the Martelière tower, of a wheel. After passing Thièzac (26 kil.) and built 1264, now a prison; it was taken by the English Vic-sur-Cère, in the beautiful valley of the Cère, in the 14th cent. The town is badly built, with small you come (27 kil. further) to Aurillac, 'as in dirty steep streets of wooden houses, but the neighRoute 51).

bourhood is pleasant. St. FLOUR (30 kil.), a sous-préfecture in depart- The Cathedral, of reddish sandstone, is the best ment Cantal, and seat of a bishopric, on a basalt building, and stands on the site of one founded in the precipice, 330 feet above the high road. It was built 15th cent., which fell 1275, when the new one was

commenced, but not finished till the 16th cent. It is, Population, 11,005. cross-shaped, 320 feet long by 118 feet wide, and 109 The chief town of department Tarn, seat of an to the vault. Contrary to custom, it has no west archdiocese, having a tribunal, communal college, entrance, the doors being at the sides. Over one of &c. It was the Roman Civitas Albiensium, but is these stands an excellent carved tower, built 1501, 265 more memorable for giving name to the Albigensis, or feet high (and seen 18 leagues off), square at the Albegeois, who were exterminated by the papal crusade bottom, but eight-sided towards the top, which is in the 13th cent. It stands over the river Tarn, in crowned by pinnacles (with the four evangelists on the middle of a fine plain ; and, like all old towns, is them), a dome, and a statue of the Virgin. It con- made up chiefly of narrow irregular streets. The best tains a good screen and other carved work, and some promenade is in the Vigan quarter, near the public old-fashioned stained windows. When threatened at gardens. Each quarter is ornamented with fountains, the Revolution, some friends of art thought of dedi- the best being that of Verdusse, where four springs cating it to Marat! a device which was the means of unite, and flow thence into the river. In the Fausaving it.

bourg du Pont, across the latter, are remains of Another church is marked by a

Castelviel fort. Cordeliers' house is of the 14th cent.; a government

The Cathedral of St. Cécile, begün 1282, was not stud is established at the Chartreuse convent. At the finished till 1512. Length 345 feet, breadth 89%, college, first built by the Jesuits, is a library of 16,000 height of the vault 98), of the west steeple 308). vols., and a cabinet of natural history, &c. Other Three beautifully decorated doors lead into the porch, buildings are the Préfecture, new Hôtel de Ville. the which divides the choir and nave, and is covered priests' seminary, bishop's palace, a deaf and dumb with sculptures of extraordinary delicacy. The roof school, the pepinière or departmental nursery, &c. of the nave is ornamented with a multitude of subjects In 1784, Abbé Carnus, a man of science, ascended from the Bible, including angels, i an deichs, prophets, here in a baloon of 55 feet diameter, to the height of saints, martyrs, &c., painted in fresco, on a blue 13 mile high, staying up 35 minutes, to the great ground, set off by arabesques in white and gold. astonishment of the people of that day.

They were begun, 1502, and are in the best style of the There is a trade in woollens, linens, silk thread, Italian school. Some elegant carvings, and seventyRoquefort cheese, wax candles, cattle, mules, &c. two statues, adorn the choir. A council met here 1176, Coaches to Montpellier, Montauban, Albi, Aurillac, to condemn the Albigenses. Clermont, &c. An intended branch rail will unite | The tower of St. Salvi's church is in the Moorish Rodez to the line which descends the Aveyron, by style, and it has a large nave. Other buildings are Villefranche, to Montauban. At present we follow the Hôtel de la Préfecture, an immense edifice, which the road.

belonged to the Counts of Toulouse, and afterwards The caves of Sollac are 4 kil. off ; and some pretty to the archbishops; a large hospice or convent, with falls at Salles-Comtaux (about 12 kil. north), in the an avenue leading to it; the college; a public library rocky and well-wooded valley of Marsillac. This is of 12,000 vols. ; museum, cabinet of natural history, one of many charming valleys about Rodez, little theatre, &c. known or visited. A Druid stone or dolmen at Perig- Manufactures of linens, agricultural tools, &c., and nagols (8 kil.)

a trade in grain, saffron, dry fruits, wood.

Conveyances-Daily, to Toulouse (65 kil.), Castres, Rignac is 24 kil. west-north-west, and 24 kil. beyond is Villefranche (see Route 51).]

Rodez, and Lower Languedoc, Milhau, Gaillac, Mon

tauban (48 kil.), &c. LA MOTA E (24 kil.) Then comes

A branch line up the Tarn, from Toulouse, will

unite at Albi, with the line to the LES FAGUELLES (28 kil.) Albi is 20 kil. beyond;

Carmauz iron mines (15 kil.), constructed since you pass near the Saut de Sabo, a fall of the Tarn,

1854, and which is to be contined to a junction with close to a large paper-mill.

the Montauban and Villefranche line.

GAILLAC (22 kil.), on the road to Toulouse, where ALBI, or Alby.

that to Montauban turns off, is a sous-préfecture, on Here there is a short line to the large coal mines the Tarn, with 7,725 pop., in a good wine country. round Carmaux. Three trains daily.

Portal, the physician, was born here. HOTELS. – Desprats ; Des Ambassadeurs ; Do

Hotels.-Austruc; Raffis. l'Europe.

ST. SULPICE (23 kl.) has a camp raised in the wars against the Albigenses, in the time of Louis VI:I.

At 31 kil. beyond is

mills and forges for cutlery; good powder is also Toulouse, as in Route 66, on the Bordeaux and made. A pretty waterfall is seen at Trou d'Enfer. Cette line.

Hotel.-De l'Europe.

[At 56 kil. to the south-south-east is AMBERT (62 ROUTE 53,

kil. direct from Clermont), a sous-préfecture, on Clermont-Ferrand to Thiers, Montbrison, the Dore, among hills, in the Livradois, with a St. Etienne, and Lyons.

pop. of 8,000, who make linen, and excellent

paper for printing, engraving, &c. In the neighDistance, 203 kil., or 126 miles.

bourhood, there are fine prospects from PierreClermont stat., as in Route 45. The road sur-Haute (the Alps seen), and Mont Fouenol passes Puy-de-Poix, a basalt peak, with a spring of (the Cantal, Puy-de-Dôme, &c., seen); and the mineral pitch or bitumen. Puy-de-Crouelle and mineral springs of Talsau. Hence to Montbrison. Gandaillat are near it, with similar springs.

stat., is about 30 kil.) PONT-DU-CHÂTEAU (15 kil.), at the three-arched LA BERGÈRE (14 kil.) is reached by a precipitous bridge on the Allier, near the old chàteau of the road, commanding views of the distant mountains. bishops of Clermont, in a fine part of the Limagne, Hence to (To the right is the ancient town of

Roanne stat, is 43 kil. BILLOM, among hills, remarkable for he stormy NOIRETABLE (13 kil.) under Montagne de l'Her

weather and excessive rain to which t is subject, mitage. It has an old church.)

BOEN (27 kil.) on the Lignon, from which, vid THIERS (26 kil.), on a rocky peak above the Durole, Feurs stat., it is 87 kil., direct to Lyons, by road, is a sous-préfecture (in Puy-du-Dôme) of 13,200 souls. At 17 kil. further is MONTBRISON stat. (see Route and commands a fine view of the Limagne, Clermont, 24). 12 kil. from Montrond, on the main line, which Mont Dore, &c., from the terrace near the old castle. leads one way to Roanne, and the other way, vid Two churches, Du Montier and St. Genès, are of the St. Etienne, to 8th and 12th cents. On the river stand many paper! Lyons, in Route 25.

SECTION V.

ROADS TO THE EAST.

IN CONNECTION WITH THE CHEMIN - DE - FER DE L'EST: SUPPLYING RHEIMS,

MEZIERES, CHALONS-SUR-MARNE, TROYES, BAR-LE-DUC, CHAUMONT, NANCY, EPINAL, VESOUL, BOURBONNE-LES-BAINS, PLOMBIÈRES, METZ, THIONVILLE, (BADEN AND FRANKFORT), STRASBOURG, WISSEMBOURG, COLMAR, MULHOUSE, BASLE (THE RHINE AND SWITZERLAND), IN THE OLD PROVINCES OF CHAMPAGNE, LORRAINE, ALSACE, AND FRANCHE-COMTÉ.

A. ROUTES VIÂ THE STRASBOURG LINE. | Bondy (14 mile), is an old village of 2,600 souls, ROUTE 54.

near a forest where Childeric II. was killed, and

Aubery de Montdidier was murdered by Macaire, who Paris to Meaux, Epernay, Chalons, Nancy, fought his victim's dog-the dog of Montargis Strasbourg, and Mulhouse.

before Charles V., at Nôtre Dame.) Raincy château Embarcadère, or terminus, Rue Neuve Chabrol, in

belonged to Louis Philippe, who laid out the grounds Rue de Faubourg St. Martin, near the Northern Rail

in the English style; the house is something in the

style of Blenheim. For a time it was held by way. The great arch of the roof is surmounted by a colossal figure, emblematic of Strasbourg. Length Napoleon.

Coaches to Livry, Sevran, Villepinte, Tremblay of the platform 544 feet, breadth 150 feet. The line

Vaujours, Vileparisis, Mitry. was begun 1842, and opened throughout, 1852. Distance to Strasbourg, 501 kil., or 312 miles; (to Nancy,

(LIVRY, 6 kil. east-north-east, in the forest, near 220 miles) : four trains a day, in 12 to 15 hours; 51, Raincy château, has an Augustine abbey, not far 39, and 29 frs. ; baggage allowed, 23 kilos., or 50lbs.

from which dwelt the pious hermit of Livry, Outside the Barrière is La Vilette, near the new

“whose name,” as D'Aubigny relates, “though fortifications and the basin of the Canal de l'Ourg, written in heaven, history has not transmitted to from which the canal of St. Martin runs down to the us," but who, for preaching the Gospel, died Seine, and which feeds many of the Paris fountains. peacefully at the stake in front of Notre Dame. It was made 1806-9, and is half a mile long. Thence Villemonble-Gagny (2 miles), in department the rail follows the canal-de-l'Ourcq to Meaux,

Seine-et-Marne, is at the end of Raincy Park. (passing Vitry, Blancmenil, Aunay, Rosny, Pantin,

Coaches to Rosny, Montfermeil, Coubron, NeuillyBaubignay, &c., on the right and left).

sur-Marne, and to Juilly, which has an academy or Belleville, near La Villette, has a fine view college, founded 1688, by the Fathers of the Oratory. over Paris from its country seats, and an aqueduct, Chelles (3 nuiles), on the Marne, had a palace in or reservoir, built by Philippe Auguste, and restored which Chilperic I. was assassinated by his wife, 1602. It was here the pupils of the Ecole Polytec- Frédégonde, in 584. There are traces of a rich abbey nique distinguished themselves, 1814.-Romainville, founded about the same time. Coaches to Torey, a little further, also commands a view of the city, Gournay-sur-Marne, Lepin, and to claye, on the and is covered with wood and ginguettes for pleasure canal de l'Ourcq, with its bleach-works, &c. folks: a detached fort and reservoir stand on it. | Lagny (54 miles) is across the bridge on tho The latter is joined to another at Pré St. Jervais. Marne, on its south bank. Its church is only the

Noisy-le-Sec (59 miles), the first stat., is called choir of an unfinished structure begun in the 14th Nicidum in an ancient charter, and was the property century. On the other side of the river, a little of that Cardinal Balue, whom Louis XI. shut up beyond Lagny, are the extensive tile and lime works in an iron casso

of MVincent Coaches to Annet, Fresnes, Fer

« AnteriorContinuar »