« AnteriorContinuar »
here. Only the gate of its once large castle re quality of the wines, is a decayed fortified mains. The line traverses the grounds. It be town, having many antiquities to show: as, a longed to the family of de Foix. Here Henry of párish church of the 12th century, with handNavarre slept after the Battle of Coutras, 1587, in some slender spire; the façade of Cardinal de which de defeated the Leaguers, under the Duc de Cauterai's palace; remains of the Convents of Joyeuse, who was killed. This was the first the Dominicans and Cordeliers; the hermitage victory gained by the Protestants, and was an of the Saint, near the Place, cut in the rock, nounced to Henry III. by the victor in these close to a fountain, where they show his stone words, “Sire, mon seigneur et frère, remerciez bed and chair; his monolithic temple or church, Dieu, jái battu vos ennemis et votre armée," Henry III. in the rock, 85 feet by 53, with a vault resting being secretly favourable to the Protestant leaders. on eight great pillars, and various carvings, After crossing the L'Isle, on a bridge of six arches, and what is called the Rotonde or round chapel, each 49 feet span, you come to
in a light Gothic style, of the 12th century. St. Denis-de-Pile (53 miles), and its Roman There are also remains of the castle, built by esque church, shaped like a Greek cross. The Louis VIII., which has a square tower, &c. Château of Grave belongs to the Duc Decazes.
Guadet, the Girondist, was born here, and was Follow the L'Isle to
beheaded at Bordeaux, with Barbaroux, &c., Libourne (4} miles), a fine well-built town and
after their proscription by the Jacobins.
Pétion and Buzot were found starved to death sous-préfecture (in department Gironde) of 13,570
in a corn field, since called “Champ des population, on the Dordogne, where the Isle joins
Emigrés." Population, 3,000. it, under a handsome suspension bridge. Another of nine arches crosses the main stream, which has Pass St. Etienne de Lisse to a Port large enough for 300-tons ships. Libourne Castillon (4) miles from St. Emilion), higher succeeded a place called Condat and Fozera, and as up the river (population, 2,900), celebrated for one of the chief places in Gascony, was rebuilt and the battle of 1:53, in which the English, under fortified by Edward I. of England. The old the great Talbot (who, with his son, was killed) machicolated tower styled Tour de l' Horloge (with were defeated by the French, and finally a peaked top added) remains at the Port : it was
driven out of France.- About 5 kil. to the formerly called Tour de Richard, after the Black
north-east (in department Dordogne) is Prince's son (Richard II.), born at Bordeaux. The
St. Michel Montaigne, the old feudal château of church of St. Jean was rebuilt 1856. The walks
Montaigne, who wrote his .“ Essais" here. are beautiful. It has also a public library of They show his room, in which are sentences 3,000 volumes, a botanic garden, large cavalry from the Bible and the classics, a portrait of barracks, glass factory, &c.; and a good trade in his daughter Eléonore, also his writing table, eaux-de-vic, oil, timber, iron, salt.
books, and bed, and the clock which he refers IIotels.--De France; Des Princes.
to.-To the north is The old pilgrims' chapel of Notre Dame de Condat VILLEFRANCHE DE LONGCHAPT, a very old place in the neighbourhood, was built by Eleanor of on a rock, walled round by the English, and Guienne, through whom Henry II. acquired this taken by assault, 1577, by the Huguenots, territory. Fronsac, across the Dordogne, is known Sully being among them.] for its red and white wines. It stands under the Leaving Libourne, you cross the Dordogne, by a Tertre de Fronsac, a hill about 230 feet above, com- | bridge on nine arches, the Tertre de Fronsac being manding a good panoramic view. Its ancient in view; then succeeds a long viaduct of 3,870 feet castle is gone. Rail to St. Emilion, &c.
on 100 arches, to [The line passes St. Laurent-des-Coinbes, up Arveyres (8 miles), a pleasant spot on a hill. the Dordogne.
Coach to Branne. St. Emilion (67 miles from Lilbourne), in a Vayres (24 miles), anciently Varatedum, has
gorge among vineyards, noted for the good | the old castle of its marquises, to the west; partly
dating from the 13th century. They show After La Grave, the line bends to the south, po Henry IV.'s bed. Population, 2,000.
hills covered with vineyards and country-seats, as St. Sulpice (31 miles).
three short viaducts on eighteen, four, and sera St. Loubes (2 miles). The plain between the
arches, succeeded by three short tunnels, to Dordogne and Garonne is called Entre Deux Mers, Lormont (14 miles), a place of 3,000 souls, the a sort of Mesopotamia, on a small scale.
ancient Mons Laurens, on the Dordogne. Here La Grave d'Ambares (64 miles), a village of
was a country-seat of the Archbishops of Bordeaux 2,700 inhabitants. Coaches to Cubzac and Blaye.
A fourth tunnel, of 1,312 feet, is followed by a fifth [CUBZAC (6 kil.), on the Dordogne, here crossed
of 919 feet, which brings you out in sight of by a splendid wire Suspension Bridge, in five
Bordeaux, and to the Embarcadère at la Bastide, bends, 1,788 feet long between the river's
opposite the town, close to the bridge, a building
984 feet long. banks, or 5,079 feet, including the viaducts which approach it on each side, 24 feet wide,
BORDEAUX, and 92 feet above the water. It was built
583 miles from Paris, 123} from Bayonne, 1601 froz 1835-9, by Fortuné-de-Vergey, for £120,000.
Toulouse. The Bordeaux merchants have large ware
For the lines to Spain and Toulouse (see Routes houses at this spot, where the high road from
63 and 66). For the Médoc (see below). Paris falls in.
The stations from Toulouse are on the southBLAYE (37 kil. further on), a sous-préfecture of
west side of the town. Omnibuses run between, 5,000 souls, in department Gironde, and a pilot
past Place de la Comédie, &c. station, on the east bank of the Garonne. It was the ancient Blavia, and had a strong castle,
HOTELS.-De Nantes, first-class hotel; splendidly taken by the Huguenots, 1568, and then by
situated. Good cuisine. the Leaguers. This now makes part of the
Hotel Marine et des Colonies, Americains, Comcitadel, on a rock in Upper Town, commanding
merce, Voyageurs, Quatre Sæurs; Des Ambassathe river (about 4 kil. broad), in conjunction
deurs, in Rue Cours l'Intendance; Hotel des Sept with the fort of le Paté (or the Pie), on an
Sæurs, opposite the Post Office; De Paris; Des
Princes. island in the midst, and Fort Médoc on the opposite side. In the old Gothic tower of this
Cafés.—De la Comédie, near the Theatre; De la castle the Duchesse de Berri was confined, 1833.
Préfecture Fossés-du-Chapeau Rouge, Helvetius, A good mairie, hospital, theatre, &c., are in the
&c. Lower Town, where the merchants and pilots
Restaurants.--De Richelieu; De la Préfecture, live. At the Austin abbey here, King Caribert , &c. Breakfasts and dejeûners a la fourchette, 75c. of Aquitaine was buried. 631. Charlemagne's to 1 franc at the cafés, or 15 to 2 francs at the Champion, Roland, who fell in battle against hotels; a good dinner for 3 francs at the hotels. the “Paynim sons of swarthy Spain," at Ron English Consul, T. C. Hunt, Esq., No. 15, Cours cesvalles, in 778, was brought hither to be | Portal; American Consul, buried. Here the hero was born. From Chaplain, at British Chapel, Quai de Chartrons, Bourg, St. Disant du Gun, Chénac, and other Rev. E. S. Froissard. points, fine views may be obtained of
Bankers.-Barton and Guestie, Cours Pavé, 35, "—thy mirror'd wave, Garonne,
near Quai des Chartrons; Johnston and Sons, Rue And Blaye's empurpled shore." . Foy, 21. Bling are built at Blaye, and there is a good l Library and Reading Room at M. Chaumas-Gayet,
trade in corn, wine, brandy, oll, fruit, and opposite the Préfecture. timbei' Hotels.De l'Union; De Franco. Post Omce, 6, Rue-Porto-Dijeaux. Coachos to Rochello, GG., stramers to Borel Steamboats to Mortayne, Blaye, and Paulllac, deaux, Paulilas, and toyan.
| daily to Royan, twice a week. To Liobota, Geno
gal, Rio Janeiro, &c., monthly, by the Messageries Street), is the principal Theatre, a large and rolio Maritimes. To Bristol, and Bombay (viâ Suez structure, built by Louis XIV., and opened 1780; Canal), see BRADSHAW's Continental Guide.
it has a Corinthian portico of twelve columns, nr OBJECTS OF NOTICE. - The Chartrons with a great vestibule and staircase, and will hold Bridge-Bourse - Theatre-Hôtel de Ville-Palais 4,000 persons. It is usually reckoned the best de Justice-Museum-Churches of St. Michael, out of Paris. Here the Government Delegation St. Croix, &c.—Tour de l' Horloge-Cathedral - had its head-quarters when driven from Tours by Efigies of Montaigne-Palais Gallien-Place des the Germans, 1871. The Théâtre de Gymnase is Quinconces-Wine Cellars.
new. Another, called les Variétés in Rue Fossés
de l'Intendance, was burnt down in 1855. Population, 194,250. Bordeaux is the third commercial port in France, the centre of the vin de The Préfecture, in Rue de la Comédie, is the work Bordeaux, or Ciaret trade, chief town of the of Louis, 1775, and has been restored. Hôtel de department Gironde (formerly of the province of Ville (or town hall), near the Cathedral, was the Guienne or Aquitaine), head of a military division, palace of the archbishops, and was built, 1780-1, seat of an archbishop, &c. It stands on the west by Prince de Rohan, then primate of Aquitaine ; bank of the Garonne, à bord-des-eaux, 70 miles it is a large square pile, with a court in the midst. from the sea, where the river is 500 to 800 yards and a picture gallery. Here they show Napoleon's broad (the Thames at London Bridge is 350 yards); own Cross of the Legion of Honour, a History and it is from the water that you see to advantage of his Battles, with his MS. notes, and other its noble range of quays and buildings, stretching curiosities, presented by General Bertrand; also a like a crescent, three miles long, from the ship collection of antique arms. The pictures number yards at the south end to the fine streets and 466, including Lesueur's Urania, Rubens' Martyrdom houses at the north extremity, towards the Char of St. Just, &c., but they are ill arranged. Catatrons and Chapeau Rouge quarters, where the logue, 13 fr. An older Gothic town hall is in the merchants live. A fine, nearly level, stone Bridge, street leading to the bridge. The Palais de Justice of seventeen arches, 531 yards long, 50 feet broad,
eet broad, (law courts), near the Hôtel de Ville, is a large was built 1811-21, by Deschamps, from the Porte de and rather elegant building, 480 feet long, built Bourgogne to the village of La Bastide opposite. 1839-46, and has Maggesi's statues of Malesherbes, This will soon be accompanied by a railway bridge d'Aguesseau, l'Hôpital, and Montesque (who uniting the termini of the lines which centre here. lived at Château de Brède, 10 miles off); belind The river below forms the Port, where as many as it are the prisons; and opposite the Hôtel Dieu, 1,000 sail may lie; but the larger vessels anchor or public hospital of St. André, with 650 beds. It at Pauillac, which is the real port. High water at was rebuilt 1825-9, but founded as far back as full and change, 3 o'clock.
1390. In Rue St. Dominique, is the Museum, comThe Houses are large and well-built; the higher prising the public library of 120,000 volumes, and classes are wealthy and luxurious in their habits, 300 MSS., among which is Montaigne's annotated and particularly well-disposed towards the English, Copy of his Essais; also the museums of antiquity to whom Bordeaux and the province belonged for and natural history, and the Observatory, open three centuries, down to 1451. Its climate, however
daily to strangers. The Hospice des Enfans Trouvés, is damp. The principal buildings are as follows:
where 700 foundlings are provided for, is on the The Bourse (exchange) in Place Royale, near the
Quai de la Paludatte. bridge, is 98 feet by 65, and 78 feet high to the St. André's Cathedral, built by the English in middle of the glazed dome. The Chamber of the 13th century, the foundation having been leid Cominerce occupies a place here, with a library of by Henry II. and his Queen, is a large but irregular 6,000 volumes, which includes a good collection of structure, with buttresses, &c.; it is 418 feet long, toyiges. The Douane, or custom-house, is near the and has two spires, 150 feet high, in the north Bourse; both buildings are by Gabriel. In the transept, a good roso window, a fine altar, and an Rue Chapeau Rouge (a fine street like Portland arched roof, 66 fout broad, of the 16th century. It
contains pictures by Veronese and Jordaens. Its gate, Porte du Palais, or du Cailhau, near the detached clock tower, called Pey Berland, 156 feet Custom House and Quai de Bourgogne, was built, high, was built, 1440, by Archbishop Pierre Berland, 1495, by Charles VIII. It is 112 feet high, and and is a fine piece of Gothic work, with buttresses known by its five or six peaked turrets. It serves at the corners, and a circular turret at the top. as a prison. In Place d'Aquitaine is the ancient
St. Michael's Gothic church, near the Quai de la évêché or bishop's house, near a gate or porte, which Grave, was also built by the English, but has a served for a triumphal arch when the Bourbons north front of later date. Length, 243 feet. It returned, in 1814. was restored 1855. Its clock-tower, 180 feet high, The Entrepôt Réel, for colonial produce, is a is also detached and buttressed at the angles. The large pile on the Quai des Chartrons; on Quay de vault below the church is laid out with bones Bacalan, are the Victualling Office, and Viellard's brought from a neigbouring cemetery.
(formerly Johnson's) large porcelain factory, which St. Croix, near Quai St. Croix, though quite communicates by canals with the river. Hótel des irregular within and without, is a most curious Monnaies (mint) is in Rue de Palais Gallien; the and interesting church, and the oldest here. It is Bank, in Rue Esprit des Lois. Joubert's spinning Romanesque, of the 10th and 11th centuries, and factory is on a large scale. Crusse's cates, or was founded by William the Good, Duke of cellars, containing 30,000 barrels of wine, are worth Aquitaine. The curious carvings on the front, the visiting; so are Guestier's, in Pavé des Chartrons. wall paintings, and old carved font, all deserve Excellent public baths, near the Bourse, and in notice.
Place Lainé; also two swimming schools, mineral St. Seurin (or Severin) in Place de Prado, though baths, &c. modern in the front, is worth visiting for its The best Promenades are in the Cours d'Albret ancient crypt of St. Fort, of the 11th century, to de Tourny (so called after M. de Tourny, formerly which mothers take their children every 16th of Intendant, and a great benefactor to the town, May, and to which, or rather to an earlier building whose statue is near), and du Jardin publique on its site, the body of Roland was brought after (which, however, is no garden, but an open space)his death at Roncesvaux. Notre Dame, a modern but especially in the large Place Quinconces, on the church, was rebuilt 1701 ; and the Feuillant's site of the Château Trompette. It is about a church, attached to the Lyceum, has the mailed quarter of a mile long. At one end are baths, at effigy of Montaigne, who was a judge of the the other, two columns, 65 feet high, with gas Bordeaux parliament, was twice mayor, and died, reflectors. All these walks are laid out with 1592, in Rue des Minimes. There are, besides these, avenues of trees. Fairs are held the first ten days seven other Catholic churches, four Protestant in July, at the hippodrome at Gradignan (10 kil. churches, and a handsome synagogue, the last in away). Rue Causserouge. Some remains of the Char There are at Bordeaux, a college or university treuse abbey church are left in the public Cemetery (as old as 1441), schools of architecture and outside the town, where Moreau is buried. It! medicine, deaf and dumb institution, and many gives name to the Quai des Chartrons, &c.
benevolent societies; an abattoir, large barracks, &c. The amphitheatre, or Palais Gallien, now hardly Among the persons born here, are Ausonius, the to be seen for the houses on it, is a Roman remain, I Latin poet of the 4th century; Richard II. of near the Jardin des Plantes (botanic garden). It | England; Clement V.: Marcellus Empiricus, the was 241 feet by 177, and (4 high. Tour de l' Horloge, first of quacks; Ducos and other “Girondists," or clock tower, which was attached to the old who figured in the Revolution. Another native Hôtel de Ville, is an old gate built by Henry III. was Girard, the rich merchant of New York, who of England, and has three peaked turrets, with a sajled hence, 1762, as a cabin boy, and died worth lion on the middle one. It stands 135 feet high. two and a half millions sterling. Round the bell is inscribed its round of duties, Bordeaux was called Burdigala by Strabo, and viz.:-"Convoco arma, Signo dies, Noto horas, was the chief town of the Bituriges. Ausonius compello nubila, concino læta, Ploro rogog." Another | praises it for its soft climate, its long spring, and
short winter. He describes it as four-sided; with | kinds from abroad. About 100,000 tons of shipping high towers, and broad well-planned streets, and are employed, which possess one-fourth of the watered by the stream called Devitia (now La French colonial trade. The famous claret wine is Devise); "and when father ocean flows up, the produced below the city, on the west side of the whole surface is covered with fleets," i.e., fleets of river, in the district of the Médoc : about 50,000 boats and merchantmen.
tuns of the premier crus, or “first growths" (called The Roman city stood between Place Royale on
Château Margaux, Lafitte, Latour, and Haut the Quay, and the Cathedral. It had fourteen
Brion), are made yearly, and the best of it is sent gates, of which the last (Porte Basse) was pulled
to England. down, 1805. The Visigoths burnt it, 412, and the
[From Bordeaux, by the Chemin de fer du Médoc, Saracens again about 732. Bordeaux was for a
down the west side of the Garonne, in tho time the capital of Gascony; and through Eleanor,
wine country of the Médoc (so called from its wife of Henry II. (of England), it came to the
Roman name In medio aquæ, signifying a English crown, as head of the duchy of Guienne.
peninsular tract), you pass Henry III., who built the old Hôtel de Ville, made
Blanquefort (5 miles), which belonged to the Simon de Montfort governor; Edward I., when Black Prince. Then Ludon (1) miles); Macau prince, lived here; and from hence the Black
(13 miles; Margaux (45 miles), near Châtcau Prince marched to the battle of Poitiers, and
Margaux (noted for its first growth claret), brought back John of France prisoner. Charles
opposite Blaye; followed by Beycheville, and VII. took it from the English in 1451, and built
Château Léoville (second growths), and Château Château Trompette to defend it. This was for Latour (first growth). The next station is tified by Vauban, and called Fort Louis; to build Moulis (41 miles); beyond which is Château which stones were taken from a Roman Temple. Lafitte (another first growth); then Pauillac " Augusto sacrum, &c.,” called Pilliers de Tutelle. (94 miles), a port on the river, 294 miles from Its altar is in the museum of antiquities. To this Bordeaux, where large ships stop. fortress was added Castle Ha, or Cailhau, above The best Clarets are produced on a most unpicmentioned, forming part of L'Ombrière, the old turesque gravel strip about two miles broad palace of the dukes of Aquitaine, which disappeared
and 50 to 80 feet above the river. The vives in 1800, when this space was cleared. Here the
are trained about two feet high in open fields: banquet of 9th October, 1832, was given to the Prince vintage takes place in September. The grapePresident, Louis Napoléon, when he uttered his plague appeared here, 1852. memorable words, "L'Empire, c'est la Paix," which LESPARRE (68 kil. from Bordeaux), a small sousserved to rally so many hesitating adherents round préfecture in department Gironde (populathe imperial throne. In the present day it became tion 1,232), among vineyards and meadows. the temporary seat of the National Assembly, Passing through good pasture land, you come February, 1871, who here elected M. Thiers, Chief to Sociac (25 kil.), at the mouth of the of the Executive Power, declared anew the forfei Garonne, in the Bay of Biscay, opposite the ture of the throne by Napoléon III., and voted the
bathing-place of Royan, and near the treaty of peace with Germany.
Tour de Cordouan, a round, solid, light-house of
three stories, 2341 feet high, built 1611, by Trade. The produce brought up by the Canal
Louis de Foix, having large refractors on du Midi and Cette rail, and shipped to the French
Fresnel's system.) colonies, &c., consists of hides, flour, seeds, brandy, almonds, prunes, chestnuts, cork, resin, verdigris,
ROUTE 36. honey, hams, &c. The manufactures are per
Tours to Angers, Nantes, and St. Nazaire. fumery, liqueurs, ornamental fruit-boxes, stockings, carpets, cotton, earthenware, bottles, casks, hats,
DOWN THE LOIRE. paper, vinegar, tobacco, refined sugar, rope, &c., By rail.-Distance to Nantes, 196 kil., or 122 and gloves from André's factory. Imports of all miles. Three trains a-day, in 31 to 6f hours.