« AnteriorContinuar »
is a wide prospect. The houses are of good Ecouen, past Mont Louis, and the ilermitage, brick. Blonde lace, leather, &c., are made; and where the pernicious sentimentalist, Roussenti, there are large fairs for cattle and horses.]
wrote his Emile, &c. It has his bust and furniAt Pontoise the line turns round to the south ture. Gretry, the composer, died in it.] east to
Epinay (2 miles), a station on the Seine, has Herblay (54 miles), which lies to the west, by many country-houses, with that of Brêche, which the Seine.
Gabrielle d'Estrées, Henry IV.'s mistress, lived in. Franconville (1š mile), in a very attractive
Fourcroy, Lacepéde, Marquis Somariva, &c., resided part of the valley of Montmorency.
here; and Mad. Houdetot, at Ormesson. Coach to St. Leu-Taverney (3 kil. north), where [ARNOU VILLE to the north-east, on the Crould, Mad. de Genlis had a seat in which the last Duke of has an old unânished château, of the last centBourbon hung himself, 1830. After Mad. (le Genlis, ury, built by garde-des-sceaux (lord keeper) it became the seat of Queen Hortense (Duchess of Machauit. A little further on is Gonesse, tije St. Leu), mother of Napoléon III. who, out of love birih-place of Philippe Auguste, 1166, and for to her memory, began, in 1851, a handsome new a long tin e famous for its breal. At 9 kil. church, on the site of the old Gothic building. Here north is Ecouen château, on a hill, built in the his father, Louis, King of Holland; his grandfather, Renaissance style, with high roof, pilasters, &c. Carlo Bonaparte; and other members of the family;
Latterly it belonged to the prince of Condé.] now rest.
St. Denis (1į mile), a sous-préfecture of departErmont (13 mile), in the neighbourhood of
I ment Seine, with a population of 22,600, in two Sannois, Montlignon, Domont; Andilly, a fine spot Jit:le branches of the Seine, and on the canal joinin Montmorency forest; St. Prix; and Eaubonne, in
ing the river to Canal de l'Ourcq, is the old buriala pretty valley of the forest, near an oak planted by
place of the French kings, who were interred in the Franklin, who lived here, as did St. Lambert, Rous
Abbey Church of the Benedictines, founded 613, by seau, &c.
Dagobert. Length, 390 feet; breadth, 100; and Enghien-les-Bains (2 miles), on lake St. / 80 feet high to the vault. It was rebuilt, 1144-1281, Gratien, is noted for its sulphur springs, used be- the oldest part being Abbé Segur's Romanesque twe n June and September, and has a large bathing front and towers, one of which was, till lately. 36 1 house, ball-room, &c. It is a favourite excursion for feet high, and has been restored by Napoléor an the Parisians, as it combines the amusements of his successors with great splendour. The i w boating, donkey-racing, rambling in the forest, and windows are stained with historical subjects, and eating the delicious cherries off the tree in the sea the chapels, &c., are full of paintings and frescoes. son. Trains come up almost hourly. The springs Among the monuments, &c., are those of Dagolert were discovered in 1766, and are about 60° temp.; (not older than St. Louis's time), Louis XII. and the neighbourhood is very pleasant. Hotel.-De Queen, Henry II, and Queen, Francis I. and Queen, Quatre Pavillons.
Duguesclin the soldier, Henry III. and IV., Francis (31ontmorency (3 kil. north), by the direct rail II. (Mary Stuart's husband), and the twelve
from Paris, a pretty place on a hill, founded Apostles, in the Cr:cur d'Hivre. The oriflamme, or 1008, by Burchard the Bearded, a robber banner of France, which used to be kept here, was chieftain of this part. It gave name to a noble carried in front of the army to the old cry of house, the premier Christian Barons, as they “Montjoie St. Denis," down to the battle of Ayinused to be called; and came to the family of court; there is a fine organ. In the crypt below are Condé with the title of Duke, to which Louis statues and cenotaphs of all the sovereigns, som XIV. added that of Enghein, after the above old as the lith century. place. The large Gothic church of the 14th | The Abbey House, as rebuilt by Cotte, is used as century has some good stained glass. One , an Asylum for orphans of the Legion of Honour, walk through the chestnut Forest leads to | founded in 1809. Omnibuses run to Paris. Nany
corn-mills, breweries, and tannerics; a large sheep | Hughes' Royal Hotel.- A well-conducted excelfair in June. A bridge across Ile St. Denis, in the lent house. Seine, leads to Gennevilliers.
Hotel de Londres, kept by Mr. Charles Fournier, Hotel.-Du Lapin que Fume.
the oldest establishment in the town. Good attendOur line now passes St. Ouen, a place on the Seine,
ance. Table d'hôte at 6 o'clock. with a château, inhabited at various times by several
De l'Europe, close to the steam-packet stations, distinguished personages, and specially noted for
highly recommended. the promise of the charter, here given by Louis XVIII., when re-entering Paris in 1814. The caves
Packham's Hotel du Louvre, facing the terminus about it are used as granaries and icehouses.
of the Paris Railway. Comfortable, and moderate Clignancourt on one side, and Aubervilliers on the
charges. Situated near the station. other, are next passed. Then Montmartre, a hill Du Nord; De la Paix; Univers; De la Gare; 300 feet above the Seine, with a church, citadel, and Croix de Bourgogne. reservoir at the top, whence there is a fine view over
The Boarding Establishment of Mr. Howe, is exParis. It is also marked by its quarries of plaster of cellent. Paris, its windmills, and guinguettes, for pleasure
There is a Buffet and every accommodation at seekers.
the station. Chapelle St. Denis is just outside the Barrière St. Denis, which divides the city from the old province
ENGLISH LIBRARIES AND READING ROOMS.of Ile de France, now called the department de
Mr. Merridew, 60, Rue Napoléon, anıl Mr. Scal's, Seine; and at length the Embarcadère, or
34 and 39, Grande Rue, next door to the Museu:n,
both of which establishments are depôts for the Paris Terminus, is reached, at Clos St. Lazaire,
sale of Bradshaw's Guides and Hand-books. Place Roubaix, near the Barrière. It was opened in 1846. On nibuses, &c., wait on every train. See
Post Office, No. 8, Rue des Vieillards; open from BRADSHAW's Paris Guide and the Continental Guide;
7 a.m. to 8 p.m. and Routes 10 and 34, for Versailles, and other
The English Consul, W. Hamilton, Esq., resides places round Paris.
at the top of Rue des Vieillards, near the sous-pré
fecture; office open from 10 to 2, and 7 to 8, for ROUTE 2
certificates to obtain permits to embark. The per
mit office is at the Douane, on the packet boat quay. Calais and Boulogne to Abbeville, Amiens,
The distance between London and Paris by this and Paris.
route is 70 miles shorter than by way of Calais Distance from Boulogne, 158 miles; seven trains
(with 29 miles of sea), the company's boats being
as regular as those of the government, and the condaily, two express, in 5 to 8 hours.
veniences for landing, &c., equally good. A low BOULOGNE-SUR-MER,
| water landing-stage is nearly completed. Luggage, 7 miles from Aimens; 29 sea miles from Folkestone. | fr. each large package; the porters are civil and
Hotels.- Des Bains et de Belle Vue.--First-| quick. Omnibuses to the railway station. Passenclass hotel for families and gentlemen Mr. E. gers by through trains (in 10 hours) are now not Munton-Houssé, proprietor.
examined till their arrival at the London or Paris Du Pavillon Impérial des Bains de Mer.- A large terminus. Those going on to Marseilles should deand extensive first-rate hotel, admirably situated, clare to that effect, to save delay at Paris. Paris facing the sea. M. Bourgois, proprietor.
time, 9 minutes before London. (See BRADSHAW's Grand Hotel Christol.-A large hotel, well situa- | Continental Railway Guide.) ted, and very good.
English Episcopal Chapel.-Trinity Church, Rue D'Angleterre.--A well situated hotel.
de la Lampe. There are Wesleyan and Scotch Hotel Folkestone.-J. Prevost, proprietor, very services, and a French Protestant chapel. well situated, near the landing-place and the Bath. | Population, 36,270.
OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-Citadel—IIôtel de was, at first, confined in the citadel after his unVille-Museum-Napoléon Column-Fishermen's successful attempt of 1840, when, with a tamo Chapel.
eagle on his fist, le landed here almost alone, from Boulogne, styled sur-Mer, to distinguish it from one of the General Steam Navigation Company's the Boulogne near Paris, is a sous-préfecture boats. The best and newest houses are at Tintel(department Pas-de-Calais), port, military post of leries, on the north, where most of the English the second class, and packet station, on the Channel, residents live. Of the gates only three are left, 112 miles from London. In spite of 6,000 of his the principal one being Porte des Dunes-after the countrymen who live here, an Englishman feels dunes or sand hills which line the shore towards himself at once in a foreign country on landing, Calais. Water is supplied by 17 fountains and a and his first walk up Rue de l'Ecu, is like a scene
riservoir; the lamps are now lit with gas, supplied in a play. The entrance to the harbour lies be
by a usine à gaz. tween two wooden siers or jetties, at the mouth of Among the chief buildings are, Nôtre Dime the Liane, 2,200 feet and 1,640 feet long, which church, a Grecian pile, with a cupola built 1827, on lead up to the Port and Bassin; the former being the site of the cathedral; the bishop's palace, now in the channel of the river. The latter was made a school: the old hitel of the Dukes d'Aumont; by Napoléon, to hold his flat-bottomed transports
and the house which Napoléon stopped at, now for conveying his troops to England. Above it are
rather grandly styled the Palace Impériale; all in three bridges, beyond which the Liane expands
the Upper town. In this part also is the Hôtel de into something like a lake.
Ville, with an old Beffroi or belfry tower, near it, Boulogne was called Gesoriacum Bononia by the 140 feet high. This stands on the site of a castle Romans, after Bononia (now Bologna) in Italy. of the ancient Counts of Boulogne. They used it as a military port, and built a light The Museum, in Grand Rue, has a collection of house here (the Tour d'Ordre), which was carried arms, coins, Roman, and other antiquities, natural away by the sca, 1644, except some traces near the objects, &c., and is open three days a-week. Among baths. Attila attacked it, as did the Northmen, in the coins, notice a medal (now exceedingly rare) the 9th century; and Henry VIII. took it, 1544— struck by Napoléon, bearing the vain-glorious inone of his knights (buried at Hardres, in Kent), scription, (“hooknoscd Cæsar's thrasonical boast'') carrying off its gates, with a famous image of the 'Frappée à Londres, 1804,' but really struck at Virgin from Nôtre Dame, which was afterwards Paris. The public library (bibliothèque) attaci.ed returned, but destroyed with the cathedral at the to this contains 22,000 volumes and 300 MSS., some Revolutio!). Hence the old signs of Bull and Gate | being illuminated. (Boulogne Gate) and Bull and Mouth, in London. There are also a Palais de Justice, hospitals, Edward VI. cave it up to the French six years barracks, many French and English schools, three ater. Napoléon intended to invade England from convents, a house in Rue de Château, replacing
ere, and collected 300,000 men under Soult, for one which Le Sage (the author of Gil Blas) died in, that purpose, but never ventured out of port. In and a theatre in Rue Monsigny, on the site of the connection with this, it is curious to note that the Cordeliers' convent. Campbell, the poet, died in British army, when they took Paris, 1814, encamped Rue St. Jean. The handsome new Baths have in the Bois de Boulogne, near that city-a wood, it | dancing, music, billiard, and reading-rooms attached. may be remarked, first named after a branch Subscriptions, 20 fr. a month; a bath, 1 fr. The religious house of this Boulogne by the seaside. bath-keeper, M. Hennin, is a fine looking man,
Boulogne is divided into Haute and Basse Ville covered with medals, received at various times for (Upper and Lower town); the former, on the hills, saving the lives of more than seventy persons from being the oldest. Here are Vauban's Citadel, in drowning. The races in August attract many cluding some older towers, and the old walls, now visitors to Boulogne. turned into a pleasant promenade, from which you | The Napoléon Column, one mile out of the town, may catch a glimpse of Dover Louis Napoléon was begun 1804, by the Grande Armée, and finished by Louis XVIII.; a statue of Napoléon was put up, Rue (10 miles), in department de la Somme, is 1811. It is in the composite style, 180 fect high, reached after crossing the Authic, and has the 13 feet diameter, with a staircase within, and com- | Church of St. Esprit, with a front richly sculptured, mands a fine prospect. Beyond this is a Chapel besides its carved pillars, roof, &c. It is still a containing ex voto offerings of the fishermen, who place of pilgrimage, and stands on a little stream form a distinct class here, as elsewhere. It deserves which runs up to the field of Crécy, a few miles a visit.
east, and Monties forest, where Charles, the In the neighbourhood are Mont Lambert, Mont favourite son of Francis I., died of the plague, Outreau, Mont St. Etienne, and other points of 1545. A coach to Le Crotoy, down the Somme. view, and remains of a Roman road to Vissant, the
Noyelle (7 miles) is then reached, with a view ancient Portus Itius; the gardens at Denaire, and
of the sea. the châteaux of Cregni, Colombert, and de la Co
Fro:n this a branch line of six miles strikes off cherie; the botanic gardens of Mont Pelé; the
across the river, to quarries of Marquise and Ferques. A good mineral
St. Valery-sur-Somme, a small bathingspring on the Wimille road.
place, from which William the Conqueror sailed By rail to Calais (see Route 1.) Leaving the Boulogne terminus, near Place
to England in 1066. Population, 3,700. Notice Belle Vue, you ascend tho Liane.
the fishermen's chapel and the ruins of Tour de
Harold. Pont de Brique (4 miles). Beyond this is
Ilotel.-Les Armes de France. Clocheville, where Napoléon once lodged; then
This line brings Tréport within six hours of Paris. Hardelot forest, and Condotte, with abundance of
Coaches to that bathing-place, to Eu, and Caycu. game and rabbits. Next comes
[Along the road to Dieppe you pass the Eu Neufchâtel (4) miles); and
(34 kil. west-south-west) and its Château, the Etaples (8} miles), a decayed fishing port, on a
• noble seat of the Dukes of Guise and of Louis sandy plain, at the Canche's mouth, which the
Philippe, who, on his visit to England, emRomans used, having some good old houses, and
barked at TRÉPORT (a little below Eu), which remains of a château, built 1160. Population, 2,600.
has some fine old mills, and a curious church. The viaduct across the river is 984 feet long. The
• Hero Queen Victoria landed and was received flat, marshy sea border of this part of Boulonnais
by Louis Philippe, 1843. was in old times appropriately called Marquenterre.
The Château d'Eu, standing in a vast park, conMontreuil-Verton (7 miles), or Verton;
tains a large collection of portraits made by Montreuil being some distance off, as under. Coach the king, 70 principal apartments, 250 inferior to Hesdir., beyond which lies Agincourt.
ones, with stables, &c., for 130 horses and 60 [MONTREUIL-SUR-MER (8 kil. east), a sous-pré carriages. fecture of 3,950 souls, and fortified town of the Hotel.-De Commerce. second class, on a hill by the Canche, where
At 30 kil. further is Dieppe (see Route 8.)] Cæsar built a fort, called Vinacum. It was re From Noyelle it is 74 miles to built 878, by Heltgaut or Hergot, along with
- ABBEVILLE, the abbey church and castle, and called Monastoriolum, whence comes the modern
49 miles from Boulogne, 1203 from Paris. A name. The houses, divided into Haute and buffet for refreshments.. .." Basse Ville, are of brick. A large citadel, with | HOTELS.-- Tête de Bæuf; St. Jacques; De France; a view of the river and flat sea-coast, replaces Du Lion Noir; Du Commerce. the castle, of which the gate towers are left; A sous-préfecture and large fortified town, of and St. Saulve's Abbey is now the Hotel de Ville. 20,060 inhabitants, on the river Somme, in departThe flamboyant church has a fine tall buttressed | ment Somme, and the old province of Picardy, door-way. The Montreuil peaches are cele about 18 miles from the sea. Under the name of brated.]
| Abbatis Villa, it belonged to St. Riquier's Abbey;