« AnteriorContinuar »
fountain in the Renaissance style, 42 feet high, built, 1551, by Lescot and Goujon. Having been rebuilt and extended by the Emperor Napoléon, this market now forms a very extensive range. The Marché St. Germain is near St. Sulpice. The Horse Market (aux Chevaux) on Boulevard de l'Hôpital; Wednesday and Saturday. For hunters, &c., Thursday, in Rue Beaujon (the French “Tattersall'), near the Sunday Dog market.
MILITARY HOSPITAL.--See Church of Val de France.
Montmartre, near the Du Nord terminus; a fine point of view over the city, marked by windmills, where St. Denis was martyred. Here the Communists seized the cannon, 18th March, 1871, and began the rebellion against the Government, after killing Generals Thomas and Lecomte. Halévy, the composer, is buried in the Cemetery below.
Morgue, a new building, excellently arranged, near Notre Dame, where persons found drowned, or accidentally dead, are brought, to be recognised by their friends. If not claimed, the bodies are given up for dissection. MUSÉE ARCHEOLOGIQUE.-See Hôtel Cluny.
Musée d'Artillerie, out of Rue du Bac, in an old Jacobin convent, is a collection (something like the Woolwich Repository) of guns of all kinds, models, suits of armour, portraits of generals, &c Strangers on Thursdays, 12 to 4, by card.
MUSÉE DUPUYTREN, Rue de l'École de Medicine, No. 15, in the Old Cordeliers' convent, was founded by the great surgeon whose name it bears. Dissecting-rooms are attached to it. At No. 18, in the same street, Marat was stabbed in his bath by Charlotte Corday.
Notre Dame Cathedral, in the Ile de la Cité, on the site of a Roman temple, and of an early Christian church. Bishop Maurice began the present building about 1180; another bishop Maurice built the west front, 1223, and the south, or Stephen's porch, 1251; Philippe le Bel the north transept and the Virgin's porch, 1312; and Jean-sans-Peur the beautiful porte rouge (in the choir), 1407. The west doors were made by Biscornette, 1570-80. It is cruciform on the plan, with an eight-sided apse at the east end ; 390 feet by 144 in dimension, and 102 high to the chestnut roof; and the style, early Gothic, of the 13th and 14th centuries. One stained circular window is 36 feet in diameter. The west front is 128 feet wide, with a triple portal deeply recessed, and set off with figures of saints, &c., and carved Scripture subjects. The towers, square and massive, are 264 feet high ; in one is an old clock, and the Bourbon bell is in the other (south). Flying buttresses and pinnacles are seen all round. The pillars in the aisle are plain and clustered, alternately; double-pointed windows light the clerestory. The organ contains 3,884 pipes. In the choir are carved stalls, with pictures, and 24 alto-reliefs. coloured, of scenes in the life of Christ. In one (St. Charles) of its 30 chapels, is Dessine's statue of Cardinal Belloy; but most of them was stripped bare at the Revolution. At the sacristy, Napoléon's coronation robes are kept. Among the relics are the head of St. Denis (one of seven, all genuine), and the shot which killed the Archbishop of Paris, in 1818. The space in front of the cathedral is called the Parvis, and was formerly many feet higher than the inside. To the south stood the archbishop's palace, destroyed, 1930. A Gothic fountain, 60 feet high, built 1845, is behind. The cathedral has been lately renovated. Its destruction was attempted by the Communists, 1871.
Observatory.-See Palais de Luxembourg.
Palais and Ecole des Beaux Arts, Rue des Petits Augustins, is a school of painting, sculpture. and architecture, in the remains of an old convent, to which a modern pile was added, 240 feet by 60. In one of the courts stands the beautiful Renaissance front of Cardinal d'Amboise's château, brought from Gaillon in Normandy; also the portal of the Château d'Anet (where Diane de Poitiers lived). forming the entrance to a chapel now used as a magazine. Among the casts here is a model of the great elephant, which was to adorn Place de la Bastille. Several specimens of old buildings from
different quarters of France are to be seen. There are also galleries of ancient and medieval sculpture, and Delaroche's great fresco picture of celebrated artists, with 75 figures in it, presided over by Zeuxis, Phidias, and Apelles; besides portraits, models, &c. Strangers, 10 to 4, by card.
Palais Bourbon, formerly known as Palais du Corps Legislatif, opposite Pont de la Concorde, was built 1722, by the Prince de Condé, of the Bourbon family. It was used by the Council of Five Hundred, at the first Revolution, latterly by the Chambre des Deputés, and the Legislative Corps, The north front (towards the river) was built 1802, and is 101 feet broad, with twelve Grecian pillars, flights of steps, figures, and busts. Inside are marble statues and frescoes, leading to the semi-circular chamber, with its raised seats, president's chair, tribune for the speakers, bas-reliefs, public gallery, and memorials of a constitutional order of things, since swept away by anarchy or despotism. Here the Duke of Orléans took the oath as King of the French, 9th August, 1830. A temporary building, erected near this for the late National Assembly, was pulled down by the Emperor Napoléon.
Palais de l'Institut, on Quay Conti, near the Hôtel des Monnaies, was the Collége Mazarin, or College of the Four Nations, built 1662, now granted to the Institute of France. The dark front, known by its Lion Fountains, at each corner, is crescent-shaped, with a chapel in the middle, at present used as a hall of sittings, and adorned with busts, &c. The Mazarin Library, of 1,500,000 volumes, with 3,700 MSS., is open to the public daily, 10 to 3; but the Institute Library, of 100,000 volumes, rich in works of science, &c., can be seen only by a member's ticket. It has Pigalle's famous statue of Voltaire. The French Institute is divided into five sections, viz., the Académie Française, Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres, Académie des Sciences, Académie des Beaux Arts, Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques.
Palais de Justice, or Law Courts, on Ile de la Cité, was the seat of the French kings till the 14th century, and has been in part rebuilt; it was nearly destroyed 22nd May, 1871. A dome stands over the front. In one corner of the square (in which the pillory stands), the guillotine carts, during the Revolution, received their victims to carry them to the scaffold. The Salle des Pas Perdus, as rebuilt, 1622, by Desbrosses (another part in 1766), is 216 feet by 84, and contains a monument by Dumont (1822) to Malesherbes, the courageous counsel of Louis XVI. The Cour de Cassation (the highest court of appeal), formerly called the “Grande Chambre de Louis," has statues of d'Aguesseau and l'Hôpital, two great lawyers. Other courts, &c., are, the Chambre des Requêtes; Court of Première Instance ; Gallery of Portraits of Lawyers; the famous Conciergerie, or prison, with towers, &c., in the feudal style, one of which held the tocsin, or alarm bell; chapel and dungeon where Marie Antoinette and the Princess Elizabeth were confined; the Parloir, whence Lavalette escaped by his wife's help; and the Sourcière or St. Louis' Kitchen, now a prison with a labyrinth of winding corridors, staircases, &c. About 240 prisoners were massacred in cold blood here, 2nd and 3rd September, 1792. Close to it is the ruined Hôtel de la Préfecture de Police, burnt 24th May, by Ferré and his gang, and 150 prisoners shot or burnt. Also the Sainte Chapelle, a beautiful specimen of florid Gothic, in two stories, lately restored : first built, 1245-48, by St. Louis, to contain relics sold to him by Baldwin of Constantinople. It is 110 feet by 34; and has a fine rose window, a delicate (modern) spire of 180 feet, and stained side windows, with buttresses and pinnacles; the interior is richly gilt and ornamented. Boileau satirises the chapter of this foundation in his “Lutrin.” Admission, 10 to 4, 1 franc douceur.
Palais de Luxembourg, Rue de Vaugirard, on the site of the Duc d'Epernay-Luxembourg's house, was built, after 1612, by Desbrosses, for Marie de Medicis, on the plan of the Pitti Palace (Florence), and came to the Orléans and other families. The Directory sat here, 1795 ; also the Consuls, 1799; and the Peers, after 1814, till the Revolution of 1848. It was afterwards occupied by the Imperial Senate. It is a solid, well-proportioned, square pile, with pilasters in front, and a court 360 feet by 300. Paintings in the Salle des Messagers, and a large one, on wax, in the Salle des Conferences. The Salle des Séances (or sittings) is a splendid semi-circle, 92 feet diameter, with a painted vault, and statues of French states. men. The Salle du Trone is ornamented with tapestry, and the First Consul's state chair. Other room Are, the painted library, with 1,500 volumes; Marie de Medicis' Chapel and bed-chamber; also, another chapel, with Pujol's great fresco. A picture gallery of modern artists is also shown; open daily (except Monday), 10 to 4, by card. The large Gardens behind are in the style of the Tuileries, with parterres, statues of the Queens of France, and a pepinière, or nursery, through which a broad avenue (near Ney's statue, on the spot where he was shot, December, 1815) runs up to the National Observatory. At the Petit Luxembourg, close to the principal building, the ministers of Charles X, were confined till tried, after the events of 1830,
Palais Royal, Rue St. Honoré, was first built as Palais Cardinal, by Richelieu, and given, 1642, to Louis XIII. Louis XIV. granted it to his nephew, Philip of Orléans. The Regent Orléans here collected his gems and medals, as well as his " Orléans gallery" of pictures, which was dispersed at the Revolution. Philippe Egalité rebuilt the front, 1763, after a fire, and let most of it out as shops after 1780. The Jacobin and other clubs met here at the first Revolution. In that of 1848, the Royal apartments were completely gutted; they were afterwards occupied by Jerome Bonaparte and his son. The Cour d'Honneur was burnt, May, 1871, by the Communists; but the restaurants, cafés (Véry's, &c.) in the noble-looking court, were saved. This court is 700 feet by 300, planted with trees, and adorned with a fine jet d'eau. People come here to read the papers, and it presents a very gay scene of a summer's evening. Close to the statue of Eurydice, a small cannon is fired daily, at noon, by means of the sun, when he pleases to shine. Blind musicians play regularly at the Café des Aveugles.
Panthéon.-See Ste, Genevieve.
Place de la Bastille, Rue St. Antoine, where the Bastille stood, till captured by the mob, 14th July, 1789, and pulled down, 1790. It was a castle-shaped pile, to which state prisoners were sent at the mere will of the king or his ministers, expressed in an order called a lettre de cachet. This is superseded by the Column of July, to the memory of 615 "Citoyens Français," who fell in the Revolution of 1830 (27th, 28th, and 29th July). It was designed by Alavoine, is 163 feet high, 12 diameter, and contains 67 tons of bronze metal. Being unsupported by masonry inside, it shakes sensibly with the wind. There is a good view from the top. It was at the barricade here that General Negrier and the Archbishop of Paris were killed, in 1849; and that a hard fight took place with the Communists, May, 1871.
Place du Carousel, Rue de Rivoli, between the Tuileries and Louvre, so called from a tournament held in 1662. On one side is Napoléon's fine Triumphal Arch, 47 feet high, 64 wide, pierced by three arches, built 1806. It is covered with bas-reliefs of the events of 1805 (Austerlitz, Ulm, &c.); and the horses of St. Mark were placed on it, till carried back to Venice, 1814; but this loss is made up by a bronze copy, by Bosio. The band plays here at the daily guard-mounting. Henry IV. and Louis XIV. built the long gallery towards the river, joining the Tuileries and Louvre; the new gallery to the north (near Rue de Rivoli) was completed by the Emperor Louis
PLACE DU CHÂTELET, on the site of an old château prison, has Bralle's Palm-tree Fountain, with a column 58 feet high.
Place de la Concorde, Rue de Rivoli, opposite the Tuileries, was laid out in the time of Louis XV., whose statue here was pulled down at the Revolution. The horses on the west side were set up by Coustou, 1763-72; those on the east by Coysevox. It is surrounded by a dry moat (now planted), and allegorical pavilions to eight large French cities. In the midst, between two fountains, 50 feet diameter, is the famous Luxor Obelisk, erected at Thebes, 1550 B.C., brought by ship from Egypt, 1831-3, to Cherbourg, and set up here, 1836. It is a single block of reddish granite, 724 feet high, 73 broad at the base, and covered with 1,600 hieroglyphical characters, descriptive of the actions of Rameses or Sesostris. The pedestal, of Brittany granite, 27 feet high, offers pictorial views of the machinery employed in Egypt and Paris to move the obelisk. Louis XVI. and Marie Antoinette were executed here, 1793, as well as Charlotte Corday and Philippe Egalité; Danton, Robespierre, St. Just, &c., in 1794. In two years, 2,800 victims suffered on this spot by the guillotine-- la petite fenêtre nationale, or "little national window," as the Republicans nicknamed it (from the hole which received the neck)--the very instrument which, in 1815, was in the possession of a carpenter in Rue Pont-aux-Choux, near the Marais. The centre of the Place is one of the finest points of view in Paris. Here the Germans bivouacked, March, 1871. The statue of Lille was half-ruined in the fight of 21st-2nd May, with the Communists.
PLACE DES VOSGES (formerly Place Royale), Rue St. Louis, on the site of the Palais des Tournelles (so called from its little towers), in which Henry II. was killed, 1659, when tilting with Montgomery : on which account his widow, Catherine de Medicis, pulled it down a few years after. A statue of Louis XIII. is here, restored in 1829. This place is an exact square of 433 feet, surrounded by trees and tall old-fashioned houses.
Place Vendôme, Rue St. Honoré, was built by Mansard, on the site of the Duc de Vendôme's Hôtel. At its centre stands the base only of Napoléon's Column, built 1806-10; a copy of Trajan's (but one-twelfth larger), 135 feet high, 12 diameter, with the statue of Napoléon at top, 11 feet high. The pillar itself was levelled by the Communists, May, 1871; but is now again restored. On the pedestal and shaft are a series of bronze bas-reliefs of the victories of 1805--from the departure of the troops to the battle of Austerlitz, where the cannons which furnished the metal were taken. These bronzes run in spiral, 840 feet long, and include as many as 3,000 figures, 3 feet high. A staircase inside led to the to
PLACE DES VICTOIRES is circular, and has a bronze statue of Louis XIV., by Bosio. Close by is th Church of Notre Dame des Victoires, with a beautifully decorate
eautifully decorated and much frequented shrine in tb Lady Chapel.
Places of Worship-(Protestant).-Church service at the Embassy Chapel, in Rue d'Aguessea Faubourg St. Honoré, at 114 and 4; Episcopal Chapel, Avenue Marbeuf, on the Champs Élysées, at 1 and 3-30; Independent Chapel, Rue de la Madeleine; Scotch Church, Chapel of the Oratoire; Wesleyani Chapel, Rue Roquéping, and Rue Demours aux Ternes; American Church, Rue de Berry, and Rue de la Paix; Jews' Synagogue, 14, Rue Neuve St. Laurent, in Rue du Temple.
French Protestant Churches (called Temples) of the Reformed Communion. Temple de l'Oratoire, Rue de Rivoli. Temple de St. Marie, 216, Rue St. Antoine, at 114. Temple de Pentamont, 108, Rue de Grenelle St. Germain, at 111. Temple de Batignolles-Monceaux, 38, between the Barrières de Clichy and Monceaux, at 123. Of the Augsbourg Confession: At the Oratoire, in German; and the Deaconnesses' House, Rue de Revilly, Sunday Schools (held at 9 a.m.) are attached to nearly all. (See Galignani's Messenger for particulars.)
POLICE OFFICE.---See Palais de Justice.
Ponts.---Pont D'ARCOLE, a suspension bridge, near the Hôtel de Ville, not named after Napoléon's feat at Arcole, as might be supposed, but suggested by a similar act of daring by a young man who led the Parisians against the troops. 1830, and whose name, curiously enough, was Arcole.
PONT DES ARTS, between the Louvre and Palais des Beaux Arts (the oldest iron bridge in Paris), was first built, 1804, and is 546 feet long.
PONT D'ALMA, next the Pont des Invalides, with statues of soldiers on the sides.
PONT DE LA CONCORDE, opposite that Place, was built 1787-90, by Peyronnet, on five oval arches, 461 feet long, 61 broad. Some of the stones used were taken from the Bastille. The twelve statues which adorned it are now at Versailles.
PONT DES INVALIDES, opposite the Hotel des Invalides, a stone bridge, 350 feet long.
PONT DE JÉNA, op osite the Champ de Mars, a simple but elegant five-arch bridge on a level, 460 feet long, and so called after the great battle of 1806. Blücher would have blown it up (1814), but for the interference of the Duke of Wellington.
Pont Neuf (New Bridge), joining Rues Dauphiné and de la Monnaie, across Ile de la Cité, was begun, 1578, by Henry III., and finished, 1604, by Henry IV. It is the “ London bridge" of Paris, is on twelve arches, and is 1,020 feet long, by 78 broad. A little on one side of the middle, at the end of the Island, is Limot's bronze equestrian statue of Henri Quatre, the favourite hero of France. It was set up, 1818, hy Louis XVIII., in place of one erected by Henri's widow; and is 14 feet high, weighing 30,000lbs. In one of the bas-reliefs on the marble pedestal, the generous king (qui fut de ses sujets le vainquer et le père) feeds the poor people of his rebellious capital which he was then besieging; and in the other he sends a message of peace to them. The shops, once on this bridge, are removed, and the bridge itself has been restored.
PONT NOTRE DAME, near the Hôtel de Ville, is the oldest bridge in Paris, rebuilt 1499-1507, and is 362 feet long.
PETIT PONT, near Hôtel Dieu, is 104 feet long.
PONT ROYAL leads from the Tuileries to the Quai d'Orsay, and to the Palais d'Orsay, in Rue de Lille. a vast building, begun by Napoléon, in the Renaissance style, occupied by the Conseil d'État.
PONT DE LA REFORME, a double suspension bridge from Ile de la Cité, across the end of Ile St. Louis.
PONT DE SOLFERINO, between the Tuileries and Palace of the Legion of Honour; of iron, 500 feet long.
POPINCOURT (Rue) contains St. Ambroise's Church and the Abbatoir of Menilmontant. '
Porte St. Denis, Rue du Faubourg St. Denis, is a triumphal Arch to Louis XIV., built 1672, by Blondell, 72 feet high, the mid arch being 42 high and 25 wide. The carvings and inscriptions refer to the passage of the Rhine, taking of Maestrecht (Trajectum ad Mosam), &c. Much fighting took place here, 1830.
Port St. MARTIN, in Boulevard St. Martin, built 1674, by Blondell's pupil, Bullet, is- another arch, raised in honour of Louis XIV., after the taking of Besançon (Vesontio) and Limbourg. It is 54 feet 1 54 the centre arch being 15 wide and 30 high. Louis appears as Hercules, with a wig, and with his emblem, the grand Soleil or Sun. It was half-ruined 1871, and A. Dumas's Theatre burnt. Near it is Girard's handsome Château d'Eau, or reservoir, built 1811.
Post Office.-General Office (Hôtel des Postes) in Rues Jean-Jacques-Rousseau and Coq-Héron. There are 20 branch offices called Bureaux d'Arrondissement, and 300 smaller, called Boites aux Lettres. For Paris, a f-oz. prepaid letter is charged 15 cents. (1fd.) by postage stamps; for the rest of France a uniform charge of 25 cents. Letters from and to England, 30 cents. Letters for the departments and foreign countries are in time at the boites till 5; at the bureaux till 5-30 and 6. Stamps are sold by the tubacconists. Letters may be directed to a traveller, "Poste Restante," ie., to be called for, at Paris or any other town, and will be delivered upon showing the passport, between 8 and 8 (or 8 and 5 on Sunday). --Daily Express Office, for despatch of small parcels, samples, law-papers, &c., in Rue Montmartre No. 121.
Railway Termini (Embarcadères).
2.—De l'Ouest-To Rouen, Havre, Dieppe, Cherbourg, Rennes, Brest, &c., Rue d'Amsterdam, Boulevard Mont Parnasse. 3.-De l'Est-To Strasbourg, Mulhouse, Place de Strasbourg.. . .
- To Lyons, Marseilles, &c., Boulevard Mazas, opposite the Prison.