Imagens das páginas
PDF

Steamer, in summer, early in the morning, down university, college, bishopric, &c., on a rocky height, the Vienne and Loire, to Tours, Saumur, Angers, about 130 feet above the Clain, where the Boivre Nantes. Coaches to Aux-Angles, Plumartin, Le joins, and, with the other, almost surrounds it. As Blanc, and Montmorillon (see below); Laroche and you look at the town it has a most picturesque apIzeure. Cenon (4 kil.), as well as Moussay (on the pearance, with its gardens and meadows, but the Clain), is another supposed site of the Saracens' streets are crooked, dirty, and steep; and the houses defeat by Charles Martel, at what is called the mean though interesting from their antiquity. Battle of Tours.

Some remains of the Gothic walls are left, pierced (LAROCHE, or ROCHE-POZAY (23 kil. east-south- by six gates, four of which lead out to the Clain.

east), on the Creuse, where the Gartempe joins, | That on the south, Porte de la Tranchée, takes you has some cold sulphur waters (discovered 1573), I to the Parc de Blossac walk, on the rise of the opin the limestone, which are taken between July posite hill, whence there is a fine prospect; beyond, and September, and are useful in scrofula, skin

at the hermitage, are four arches of a Roman aquediseases, intermittent fever, &c. To the north duct. called the Arcs de Parigny, which supplied the east of it is

Arènes, or amphitheatre, the ruins of which are in BOUSSAY (with an old camp), where General the court-yard of Hôtel d'Evreux. Its length was

Menon, who succeeded Kléber in Egypt, was upwards of 500 feet. Cæsar called this place born.

Limonum; it was then the capital of the Pictavi, MIREBEAU (28 kil. west-south-west of Châteller who gave name both to it and the province.

ault), the old capital of Mirebelais, had a castle, The Vandals, Visigoths, Saracens, and Normans, built by Foulques Néra, in which Henry of took it in succession, but the most memorable event, England's widow, Eleanor, was besieged by her to an Englishman, is the famous Battle of 1356 grandson, Arthur.]

(fought at Cardinerie, a few miles to the southLes-Barres-le-Naintre (3 miles), near the west) in which Edward III., his son, the Black remains of a Roman mansio.

Prince, and Chandos, with 14,000 men (4,000 of La Tricherie (3 miles).

whom were archers), defeated 50,000 French, taking Dissais (24 miles), on the Clain, is known for

prisoners king John and his son, with an archbishop, its red wines. It has an old church, &c.

and seventy nobles, besides men-at-arms, leaving Clan (27 miles), higher up the Clain.

11,000 French counts, barons, knights, &c., dead on

the field; the English loss being 2,400 killed. Chasseneuil (14 mile), in the pretty valley of

By the same river.

the treaty of Bretigny, four years after, it was

given, with the province, to the English, but was At 54 miles further is

recovered by Duguesclin, 1372. The Huguenots POITIERS, or Poictiers.

held it for a time in 1562; and it was besieged, in A buffet, 209} miles from Paris, 153from Bor 1569, by Coligny (without success) before his defeat deaux. The station is not far from the old Castle, at Montcontour. They show, on the Clain's banks, in the valley of the Boivre.

the grotto of Calvin, where he used to meet his HOTELS.-De l'Europe; De France; Des Trois disciples. In modern days, Poitiers is remarkable Piliers.

for the attempted rising of General Berton, in 1822, Post Office, in Place d'Armes, where the best hotels for which he was executed. are found.

The Palais de Justice, in Rue des Cordeliers, on Population, 81,040.

the hill, includes part of the seat of the counts of OBJECTS OF NOTICE.- Roman arches-Palais Poitou, such as Maubergeon tower, and the Salle de Justice - Maison de la Prévôte-Cathedral des Gardes,-a timber-roofed hall, in a half-Norman Churches of Radegond, Montierneuf, St. Hilaire, style, 162 feet long. It was rebullt, 1395, after the Nôtre Dame, &c.-Baptistry of St. Jean-Pierre English had burnt it. Here Charles VII. was proLevée-Field of Cardinerie.

claimed king of France, when he was little more A very old city, capital of department Vienne and than "Roi de Bourges." At the corner of Rues de the old province of Poitou, seat of a cour impériale, St. Paul and du Coy is a house in which Diane di Poitiers lived. The Préfecture was the old bishop's, and a crypt, where they show the tomb of the saint, palace, and offers nothing remarkable. The Hôtel as well as of St. Agnes, first abbess of St. Croix, de Ville, is the head-quarters of the Commune, a before which lights are kept perpetually burning. corporation, as old as 1199; and a University, foun · A little further, is the very ancient rectangular ded by Charles VII., in 1431, is now represented baptistry of St. Jean, built in the 4th or 5th century by a Faculté des Lettres, which, with the Ecole de (some say the 3rd, as a Roman temple), lately used Droit, founded 1431, have a place in the ancient as a musée of antiquities, and now in course of resHotel Dieu, opposite Nôtre Dame. Here also are toration. Another old church is that of Montierneuf, various collections, including the public archives, built 1076-96, as part of a Benedictine abbey, the Bibliothèque of 25,000 volumes, and 300 MSS.

| founded by Guy Geoffry, Count of Poitiers; a (missals, &c.), with museums of Natural history,

| mixture, like the rest, of the round and pointed pictures, and antiquities; open daily. There is a

styles, except the choir, which was rebuilt in the bust, by David, to M. Boncenne, the lawyer, who 14th century, and contains a modern tomb to the died 1840.

founder. It stands near the large cavalry barracks, The Maison de la Prévôte, a curious house of the

and Pont de Rochereuil, in the north division of 15th century, in that street, is now used as an

the town. École chrétienne; another of the same age is in In Place du Marché is the Romanesque Church of Rue de l'Arceau ; and in Rue du Marché stands Notre Dame la Grande, which some fix in the 9th one in the Renaissance style. The ancient Juris

century, and some in the 10th; it has a rich and diction Consulaire, in Rue de la Mairie, was built

highly curious front, carved with statues and sculpby a native, Girpuard, who is the author of the tures, of Adam and Eve, the Annunciation, Christ portal of the Augustine church, in Place d'Armes. in the Manger, &c.; and inside a bas-relief of the Poitiers is remarkable for many old churches, most Resurrection; a brass reading-desk and a pulpit of which have been carefully renovated of late are worth notice. years.

St. Porchaire has a tower of the 11th century, and St. Pierre's Cathedral, in a mixed Romanesque and a carved front, with a tomb of its saint. Near Gothic style, was begun about 1042, carried on by Grande Porte and the railway station, is part of St. Henry II. of England, in 1152, and finished in 1379, Hilaire, built 1049, on the site of one by Clovis, in except part of the front, which is as late as the 15th honour of Pope Hilary, and burnt, 863, by the Norcentury, and has two towers and a rose window.

mans; it contains a Romanesque apse, the saint's Length 323 feet, by 100 wide, and 97 feet bigh, to shrine (which holds part of his skull and arm bone!), the vault of the nave, which stands on sixteen

and some statues commemorating the deliverance pillars, and is strengthened by buttresses. It con

of the town 'from the English, 1202. St. Triaise tains painted windows, a fine organ by Cliquot, a offers a front of the 11th century. In the Cordeliers' good choir, and has immensely thick east walls.

church, Madame de Montespan was buried. The At the Seminary for priests, in the old Cordeliers'

Lyceum, or college, founded by Henry IV., in 1608, convent, is a good library of 10,000 volumes and

has a chapel worth notice, near the usine à gaz. MSS., with a figure of a winged dragon, called

Paper, and a few woollen and cotton caps (at Grand Gueule, which used to be carried in procession

Biard), are made. during Rogation days, and swallowed the offerings

For the branch rail to Rochefort, &c., see Route of the faithful. At Rouen such a monster is called

| 37. Rail to Limoges, see below. Coaches to Le Gargouille, for a similar reason, namely, his having | Blanc (59 kil.) a capacious throat.

Some points of interest near this are-the Pierre Close to the Cathedral is the church of Ste. Radé- Levée, or druid stone (2 kil. south-east), 33 feet long, gonde (Clotaire's wife), a narrow Romanesque noticed by Rabelais. It stands near the Clain, on building of the 12th century, with a carved portal | five low pillars, and is inscribed with names as far of the 15th century, a good nave, unsupported by back as the 16th century, ainong which is Mercator. pillars, an ancient sacristy, the Pas de Dieu chapel, The Cardinerie (6 kil.) near Noaillé abbey ruins,

[merged small][merged small][ocr errors]

where the battle of Maupertuis (as the French histo- | the rail, with a succession of bridges, cuttings, rians call the battle of Poitiers), was fought. St. / and embankments. Benoit abbey ruins, near another famous rock, Passée St Benoit (1} mile). lourdin, celebrated by Rabelais. Also Beruges (8 kil. 1 Liguge (about 3 miles), on the Clain, was once west), with its Roman vaults, Fleury aqueduct, and the seat of St. Martin de Tours, who here founded Guiennc tower; and the Cistercian abbey of Pin (12 the earliest monastery in western Europe. Then kil. west), now a thread factory, near the castle of another tunnel at Brachées, of 1,407 feet. Montreuil-Romien, which belonged to the dukes of Vivonne (8 miles), up the Clain, where the Aquitaine, the Lusignans, &c., and was the residence Vonne joins. A good trade in woollens, grain, &c. of Caur-de-Lion, Dugue clin, the Montmorencies, Population, 2,850. &c.

Couhe Verac (84 miles), on the Dive. [At VOUILLÉ, or Vougé, or Voulon, on the Auzance,

réor Vonlon, on the Auzance. Epauvilliers (44 miles). below Latille, 16 kil. west of Poitiers, Clovis, in Civray (5} miles), a sous-préfecture (°,400 the battle of 507, defeated Alaric II. (who was population), in department Vienne, in a rich hollow killed), and his Visigoths.

on the Charente, includes an old château, in the

faubourg across the river, and has a large, ancient, CHAUVIGNY (23 kil. west), on the Vienne, offers

and curiously-carved church, of the 12th century. remains of castles and a curious old church, of

Trade in woollens, truffles, corn, chestnuts, walthe same age as St. Savin, which is 16 kil. be

nuts, cattle, &c. yond, and has an old Norman-style church.

Hotel.-De France. The rail from Poitiers to Montmorillon and

(CHERVOUX, 10 kil. cast (past the Camp des Limoges turns off at St. Benoit (1miles),

Anglais, 3 kil.), has some fine ruins of a and passes on to Neuil-l'Espoir (7 miles);

church, belonging to a monastery founded by Lussac-les-Châteaux (15 miles), on the

Charlemagne, in 785. At Availles, 20 kil. eastVienne. Then comes Montmorillon (8 miles),

south-east of this, on the Vienne, is a good a sous-préfecture (population, 3,700), on the Gar

cold sulphur spring; it has a trade in wine tempe, in a pretty spot, but ill-built, having a

and mill-stones.] seminary, hospital, &c.; and noted for its bis

Ruffec (81 miles), on the little rivulet Liain cuits and macaroons. Paper and linen are also

(which produces good trout), is a sous-préfecture made. It is further remarkable for a Chapel

in department Charente (population, 3,65%), in : or temple, partly Romanesque, eight-sided and

grass and corn country, doted for its truffles and vaulted, over a vault or crypt lit with narrow

partridge pies, chestnuts, and cream cheeses. slits. Four quaint groups are carved above

Hotel.--Des Ambassadeurs. the chapel door, supposed to represent the

The church is of the 11th century. Near it are Vices and other emblems. Hotel.-Du Grand

the Condac windmills and several forges, and the Monarque. After this the line runs up the

old château of Broglie, in a large forest. Plans Gartempe to Le Dorat (12 miles), in Haute

tunnel, which next succeeds, is 1,640 feet long, and Vienne, in a charming part of the Sèvre, com

is near the ancient church of Courcôme. Several manding extensive prospects, and has a forti

deep cuttings are passed in this part of the line. fied church of the 10th century the walls being

[About 42 kil. east is the sous-préfecture of lined with towers and battlements). Baro

CONFOLENS (population, 2,070), at the old bridge meters and weights are made. Population,

on the Vienne, where the Goire joins, having 2,240. Glass is made at Danac. Thence past

the square tower of its ancient castle, and a Droux (41 miles), &c., to Bersac (18) miles),

library of 13,000 volumes. Trade in cattle, on the line to St. Sulpice and Limoges. (See

which are grazed here, timber for shipping, Route 43).]

&c. Hotel.--Courteau Lagrange. Leaving Poitiers for Angoulême (a part opened Half-way to Germains, 2 kil. down the river, is 1853), you pass through a tunnel, of 934 feet in the the island of St. Madeline, having a Pagas, town rock, to the Clain, which is still ascended by Temple, excavated in the rock, about 39 feet by 10, and near it a cromlech of nine tons, resting | and Anguienne, &c. The old town is, as usual, a on four pillars, of Grison stone, a sort of nest of ill-built narrow streets. In the Place granite found here. It has an altar and bene d'Artois is a fine sloping promenade running from tière, for the use of the priest on the saint's | the Hôtel de Ville, with a pillar 50 feet high, raised fête day.]

to the memory of her husband, by the late Duchesse Moussac (54 miles) is near Les Négres, on the d'Angoulême. At a later date this memorial was Lien, opposite Verteuil château, a seat of the dukes painted in tricolour, and dedicated to the heroes of of Rochefoucauld, lately restored. It was once July! occupied by the English. Here Louis XIII. stayed

The Cathedral of St. Pierre, mostly rebuilt, 1816, in 1616, on his return from Bordeaux. The next

is a square pile, remarkable chiefly for its Romanstation,

esque front of the 12th century, surmounted by an Luxe (54 miles), is not far from Mansle, on the

entablature and two pepper boxes at the corrers, Liain, where it joins the Charente, which runs

of the 16th century. Near the top are figures of through green meadows, under a high stone bridge.

the Almighty and the four Evangelists. Its tall Luxé has a trade in grain, wine, and spirits.

steeple was burnt by the Calvinists in 1568; in Population, 900. Cross the Charente on a bridge

falling it crushed a church, and the handsome of 4 arches. Then comes

Renaissance chapel of St. Galais. Its new tower is Vars (94 miles), on the Charente, 6 miles from one of six stages, by Abbadie, who is the architect the old abbey Church (built 1170), of Amand de of the new Romanesque church of St. Martial, begun Boire. Hereabouts the sons of Chilperic were 1852, 190 feet long. killed in fighting against Sigebert, in 576.

Two round and polygonal towers of the 12th and [RocheFOUCAULD (about 20 kil. west), a place of

14th centuries still remain at the Castle or châtelet, 3,000 souls, on the Tardoire, having an old

where the sister of Francis I., Marguerite des Marchâteau in the Renaissance style, with peaked

guerites (Pearl of Pearls) was born. It is now a towers at the corners, where the Duc de la

prison. Our John Lackland's wife, Isabelle de Rochefoucauld, author of "Les Maximes," was

Taillefer, was born, in the old palace of the family, born, 1613. Several caves are found along the

in the street of that name. The Hôtel de Ville is banks of the river.)

in Place de la Commune. The Palais de Justice At 94 miles further (across the Touvre) is

contains the Library of 14.000 volumes, including ANGOULEME,

the first book printed here (1481), and a Xenophon A buffet, 280 miles from Parig. The station in

by H. Stephen, with his autograph. New Lyceum Faubourg de l'Houmeau is the old Marine School,

in Place de Beaulieu. The Hôtel Dieu was founded remodelled for the purpose. In this faubourg are

by Guez de Balzac, a reformer of the French lanseveral works for paper, sugar, spirits, pottery, &c.

guage, opposite the house he was born in. The HOTELS.--Grand Hotel du Palais; Grand Hotel

bishop's house has been restored by Abbadie. des Postes, Rue du Palais. A buffet at the Station.

Under the rocks to the north is the Grotto of St.

Cybard.
Population, 25,000.
OBJECTS OF NOTICE.--Cathedral-Castle-Hôtel

Ravaillac, who assassinated Henry IV., and de Taillefer-St. Martial's Church.

Poltrot, the assassin of the Duke of Guise, were An ancient town or city, on the Charente, capital

natives. Angoulême was given up to the English of that department (formerly of the province of

after the battle of Poitiers. It suffered in the wars Angoumois), seat of a bishopric, &c., called Iculisma

of the Huguenots, and first gave title to the Duc by the Romans. It stands at a good height (about

d'Angoulême, who commanded at the final siege of 230 feet) on the rocks above the river, in a pure

Rochelle. but sharp air, looking, at a distance, something Trade in excellent paper (made in the various like Chester, and commanding, from the old ram mills around at Veuze, Maumont, &c., on the parts, a wide prospect over the rich and beautiful | Touvre), wine, spirits, grain, truffles, chestnuts, wine country round the basins of the Charente cork, hemp, needles, iron, copper, &c. A govern. ment cannon foundry at Ruelle (7 miles) and pow. | dividing the basins of the Charente and Dronne. der factory at Thérouat, on the Charente.

On a conspicuous rock stands Rocheandry Castle, Conveyances: By rail to Cognac and Rochefort;

built in the 9th century, and restored in 1855, by by coach to Limoges, Périgueux, &c.

an Angoulême banker. Couteaubières riaduct, on

12 arches, 993 feet long, succeeded by cuttings [From Angoulême, on the rail to Rochefort, by

one of which is 92 feet deep. To the west is the Chemins de Fer des Charentes, down the

BEAULIEU, a fine spot at the source of the Tourra Charente river and brandy district, you pass

which springs up among rocks (under the ruins of St. Michel-sur-Charente (3 miles), Nersac

Ravaillac Castle), and is thought to be like Vau(31 miles), Sireuil (2} miles), near Hiersac,

cluse. noted for red wines; then to Châteauneuf

Charmant (41 miles) has an ancient spire Barbez (13 miles).

church of the 12th century. The country is flat Jarnac-Segonzac (7{ miles), with a population

and uninteresting, and traversed by deep cattings, of 2,400, and a good brandy trade, is at the and Livernant tunnel, 4,826 feet long. Then a castsuspension bridge on the Charente, in the iron viaduct, over the Chavenat, brings us to the middle of vast meadows, and is famous for the valley of the Tude. battle of 1569, when the Duke of Anjou defeated

Montmoreau (8 miles), on the Tude, has some the Huguenots, under Coligny and the Prince

remains, on the hill above it, of a castle of the of Condé, who was killed. When Guy Chabot

bishops of Angoulême. Its Romanesque church de Jarnac was having a friendly pass at arms

has been restored by Abbadie. in the presence of Henry II., in 1547, he gave

Chalais (10 miles) was taken by Charles VII. his opponent a sly stab with a dagger; hence

from the English, 1472. a treacherous blow came to be called a coup de

Some traces remain of Jarnac.

the castle of the Counts of Périgord, whose motto

in provincial patois was qué Diou (rien que Cognac (84 miles), a sous-préfecture, and town of 8,170 population, on the south side of the Cha

Dieu). Coach to Barbezieux. rente, commanded by an old castle, at the west

[At 29 kil. west-north-west is BARBEZIEUX, a end of the beautiful country furnishing the well sous-préfecture of 3,500 population (department known Cognac Brandy. The tract belonging to Charente), and a pretty place on the Dronne, the growers of La Societié Vignicole Champe in the Cognac brandy country. There are noise is a circle, 20 to 25 miles diameter, remains of a castle, and it has a good mineral having Segoniac for the centre, and taking in water. Cognac on the west, Jarnac on the north, Hotels. De la Poste; De l'Écu de France. Châteauneuf on the east, and Barbezieux on AUBETERRE (12 kil. east), on the Dronne, a pretty the south. Francis I. was born here, under an little place under a hill, in which the church elm, in the castle grounds.

is scooped out, just below the top, where the Hote's.- De France ; Du Faisan (Pheasant); ruined castle stands. Méré château is near. Trois Marchands (Three Merchants).

RIBERAC, an unimportant sous-préfecture, is For the rest of the line to Saintes (16 miles) 18 kil. further.) and Rochefort (28 miles), see Route 37.)

Laroche-Chalais (8 miles), in department From Angoulême station the line passes a tunnel Dordogne, on a hill. Montlieu, on the high road, of 2,428 feet under the town, and crosses the An- is 28 kil. west-north-west. Coaches to Jonzac. guienne, &c., leaving on the west the ancient Les Eiglisottes (41 miles). Church of St. Michel d'Entraigues, built 1137, an Coutras (54 miles), in department Gironde, at octagonal edifice, lately restored by Abbadie. the junction of the L'Isle and Dronne (two sus

La Couronne (5 miles). Population, 2,349. pension bridges), is near the site of Corterate. Here are an old church, founded in the sixth cen- | Population, 3,370. Here the junction rail from tury, and the fine abbey ruins of the 13th century. | Limoges and Périgueux falls in; down the L'Isle

Mouthiers (41 miles), on the Boëme, in a plain, | (see Route 44). The line from Saintes will also join

« AnteriorContinuar »