Imagens das páginas
PDF

century, ornamented with arabesque and other is like the Thames Tunnel. Near this is the carvings. The public library contains 2,500 so-called volcano of Meyssandrie, which they volumes; a district prison, a college, good hospital, say burst out 1783. A little to the south-east, &c., are also here.

at Bugue, is the pit called Trou de Pomaissae, The small-arms factory is at Souillac (2 kil.) on whence flames, or at least, sulphur vapours, the Solane, a river bordered by fine granite rocks. have issued; and into which robbers used to Many remains of the Roman Tintiniacum, destroyed throw their victims in old times.] by the Vandals, exist on a plain 6 kil. north, near Niversac (59 miles), where the Agen line turns which you get a view of the Cantal chain. In a off. Hence 7 miles to valley below is the Gordino fall.

Périgueux station, as in Route 44. Baluse, the historian, was born at Tulle; and

ROUTE 51. here races (courses des chevaux) are sometimes held. Bougies, or wax candles, oil, nails, paper, and Clermont-Ferrand to Mont Dore-les-Bains, playing cards are made. Coaches to Clermont, Mauriac, Aurillac, Capdenac, Rodez, Brive, &c.

Montauban, and Toulouse. [At 8 kil. north-east, near GIMEL (which has a Clermont-Ferrand station, as in Route 45.

finely carved Gothic cross and a feudal château), From this there are two ways to Mont Dore; the on the Montane, is one of the grandest Water- first, and most direct, by way of Randanne, 40 kil.; falls in France. The river tumbles over the the other, by way of Rochefort, the most usual, broken limestone rocks in a succession of five though longer route, 53 kil. or six leaps (though not visible all together), 1. This route passes Puy de Gravenoire and its one of which is 138 feet down and 15 wide ; lava beds, 2,723 feet high, one of a range of Purs, another is 85 feet down.

varying from 2,790 to 3,350 feet in height, as Puy ARGENTAT (31 kil.), is on the Dordogne, at the de Charade, de Thedde, de Barzet, de Chaptrat, de

new wire suspension bridge, built 1828, by Duret, de Pasredon, and the village of that name, Vilat, 328 feet long, and 49 feet above the de la Meye, and de la Vache, near stream. It belonged to Turenne's family, and Randanne, a spot brought into cultivation by had an abbey of the 12th century.

Count Montloisir, who died, 1838, and lies buried AURILLAC, in department Cantal, is 54 kil. fur in his park here. He was a member of the Constither, in Route 51.)

tuent Assembly. Then follows a succession of The stations from Tulle (opened 1871), down the higher peaks, from 3,600 to 5,400 feet high, all, like Corrèze to Brive, are Cornil (5 miles) and Auba the first, evidently of volcanic origin: these are zine (5 miles), Brive (64 miles), where the Péri Puy de Mouchal, de la Toupe, d'Enfer, near Cabangueux and Capdenac line is joined. (See Route 44.) nes. Then Puy de Pessade, de l'Aiguille, often From Brive, past Larche (9 miles), to

I covered with snow in summer, Puy Baladou, near Terrasson (64 miles), in Dordogne department, a wild and marshy spot, Puy de la Croix Morand, an ancient town on the Vezère, here crossed by a and Puy de Tache, the highest around here, and large new bridge. It was called Terracina. About close to Mont-Dore-les-Bains. 18 kil. south-west of it is MONTIGNAC, on the 2. From Clermont, by the second route, passing Vezère, above which is the ruined castle of the under Puy de Dôme and Mont Serre, you come to Comtes de Périgord. Population, 3,850. The re- Chamalière and its old church, near the valley of mains of Olivour, once a Roman town, are at hand. Royat.

Thenon (12miles); followed by Milhac (8 ROCHEFORT (29 kil. from Clermont), is in a deep miles), near Sr. CRÉPIN-D'AU-BEROCHE (21 kil.), valley on the Sioule, under Puy d'Angére, with an where there is a marble quarry. Population, 900. old castle on the top, which belonged to the Counts [At 12 kil. south-east is

of Auvergne. To the south of it is Murat-leMIREMONT, with some of the largest caves in Quaire, near the Bourboule spa, in a pretty spot

France; altogether, 4,600 yards long, and in on the Dordogna. Then past Laquaille and Queucluding 8,000 rooms and galleries, one of which reille (24 kil.), to

MONT-DORE-LES-BAINS,

tive, and useful in scrofula, tumours, &c. Then to the ancient Mons Durianus, å watering-place in a Roche Vendeix (2 kil.), which is 3,675 feet high. picturesque valley, about 3,400 feet above sea, at On this mountain stood La Tour d'Auvergne, which, the head of the Dordogne, between Pic du Capucin as Froissart relates, was occupied in Charles VI.'s and Puy de l'Augle, one of the highest (5,610 feet) reign by Mérigot, a robber chief, who was hunted of the Mont Dore range. It is a region of extinct

down and executed. 4. Queureille and Rossigvolcanic peaks, fine woods, valleys, and waterfalls;

nolet falls (one is 49 feet down), on the Randanne a sort of a miniature Switzerland; and one of the

road; Guéry lake, deep and well stocked with fish; most curious and inviting in France, both for

the peak of Sanadoire (4,265 feet), a solitary mountourists and invalids. It should be examined by

tain, once guarded by a fort ; Roche Tuilière, comthe aid of Desmarest's geological map of Auvergne.

posed of lamellar basalt, which splits into tiles for As the village stands high, the temperature is

building ; 8 kil. in all. From this it is 7 kil. to sharp aud somewhat variable. There are 10 or 12

Orcival church, a fine Romanesque structure, of the Hotels, where living costs 5 to 10 francs daily; 10th or 11th century, in a deep valley. 5. To St. besides attendance, which is paid for in the lump

Nectaire, by Diane, the highest village (4,376 feet) (10 to 20 francs). The season lasts from 15th June

in Lower Auvergne; then the ruins of Murol Castle to 15th September, after which snow lodges on the (15 kil.), and its pretty village, in a forest under peaks. Tourists flock hither in July. A large

Puy Tartaret; Lake Chambon, on the Couze, with Thermal Establishment, built of trachyte, or lava

its little islands of verdure ; and then St. Nectaire stone, contains about sixty baths. There is a

(5 kil.) Its ancient Romanesque church is perched separate hospital for the poor.

high up on the rugged granite cliffs, which are The Springs are eight--two Ste. Marguerite and piled one over the other; while the mineral waters. Tambour, being cold, and the rest hot. at a tem- | for which it is known, are in the green meadows perature of 420 to 45° centigrade. One hot spring / below. Here Cornador cheese is produced, so called is called Bain de César; another Source Caroline,

from one of the cliffs over the village. A fine after the Duchess of Berry, another, Ramond, &c. waterfall in the valley of Chaudefour. 6. To VayThey are useful in cases of rheumatism, consump SIVIÈRRES (12 kil.), noted for its cutlets and a statue tion, nervous and inflammatory complaints, scro

of Nôtre Dame; the desolate Lake Pavin, in the fula, &c.; the chief constituents being bicarbonate crater of a volcano (3 kil.), and the old church and of soda, and chloride of sodium (salt), with a little village belfry of BESSE, which, like other places iron.

here, is built on beds of lava. 7. Grande Cascade From traces of a Roman temple and baths ob- 1 (2 kil.), which winds 106 feet down a slope of Puy

de l'Augle, and runs to the Dordogne : the Cascade to that people. It afterwards came to the family of the Serpent, near the head of the Dogne; and of La Tour d'Auvergne, &c. Among the numerous Gorge des Enfers, with its heaps of broken columns attractions and points of view are the following, of basalt. Pass over Puy de Cicadogne, to the to which

head of the Dore, which gives to, or takes, name Excursions may be made. 1. Up the valley of Mont from the district, and unites with the Dogne to Dore to Pic du Capucin (3 kil.), across the little wire make the Dordogne, which flows across France to bridge on the river, and so called from á rock near the Gironde, near Bordeaux. the summit, which gives it a likeness to å monk's Leaving this interesting place, you come to hood; and the wild Gorge de la Cour, or d Enfer, BORT (about 30 kil.), in a fine valley of the 2 kil. further. 2. To Salon de Mirabeau, named Dordogne, under Orgues de Bort or Sancy, å rugged from the orator's father, who visited here, 1787; la basaltic peak, with a pyramid at top (left in the Vernière fall; the Plat à Barbe, a pool in a ravine; French trigonometrical survey), whence there is a and the Grande Scierie sawpits; 6 kil. in all. noble view of great extent; but the place is most 3. Along the Dordogne to La Bourboule (5 kil.), a remarkable as the birth-place of Marmontel, who has pretty village under & scarped rock. Here is a described the course of his early life here, in his little bathing-place; the water is hot and purga- | entertaining Memoirs.

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed]

round-arched abbey church, 198 feet long, with a 1 Villeneuve (3 miles). Then dome and towers; and the church of Notre Dame | Villefranche-de-Rouergue (61 miles), a de Puy, with a good carved screen. There are also sous-préfecture of 10,200 souls, in department two aiguilles, or pillar stones, at the west and south

Aveyron, in a fine valley, where the Aveyron and ends of the village, which served as landmarks. A

Alzon meet, founded by Alphonse (brother of pyramid has been raised to Champollion Jeune, the

Louis IX.), Count of Toulouse, near the site of a reader of hieroglyphic writing, and a native. Pupu

Roman station called Carento:nagus. Round the lation, 8.400. Hotels.-Born: Pontié.

market-place are several large old houses, with [CARDAILHAC (10 kil. on the west), has some

arcades in front. The collegiate church, which towers, &c., of a large castle, and was dis

rises above everything else, has a good porch in mantled by Louis XIV. for its attachment to

the plain west front, with a high tower over it. Protestantism.-At Assier (16 kil. west-north Its cloisters now serve for a hospital. There are west of Figeac), are the fine remains of another

a college, a library of 7,000 volumes, museum, &c.; castle, built by Gaillot de Genoulhac, whose

and manufactures of linen, copper, iron, leather, monument is in the old church, with the motto,

paper, with a traje in grain, wine, truffles, hams, ** Après la mort, bonne renommée demeure"

cattle, &c. (a good name lives after death).-Brengues (18 | Hotels.--Du Grand Soleil ; Des Quatre Saisons kil. north-east), on the Célé, has two or three (Four Seasons). old castles, in a very hilly, romantic spot.

The rail hence to Montauban follows the south CAJARE (21 kil. south-west), on the Lot, is a side of the Aveyron (leaving the high road on the

village of 2,000 souls, in a beautiful spot south side) to
among vineyards and hills, with an old Gothic Monteils (6 miles).
hurch of the 13th century, and castle.-

Najac (3} miles).
Ginouillac, a little west of this, is on the road to

La C

e (6 miles). Cahors, which is about 35 kil. further, riê Lexos (54 miles), where the line to Montauban Lentillac, Gironde, &c.]

turns off. After Figeac, as above, you come, leaving the [It passes St. Antonin (71 miles) station, at castle of Cénievières on the west (a vast structure some distance from the village, which lies of different dates, with a noble prospect from its across the river, on the road to Caussade. terrace) to

Population, 4,200. Capdenac (4 miles), on the Aveyron side of the Penne (7 miles). Lot, where the branch line to Rodez joins.

Bruniquel (4} miles), on the Vurre. An old [It passes St. Martin de Bouillac (5 miles), castle here.

and Panchot (2} miles), to Viviez (2 miles), Montricoux (3) miles). where a short branch goes off to the large Négrepelisse (1} miles), in department Tarnforges of Decazeville; then Aubin (2) et-Garonne. Population, 3,300. It was taken miles), with its old castle, and Cransac (2 by assault by Louis XIII. for its Protestantism. miles), among forge3 and iron mines, to St. The old castle stands in a pretty spot by the Christophe (8j miles); next, Marcillac river. (41 miles), on the Célé, a branch of the Lot, St. Etienne (31 miles). which has an old abbey church, not far from Montauban (8} miles), on the Bordeaux and a large stalactite grotto, full of galleries and Cette line (see Route 66).] chambers ; Nuces (3 miles), Salies-la From Lexos the stations are, Vindrac (61 Source (5 miles), and Rodez (54 miles), for miles); Donnazac (5 miles); and Cuhuzac (3 which see Route 52.]

miles), to After Capdenac, the next station is

Tessonnières (34 miles), where the line from Naussac (5 miles), followed by

Albi falls in (Route 52), and by which it is 36 miles Salles-Courbatiers (of miles), and

to Toulouse.

ROUTE 52.

Jacobins, a priests' seminary, and a view from the

bishop's Palace, as well as other points, of Plomb de Clermont-Ferrand to Toulouse, by way of Cantal, &c. Population 5,800. Issoire, St. Flour, Rodez, Albi, and

Hotels.-De France ; Amangat. Tessonnières.

The road to Mende (83 miles) and Nismes, by Clermont to Issoire and Arvant, as in Route | St. Cheley, turns off here (see Route 32). 65. Hence by rail to

CHAUDES-AIGUES (33 kil.), i.e., Hot Springs, lies Lempdes (3 miles), where coal is found. Then in a deep gorge of the mountains between Arpast Blesle (7 miles) to

vergne and Gévaudan. Five springs, varying in Massiac (41 miles), in a gorge on the Alagnon, temperature from 135° to 177° (that called Par is as in department Cantal. Leaving the road to St. hot as this), are used not only for the bath and Flour (as below), the rail passes up a series of drinking, but for cooking, for hatching chickens terraces, to

washing fleeces, &c. Ferrières-St. Mary (94 miles), and

LA GUIOLE (32 kil.), in department Aveyron, is a Murat (12 miles), a sous-préfecture in depart- healthy place of 2,100 souls, on a basalt peak, ment Cantal, on the Alagnon, among the basalt nearly 3,300 feet above the sea. They make good hills round Mont Cantal. Population, 2,600. cheese here.

One hill, Roche Bonnâvie, with a basalt cliff, in ESPALION (24 kil.), a small industrious sous-préwhich are prismatic pillars (some 50 feet long), fecture, in the middle of a large basin, on the Lot, has the old castle of Jacques d'Armagnac on top. covered with vines, &c. Population, 4,400. To avoid the steep road beyond this, the Tunnel of

[ST. GENIÈS DE RIVA D'OLT (21 kil. east-southLioran, about 5,000 feet long, was cut, 1839-47,

east), on the Lot, an industrious place of 4,000 through the volcanic heights which divide the

population, who make flannels, woollens, &c. Alagnon and Cere. It comes out near the old

It stands among vineyards and falls, in a road, between Puy de Griou and

charming valley of the Lot, here crossed by a Plomb de Cantal, which is 6,095 feet above the

bridge, and once called Oltis, whence the name, sea, and a centre of a range of extinct volcanoes,

signifying on the bank of the Lot."] as Puy de Mary, Puy Chavaroche, &c., in continu

At 32 kil. further is ation of those in Puy de Dôme. It is a smooth cone, round which twenty or thirty streams (the

RODEZ, or RHODEZ, head waters of the Dordogne, Lot, Allier, &c.) take their rise almost as regularly as the spokes of a

On the branch line from Capdenac (Route 52). wheel.

HOTELS. - Des Voyageurs (Travellers); Des 'The next stations are Le Lioran (74 miles), St. Princes; De la Ville de Paris. Jacques (34 miles), and Thiézac (41 miles); then

Population, 11,860.

The chief town of department Aveyron (formerly Vic-sur-Cère (2} miles), in the beautiful valley

of the province of Rouergue), seat of a bishop, triof the Cère, which the line descends, við Pol

bunal, &c., finely placed in a healthy spot, on the minac (3 miles) and Arpajon (7} miles) to

| crest of a hill, 150 feet above the Aveyron, which Aurillac (2} miles), the chief town of the

| winds round the bottom, and 2,170 feet above the department; for which and the rest of the line to

sea. It was the ancient Legodunum, a capital of Capdenac, see Route 51.

the Rateni (from whom comes the modern name), From Massiac, as above, the road 'proceeds to so called from their goddess Ruth or Venus. Rho

St. FLOUR (30 kil.), & sous-préfecture in depart- danois money was coined here by its early counts, ment Cantal, and seat of a bishopric, on a basalt in the Rue de Saounario (i.e., sous-factory), where precipice, 330 feet above the high road. It was the mint stood till 1824. The château is gone, built about the year 1000, and has a Gothic cathe- except the Martelière toier, built 1264, now a dral of the 15th century, the convent of the prison; it was taken by the English in the 14th

« AnteriorContinuar »