Imagens das páginas
PDF
[graphic]

nearly north and south) which stretches from Portal The Harbour,

o r o d'Aix to the Prado, and includes Rue de Rome, 3.680 fees by 191 Grand Chemin de Rome, Place Castelane, &c. E tremely die hoogs is now adorned by fountains, and Ramus's broma statue of Bishop Belzunce, set up in 1853.

boli 1.396,

Atm. A
Great improvements are making in Marseilles,

to foole site
by the authorities, under the direction of a Mira

the servers sgenuing in the contractor, at an estimated cost of about

iryaரay 30,000,000 fr. Of this sum, 4,000,000 are devoted to rebuilding the cathedral; 16,000,000 to the ser port of Arenc; 2,000,000 to sweetening the old has bour; 500,000 to transplanting the Lazarett to be Frioul. M. Mirès having acquired the site of the Lazaretto, and that of the ground near the Joietta will indemnify himself by laying out sa ste &c., and has engaged to build a church free of es pense.

Most of the Places (or squares and Proma are ornamented with fountains, supplied by si terranean cuts from the Hureste, Er, se great canal from the Duraser. That of riasa Ferréol, was raised to the many sus lent persons who attended on fois to e is the great plague. One in Reckstage ally dedicated to "Home, by the domaines Phocæans ;” another, stands is Plan Rose largest square in the áty. That is Pin Fainéants, is a black marile

a ugs
on four lions. The Punisias de Pages Esse
Rome, is a little pyramid pist see the 96
house of this Marseillaise antes en
whose works once served to die fosse
but were swept away atethenempiads are
known in England as the buildies se
House, the old British Musem...
erected to him fn 1897. Place de Lente s
site of Roman baths. The lange me
or Champ de Mars, a Roma sitesi
with a basin, in the midst of which a an de
up a jet of water 184 feet high

The large Corinthian triumphat are adde
d'Aix, was began, 1893, in honor of the
goulême, bat remained andnísties silthie te
tion of July, when it was delicatesse n
glory of France." 1. Penckard in the
The figures of Courage, Kesiguties and
Foresight, are by Deeld d&agars

nearly north and south) which stretches from Porte | The Harbour, or Port, forms an oblong of about d'Aix to the Prado, and includes Rue de Rome, 3,080 feet by 980, or about 70 acres, and is exGrand Chemin de Rome, Place Castelane, &c. It tremely safe, though the mouth is narrow. It is is now adorned by fountains, and Ramus's bronze generally crowded with the shipping, of which it statue of Bishop Belzunce, set up in 1853.

will hold 1,200, with water deep enough for those

of 600 tons. A great disadvantage is, that the ebb Great improvements are making in Marseilles,

and flow of the tide being very small, the stench of by the authorities, under the direction of M. Mirès,

the sewers opening into it is constantly felt; but it the contractor, at an estimated cost of about

is proposed to remedy this by sluicing it with the 30,000,000 fr. Of this sum, 4,000,000 are devoted to

surplus water brought down by the city aqueduct. rebuilding the cathedral; 16,000,000 to the new

It is lined with narrow quays, where all the port of Arenc; 2,000,000 to sweetening the old har

costumes and languages of the Mediterranean may bour; 500,000 to transplanting the Lazaretto to

be seen and heard. Frioul. M. Mirès having acquired the site of the

On the south side, or Rive Neuve, or Commerce, Lazaretto, and that of the ground near the Joliette,

are the mast-house, the douane and magazines, will indemnify himself by laying out new streets,

with a canal running round them, the place-aux&c., and has engaged to build a church free of ex

huiles (oil stores), ship yards, stores for soap, pense.

bones, &c. Along the opposite side, or Boutique, Most of the Places (or squares) and Promenades you see the Place du Cul de Beuf, the Consigne are ornamented with fountains, supplied by sub or Board of Health, the fish market, the Hotel terranean cuts from the Huveaume, &c., and the de Ville, stamp office, bazaar, shops for shipgreat canal from the Durance. That of Place St.

chandlery, &c. At the Consigne are pictures, &c., Ferréol, was raised to the memory of those excel

worth notice-Puget's Plague of Milan (a baslent persons who attended on their townsmen in

relief); Gerard's Plague at Marseilles; H. Vernet's the great plague. One in Rue d'Aubagne, is actu Scene during the Cholera ; and David's St. Roch ally dedicated to "Homer, by the descendants of the praying for the Victims of the Plague. A wet dock, Phocæans ;” another, stands in Place Royale, the or Bassin de Carénage, lies just outside the harlargest square in the city. That in Place des

bour, on the south, close to Fort St. Nicholas, which Fainéants, is a black marble obelisk, 233 feet high, I guards this side of the narrow entrance; the opon four lions. The Fontaine de Puget, in Rue de posite side being guarded by Fort St. Jean. Rome, is a little pyramid placed before the old

The Hôtel de Ville, a small building, of no partihouse of this Marseillaise architect and painter,

cular merit or character, has bas-reliefs on its front, whose works once served to adorn his native city,

with Puget's bust of Louis XIV. and a Latin inbut were swept away after the Revolution. He was

scription ; on the staircase, a statue of Liberty, and known in England as the builder of Montague

some pictures in the hall. The ground floor was House, the old British Museum. A statue was

used for the Bourse, or Exchange, now transferred erected to him in 1857. Place de Lenche was the

to a separate timbered building, or rather to the site of Roman baths. The large Plaine St. Michel,

open space in Place Royale, where the merchants or Champ de Mars, a Roman site, is now ornamented

prefer to meet, till the new one in the Canebière is with a basin, in the midst of which an island darts

built. up a jet of water 164 feet high.

The Préfecture, in Place St. Ferréol, on one side Thelarge Corinthian triumphal arch, at the Porte of a wide court, has two façades, and is one of the d'Aix, was begun, 1823, in honour of the Duc d'An- largest public structures in the city. It was built goulême, but remained unfinished till the Revolu- | by Roux, a rich banker of the last century, who tion of July, when it was dedicated to the “military died Marquis of Brue, after impoverishing his forglory of France." M. Penchard is the architect. tune by making war, on his own account, against The figures of Courage, Resignation, Prudence, England, because one of his ships had been inForesight, aro by David d'Angers. .

sulted. On this occasion he issued a manifesto,

beginning with-"George Roux to George Roy," in circular church stands close to the Flèche des Accoules, the style of Ancient Pistol. Near the old prisons, which overlooks the town, and is the tall Romanis the Palais de Justice, with nothing to distinguish esque clock-tower of a large church pulled down at it. The new prisons, built 1823, are at Porte d'Aix. the Revolution. There is another at a little dis

Among the market places, or Halles, are the vieille tance from it. The Chapelle du Château Babon Poissonnerie, the halle Puget, and halle neuve belonged to a castle on the site of Fort St. Jean. (new), rebuilt 1801, on the site of an older one. A A pretty chapel of the 17th century, called the large Boucherie, or shambles, stands on the sea, Madeleine, or Chartreux, outside the town, has å between the anses (bays) de l'Ourse and de la good nave, and light campanile towers. There are Joliette--the latter, they say, named after Julius Protestant and Greek churches, the former in Rue Cæsar-Julia statio. Here a new port has been de Grignon, near the Jews' Synagogue. made, inside a breakwater and two moles; but it

Hôtel Dieu, or Hôpital du St. Esprit, behind the is reported to be dangerous with unfavourable Town-hall, was founded 1188, and is a large irreguwinds. It is taken, as it were, out of the Mediter

lar mass in the heart of the old city, having beds ranean, and forms a rectangle, equal in area to the

for 560, and a chapel built, 1600. La Charité, near old harbour, with which it is joined by a canal, be

Place de l'Observance, founded 1640, for 850 old hind Fort St. Jean. The digue, or breakwater, is

people and orphans, forms a court, in which stands 1,334 yards long. The moles, or jetties, which

an oval chapel, by Puget, with a dome. Among strike out to it perpendicularly, are 437 yards long,

the other charitable institutions are the two hosand 646 yards apart. The stone was quarried in pices of St. Joseph and St. Lazare: the asylumns the rocks near Notre Dame de la Garde. An

for Aliénés (lunatics) and for the Deaf and Dumb Imperial Palace, among other projected works, has

(sourds-muets); the former, a large building in been built here. Not far from this, at the entrance Avenue Bayle. The new Military Hospital is in of the town, is Porte Joliette, one of the few pieces

Quatre de la Plaine of antiquity here, but much decayed, and used as

Most of the learned societies are established in the bureau of the Octroi.

the old convent of the Bernardines, in Cours du Most of the churches are plain buildings. That

Marché (near the Champ de Mars), which has of De la Major, or the Cathedral, which stood near

several long galleries in it, a tower and a crucithe Anse de l'Ourse, was the most ancient; it

form church, crowned with a dome. Here are the replaced a temple to the "great goddess Diana,'

Academy of sciences and benes lettres; a large whose worship the Greeks brought here, and was a

public Bibliothèque, or library, of 70,000 volames tasteless mixture of various styles, with the front

and 1,300 MSS., in a room 130 feet long, open spoilt by the plasterers. It was pulled down, and

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays; cabinets of the work of rebuilding it commenced on the same

Roman and Greek antiquities (busts, sarcophagi, site, in 1853. St. Victor, now the oldest, is near

&c.) and of medals and natural history, a Piclure Fort St. Nicholas and the Carénage basin, and

Gallery in the old chapel, of about 140 paintings of stands over the burial-place of an early martyr,

the French school 89 specimens, by Puget, Serre, which became the site of a rich abbey, founded in the 5th century. It is Romanesque for the most

and others), Italian and Flemish schools, (Ruben's

Boar Hunt, &c.); the college, or high school; with part, and has crypts of the 11th century (one of which was re-opened 1857) with Pope Urban's two

schools of design and architecture, &c. A school towers, built 1350; and an image of the Madonna,

of Navigation is established in the Observatory,

which has a fine prospect. The Jardin des Plantes, to which the people came to pray in long seasons of drought. St. Vincent de Paul is in the Allées des

or botanic garden, in the Chartreux quarter, opened Capucins. Near the Cours Italien is Notre Dame since 1810, contains many exotics, including an du Mont, re-built 1822, except its old clock-tower. orangery. It contains pictures by Serre, with good carved In Place Royale is the Grand Théâtre, with a

-- ----- Jnt Carmel, near riumphal arch, has a good prospect. A new I built 1787. Théâtre Français, or Gymnase, stands

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

near the Allées de Meillian. There is a Concert- | along the great aqueduct of Rochefavour (1,200 hall; another place of amusement is the Montagnes feet long), over the Arc, coming into the city at a Russes; Baths, in the Prado, near the Cirque Olym- | point 400 feet above the sea. pique, and the Château des Fleurs.

The customs duties of this port rise to a fourth or The Gendarmerie Barracks are near Places de la

fifth of all those collected in France. The imports Porte d'Aix and du Terras. The Arsenal stands in

include hides, tallow, dried fruits, sugar, coffee, Cours Napoléon, not far from his column and the

olive oil, cotton, wool, lead, bones, &c.; and among road to Fort Nôtre Dame de la Garde, which occu

the articles made or exported are--salt meat, salt pies the most commanding point above the city, 545

fish, fruit, almonds, wine, refined sugar, molasses, feet high. It is so called from a pilgrim's chapel of

madder, oil, sulphur, soap, candles, chemicals, the 13th century, round which Francis I. built the

liqueurs, essences and perfumes, printed woollens fortress, and is still crowded with a multitude of

and cottons, morrocco leather, tobacco, hats, glass, curious votive gifts from sailors, &c. At the Fête

porcelain, china, coral ornaments, anchovies, &c. Dieu, its image of the Bonne Mère is carried about

Steam engines are made by Taylor and Sons, in procession. The prospect here embraces a beau

Here the galleys of France were constructed tiful panorama of the city, the coast, the sea, and

before the formation of the port of Toulon. islands off the town. Fort St. Nicholas, lower In the suburbs are the villages of St. Genie, down, opposite Fort St. Jean (the chapel of which Capelette, St. Pierre, La Madeleine, Chartreux, St. belonged to the Knights of Malta), was built round Charles, Barthélemi, St. Just Passet, Belle de Mai, an earlier tower by Louis XIV., and has been Bon Sécours, Canet, and others; some of them lately restored. The rocks in this neighbourhood seated on the little rivulets, Huveaume, Jarres, are covered with restaurants and guinguettes,

Plombières, and Ayglades. The last has an old celebrated for their bouille-a-baisse, which is fla Castle on it; and on the Huveaume is the aqueduct voured with saffron. The Tour Carrée (Square of Ville-à-la-Pomme, with Château Boully, a fine Tower) was raised by King René.

seat near the sea, built by a Marseilles banker. About two miles west of the harbour is the sle

The Valley of the Giménos is remarkable for rugged d'If, and the fort of Francis I., in which Mirabeau

grandeur. St. Pons, Masargues, and Chaine de

| l'Etoile are worth visiting. Further off, is the was confined. A little beyond it are two larger fortified islands, Pomègue and Ratonneau, joined by

Madrague de l'Estagne, where the large tunny fish

is caught. Near it, a part of a Roman aqueduct a causeway 980 feet long, making the quarantine

may be seen, also the Bouido, which spouts up port of Dieudonné (God-given), where 200 vessels

after rain, and the Maoupasset, a seat of King may lie. Here Cæsar's fleet anchored when he took

René's, where they show some of his paintings. Marseilles; and, in the present day, when a foolish

Wild fowl swarm in the Étang (lake) de Martigue; man forgets himself, they call him “Roi de Raton

and at Christmas, crowds of sportsmen go out to neau," in allusion to the story of a poor lunatic

shoot wild ducks. A branch rail to the Sea Baths soldier, who assumed the title of king, and turned

at M. Prado was opened 1873. the guns on his comrades, in 1765.

Puy de Mimet (12 kil. north-east of the city), For sanitary purposes, there are a Lazaretto, of is noticeable for the experiments made there by 50 acres, between Points de la Joliette and St. Bason Zach, the astronomer, for measuring the Martin (to be transferred elsewhere) where infected density of the earth. It has a grotto, mach frepersons are fumigated ; and the Consigne, or quented for the views about it. quarantine office, in the harbour. A large Ceme- White, red, and Muscatel wines are produced in tery is laid out beyond the city, near the railway this corner of France. The language is a mixture station. An abundant supply of water is now of French and Provençal (or corrupt Latin), with a brought in by the great canal lately cut from the tincture of Greek and Celtic. Durance, 25 miles off. It is the work of M. Mont- Pytheas, an early navigator, who sailed to Britain vicher, and passes through several tunnels, and I and Iceland, and to the Baltic from this place, was

« AnteriorContinuar »