« AnteriorContinuar »
St. Georges), which belonged to Philippe Auguste, 1 Steamer to Melun and Montereau Coaches to and has a good church and several conntry houses. Melun, Fontainebleau (see Route 20), Milly,
Ablon (11 mile), in a pretty spot, had a Pro Beaumont, Ponthierry. Essonne (2 kil. southtestant church, which Sully used to attend. west) on that river, was the old Axona, or There are large caves here.
Exona, and a country-seat which Clotaire Athis-Mons (2 miles), on the Orge, near the gave to St. Denis' abbey. Here is a large Seine, a place of the 11th century, where Louis X. fancy paper factory. Population, 2,700. and his grandson Philippe le Bel had a seat. Popu By Mennecy (5 miles), and La Ferté Alais (5$ lation, 770.
miles), &c., to Malesherbes (15 miles), in a Juvisy (23 miles), where the branch railway marshy part of Essonne, under a Castle. Here turns off to Corbeil (as below), is on the Orge, and a short branch turns off, við Manchecomat, to has the château of Marquis de Montessuy, which Pithiviers (12 miles), a sous-préfecture, in dobelonged to the Brancas and Sevennes families. partment Loiret (population, 4,800), over & The park was laid out by Lenôtre. At the post ravine on the Oeuf. It was a strong place, house of Fromenteau, Napoleon first heard of the which the Prince of Condé took twice in the capitulation of Paris, in 1814. Population, 410. League wars, and which Henry IV. dis[To Corbell. A short branch rail, out of the mantled. You see here many Gothic houses,
Orléans line, running four trains a-day, in the tower of an abbey, a venerable church, about an hour.
the spire of which, 270 feet high, was burnt in Châtillon, on the Seine, here covered with villas, 1863, and fragments of the walls, &c. It was
is noted for a fête champêtre, in May, and is given up to pillage by Platoff in 1815, for, opposite Draveil and Champrosay.
shooting the officer sent to parley. Statue to
Poisson, the mathematician, born here 17:1. Riz, or Ris-Orangis (2} miles), at the suspension bridge on the Seine, built by Aguado, the
In the neighbourhood are the grotto of St. banker, whose seat was here. The château was
Gregory, and remains of a castle, which inhabited by Henry IV. That of Fromont
Henry I. of England burnt. At Yèvre-lebelongs to M. Soulange Bodin, and has a well
Cha'el are the extensive ruins of ano: her arranged horticultural garden. De Thou, the
castle. historian, once resided here. A little further
Trade in grain, wine, honey, saffron, gateaux up the river are Doujons, Soisy-sous-Étoiles,
d'amandes (almond cakes), and pâtés d'alouettes and Petit Bourg, so called after the château of
(lark pies), for which it is noted. the Duc d'Antin, where Louis XIV. used to Hotels.--De l'Ecu (Crown Piece); De la Ville visit Madame Montespan. A House of Correc d'Orléans. Coaches to Orléans, Fontainetion for young criminals occupies the site. A bleau, &c. hospital, founded by the Duchess of Bourbon,
The next stations to Malesherbes are La Brosse is also here.
(31 mile), &c., to Beaune-le-Roi (13 mile); Evry (2} miles), has an old church, and a popula
from which it is 10 miles to Montargis, on tion of 880.
the line to Nevers (see Route 20).) Corbeil (2 miles), at the five-arch bridge on the
Savigny-sur-Orge (11 mile), a village as old Seine, in a pleasant spot, where the Essonne
as 925, with a castle kuilt by the chamberla'n of joins, and turns forty flour mills, is a sous-préfec
Charles VIII., 1480, now belonging to the Prince s ture (Šeinc-et-Oise) of 5,220 souls, having a
| of Eckmühl. Villiers, near this, was the properiy large trade in grain, a halle-au-blé (corn mar
| of Madame Brinvilliers, the poisoner. Viaduct to ket), St. Spire's old church, a library of 4,000 Epinay-sur-Orge (11 mile), a little way from volumes, and an immense granary of six Ville Moisson, on the Orge, where the Yvette stories, large enough to feed all Paris for a joins. A château here, and a church with a good fortnight. The second wife of Philippe Au- "John the Baptist" in it. St. Geneviève forest is a guste died here, 1236.
| little further. At Longpont is one of the best churches out of Paris for design, but unfortunately | the Loire, which here flows between cultivated in a state of decay. It belonged to a rich abbey hills, 426 feet high. Much of the town has been here, and once had (perhaps has now) the "real" rebuilt since a fire in 1723. It is the Roman head of St. Denis (i.e., Dionysius the Areopagite) Castellodunum; and has a Hôtel de Ville in an old according to a Latin rhyme,
convent in the square, a good point of view. Its “Nostri tenent cænobitæ
castle is chiefly of the 15th century, but the great Caput Areopagitæ."
keep is as old as Thibault le Tricheur (i. e., the This makes the seventh head of that famous per
Tricker), who founded it, 935; and is 96 feet high,
and 188 feet round. It was taken by the Germans, sonage known to exist-and all genuine; others
October, 1870. being at St. Denis abbey, Nôtre Dame, &c. Coaches
The people are so quick that there is a proverb, to Longjumeau and Balezy.
“Il est de Châteaudun ; il entend à demi-mot." St. Michel-sur-Orge (2} miles). Here are the
| Jean Toulain, who invented enamel painting, was workshops of the company. Coaches to Montlhéry,
born here. Linas, Marcoussis.
Hotels.-Grand Monarque; Place Imperial. Con[MONTLHÉRY, or Mont-le-héry (2 kil. west), on a veyances to Chartres, &c.
hill-side, is noted for the ancient Tower which Vendôme (26 miles), an old sous-préfecture rises over it, and belonged to the strong feudal | on the Loire, in the department Loirc-et-Cher castle, built 999, by Thibauld-File-Etoupe (i.'e.,
(population, 9,360), having the ruined walls tow thread, from his light hair). It had juris- ) and six towers of the castle of the Ducs de Vendiction over 133 fiefs and 300 parishes, so that dôme; also the cathedral church of Ste. Croix, a it was often troublesome, even to the sovereign college, a barrack (in the old Benedictine convent), at Paris. Five gates in the ruined walls lead
marble fountain, &c. up to the Tower, which looks like the Eddy
But it is most remarkable for the Boy Crusades, stone lighthouse, and is 101 feet high, and 9 to which originated here, 1262, with a shepherd youth, 4 thick. It has been restored, and commands a Stephen. About ten thousand children were enfine range of view. The English had possession couraged by their infatuated parents and the of it in 1360. Porte Baudry, in the town, built priesthood, to follow him to Marseilles, to embark 1015, was rebuilt 1589, and restored by Bona for the Holy Land. After suffering great hardships parte in "l'An VIII. de la Republique." Popu on the way to this port, the survivors were trapped lation, 2,800. There is a theatre, with some
on board ships for Alexandria, and sold there as
on board ships f good shops. A battle was fought here, 1465, slaves. Here Perron, a general in Scindiah's serbetween Louis XI. and his brother.)
vice, had a fine estate, and died. Bretigny (1} mile), in a pretty valley, where Trade in cloth, paper, fruit, &c. John of France made a Treaty with Edward III.,
Château-Regnault (19 miles), with the donjon then master of the best part of France. Popula
of a Castle, built, 1109, by Regnault, its seigneur; tion, 830.
and occupied by Henry IV. in the civil wars. (Here the direct line to Tours, via Vendôme, parts
Hence, it is 17 miles to Tours (see below).] off. It passes Dourdan (15} miles), an old place in a forest, on the Orge, having a ruined keep (212 Marrolles-en-Hurepoix (31 miles), near the feet high), and eight other towers of its ancient railway, has á merino-sheep farm at Chanteloup, castle (built, they say, by Gourtrand, King of which was a country-seat of Philippe-le-Bel. Orléans, in the 6th century); also a double spire Bouchet powder-mill is near this. Coaches to church, and a good timbered hall, built 1223, by Arpajon, Boissy, and St. Chéron. Louis VIII.
[ARPAJON (2 kil. west), where the Remarde joins Gault St. Denis (33 miles).
the Orge, was called Châtres till 1770, when its Châteaudun (15 miles), a sous-préfecture (de seigneur, Louis de Saverne, was made Marquis partment Eure-et-Loire) of 6,750 souls, who make of Arpajon. A large church and timbered halle coverlets, &c., and stands in a picturesque part of ! here.-At St. Chéron (11 kil. south-west), is
the ine natural funtain of La Rachêe. At 1 Geoffrey St. Hilaire, the naturalist, was born St. Vrain, is a domed pavilion, built by Madame here. Diane de Poictlers was Duchess of Étampes, du Barri.
and, upon the death of Henry II., retired to Jeuvre, LONGJUMEAU (3 kil. west), in the pleasant valley
near the town. Trade in grain, flour, soap, &c. of the Yvette, is older than the 9th century.
There are more than 40 mills in and around the The square church of St. Martin has a good town, and a public granary. Gothic portico.)
Hotel.-Grand Couriers. Bouray (24 miles), on the Juine, a little past Coaches to Anneau, Inville, and Sermaise. Mesnil Voisin, seat of the Duke of Polignac. We now begin to traverse the wide plain of Coaches to La Ferté-Alep8, Vaire, and Male- | Le Beauce, where corn and hemp are raised. sherbes, all on the Essonne, to which Juine river
Monnerville (81 miles). From this there is a rung. Malesherbes belonged to the bold defender of Louis XVI. at his trial; formerly to one of the
coach to Méréville (5 kil. south-east), on the Juine, mistresses of Henry IV., Henriette d'Entraigues.
the seat of Comte de St. Romain, in a fine park, in
which are a temple, Swiss cottage, statues, and Lardy (14 mile), on the Juine, where they mako
memorials of Captain Cook, and La Peyrouse.lace, edgings, &c. Here Marguerite do Valois
Near Champuisteux (16 kil. east of this), is Vignay, lived.
where the Chancellor l'Hôpital died. Etrechy (34 miles), on the same river, near which, in a wooded spot, are remains of the old
Angerville (3 miles), the last place in departfoudal castle of Roussay. Gypsum quarries here.
ment Seine-et-Oise. Population, 1,627. Here DsPopulation, 1,200. Chamaraude château is one of
voust and the army of the Loire agreed to acknowMansard's.
ledge Louis XVIII., in 1815. Coach to Chartres, Etampes (5 miles), on the high road to Orléans
40 kil. west-north-west (see Route 15). and on two little branches of the Juine, is a sous-/ Toury (84 miles), in department Eure-et-Loire, préfecture of 8.220 souls, called Stampae in old close to the border of Loiret, has a population of times; near which Tifierry defeated his uncle, | 1,300, with sugar works and an old château. Clotaire, 604. It is chiefly a long street, with good
Coaches to Janville, Châteaudun, Courtalain (seat promenades round it. At the Palais de Justice, on
of the Montmorencies), Droué, Montdoubleau (and a rising point, are remains of a castle, built by lo
le its feudal ruin), St. Calais (Route 15), and Chartres. roi Robert for his wife, Constance. The wife of Chateau-Gaillard (41 miles), a village. Philippe Auguste was confined here, and it was Artenay (31 miles). Population, 1,300. Near razed by Henry IV. in 1'90, except the Quinette this are the ruins of a famous chateau, the lords of tower, the sides of which are rounded on the plan. which were so powerful in the feudal age that it It belongs to the curé.
resisted all the forces of Louis le Gros in three Nôtre Dame church is a large Gothic pile, of the
several attacks. There is also a church of the 10th 13th century, with a fine Norman tower, and century. At Patay (15 kil. west), the great Tulbot battlemented walls. St. Martin and St. Bazil are was, for the first time, defeated (1428), and taken also worth notice the latter for its restored portal, | prisoner by the French, who were led on by Joan and the former for its detached tower, which visibly of Arc. inclines. Notice, too, the old Hôtel de Ville, lately Chevilly (34 miles). Population, 1,450. Here restored and enlarged; and the house of Anne de the sandy plain of the Orléanais begins, with the Puisseleu, one of the mistresses of Francis I. In forest of Orléans, which covers 94,000 acres. the 15th century, fireworks were invented here by Cercottes (2} miles), in the forest, the popula. & towngman, who was nick-named Jean Boutefeu. tion being wood-cutters. At Les Aubrais, the line Petrified fossils are found in the gypsum quarries; to Tours and Bourdeaux turns off; and 64 miles and the Tour de Brunehaut is near-a fino seat, from Cercottos, is the Orléans terminus, near Porte belonging to Viscoyut Viart.
| Bannier, in that faubourg.
turning the tide of conquest against the English, 74 miles from Paris, 287 from Bordeaux.
who thenceforth lost all ground in France, but Hotels.-D'Orléans ; De la Boule d'Or; Du
| revenged themselves on poor Joan, by burning her
for a witch at Rouen, two years after. It was held Loiret.
by the Huguenots, or Protestants, in the civil Conveyances: By railway to Nantes, Bordeaux,
wars of the 16th century, when it escaped another Bourges, Limoges, Clermont-Ferrand, Lyons, &c.
siege, by the sudden death of the Duke of Guise. Omnibuses, to Ormes, Olivet, $t. Mesnin, St.
The river here is free from islands, and is lined Denis, Bionné, Checy, St. Ay, &c.
with quays (one built 1810), at each end of the Steamers, on the Loire.
modern stone bridge, which was built 1751, on nine OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-Cathedral-Churches
arches, and is 1,063 feet long (the centre arch 105 of St. Pierre and St. Aignan-Hôtel de Ville
feet wide), but has not much water under it in the Statues of Joan of Arc-Museum-Agnes Sorel's
summer. From this Rue Royale, the best street, house.
leads up to the Place du Martroy, and Rue BanDuring the late war, the Army of the Loire, nier, dividing the city into two parts, having the gathered here, was driven out, 11th October, 1870,
Cathedral, Hôtel de Ville, préfecture, &c., on the by General Von der Tann; who, in his turn, was
east, and Joan of Arc's house, the hospital, &c., on obliged to evacuate the city, and sustained a partial
the west. In Place Martroy, a tasteless bronze defcat at Coulmiers, 9th November, from General
(now removed to the south side of the river, oppod'Aurelle de Paladins. This was the only con
site the bridge), was in 1855 replaced by Foyatier's siderable advantage gained by the French during
statue of the Pucelle on horseback, representing her the war, but d'Aurelle was unable to follow it up, in armour, with her banner and sword, returning and advance towards Paris, as had been planned. thanks to God, at the crisis of her triumph here. Orléans was finally taken by the Germans, 5th It is about 30 feet high, including the pedestal, the December, under Prince Frederick Charles, with fourteen bas-reliefs round which are just finished. the loss of 10,000 men and 77 guns, on the French Much of the old town consists of dirty irregular side.
streets and places, with many curiously carved Population, 51,000. Chief town of department timber houses. The faubourgs are better built ; Loiret (once part of Orléanais), seat of a bishop, the largest being that on the Paris road; another, &c., on the north bank of the Loire, in a wide called St. Marceau, is across the bridge. Pleasant plain, near the forest of Orléans. It was the country houses lie beyond. One of the best promeGenabum of the Carnutes when Cæsar burnt it, nades is on the boulevard or site of the old walls, and being rebuilt by Aurelian, A.D. 272, took his of which a piece 25 feet high is left, supposed to name, Aurelianum, of which the modern name is a be Roman; two old towers also remain at one of corruption. It is noted, not only as the head of a the gates, near the Croix de la Pucelle, where the
created by Philippe de Valois for his English were first driven back. A new street,
died 1375), and revived by Louis Rue Jeanne d'Arc, leads to XIII. for his brother Gaston, whose descendant is St. Croix Cathedral, one of the best looking in the young Count de Paris, grandson of Louis France, rising above everything else in the town. Philippe; but also for the various sieges it has It was rebuilt about 1,000, by Bishop Arnoul, but withstood. In 451 it was saved from Attila by having been ruined by the Huguenots, in 1567, it Actius, the Roman commander, about 570, Chil has been again gradually rebuilt (since Henry IV. derie rescued it from Odoacer; and again it was laid the first stone, 1601), on a regular cross-shaped saved, in 1429, when the English, who held nearly plan, in the Gothic style (spoilt by a mixture of three-fourths of France, and had almost taken the Greek), with an east apse. It was finally comcity, were driven back by the famous Jeanne d'Arc, pleted in 1829. Over the three portals and roso the Pucelle, or “Maid of Orléans," a simple shep- | windows of the front are two cruciform towers, in herdess, of Domremy. Believing herself inspired four decreasing stories, elegantly carved, and 262 to save her country, she became tho means of feet high. The central clock-tower spire is nearly
as high; the roof of the nave is very lofty, and | XIII. Pothier, the lawyer, and Dolet, the learned the high altar and Virgin chapel are richly deco- printer, who was burnt as an atheist, 1546, were rated.
natives. St. Pierre-le-Puellier, the oldest of allthe churches, / Trade in refined sugar, wine, brandy, corn, in the worst part of the town, is part Romanesque, pottery, &c. small, and ill lit, with a curious inscription to a Lines to Chartres (see page 56) and to Pithviers young girl (puelle), called Rose of Paris. Its (see page 158) are in progress. ancient crypt, brought to light in 1852, deserves
ROUTE 35–Continued. attention.
Orléans, down the Loire, to Tours, Poitiers, st. Aignan's is a good Gothic structure, much
Angoulême, Bordeaux. decayed, with a Romanesque crypt. The chapel
Distance from Orléans to Tours, 115 kil., or 711 of St. Jacques, now a salt store, has a good front,
miles. Eight trains a day to Tours, one in 2} to and was built about 1155, by Louis le Jeune, it is 31 hours. said. Another, St. Euverte's, also a magazine, (as
Leaving Orléans at Faubourg Bannier you return well as a third, St. Paul's) has a tower built 1566.
to This is to be restored to its original use. The Aubrais, for the line to Tours, which keeps the Grand Seminary Chapel contains some wood
north side of the Loire. carvings, designed by Lebrun, originally for the ! The first station you pass is chapel at Versailles.
La Chapelle St. Mesmin (4 miles), so called Among other buildings worth notice is the half from an abbey, of which there are slight remains at Gothic brick Hôtel de Ville, in Place d'Etapes, begun a country house. by Jacques Groslot, for Charles VIII., and finished St. Ay (4 miles), in a pretty spot among vine1493; it offers a decorated façade, restored 1850-54; | yards. Population, 1,200. and in the court behind it there stands an ancient [At 5 kil. south is square tower or belfry. At the entrance is a copy CLÉRY-SUR-LOIRE, on a hill, in the dreary plain of the Princess Marie's well-known beautiful of La Sologne, where stands the fine church of Statue of the Maid, in armour, embracing her sword. Nôtre Dame (rebuilt after the English leader, In one room Mary Stuart received the parting Salisbury, had burnt the first one, 1428), by breath of her first husband, Francis II. At the the cruel and superstitious devotee, Louis XI. ancient Hôtel de Ville (not far off) is placed the and containing the Virgin's image, a model of public Musée, founded 1825, containing between which he carried on his hat; also his tomb and 500 and 600 paintings and designs of the French effigy, by Bourdin (not older than 1622), besitles school, objects of natural history, and a gallery of an excellent doorway and choir, with mosaic mediæval antiquities, with a portrait and statuette work, carved stalls, &c. Dunois, the Bastard of the Maid. The Palace de Justice was built
of Orléans, lies in the Longueville chapel; 1821, with a portico of four pillars and sphinxes. but, on examination, in 1854, his coffin was There are also a bourse, large theatre, halle-aux
found to have been opened. The house of grains (corn market), built 1826, a public abattoir Louis XI. is close to the church. At some (built 1825), a bibliothèque of 37,000 volumes distance is the Butte de Mézières, a tumulus 43 (besides MSS. and coins), a college, Protestant feet high.] orphan house, jardin botanique, &c.
Mehung, or Mehun (37 miles), at the suspenSeveral of the old Gothic houses deserve exami- sion bridge on the river, has an old château, built nation, such as the maison d'Agnes Sorel, No. 15, by Louis le Gros, and taken by the English. It Rue du Taubourg, with a highly carved front; contains also an old collegiate battlemented church No. 45, in the same street, called Joan of Arc's; and was a seat of the Orléans bishops. Population, the maison de Francis I., No.28, Rue Recouvrance, 4,650, who make hats, leather, paper, &c. Meung. so called, because of his arms on it; the Renais the continuer of the Romance of the Rose, wass sance house of Diane de Poictiers, in Rue Neuve : 1 native. A viaduct on 25 large arches, 952 feet long Lad the Hôtel de Crênaux. of the time of Louis ! crosses tho Mauves, neaf