« AnteriorContinuar »
and was given up to the English as part of King John's ransom, after the battle of Crécy; but it soen returned to the possession of its own sovereign. The Germans held it 1870-1.
Some of the streets are pretty good, but the greater part are old-fashioned, narrow, and illpaved. Its houses are chiefly brick, with a few sone luildings, and several ancient-looking ones, of wood. Trees are planted on the ramparts, but the view is not very enticing; yet at one time its reputation as an agreeable resort drew many persons of rank hither, whose houses have lately disappeared. Some traces of the castle of the Counts of Ponthicu are seen in the prison. Here Iluzh Capet, the founder of the Capets, once resided. It has an old salt-house, once used for tlie gabelle, a communal college, theatre, foundling hospital, &c., and a public library of 25,000 volumes. At the latter are busts of natives (Sanson the geographer, Millevoye the poet, Lesueur the composer, &c.', and a copy of the Gospels, in gold letters, on purple rellum, which Charlemagne gave to St. Riquier's Abber.
At the house of M. Boucher de Perthes is a fine collection of spear-heads, hatchets, animal remains, and other marks of Celtic and pre-historic ages. discovered in the valley of the Somme, first at St. Achuel.
But the Gothic Cathedral of St. Wulfran is the niost remarkable object. It has two towers, 171 feet high, in its noble west front. built by Cardinal d'Amboise, in the flamboyant style of the 16th century, and decorated with niched figures of saints The triple portal is enriched with carvings of the apostles, the Annunciation of the Virgin, &c. The arches of the nave are also good, but the rest of the building is inferior.
Manufactures of fine linen (at the Champ de Feire, or Fair Field), first established by Colbert, velvets, carpets, muslins, cordage, leather; and a brisk trade in grain, wire, cider, linen, and woollen goods, &c.
Diligences from Abbeville to Dieppe, at 11 morn. and 3 aft.; also conveyances to Huxy-le-Château, Hesdin, Blangly, Neufchâtel, Crécy, and Agincourt. Boat to St. Valery: [From Abbeville, along the road to Arras, we pass ST. RIQUIER (10 kil, east-north-east) and the re- !
mains of its abbey, founded by Dagobert, in the
walls, are seen.
pass near the field of CRESCY, or CRÉCY (16 kil, north-east), in a forest,
where the Black Prince (1346) defeated the French, 30,000 being slain. The walls of the uindmill, in which they say Edward III. stood to watch the battle, as related by Froissart, are crowded with names of Englishmen who
have visited this memorable spot. HESDIN (35 kil. from Abbeville, further on), in
department Pas-de-Calais, on the Canche, was founded (1544) by the Dukes of Savoy, in the midst of a beautiful country, flat, but well wooded and cultivated. The air is healthy, and there is a good Hôtel de Ville. Abbé Prévost was a native. Population, 3,500. Near it are
traces of Old Hesdin, or Ilidisnum. AGINcount, or Azincourt (12 kil. beyond), in the
old province of Picardy, a small village, with traces of a castle, 16 miles from Crescy, and equally memorable for a great victory gained by Henry V., 25th of October, 1415, with 9.000 men, against a French force of about 55,000, chiefly by means of his archers, with their clothyard shafts, stationed in a wood still here. Shakspere's Henry V. speaks of 8,400 “knights, esquires. and gallant gentlemen;" who fell. besides others. Fluellen, in that play, is the David Gam, or Squinting David, of Welsh history, who told the king on this occasion, after counting the enemy, that “there were enough to kill, enough to make prisoners, and enough to run away." This victory left Henry V. master of the best part of France, which was quickly overrun by the English, but as quickly lost in the next reign.
FRUGES (5 kil. from this), under a slope, has a | Eloi, called the “Church of the Dunes," from tho mineral water. At 31 kil. beyond, is St. Omer dunes, downs, or sand-hillocks, which line this (see Route 1.)]
terribly flat coast. It has an anchorage lying at The line ascends the Somme, after leaving some distance, in the road, and is as noted for Abbeville; the next station to which is
smugglers in peace, as for its privateering exploits Rémy, or Pont-Rémy (5 miles), which has a during war. Its most special hero is Jean Bart, ruined castle; then
who was a native, and whose statue is in Place Longpré (5 miles); from whieh a branch rail Royale. Jean Gauthier, Jean Lion, who styled was opened 1872 to Doullens (see page 8) and himself Godts Vrient, i. e., God's Friend, Koster, Prevent.
and the Jacobsons, are almost equally celebrated Hangest (4 miles), near which is the camp of personages here. l'Etoile, an old Roman fort. The next is
Canals run inland to Bergues, Ostend, Bruges, Picquigny (5 miles), and its old castle, best &c. White brick houses of two stories make up known for the treaty signed here between Edward the neat broad streets, but there is a want of good IV. and Louis XI., in 1475.
water. Many of the people, workmen and others, Ailly (3 miles) belonged to a noble family of live in cellars. The town is defended by ramparts, that name, two of whom (according to Voltaire), the citadel, Fort Risbau, &c.; and has two Basins, father and son, taking opposite sides, fought hand one of which was restored 1794, and frigates to hand, at the battle of Ivry. At 6 miles beyond launched in it. There is a jetty at the quay, bethis is
sides a long pier over the flats. A Light-tower, 194 Amiens, on the main line as in Route 1.
feet high, stands near the basin for the chasse
marées, at the mouth of the canal which leads up ROUTE 3.
to the Port. Dunkirk to Hazebrouck and Paris. The Hôtel de Ville, built 1644, is an old-fashioned Distance to Hazebrouck, 41 kil. or 254 miles. pile, with a low spire. A solid square clock-tower, Four trains daily.
of brick, 154 feet high, called Tour de l'Eglise, beDUNKIRK, or Dunkerque,
cause one part of the church is now cut off from it
by the road. This Church (St. Eloi's) is Gothic, 189 miles from Paris; about 40 from Dover. HOTELS.-Chapeau Rouge, clean and good ; Du
with a handsome Grecian portico of ten pillars, Sauvage.
added by Louis, and contains some paintings. At English Protestan! Chapel in Rue-des-Seurs Blan
the Church of St. Jean are two pictures by Vandyke
and Guido, to be seen for a fee. The Jesuits' ches. British Consul, Col. the Hon. B. Wodehouse.
church is replaced by the college; the public P.ssengers for Belgium, &c., should have their
library contains 7,000 volumes. The Museum is luggage plombé, to save examination crossing
rich in Flemish pictures. Large barracks are also France.
seen, a salle de spectacle, school of navigation, &c.; High water at moon's full and change, 11h. 18m.
and there are sea and other baths. The FisherOBJECTS OF NOTICE. — Hôtel de Ville –
men's Chapel des Dunes, near the shore, is, as usual, Museum of Paintings-St. Eloi and St. Jean's
crowded with votive offerings. Genuine Flemish is churches - Statue of Jean Bart — Fishermen's
spoken all round Dunkirk. church.
Its position has made it the scene of many conPopulation, 32,000. A sous-préfecture in depart- tests. A castle was built by the Counts of Flanment Nord, a bustling port, and military post of ders, which the English burnt, 1383; they took the the second class, on the Belgian frontier. The town, 1538, but gave it up to Spain the next year. cleanliness of Dunkirk, its cheap living, and the The French (under Condé) took it, 1558, but regood character borne by the Flemish servants, stored it immediately; again, in 1658, it was taken have attracted a number of English here. It grew | by Turenne at the Battle of the Dunes, given up to out of a church founded in the 7th century, by St. Cromwell, but sold, in 1662, by Charles II. to Louis XIV., who fortified it. This happened when , and other signs, show that this flat was once covered Clarendon was building his great house in Picca- by the sea. The vier takes in part of the North dilly, which the mob nicknamed “Dunkirk House." Sea (even to Dover in clear weather), 32 fortified The fortifications were razed, 1715, but afterwards towns, and about 100 villages, including Dunkirk, restored. The Duke of York tried to take it, 1793, Nieuport, Ostend, Bruges, Ypres, Courtray, Lille, but without success. Admiral Roussin was born Bethune, St. Omer, Calais, Hazebrouck, Gravelines, here.
&c., extending above 30 miles every way. General Manufactures of ropes, sugar, candles, &c., and a Vandamme, who fought at Waterloo, was born good trade in eaux-de-vie, gin, soap, salt, tobacco, here, and his house and gardens are shown. butter, fish, chcese, beer, grain, pottery, &c.
Hazebrouck (61 miles), on the main line, as in Conveyances : By rail, to Lille, Brussels, Paris, &c. Route 1. Here the line to Poperinge (13 miles), By steamer to Havre, on Saturday (10 and 20 francs, and Ypres (6 miles), over the Belgian frontier, in 20 hours), to Rotterdam (10 and 20 francs, in 12 parts off. hours), Ilamburg, Copenhagen; by canal-boat to
Paris to Douai, Valenciennes, Mons, and BRADSIAW'S Continental Railway Guide.)
Brussels. [From Dunkirk, along the coast, you pass
Distance, 231 miles, or 370 kil. Trains, in 8 to
12 hours. LAFRENOUCK (3 miles); then Laylcoote, near the Belgian border (6 miles from Dunkirk),
Douai, as in Route 1. The next station is across which, the first place you come to is
Montigny (51 miles); then Furnes, with its two churches.]
Somain (41 miles), where the junction of the The first station from Dunkirk, towards Paris, is
branch from Busigny, on the St. Quentin line, takes Bergues (5 miles), a small frontier post, on the
place, by way of Cambrai and Bouchain. Between Colme, and a canal, which brings vessels of 300
the latter (a small fortress and sous-préfecture) and tons up from the sea. It stands among marshes,
Somain, there is, at Denain, a line to the coal mines and has often suffered from war, having been taken
of St. Anzin, near Valenciennes; with a pillar or pillagcd about sixteen times. It has an Hôtel de
| standing on the spot where Marshal Villars routed Ville, built 1664, with a good collection of pictures;
ile Allies, 1712. a finc belfry, 164 feet high, shaped like St. George's
Wallers (53 miles), in a forest. Then new tower at Westminster; two towers of St. Win
Raismes (34 miles), with its coal mines and no:'s abbey, which serve for sea marks; and a good | foundries; and 41 miles further is public library of 5,000 volumes. Cardinal Dubois
VALENCIENNES. was abbot of St. Winnoc's, which was destroyed 173 miles from Paris. Travellers from Belgium in 1753.
are examined by the douaniers at the station. The trade is in butter, cheese, grain (for which HOTELS,-Du Commerce; Des Princes; Du Mouthere is a large market), lace, eaux-de-vie, &c. ton Blanc; De Moulin; De Brussels; Des Flandre. Population, 6,030.
OBJECTS OF Notice.-Rubens' pictures, at Esquelbeca (54 miles), is followed by
the Hôtel de Ville and St. Gery's Church-Theatro Arneske (41 miles); then
-Museum. Cassel (41 miles), an old town, once fortified, A sous-préfecture, in department Nord, a largo and having a parish church of the 13th century, strongly-fortified town, and second-class military part of a Jesuits' convent, a Flemish mairie, two station on the frontier, formerly the capital of (out of six) gates, &c., is most remarkable for the Hainault, in the midst of a coalfield and thriving prospect it commands from the hill on which it manufactures. It is well built, and divided into stands (800 feet high), over the flat and populous two parts by the Estcaut, or Schelde, and has one country around. It was once a Roman station; of Vauban's citadels. Population, 25,000. and an anchor found here, 1815, about 12 foct down, / Among the best buildings aro-St. Gery's Church, founded 1225, by Jeanne, daughter of Baldwin, em-1 century. The Spaniards at one time held it, peror of Constantinople, 171 feet long, with two of and the Allies took it, 1793. Population 5,800. Rubens' Pictures; the half Gothic Hôtel de Ville, Nails, &c., are made. Mademoiselle Clairon, built 1612, with three pictures by the same master; the actress, was a native. Near it is Ermitage, public library of 18,000 volumes, and MSS., and the the seat of the Duc de Croi.] Museum, containing minerals, armour, pictures, &c. After Valenciennes, the next station is Its tall clock tower, 180 feet high, built 1237, fell Blanc-Misseron (7 miles), near the Belgian with a crash in 1843. An academy of painting, frontier, with a douane. Then comes sculpture, and architecture was founded, 1782, by | Quievrain (f mile further), the Belgian douane. Baron Pujol, a native of this town. At the hospi- | Here change carriages. To Mons is 10 miles; and tal, founded 1751, is a good chapel; the salle de Brussels is 394 miles from this. (See BRADspectacle (theatre), is by Pujol; and there is a mont SHAW's Hand-Book to Belgium and the Rhine.) de piété. It has several good promenades, and commands a
ROUTE 5. fine view, from the tower, of the citadel. Froissart,
| Paris to Creil, Compiègne, Tergnier, St. or Froissard, the historian, Watteau, the painter, and d'Argenson, the statesman, were born here; as
Quentin, Charleroi, Brussels, and Cologn were Mad. Duchenois, the tragedienne, and Lemaire, This is the direct route to Cologne, viâ Namur, tho sculptor of the Madeleine, at Paris.
Liége, and Aix-la-Chapelle; 306 miles. To BrusAmong the manufactures carried on are, muslins, sels (via Charleroi), 2224 miles. gauzes, excellent lace, linens, wine, saltpetre, linseed Creil, as in Route 1. Ascending the Oise, the oil. chicory, pottery, pipes, soap, leather, toys; it has next station is several sugar and salt refineries, printworks, distil Pont-Ste.-Maxence (7 miles), in a pleasant Icries of eaux-de-vie; and there is a large trade in part of the Oise, under a wooded hill, which has, these articles, besides coal. The coal mines at near the remains of an old one, a good three-arched Anzin employ 4,000 hands.
bridge (pont), by Péronnet, on a level, resting on Coaches to Bavay, Berlaimont, St. Amand-les groups of open pillars, not solid piles. Some old Eaux, Landrecios, Condé, Bon-Secours, Solesmes, houses are left, though it has suffered in past times. Le Cateau. A direct rail to Aulnoye (see page Much grain is sold. Moncel Abbey ruins are turned 22), via Le Quesnoy, was opened 1872.
into a wine depôt. (ST. AMAND-LES-EAUX (10 kil. north-north-west) Coaches to Gournay-sur-Aronde and Senlis (see
on the Scarpe, with a population of 10,200, who Route 1.) The former (20 kil, north-east), was the make lace, cambric, &c., is known for its waters, birth-place of Montaigne's adopted daughter, Madeits artesian wells, and its Clock-tower, 318 feet moiselle de Gournay. high, which was the spire (built 1635-6), to the Before reaching the next station, you pass Sarron.
church of St. Amand's abbey, founded 634. on the Oise, near the château of Plessis-Villette, The mineral springs, near Croisette (2 kil.) are which belonged to Voltaire's niece, Madame de
three, viz., Fontaine-de-Bouillon, Source de Villette. They show, here, a statue of the poet, on Pavillon, and Fontaine de Verité; temperature a pedestal, containing his heart, besidos his desk 77o. They are useful in rheumatism, paralysis, and sofa. ulcers, &c. Season, from June to August. Verberie (64 miles), on a hill side, now much There are bathing-houses and an assembly- decayed (population, 1,400), had once three bridges
room, &c. Bon-Secours hermitage is near. I over the Oise, and a palace, in which Charles Coxdk (11 kil. north-east) on the Schelde, close to Martel died, 741. His son, Pepin, called a council
the Belgian frontier, is a fourth class fortress here, and his grandson, Charlemagne, built a (by Vauban), with a large arsenal and good Chapel. Charles the Bold held the Synod of SoisHôtel de Ville. It gave title of prince to sons here, and gave his daughter to Ethelwolf of the Bourbons, to whom it came in the 15th | England. It was burnt by the Normans, and ree