« AnteriorContinuar »
souls, in department Ardennes, on a hill, by the a written contract, kindly promising him Aisne, was an old Roman castrum rectectum, and many acres in heaven as he had made a dons the head of a duchy, once held by the Duc de tion of on earth. The original document we Meilleraye, who married Cardinal Mazarin's niece. to be seen here till the last century.] It was besieged, 1660, by the Spaniards, who de Pass Poix-Terron (5 miles), &c., and 10 mila feated Turenne close by, then fighting for the further is Fronde. Condé took it four years after, but gave it up to Turenne, who was now on the court side,
MEZIERES (162 miles from Paris). after changing his religion. An old tower remains. HOTELS.-Du Palais Royal; Des Postes, Linens and nails are made.
Population, 5,610. Hotels.--Du Commerce; De France; Du Lion d'Or (Golden Lion).
This small, dull, capital of department Ardennes Coaches to Château-Porcion, Attigny, Signy
is a military post of the second class, opposite
| Charleville. close to the Belgian frontier, on l'Abbaye, Novion, &c. [At 8 kil. west-north-west, is CHÂTEAU-PORCIEN,
bend of the Meuse, in a pleasant hilly spot, sturdown the Aisne, under an old castle on a rock,
rounded by Vauban's lines and a citadel. It is which belonged to the Counts of Champagne.]
as old as 847, when a castle was built here, which
the Counts of Rethel took possession of. Among Amagne (54 miles), the station for Attigny and
the few buildings worth notice are, the old Gothic Vouziers.
church, built 1412-1506, which has a good portal, s [ATTIGNY (7} miles), on the Aisne, has traces of
high vault, painted glass, and an inscription, a palace of the early kings from Clovis, who
"feliciter," put up when Charles IX. married his built it 617. A council was held here 765;
wife here, 1570. At the Hôtel de Ville, built 1739, and here Witikind, the Saxon, was baptised,
is the flag of the Chevalier Bayard, " sans peur et 786. Charles the Simple built St. Walburg's
sans reproche," who with 2,000 men defended the church here. It was afterwards a country
town against a force of 40,000 Austrians, in 1521, seat of the Reims archbishops, but suffered so
when bombshells were used for the first time: this much from the English and the Frondeurs,
flag is carried in procession every 27th September. &c., that it is now a small village of only 1,600
It also stood a seven weeks' siege in 1815, after souls.
Waterloo. The Hôtel Dieu was built 1746. About VOUZIERS (101 miles), further up the Aisne, a
4,000 volumes are in the publie library. a small but thriving sous-préfecture of 2,800 population, near which the Prince de Ligne
Leather, serge, &c., are made. Rail to Hirson was killed, 1792. It was about here that, in |
(35 miles), Sedan, Givet, Verdun, Metz, &c. From the Revolutionary war, a sudden panic took
Sedan (see Route 58), it is about 7 miles to Bouillon, possession of the French under Doumouriez,
in Belgium. when, to the number of 10,000, they fled 40
From Mézières, on the rail to Namur, you pass leagues before 1.200 Prussian hussars, and for | Charleville, only of a mile, by a viaduct,
a moment threw all France into alarm. near the suspension bridge, on the Meuse. It was BUZANCY (22 kil. east-north-east of this) has near built by, and called after, Charles, Duke of Nevers
it the Château de la Cour, which belonged to the and Mantua, 1606, and has a pretty walk at Petit Reims prelates, and a building like a mosque, Bois, a college or school, hospital, theatre, and called Mahomet, and built, they say, by a
bibliothèque of 24,000 volumes, with a museum of crusader. At 21 kil. further is Stenay (see
natural history. A castle stood on Mont Olympe Route 5).]
between 1639 and 1689. Population, 9,900, wo Launois (15 miles), on the Vence.
make nails, fire-arms, iron goods, and a trade in [At 10 kil. west-north-west is SIGNY L'ABBAYE, slate, coal, marble, grain, &c.
so called from remains of a Benedictine Abbey, Rail, down the Meuse, to Charleroi and Brussels founded 1134, by St. Bernard, and endowed by | The rail between Charleville ard Sedan was opened a seigneur of Châtillon, to whom the saint gave in December, 1933, Two bridges cross the Meuse
om Sedan it is continued to Thionville (Route | ROUTE 66.. 1, and from Charleville to Givet; thus completing
Blesme to Chaumont. e north-east frontier line.
Distance by rail, 553 miles, or 90 kil. Pour Pass Nouzon (4} miles), &c., to Deville (81 | trains a day. iles), to the west of which is
Blesme, as on the Strasbourg line (Route 54). Rocroy, or Rocroi, a fortress of the fourth class,
Then over a wide plain to ith a frontier custom-house or douane, on a plain,
St. Dizier (7} miles), a sous-préfecture, in 190 feet above the sea, where the great Condé,
Haute-Marne (population, 8, 100) on the Marne, hen Duke of Enghien, and only twenty-two years among woods. It was besieged by Charles V., in Id, gained his famous victory over the Spaniards,
1544, and mostly burnt by accident, 1775. It has c., 19th May, 1643. The town stands among the
| part of an old Castle, near the Gothic Church, and prests of Ardennes, and was founded by Francis I. ( a modern Hôtel de Ville. 'opulation, 3,600. Coach to Cjuvin. It is about Hotels.—Du Soleil d'Or (Golden Sun); L'Arbre 3 kil. to Landrecies, described in Route 6.
d'Or (Golden Tree). Wood is cut and iron forged
here. Fumay (12 miles), on the Meuse, is noted for its
One of the forges, Marnaval, owes its origin, rdoisères, or slate works, in the mountains here,
says tradition, to the following story. Henry IV. hrough which the river has made a deep cutting.
having visited St. Dizier, the échevin or sheriff, An old castle stands upon it. Merinoes, flannels,
Beaudesson, came to pay his respects. He was so team engines, glass, &c., are made. Population,
like the king, that the guard presented arms an I 1,100. It was the centre of a little neutral spot,
sounded trumpets, to the astonishment of Henry, when joined to France, 1770.
who, putting his head out of the window, asked if Givet (15 miles), a fortified town on the Meuse, there were two kings there. Beaudesson entered, lose to the Belgian frontier, in a hilly and rather | and the king, surprised at the likeness, inquired if picturesque spot, is composed of Petit Givet, at his mother had ever been at Béarn (where Henry The end of the stone bridge, and Grand Givet, with came from). “No, sire," answered the sheriff, Charlemont fort at the other end, the latter being “but my father has travelled a good deal." The on a high rock. It was used as a depôt for English king was so tickled with the répartée, that he told prisoners in the war, when the Rev. R. Wolfe Beaudesson to ask whatever he liked. He asked voluntarily Jaboured among twelve hundred of to build a forge on the Marne; and this was the them, preaching the gospel, forming schools, &c., origin of Marnaval. as related in his work, “English Prisoners in Branch rail to Vassy (141 miles), viâ HumbéFrance." It has the churches of St. Hilaire and court (58 miles), Eclaron ( miles), Louvemont Notre Dame, a library of 5,000 volumes, and (34 miles), and Pont-Varin (1 mile), all unimchamber of manufactures. Population, 6,400. portant. Pottery, pipes, and iron goods are made. In the
(Vassy, or Wassy, a sous-préfecture, on the site, neighbourhood is the old Château of Mont d'Hano
some say, of Vadieases, which was burnt by (near Vireux Wallerand), and up the river, the
Caracalla in 211. Roman coins have been found. high state cliffs, called the Dames de la Main.
An inscription near the hospital marks where a . Boats ascend it to Mézières.
massacre of the Protestants took place, 1562, by
the Duc de Guise. Large forests and iron forges Hotel.-Du Mont d'Or.
surround it. Population, 2,583.] Coach to Vireux, on the Sambre and Meuse line.
Eurville (6 miles), on the Marne, the nearest Further down the river are Dinant, and Namur station for Vassy. (in BELGIUM), from which the rail can be taken to Chevillon (6 miles), further up the Marne, Waterloo and Brussels. A rail is making to unite Joinville (6 miles), an old place in a pleasant Dinant and Namur. The dark slaty cliffs of the spot on the Marne, among vineyards and iron river are high and imposing. (See BRADSHAW'S | forges, under a hill, on which stood (till the Duke Hand-Book to Belgium and the Rhine.)
of Orléan 3 pulled it down, 1790) the old Castle of
the Sires de Joinville and the Ducs de Guise, | 10th century, a celebrated fortress from which the where the famous Catholic League was entered | Dukes of Lorraine took their war-cry of “Prigny! , into, 1585. The Prince de Joinville takes his title | Prigny!” The river improves in beauty, to the hence. One of its lords was the Sieur de Joinville, suspension bridge, at who wrote the “Histoire de St. Louis IX. du nom," Noveant (31 miles), which is on the new Gera charming picture of the French knight of that man frontier. Between it and the next station are age and of his excellent and pious sovereign.
seen (at Jouey), near the river, 20 or 21 fine Vignory (6 miles).
Roman arches of the aqueduct, which went to Metz; Bologne (5 miles), and its tunnel. Here a branch
one arch across the road is 60 feet high. rail turns off to Neufchâteau, 31 miles.
Ars (38 miles), or Arches-sur-Moselle, from the [It passes Chantraines, Andelot (94 miles),
remains of the same aqueduct visible here. At 5 on the Rognon, Bourmont St. Blain (7
miles further is miles), &c., to Neufchâteau (145 miles) on
Metz, the capital of German Lorraine, or Loththe Meuse, as in Route 54; and is to be con
ringen, annexed to the German Empire since the tinued to Pagny on the Strasbourg line.]
war. For this and the remainder of the line to And 9 miles further is
Forbach, &c., see BRADSHAW'S Hand-Book to BelChaumont, on the Paris, Troyes, and Mulhouse
gium and the Rhine. line. (See Route 62.)
Metz to Thionville, Montmédy, Sedan, Nancy to Metz, Forbach, and Mannheim.
Mézières. By branch rail (from Frouard) 113 kil., or 788
By rail. For the first part of this route, viz.: miles to Forbach, in 37 to 4 hours.
Metz to Thionville, now annexed to Germany, so Nancy, as in Route 54, on the Strasbourg BRADSHAW's Hand-Book of Belgium and the Rhini. 220 miles from Paris.
At Thionville, the line turns off north-west Frouard (C} miles), towards Paris. The Moselle towards Mézières, along the Belgian frontier, pasti is navigable from here.
several memorable spots, which figured in the Marbache (41 miles). Population, 7,000. war of 1870-1.
Dieulouard (3 miles), an ancient village on a Hayange (45 miles), an industrious village in rock, by the Moselle, on the site of Scarpone, or pretty part of the Feusch, among iron and cod Sarpane, which the Huns destroyed (906). It has works, near the Chandebourg mineral spring a Gothic church of the 15th century, and a ruined Then Fontoy (5 miles), Audun-le-Roman ( château. Coins and remains of a Roman way have miles), Joppécourt (41 miles), and Pierrepont been found at Scarpone. Through a pretty valley, miles), all in a busy mineral district; follow to
by Longuyon (57 miles), on the Chiers, which Pont-à-Mousson (41 miles), a town of 8,120 ironworks and factories for fire-arms. souls, at the brick bridge (pont) on the Moselle, 1 Here the line to Arlon, in Belgium, turns off under Mousson hill, which is crowned by a ruined Cons-la-Granville (61 miles) and Longwy castle of the 12th century. Here are a Gothic miles). church of the 13th century, with two good six [Longwy (10 miles from Longuyon) or Lom sided towers on square bases; large cavalry bar Vicus, on the Belgian frontier, includes racks ; part of St. Marie's old abbey; and an Basse (lower) Ville, on the Chiers, and H. arcaded place (square), in which stands a house Ville, on the hills above, strongly fortified carved over with the Sept Péchés Capitaux (seven Vauban. It belonged to the Dukes of capital sins), in the quaint coarse style of the raine till the French acquired it, 1679; middle ages. Marshal Duroc was a native. was taken by the Prussians, 1792. Gan Charles III., Duke of Lorraine, founded an univer Mercy, who fell in battle, 1659, was a ast sity here.
The next stations, descending the Chiers Pagny-sur-Moselle (57 miles) is under the Vezin (54 miles), Velosnes, and fine ruins of Prény, or Prigny Castle, built in the Montmédy (7} miles from Vezin), a sota
fecture in department Meuse, of 2,700 souls, | site now marked by a stone; a bronze of him by and one of Vauban's fortified forts of the Gois, stands near the Hôtel de Ville. He was fourth class, irregularly built on the Chiers brought up at Bazeilles. Here died, in 1662, the upper town being placed between two another French Marshal, Fabert; a fine genius, hills (mons medius), from which the town and most high-minded man. derives its name. It was taken by France, Sedan is well built, with many grey houses of 1657. Here the French were defeated, August, stone and slate, among meadows, backed by woods; 1871. Trade in pottery (made by gipsies, here, but the streets are narrow, and the water is as elsewhere, called “Bohemians "), leather, so bad that the people are subject to goitres in hosiery, &c.
the neck. There are, a library, a theatre, three At 7 kil. to the north is the deserted Gothic barracks, one being for cavalry, a well-supplied
church of AVIOTHE, with some elegant carvings, arsenal and magazines, and a military hospital, and light spires; near it is a small chapel, on a hill, 130 feet above the river. A large having a pretty spire porch in front. Many tree, called Trois Frères, stands on the Garenne traces of Roman possessions were found in promenade. It is memorable in current history 1823. To the west-south-west (15 kil.) is for the disastrous Battle of 1st September, 1870, STENAY, an old place on the flats of the Meuse, between the French, under Napoléon III. and called Satanacum, when the kings of Austrasia Marshal McMahon, and the Germans, under King had a seat here. Louis XIV., in 1648, gave it William I. of Prussia; the French being completely to Condé, and captured it a few years after defeated, and obliged to surrender their whole from the leaders of the Fronde, who made a army-upwards of 80,000 men-as prisoners of war treaty with the Spaniards here. There are to the Germans. McMahon was disabled by a large cavalry barracks, and forges turned by wound, and resigned the command to General the stream.]
Wimpffen, who signed the articles of capitulation. After this, the line passes Chauvency (37 miles),
The rain poured incessantly during the fight. Lamouilly (37 miles), Margut (41 miles), and
The Emperor, upon giving himself up the day Blagny, in department Ardennes, to
after, was sent to Wilhemshöhe, near Cassel. His Carignan (5 miles from Margut), on the Chiers,
meeting with the King took place at M. Amour's which joins the Meuse above Sedan. Formerly
Château de Bellevue, 3 miles west, on a point overcalled Ivoi, and belonged to the families of Soissons
looking the battle-field, after an interview with and Penthièvre. It was given up to France at the Bismarck at the Weaver's Cottage; both of which peace of Ryswick, 1692, having been part of Lux- | were visited by the Prince of Wales, August, 1871. embourg before. The French sustained a defeat The German head-quarters staff was at Donchéry, here, August, 1871.
to which the King came up from Pont-à-Mousson, to Leaving this, we come to Sachy, Pourru watch the fight. At first he thought the Emperor Brévilly (5} miles from Carignan), and Douzy had escaped, but was assured of final success by (11 miles) to Bazeilles, which, with its 700 seeing a flag of truce. The French, who fought houses, and 2,000 to 3,000 population, was miserably with desperation, were caught in the trap laid for burnt in the fight of 31st August, 1870. It has them by Molkte, in their attempts to relieve Metz. been restored again. Next is Pont-Maugis (14 Trade in grain, medical plants, leather, and the miles); and then
weaving and dyeing of cloth of noted quality. Sedan (31 miles), on the Meuse; a sous-préfec Hotels.-De la Croix d'Or (Golden Cross); De ture (population, 15,540) and fortified town of the l'Europe; De Turenne. Conveyances to Mézières, third class, in a flat spot. It had a castle in the Verdun, &c. The rail to Charleville was opened in 9th century, belonging to the archbishop of Reims, I December, 1858, passing two viaducts on the Meuse. which came to the ferocious De la Marck, the The next station is Wild Boar of Ardennes, in the 17th century, and Donchéry (14 miles), a small town on the then to the Ducs de Bouillon.
Meuse, with manufactures of lace, etc. It was Turenne was born, 1611, in the old château-a the German head-quarters at the battle of Sedan,
(Sec. 5. Nouvion-sur-Meuse (38 miles), followed by The rail is continued, via Vesoul, to Griy, Charleville (39 miles), opposite
bringing Nancy into direct communication with Mézières, on the Meuse, as in Route 55. the southern lines. ROUTE 59.
(By rail to Remiremont, up the Moselle, you
pass Dinozé (3}miles), to Arches (7} miles): Nancy to Epinal, Mulhouse, Besangon, where the branch to Laveline turns off, as in Vesoul, and Gray.
Route 60; then Pouxoux (8 miles), Eloyes Nancy, and Varangeville-St.-Nicholas (8 (4 mile), and St. Nabord (24 miles), 10 miles), as on the Strasbourg line, in Route 54. The Remiremont (3miles), a sous-préfecture in next stations are
department Vosges (with a population of 5,670), Rosières-aux-Salines (31 miles), and
in a pretty valley under the Vosges mountains, Blainville-la-Grande (44 miles); both on the just above where the two heads of the Moselle main line. Then turn off to
join. It began in an abbey for canonesses, Einvaux (41 miles).
founded 620, rebuilt in the Italian style, 1751, Bayon (44 miles). Coaches to Haroné, Tan and used as the Mairie. It is well laid out, tourville, Vezelize.
with wide streets, and fountains. The library Charmes (7 miles), on the Moselle. Coaches
has 6,700 volumes, and there is a good cabinet to Mirecourt, Vittel, Contrexeville, Lamarthe,
of mineralogy. The Bouchot and Cave falls Bourbonne-les-Bains (see Route 62).
are near Vagny, on the Clurie (16 kil.) To (MIRECOURT (20 kil. south-west) is a sous-pré Plombières (14 kil). fecture on the Madon. Population, 5,400.
Trade in butter, Géromé cheese, kirsch-Wasser Lace and musical instruments are made.)
(cherry brandy), pâtés de truite (trout pies). Châtel-Nomexy (61 miles), on the Moselle.
From this, by road, to St. Maurice (29 kil.), At 94 miles further, in the old province of Alsace, is
stands under the Ballon d'Alsace, one of the EPINAL,
highest (4,100 feet) of the Vosges, which com464 miles from Nancy, 2664 miles from Paris.
mands a view of vast extent, taking in the HOTELS.-Du Louvre; De la Porte; Des Vosges;
plains of Alsace, the Black Forest (in Baden), Du Lion d'Or.
the nearer Alps, &c. It is less by 108 feet Population, 11,960. Chief town of department
than the Ballon de Guebwiller, which overVosges, on the Moselle, in a hollow, on the slope of
hangs St. Amarin. GÉRARDMER (22 kil. eastthe Vosges mountains, 1,050 feet above the sea. north-east), is near a lake at the Vologne's with the ruins of its old castle seated on a rock
head, among the Vosges hills and forests, and higher up. The river divides it into Grande Ville
or its cheese. Population, 5,700. and Petite Ville (joined by a stone and a suspension Further on, you come to bridge) and the Faubourg, near the canal. It is BUSSANG, in a deep gorge of the Vosges, with well built, and provided with fountains; but the 1,700 souls, and excellent mineral waters. buildings are of no consequence. The large college Then to the picturesque valley of belonged to the Jesuits; the Capuchin convent is
St. AMarin, near the new German border, and turned into a hospital, and has extensive gardens
the old castles of Friedbourg, Stoenbourg, and round it; the parish church has a good choir.
Wildenstein. There are, besides, a library of 17,000 volumes, a At 20 kil, from St. Maurice is museum, orphan asylum, cavalry barracks, the Thann, where the railway is taken for Doublat gardens, salle de spectacle, &c., and several Mulhouse, on the Strasbourg and Basle railpaper works. The river makes some cascades. way. (See BRADSHAW's Hand-Book to Belgius Many English were confined here in the war time. and the Rhine).] Trade in grain, cattle, wood, &c.
From Epinal, by the main line to Vesoul, we Rail to Remiremont, Laveline (see Route 60). | pass on to Aillevillers (for Plombières), Vesoul, etc.,
Douxnoux (11 miles), and