« AnteriorContinuar »
vas vee tats vome
5.-T. Orléans, Moulins, Tours, Nantes, Bordeaux, the South of France (Du Midi), &c., Quai d'Austerlitz, and Boulevard d'Enfer.
6.–To Brest, Rennes and Versailles (rive gauche, or left bank of Seine), Boulevard du Mont Parnasse. (See the l'Ouest line, above).
7.-To St. Germain and Versailles (rive droite), Rue St. Lazare, No. 124. Opened 1837 (the oldest inade). The Chemin de Fer de Ceinture, or Circular Line, connects the different termini. Trains every 30 minutes from St. Lazare.
8.--Banlieue, to Sceaux, Boulevard d'Arceuil.
About 25 kilos. or 56lbs. of baggage are allowed on the main lines. A horse railway, 2} miles long, fur large omnibuses, carrying goods for the most part, was opened November, 1853, from Place de la Concorde to St. Cloud.
RICHELIEU (Rue) has, at No. 58, the Bibliothèque Nationale and a public fountain, called Fontaine de Molière, opposite, near Molière's house, No. 34. RIVOLI (Rue de) contains the Tuileries, Place du Carousel, Louvre, Hôtel des Finances, Tour de St.
he Jacques. This fine street now extends nearly two miles, passing the Hôtel de Ville, and is lined with stone houses and shops, 6 and 7 stories high.
lere Roquette Prison, near Avenue de la Roquette. Here the Communists shot the hostages, 24th-7th May, including Archbishop Darboy, President Bonjean, the Cure of the Madeleine, and many other innocent persons; for which the leaders were hung.
ROYALE (Rue) has the Madeleine in it.
SÈVRES (Rue de) contains the Institution Impériale des Jeunes Aveugles, and the Hospice des to
SEVERIN (Rue St.) has, at No. 3, St. Severin's Church.
TELEGRAPH OFFICES—(Some open day and night),-Place de la Bourse; General Post Office; and many other spots. Charge for a telegam of 20 words, in Paris, '} franc; any part of France, 1 franc; Lordon, 4 francs.
Temple, now a convent, in Rue du Temple, belonged to the Knights Templars whom Philippe le in Bel suppressed, 1312 (when Molay, the grand-master, and the grand prior, Guy, were burnt before lic Notre Dame), and was a refuge for debtors, &c. What remains of it is the Prior's House, built 1566, by Jacques de Souvre, grand prior of the Knights of St. John, but since much altered. The tower where Louis XVI. was imprisoned before his execution (21st January, 1793), and in which Sir S. Smith, Captain Wright, Pichegru, and Toussaint l'Ouverture was confined, was taken down, 1805 ; but a It, model is kept. The rooms also in which the king was first confined, after 10th August, 1792, remain in their old state, covered with gilt leather and carvings. A market for old clothes, furniture, &c., is hold here.
TEMPLE (Rue du) has the Temple, and St. Elizabeth's Church (opposite No. 94).
Theatres, &c.-French Opera House, Rue Lepelletier, near the Boulevard des Italiens, has a front 61 feet high, with a double arcade, and an interior 66 feet wide; a stage 42 feet by 82; a fine saloon, 186 feet long. Places for 2,000. The splendid new Opera House, in Boulevard des Capucines, has been built at a cost of about £700,000. In French Theatres, loges are the boxes, baignoires are boxes near the pit, parterre is the pit (used only by men). Most of them open at six. For the performances, see the daily papers. Tickets may be bought beforehand at the Bureau des Locations des Théâtres Boulevard des Italiens.
ITALIAN OPERA, Rue Marsollier, is 154 feet by 110, with a double arcaded front.
OPERA COMIQUE, Boulevard des Italiens, has a six column portico.
Théâtre Frangais, Rue Richelieu, corner of Palais Royal, was built 1787, by Philippe Egalité, and has a Doric front 110 feet high. Places for 1,500. In the hall and saloon are Houdon's statue of Voltaire, busts, and memorials of Molière, &c. Mesdemoiselles Mars and Rachel appeared here; the best French acting is seen. Prices, 1 to 8 francs.-At the north-west corner of Place Palais Royal is the small Théâtre du Palais Royal, built 1831.
THÉÂTRE DU GYMNASE DRAMATIQUE, Boulevard du Temple, has a six-column front. Scribe's plays were brought out here.
THÉÂTRE DE L'Odeon, Place de l'Odeon, rebuilt 1820, after a fire, has a portico of eight pillars, and stands 161 feet by 112, and 64 high, with places for 1,600.
THÉÂTRE LYRIQUE, Place du Châtelet, was built by Alexandre Dumas (1862), and burnt by the Communists, 1871.
THÉÂTRE DE LA RENAISSANCE, Boulevard St. Martin; a handsome pile, opened 1873, in place of the Porte St. Martin Theatre, which was a large wood and plaster pile, rebuilt in seven weeks after a fire: and burnt in the fight of 25th May, 1871. Here. Dumas' plays were acted.
THÉÂTRE DES VARIETÉS, Boulevard Montmartre, built, 1807, by Collerier, and has a double row of columns in front, with places for 1,240.
THÉÂTRE DU VAUDEVILLE, Place de la Bourse, built 1827. Prices, 1 to 6 francs.
AMBIGU COMIQUE, Boulevard St. Martin, was re-built 1828, with shops on the ground floor, and has places for 1,900. GAITÉ, Boulevard du Temple, has 1,800 places.
Ten or eleven other Theatres, including Château d'Eau, Folie's Dramatiques, Beaumarchais, Menus Plaisirs, &c., are in the Boulevards and elsewhere, besides several outside the Barrières. The Guingucttes are places of amusement like Cremorne Gardens, &c. The Conservatoire de Musique is in Rue du Faubourg Poissonnière. The Cirque de Eté is in Champs Elysées; the Cirque d Hiver, in Boulevard des Filles de Calvaire. The Hippodrome, outside the Barrière de l'Étoile, is of wood, in the Moorish style, 38) feet diameter, with room for 10,000.
TOWER OF ST. JACQUES DE LA BOUCHERIE, Rue de Rivoli, a fine Gothic remnant, 164 feet high, of a church, destroyed in 1789.
Tuileries Palace, Rue de Rivoli, so called from the tile works which stood here till 1519. Begun, 1564, by Catherine de Medicis, enlarged by Henry IV. and Louis XIV., and joined by galleries behind, to the Louvre. It was burnt by the Communists 22nd-3rd May, 1871. It was 336 yards long, in the Renaissance style, with a dome and high-pitched roof. The centre part, now a rain, was called the Pavillon de l'Horloge; at the extremities were the Pavillons Marsan and de Flore. It contained many beautiful rooms, adorned with paintings and works of art, as the Hall of the Marshals and their portraits, Salles des Gardes (containing N. Loir's symbolical picture of Louis XIV.), Saloon of Peace, &c. The mob broke into it, 20th June, 1792, young Napoléon Bonaparte looking on; the Swiss guards were massacred. 10th August, in the same year; and it suffered in the disastrous Revolution of 1848, when it was the residence of Louis Philippe; as it was afterwards that of the Einperor Napoléon. The famous Gardens, in front, laid out by Lenôtre, are 2,256 feet by 900, and, in summer, were crowded with people enjoying the sunshine, and wandering among the statues, parterres, basins, chestnuts, and elms. The view stretches through Place de la Concorde, along the Champs Élysées to the Arc de l'Étoile. Behind the Venus Pudica, one Henri hid away when he fired at Louis Philippe, 1846; this was the seventh attempt on his life. The assassin Alibaud stood near the gate towards the river when he attempted the king's life, ten years before. Behind the palace is the court made by Napoléon (who used to hold his reviews here), with the Triumphal Arch, in Place du Carousel. Here the troops mount
maril daily at 10, and the band plays generally a little at that hour, though Paris is not nearly so
enlivened with military and other music as the German capitals. The Emperor Napoléon carried out the original plan of uniting the Tuileries and the Louvre, by pulling down the houses which encumbered the Place du Carousel, restoring the wing which faced the river, and building that on the side of Rue de Rivoli, in a solid and magnificent manner, suitable to the splendid pile, which with its vast galleries and courts now adorns the capital. This work was begun, 1852; and the new square between the Place du Carousel and the Louvre was appropriately called Place Napoléon III. The Salles des États, in the transverse which separates the courts, was built for the use of the Chambres, and is a handsome room, 138 feet by 69, and 52 high.
VAUGIRARD (Rue de) contains the Luxembourg, and (at No. 70), the Carmelite Convent, where the massacre of the priests begun, 1792.
Versailles.-See the Hand-Book.
VICTOIRE (Rue de la).—No. 52 is the house where Bonaparte lived with Josephine when he started for Italy, 1796, and for Egypt. It received its name on account of his Italian victories. Here he planned the Revolution of 18 Brumaire, which made him First Consul, 1799.
VICTOR (Rue St.) No. 68, now a municipal barrack, was once the Seminary of St. Firmin, where Calvin lived, and where 91 unfortunate priests were massacred in 1793. VIEILLE DU TEMPLE (Rue) has the Government Printing Office. VIVIENNE (Rue) leads to the Place de la Bourse.
Steamers.-- From Pont Royal to St. Cloud in Auteuil, franc.
hour; fares, 1 franc, and } franc. From
climate of Paris.--"With respect to climate, the chief advantage which Paris has over London, consists in the greater purity and dryness of the atmosphere, its freedom from smoke and fog, and in the weather being less variable from day to day. Yet fogs are sometimes so thick, that the public conveyances lose their way, and meet with accidents. Thus to our knowledge a Batignolles omnibus gave a summersault over a parapet in a fog, whereupon several of the 'ins and outs' came to grief. The summers are hotter and the winters equally cold, if not colder. The average quantity of rain which falls throughout the year is about as great in the one as in the other capital. It would not, therefore, be advisable to select Paris as a winter residence for delicate invalids, or those whose cases require attention to climate. It agrees, however, with many dyspeptics, to whom the light cookery of the French cuisine is better suited than the more substantial fare usually met with in Britain, which requires greater powers of digestion-provided always that this class of invalids abstain from ragouts, rich sauces, indigestible vegetables, as truffles, and from partaking of a variety of wines."--Lee's Companion to the Continent.