Imagens das páginas
PDF

L'Estaque (5 miles), near the Roman pyramid , and 450 miles from Algiers, the settlement of which of Penelle, is followed by the viaducts of Riaux (6 has greatly stimulated its prosperity. It is the oldest arohes) and Château-Follet (5 Gothic arches), a deep place in France, or in western Europe, having been cutting, an embankment 56 feet high, protected from founded as far back as 600 B. C., by Greek settlers the sea by a solid wall, another tunnel (St. Louis) of from Phocæa, under their leader Euxenus, who called 1.510 feet, and a viaduct across the pretty valley of it Massalia, or Massillia. From hence they also coAyglades, and at length the large and handsome lonised Nicea (Nice), Antipolis (Antibes), Agatha debarcadère, near the cemetery, in Boulevard (Agde), and other little republics; while the mother D'Orléans, 67 miles from L'Estaque, commanding a city increased in power and fame, in spite of the fine view of the city and the Mediterranean.

jealousy of Athens and the Carthaginians. It was MARSEILLES, or Marseille,

taken by Hannibal, punished by Cæsar for siding with 2187 miles from Lyons, 5311 from Paris, 770 miles

Pompey, ravaged by the Visigoths (A. D. 483), the from Calais, about 810 miles from London.

Burgundians, Ostrogoths (588), the Saracens (735), and · HOTELS.- Grand Hotel du Louvre.-A very fine

at length came to the Counts of Protence, 1257. new hotel, just opened, in a good situation, and Alphonso of Arragon sacked it, 1421, and held it for affording extensive accommodation.

two years, but it revived under le bon roi, René of Grand Hotel Noailles, Rue Noailles, Canebière Anjou, who died here, 1480. In his time it was noted Prolongée.-A large and first-rate hotel, combining superior accommodation with moderate charges.

for its soap and glassworks, its furs and hides. Grand Hotel de Marseilles.-Good and well situ

Under Louis XI. it became part of France; the ated, having a view of the celebrated allèes of Duke of Guise occupied it for Henry IV.: Louis Mulham, the Port, and Canebière.

XIV. entered it through a breach in the walls, in Hotel Victoria et des Bains de Mer au Prado.Good house ; very recommendable in every respect;

token of his displeasure for its resistance to him, and its situation is one of the most salubrious and

curtailed its political rights. It was ravaged by the picturesque.

plague 1530, and again by the Great Plague of 1720-21, Grand Hotel de l'Univers et de Castille.

when 40,000 or 50,000 out of 90,000 were carried off, Hotel de Angleterre, Place Royale; Empereurs, and Bishop Betzunce,

and Bishop Belzunce, Chevalier Rose, and others, Rue Canebière, Luxembourg, 25, Rue St. Ferreol; } exerted themselves so admirably. At the Revolution De Genes, 8, Quai du Port ; Europe, 9, Rue Pavillon; Louvre, 16, Rue Canebière; Du Frince, 12,

it supported the Girondist party with great fervour, Place Royale; Du Nord, 8, Rue Tbibuneau ; Orleans, and was, therefore, visited with the bloody vengeance 19. Rue Vacon: Richelieu, 50, Rue Vaoon; Italie, of the Terrorists, who sent Fréron and Barras here, 7, Quai Napoleon ; Ambassadeurs, 8, Rue Beameau. A cup of excellent coffee or chocolate, at the Cafés

to purge the city. The famous Marseillaise song, to 60 or 75 centimes.

which it gives name, was composed at Strasbourg, by Omnibuses run to all parts of the city from the Rouget de l'Isle, and first sung here at a banquet station.

given to the Deputy, Barbaroux.

As seen from Viste hill, for example, on the Aix Pop., 135,140.

road, Marseilles appears most happily placed in a English Consul, Edward W. Mark, Esq.

English service at the church. Rue Silvabelle. No picturesque and convenient spot at the bottom of a 100, by the Rey. M. J. Mayers, at 104 a.m. and 3. p.m, natural inlet, which opens right out to the Mediter

Rey. MM. H. and J. Monod, and M. Beziós are ranean; limestone hills rising gradually all round, to French Prot-stant pastors.

a height of 550 feet in some parts, with a clear and Sed Baths, on Bassin d'Arenc, 1} fr., including beautiful sky overhead. Thousands of bastides (as omnibus; lodgingş, 6 to 7 fr. per day.

they call the country seats here) dot the sides of this Post Office, in Rue Jeune Anarcharsis,

amphitheatre, and numerous gardens of vines and Time from London, about 31 hourg, Bares:-156 olives are dispersed about, but the soil being white class, £6 193. 3d.; 2nd, £5 38, CHIEF OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-Harbour-Ruel

and dry, it is excessively hot in summer; then, gnats de Cannebiére-Rôtel de Ville- Consigne-Trium and mosquitoes bite, the keen north-west mistral phal Arch-Cathedral-Museum and Gallery, blows, and perhaps a scorpion may be found in one's

This large city is the capital of department Bouches bed. The town surrounds the harbour like a horsedu Rhône (which was part of Provence), head-quarters shoe; the oldest part, with its narrow dirty streets, of a military division, seat of a bishopric, &c., a con- being on the north side, while the modern and better sulate, and the chief port and packet-station in the built quarters are on the east and south. The Rue de Mediterranean. It stands about 27 miles east of the Cannebière and Allées de Meilhan (running nearly east delta, or mouths of the Rhone, in the Golfe du Lion and west), the most bustling and frequented thorough 8. e. of the Lion-not Lyons, as it is usually called), fare in Marseilles, nearly mark the line of division

while the Boulevards show the extent of the old town , deep enough for those of 600 tons. A great disadvantage and the site of the ramparts, taken down, 1800. | is, that the ebb and flow of the tide being very small These offer the best promenades; there are the stench of the sewers opening into it is constantly others in Cours Bonaparte (near the arsenal), felt; but it is proposed to remedy this by sluicing it and Grand Cours. This last is part of a long route with the surplus water brought down by the city (running nearly north and south) which stretches from aqueduct. It is lined with narrow quays, where all Porte d'Aix to the Prado, and includes Rue de Rome, the costumes and languages of the Mediterranean Grand Chemin de Rome, Place Castelane, &c. It | may be seen and heard. is now adorned by fountains, and Ramus's bronze On the south side, or Rive Neuve, or Commerce, statue of Bishop Belzunce, set up in 1853.

are the mast-house, the douane and magazines, Great improvements are making in Marseilles, by with a canal running round them, the place-aux. the authorities, under the direction of M. Mirès, the huiles (oil stores), ship yards, stores for soap, contractor, at an estimated cost of about 30,000,000 fr. bones, &c. Along the opposite side, or Boutique, Of this sum, 4,000,000 are devoted to rebuilding you see the Place du Cul de Boeuf, the Consigne or the cathedral: 16,000,000 to the new port of Arenc ; Board of Health, the fish market and café, the Hôtel 2,000,000 to sweetening the old harbour; 500,000 to de Ville, stamp office, bazaar, shops for ship-chandlery, transplanting the Lazaretto to Frioul. M. Mirès &c. At the Consigne are pictures, &c., worth noticehaving acquired the site of the Lazaretto, and that Puget's Plague of Milan (a bas-relief); Gerard's of the ground near the Joliette, will indemnify him- Plague at Marseilles : H. Vernet's Scene during the self by laying out new streets, &c., and has engaged Cholera; and David's St. Roch praying for the Victims to build a church free of expense.

of the Plague. A wet dock, or Bassin de Carénage. Most of the Places (or squares) and Promenades are lies just outside the harbour, on the south, close to ornamented with fountains, supplied by subterranean Fort St. Nicholas, which guards this side of the narrow cuts from the Huveaume, &c., and the great canal entrance; the opposite side being guarded by Fort St. from the Durance. That of Place St. Ferréol, was Jean. raised to the memory of those excellent persons who The Hôtel de Ville, a small building, of no partiattended on their townsmen in the great plague. One.cular merit or character, has bas-reliefs on its front, in Rue d'Aubagne, is actually dedicated to "Homer, with Puget's bust of Louis XIV., and a Latin inby the descendants of the Phocæans;" another, stands scription; on the staircase, a statue of Liberty, and in Place Royale, the largest square in the city. That some pictures in the hall. The ground floor was used in Place des Fainéants, is a black marble obelisk, 233

for the Bourse or Exchange, now transferred to a feet high, on four lions. The Fontaine de Puget, in separate timbered building, or rather to the open Rue de Rome, is a little pyramid placed before the space in Place Royale, where the merchants prefer to old house of this Marseillaise architect and painter, | meet, till the new one in the Cannebière is built. whose works once served to adorn his native city, but | The Préfecture, in Place St. Ferréol, on one side of were swept away after the Revolution. He was known a wide court, has two façades, and is one of the largest in England as the builder of Montague House, the public structures in the city. It was built by Roux,

ed to him a rich banker of the last century, who died Marquis in 1857. Place de Lenche was the site of Roman of Brue, after impoverishing his fortune by making baths. The large Plaine St. Michel, or Champ de war, on his own account, against England, because Mars, a Roman site, is now ornamented with a basin, one of his ships had been insulted. On this occasion in the midst of which an island darts up a jet of water he issued a manifesto, beginning with-"George 164 feet high.

Roux to George Roy," in the style of Ancient Pistol. The large Corinthian triumphal arch, at the Porte Near the old prisons, is the Palais de Justice, with d'Aix, was begun, 1823, in honour of the Duc d'An- nothing to distinguish it. The new prisons, built goulême, but remained unfinished till the Revolution 1823, are at Porte d'Aix.

icated to the "military glory! Among the market places or Halles, are the vieillo of France." M. Penchard is the architect. The figures Poissonnerie, the halle Puget, and halle neuve (new), of Courage, Resignation, Prudence, Foresight, are by rebuilt 1801, on the site of an older one. A large David d'Angers.

Boucherie, or shambles, stands on the sea, between The Harbour, or Port, forms an oblong of about 3,080 the anses (bays) de l'Ourse and de la Joliette-the feet by 980, or about 70 acres, and is extremely safe, latter, they say, named after Julius Cæsar-Julia though the mouth is narrow. It is generally crowded statio. Here a new port has been made, inside a breakwith the shipping, of which it will hold 1,200, with water water and two moles; but it is reported to be dan

[graphic]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

gerous with unfavourable winds. It is taken, as it , Deaf and Dumb (sourds-muets); the former, a large were, out of the Mediterranean, and forms a rec-building in Avenuc, Bayle. The New Military Hose tangle, equal in area to the old harbour, with wbich pital is in Quatre de la Plaine. it is joined by a canal, behind Fort St. Jean. The Most of the learned societies are established in the digue, or breakwater, is 1,334 yards long, The moles old convent of the Bernardines, in Cours du Marché, or jetties, which strike out to it perpendicularly, are (near the Champ de Mars), which has several long 437 yards long, and 546 yards apart. The stone was galleries in it, a tower and a cruciform church, quarried in the rocks near Nôtre Dame de la Garde. crowned with a dome. Here are the Academy of An Imperial Palace, among other projected works, is sciences and belles lettres ; a large pubilc Bibliothèque, to be built here. Not far from this, at the entrance of or library, of 70,000 vols. and 1,300 MSS., in a room the town, ie Porte Joliette, one of the few pieces of 130 feet long, open Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fri. antiquity here, but much decayed, and used as the days; cabinets of Roman and Greek antiquities(busts, bureau of the Octroi.

sarcophagi, &c.), and of medals and natural history, Most of the churches are plain buildings. That of a Picture Gallery in the old chapel, of about 140 paintDe la Major, or the Cathedral which stood near the ings of the French school (89 specimens, by Puget, Anse de l'Ourse, was the mori ancient; it replaced a Serre, and others), Italian and Flemish schools, temple to the "great goddess Diana," whose worsbip Ruben's Boar Hunt &c.); the college or high school; the Greeks brought here, and was a tasteless mixture of with schools of design and architecture, &c. A snool various styles, with a front spoilt by the plasterers. It of a Navigation is established in the Observatory, which

vas pulled down, and the work of rebuilding it com- has a fint prospect. The Jardin des Plantes, or botanic menced on the same site, in 1853. St. Victor, now the garden, in the Chartreux quarter, opened since 1810, oldest, is near Fort St. Nicholas and the Carénage i contains many exotics, including a Basin, and stands over the burial place (f an early In Place Royale is the Grand Théâtre, witli a martyr, which became the site of a rich abbey, founded portico of six columns, like the Odéon of Paris, in the 5th cen". It is Romanesque for the most part, built 1787. Théâtre Français, or Gymnase, stands and has crypts of the 11th cent. (one of which was near the Allées de Meilhan. There is a Concert-hall; re-opened 1857) with Pope Urban's two towers, built another place of amusement is the Montrgnes Russes, 1350; and an image of the Madonna, to which the Baths, in the Prado, near the Cirque Olympique, and people come to pray in long seasons of drought. St. the Château des Fleurs. Vincent de Paul is in the Allées des Capucins. Near The Gendarmerie Barracks are near Places de la the Cours Italien is Notre Dame du Mont, re-built Porte d'Aix and du Terras. The Arsenal stands in 1822, except its old clock-tower. It contains pictures Cours Napoleon, not far from his column and the by Serre. with good carved work in the choir. &c. road to Fort Notre Dame de la Garde, which occuThat on Mont Carmel, near the triumphal arch, hag | pies the most commanding point above the city, 545 a good prospect. A new circular church stands close feet high. It is so called from a pilgrim's chapel of to the Fléche des Accoules, which overlooks the town. the 13th cent., round which Francis I. built the forand is the tall Romanesque clock-tower of a large tress, and is still crowded with a multitude of curious church pulled down at the Revolution. There is ano- votive gifts from sailors, &c. At the Féte Dieu, its ther at a little distance from it. The Chapelle du Cha- image of the Bonne Mère is carried aboutin procession. teau Babon belonged to a castle on the site of Fort The prospect here embraces a beautiful panorama of St. Jean. A pretty chapel of the 17th cent., called | the city, the coast, the sea, and islands off the town. the Madeleine, or Chartreux, outside the town, has a Fort St. Nicholas, lower down, opposite Fort St. good nave, and light campanile towers. There are Jean (the chapel of which belonged to the Knights of Protestant and Greek churches, the former in Rue de Malta), was built round an earlier tower by Louis Grianon, near the Jews' Synagogue.

XIV., and has been lately restored. The rocks in Hôtel Dieu, or Hôpital du St. Esprit, behind the town this neighbourhood are covered with restaurants and hall, was founded 1188, and is a large irregular mass in guinguettes, the heart of the old city, having beds for 560, and a which is flavoured with saffron. The Tour Carrée chapel built, 1600. La Charité, near Place de l'Observ. | (Square Tower) was raised by King Réné. ance, founded, 1640, for 850 old people and orphans, | About two miles west of the harbour is the Ile dIJ, forms a court, in which stands an oval chapel, by Puget, I and the fort of Francis I., in which Mirabeau was with a dome. Among the other charitable institu-l confined. A little beyond it are two larger fortified tions are the two hospices of St. Joseph and St. | islands, Pomegrue and Ratonneau, joined by a cause Lazare: the asylums for Aliénes (lunatics) and for the way 980 feet long, making the quarantine port of

« AnteriorContinuar »