« AnteriorContinuar »
The fine façade of the hospital was built in 1751, Pope Clement V.(a Frenchman) came to live here,
The Gothic cathedral church includes a tower of 1309, and in 1318, Clement VI., the anti-pope, bought Charlemagne's time, and pillars (in the front), it of the Countess of i'rovence. The last resident brought, they say, from the Temple of Diana, Pope was Benedict XIII., whoin the French crove at Venasque. Near the palais de justice (which away, 1403; but it was garrisoned by his successors, was the bishop's seat), in the Place, is a very under a vice-legate, till 1791, when it was forcibly much decayed Roman Arch of Triumph. The annexed to France. The Inquisition was established public Library, given by Bishop Inguimebert, here. While the Pope hold the town, the river comprises 22,000 volumes and 2,009 MSS., belonged to the King of France, who kept him in many of which belonged to Peyresc, the check at Villeneuve. scholar, besides engravings, paintings, 6,000
It lies almost entirely within its machicolated Walls, medals, antiquities, &c. There are also a large
which are strengthened with ramparts and towers, lavoir publique (or baths), theatre, new prisons,
partially destroyed by the inundations of 1856. market halls, &c.
The cour or promenade round them commands very Trade in spirits, wine, essences, oil, fruit, silk, &c.
pleasing prospects of the country, the green islands IIotels.-Du Nord; De l'Europe.
of the Rhône, Provence, the Alps, &e. llouses of At 12 kil. north-east, is Bedouin, where the Ascent
stone; the streets narrow and winding. Rue de to Mont Ventoux begins: it takes from four to five
la Ferraterie is the most bustling; Rue Calade hours to reach the top (10 kil.) which is about contains several fine buildings. The Jews live in 2,200 yards above the sea level (the highest in ihe Juiverie. Tire quays are large. A long worden all this quarter), and Icoks like a cone placed bridge leads over tu Ile de la Berthelasse, near on the top of a dome. The north side, on the
the picturesque remains (three or four arches, with Drôme border, is steep and almost inaccessible.
a chapci) of a stone one, built by St. Benezet in the At the summit (covered with snow three parts 12th century. This is continued from the Island of the year), is a chapel, near a lake, whence by a suspension bridge to Villeneuve-les-Avignon. there is a splendil panorama, which takes in the Rhône, the Alps, Cevennes, &c.]
The Cathedral, called Nôtre Dame des Doms, on
the Rocher des Doms (which forms a level ridge at Le Pontet (31 miles), from which it is 37 miles
th:e back of the town, and is mounted by steps), va3 to the old papal palace, &c., of the city of
rebuilt by Charlemagne; but the oldest part of the AVIGNON.
present building is a doorway of the 11th c ury
It has monuments of Archbishop Libelli, John XXII., A buffet, 143 miles from Lyons, 754 from Mar
Benet XII., and the brave Crillon, who was a notic, seilles.
nith the papal (now archbishop's) marble thrine, HOTELS.-De l'Europe, clean and comfortable;
Charlemagne's chapel, some old frescoes, and Du Louvre; Du Luxembours.
modern paintings. Close to it is the large Population, 36,400. KT OBJECTS OF NOTICE.---Cily Walls ---Cathe Palace of the Popes, an irregular Gothic pile, 1.6.W dral-Papal Palace-Museum-Bridge.
used as a barrack and prison. It was begun by John This old city of the Pores, chief town of departme: t XXII., and finished by Urban V. (1336-70), ai d inVaucluse, seat of an arch-diocese, &c, is in the valley cluded seven great towers. The south side hans of the Rhône, where the Durancejoins it, in a country over a precipice. Rienzi, the “last of the Tribunes," of orchards, vineyards, mulberry and olive grounds. was kept a prisoner here by Clement VI., his fcot
pomans when they colonized it, calied it Avenis. being chained to the roof of his prison. It has traces Itafierwards came to the Burgundians and Ostro of frescoes by Giotto and S. Aretino (both doultcoths: was for a while kept by the Saracens; and | fui); the Salle de la Question (where heretics were
was divided between the Counts of Pro tortured), and the Glacière Tower, whence the revo
| Toulouse. - Louis VIII. took it after a lutionary mob threw their prisoners, 1791. The vence and T
Rocher des Doms, now laid out with flowers among sie ze, 1226, for favouring the Albigenses.
at length was divided betwo
the ruins, is worth ascending, were it only for the Ganges, the belle Provençale, whose fate was a tine view from its top.
melancholy one.) St. Pierre's church, of the 14th and 15th centuries, The women of Avignon are handsome. Its climate has a good front, built 1512, and a black marble is soft but variable. North and north-west winds pulpit. There are 16 other churches ; at one time blow vehemently; but the people comfort themthere were 60, and as many religious houses. St. selves with a proverb founded on experience A tricol (named after the patron saint of Avignon)
“Aven to ventosa, offers a fine nave, of the 14th century. At St.
sine vento venenosa, Dirlier's (a church of the 14th century) is part of a
Cum rento fastidiosa," curious bas-relief of Christ carrying the cross, by The manufactures are silk, madder, leather, honey, King René, the other part being in the museum. cantharides flies, olive oil, &c. Madder was first The ruined Dominican church and its cloisters are introduced by a Persian, styled Jean Althen on the used as a cannon foundry. That of St. Martial bronze statue erected to him by the grateful Avig(1 th century) contains the Musée Requien. A frag nonese, on the Rochers des Doms. inent is left of the Cordeliers' church, which had the
Conveyances: By steamer to Valence, and Lyons tomb of Petrarch's Laura de Sade, whom he first
(being against the stream,—the steamer takes three 8.1w here, 1327. A cypress marks the spot.
or four days to go up). The new road to Geneva by The Hôtel de Ville was the Pope's Mint, built 1620, the plains of the Bresse is open, by coach, to Carby Paul V. It stands in Place de l'Horloge (where pentras, Digne, &c. Coaches to Vaucluse, Apt, most of the cafés are), so called from the Jacque Pertuis, Sallon, St. Remy, &c. A caleche may be in'irt or belfry tower, close to the theatre (built hired to Vaucluse (17 miles) there and back, 22fr., 1817). Near it, on Place d'Oule, Marshal Brune including the driver (see A. below). Senany Abbey was killed by the royalists, 1815. The public Library and Pont du Gard are near (see C.) St. Ruf's 0: 60,000 volumes and 1,200 MSS. is placed in the Romanesque church is also within a short run. Alusée Calvet (so named after the founder), with [(A.) Avignon to Vaucluse, &c., by way of Roman and other inscriptions, 20,000 medals, sculp the rail to Cavaillon. It goes past St. Saturtures, the Inquisition seal, rare books, pictures by nin d'Avignon (8 miles), in department Italian and Dutch masters, the Vernets, &c., and a Vaucluse. Population, 2,020. Le Thor (3) cibinet of natural history, geology, &c. One of the miles), with a Romanesque church. Populapictures is Vernet's “Mazeppa," and here is the tion, 4,160. L'Isle-sur-Sorgues (3 miles), remainder of King René's bas-relief. At the lunatic on the Sorgues, noted for its eels and trout. axylum (hospice des alienés) is Guillemin's famous At Skil, to the left is irory crucifix, 26 inches long, which was in Miséri
VAUCLUSE, at the head of a deep cleft (vallis corde Church. Hôtel de Crillon, of the 17th century, clausa) in the limestone of Mont Ventoux, is in Rue de la Masse. The Préfecture is a modern where the Sorgues takes its rise, in precipices building. The Protestant Temple, about 150 years 500 feet high. In summer it is seen trickling old. A vast pile, called the Hôtel des Invalides down from many parts of the rock; but when (for soldiers), was suppressed in 1850, and turned the snows melt at the beginning of spring, it into a Penitentiary.
falls like a cataract, from an arched cave (over(VILLENEUVE-LES-AVIGNON (population, 3,560),
shadowed by a fig-tree), into the dark pool or across the new bridge, contains various remains,
Fountain of Vaucluse, below. Petrarch describes as the old fort and abbey of St. André; the
it in his Letters, and they show his little country Chartreuse convent, and its ruined church; the
seat on a hill to the right, with remains of the fortified church of Notre Dame, of the 14th cen
bishop of Cavaillon's castle. An ugly pillar tury. In the Hôpital Church is Innocent VI.'s stands close to the pool. Hotel.-De Laure. tomb, also another picture attributed to le bon Cavaillon (5 miles), on the north bank of the Roi René, and Mignard's portrait of Madame de Durance; once a Roman colony and a bishop's
sec, in a fertile spot, where vermicelli, silk, , long, on twenty-one arches of 66 feet span, resting &c., are made. It has a triumphal arch and on piles. The suspension bridge for the road, and a church of the 11th century.
the castles of Barbentane and Château-Renard, are APT (25 kil. from L'Isle), a sous-préfecture of in view.
5,800 souls, in department Vaucluse, on the Barbentane (31 miles), at the foot of the rock Cavalon, founded by Cæsar, as Apta-Julia-Vul- of Montagnette, has a castle of the 12th century, gientes. Old walls run round it, and it stands in
built by Archbishop Rostand, of Arles. We are a valley among vines and olive yards. Its church
now in department Bouches-du-Rhône, part of of the 10th and 11th centuries, contains an old
| Provence. Pass Rognonas to crypt. Pont Julien is ancient.
Graveson (31 miles), near Cadillan. FORCALQUIER (36 kil.), another old place, once the
Tarascon (54 miles). Here the line to Nismes, capital of the Memini, now a sous-préfecture in
Montpellier, and Cette, turns off (Route 30), crossdepartment Basses-Alpes. Population, 3,060.
ing the river, near the suspension bridge, to BeauAbout 50 kil. further is
caire. Tarascon is an old fortified town, of 11,515
population, having a fine ruined Castle (Château du DIGNE (see Route 25), up the Durance. (B.) Along the Durance.
Roi René), a square machicolated pile of the 15th
century, with two round towers, on a rock above the CHÂTEAU RENARD (16 kil. south-east), on the
Rhône. St. Martha's church, of the 14th century south side of the Durance, is so called from an
(the portal is Romanesque, 1187), contains sevenold castle which commands a noble range of
teen curious paintings of the Saint's life, by Vien. view. Further up the river is Organ, once a
At St. Jacques' is a picture by Vanloo. There Roman settlement, with old walls, and two or
are also a palais de justice, Hôtel de Ville, library, tbree castles round it. Still higher up the
theatre, ship-yard, &c. The Rue des Halles and river is Cadenet, 19 kil. south of Apt, near the
its arcades, are worth notice. Trade in silks, remains of a Roman station; the font in the
wine, oil, eaux-de-vie. church is Roman. Beyond this is the Roman
Hotel.-Des Empereurs. esque chapel of Bonnieux.
Coaches to St. Remy, Aix, &c. (C.) To Pont du Gard. About 13 miles west of
[St. REMY (13 kil.east), in a fine spot, on the Réal Avignon is
canal, has Roman remains about fifty feet Pont du Gard, a noble Roman remain, being asunder: one, being part of a triumphal arch. part of the great aqueduct (173 miles lorg)
the other, a mausoleum of beautiful design.] which carried the waters of the Azure to Segonnaux (4 miles). The country is flat and Nîmes; and looking like a screen across the uninteresting, to valley. It is a mass, 640 feet long and 133 high, of three rows of arches, one over the other
ARLES (67 miles). -the lowest, a row of six arches; the next, HOTELS.–Forum; Du Nord. eleven of the same size; the third, twenty-five Population, 25,600. Here a line runs off to Lunel, small arches, having the water way above | Montpellier, &c. them, where it ran 6j feet wide and deep. It! This town, remarkable for its Roman remains was used as a road before a separate bridge and its beautiful women, is a sous-préfecture, in a was built, 1747, close to the bottom of it. Being marshy but cultivated spot, at the head of the delta half-way between Avignon and Nismes, it is of the Rhône, about 24 miles from the Mediterracommon for pic-nic parties from both towns to nean, to which a canal runs down as far as Port de meet here to pass the day.]
Bouc. From Avignon, the Marseilles line crosses a plain 19 OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-Cathedral_Obelisk on an embankment high enough to escape the inun | -Roman Amphitheatre-Theatre-Aqueduct, &c. dations of the Rhône, and the Durance, a brawl |--Alyscamps Cemetery. ing changeable stream, here traversed by a hand. It was the Roman Aralata, a port of great trade, some viaduct, constructed by M. Didion, 1,794 feet | which Constantine improved and called Constantina. It fell to the Goths, and after Charlemagne's time | Alyscamps), a famous head of Diana, &c. The was the head of a kingdom (including Provence, public library numbers 12,000 volumes. There is a Dauphiny, and Savoy), under Bozon and his four school of navigation, a college, &c. Good walks on successors; then became subject to the Emperors the Lice (i.e., Lists) promenade, by the Graponne of Germany, and was given up to France in the canal. time of Charles VI.
Notre Dame de Grace church, with its eightArles stands on a rock; its streets are irregular sided steeple, stands in the old Roman Cemetery, and narrow; a bridge of boats leads to Trinqueville, called Alyscamps, or Eliscamp (Campus Elysius), which Constantine founded. Place Plan de la Cour where many ancient gravestones remain, on a hill is shaded with trees. In Place R yale is the Ilötel outside the town, now occupied by the railway workde Ville, built by Mansard, in a rich Corinthian shops. The Pagan toinbs are marked “D. M." (for style.
“Diis manibus "); the Christian, by the cross. On St. Trophime's Cathedral, originally begun 626,
another hill are the ruined church (partly as old as by St. Virgilius, has a large and highly decorated the 10th century) and cloister, the machicolated portal of the 12th century, with columns, niches, tower (built 1369), 85 feet high, and St. Avix, or grotesque sculptures, a Romanesque tower, and a Crucifix, chapel (in shape of a Greek cross, built fine cloister, half Romanesque and half Gothic, * 1019), all belonging to the abbey of Mont Majeur. avijoining the old palace of the Archbishop, with an On the Montagne des Cordes are traces of a Celtic ancient Obelisk in the middle of it. This is a single town. Baux is a deserted town, with several houses block of plain granite, 50 feet long, and was brought cut out of the rock, and an old castle. here by the Romans, but remained on the ground The Emperor Constantine's son was born here. * till set up, in 1676, in honour of Louis XIV., with a Manufactures of silk, soap, brandy, good sausages
pedestal and lions, and a globe and sun, for an and a trade in corn, wine, oil, manna, salt, wool, apex, added to it, making a total height of 65 feet. cattle, horses, &c. Conveyances: By coach to
The Roman Amphitheatre is in pretty good con- Aix, Salong, &c.; rail to Lunel, &c.; steamer to dition. It is an oval, 338 feet by 460, in three stages Marseilles. of about 60 arches each, chicfly in the composite [Arles to Lunel, &c., by rail. It passes style. It had four principal entrances, with up La Camargue (7} miles), on the Camargue, wards of forty rows of seats, and would hold above or delta of the Rhône, below Aries; a salt 2,500 persons. Two later towers have been built marsh, full of lakes, where the pelican, fiaon it. The interior has been cleared out, and a mingo, and beaver breed, and vast numbers light railing erected round it, to presrve it from of horses and cattle, and 150,000 sheep, are injury. Here a real bull-fight was performed in 1953, pastured. In the hot season the sheep are by artists from Spain. Near it and the old house driven up the hills, with a file of goats at their of La Miséricorde, are some archies of a Roman licad. One part cal'ed the Crau, is a desolate T'hcatre, now called the Tower of Roland, with two fiinty plain, without tree or shacle; across columns of breccia marble on the site of the stage, which the mistral blows with terrible keenremains of seats, and a gate, not far off. In Place ness. There used to be a saying, that the St. Lucien, or du Forum, are two granite pillars of Durance, the parliament, and the mistral, were a Temple of Minerva, and some other fragments, the three curses of Provence. “It is difficult to supposed to be of the Pantheon. Ruins of an aque give,' says Trollope, "an adequate idea of the duct are also seen. The Tour de la Trouille, near detestableness of the climate under the influthe old house of the Grand Prior of Malta, was ence of this scourge. The same sun is shining built, they say, by Constantine. In some respects
in the same bright bluesky, but the temperature Arles has more of the appearance of a decayed
is glacial. The boisterous blast chills the very Roman town than any other place in France.
marrow bones. The whole air is so full of St. Anne's old church, now the Muscum, contains dust that it is impossible to stir out without good collection of bas-reliefs, busts, altars, grave getting the mouth and nostrils filled with it. nes, of the times of the lower Empire (from The inhabitants hurry through the bleak