Imagens das páginas
PDF

Xertigny (8 miles), among ironworks at the of prussic acid contained in the kernels. head of the Saône. Then

Population, 1,100.] La Chapelle-au-Bois; and

St. Loup (34 miles), the station for St. Luxeuil Bains (11 miles from Xertigny), or Bains-les-(61 miles). Bains, in a well-wooded valley on the Coucy, and

(LUXEUIL is another place for mineral baths, in a so called from its warm springs, called the Old and

plain under the Vosges mountains, covered

with wood. The Breuchin divides it from St. New Baths, and Fontaine de la Vache, uselul as tonics in nervous and rheumatic complaints. The

Sauveur, a village of 1,150 souls. season is from the middle of May to that of Sep

It was known to the Romans, as proved by a tember; there are a saloon, good lodgings, prome

inscription at the Hôtel de Ville, in the Ruo

des Romains, where the Baths stand, in the nades, &c., and traces of Roman occupation.

midst of fine grounds, under the names of Population, 2,500.

Bains des Femmes, des Hommes, &c. They are Allevillers (87 miles), the station for the

of a similar quality to those of Plombières. PLOMBIÈRES spa (7} miles east).

Luxeuil has a college, and an old Benedictine (PLOMBIERES.

abbey. Population, 3,860. HOTELS.—De l'Ours; Des Bains; Tête d'Or.

Trade in hams, cattle, wine, grain.

Hotels.--Du Lion d'Or (Golden Lion); Lion Vert A noted watering-place, among hill-forests, in the

(Green Lion).]
valley of Eaugronne, along which is the Pro-
menade des Dames, laid out by Stanislaus, king

Conflans (5 miles), and Faverney (7} miles), to of Poland, 1775, and leading to Moulin Joli Mill, Port d'Atelier (34 miles), where there is a loop so called by the Empress Josephine.

with the Belfort line. Hence to Port-sur-Saône The Baths are hot and cold, and are used from

(4} miles);
May to October, sometimes by as many as Vaivre (5 miles); and
1,500 visitors. They are for the most part Vesoul (2} miles), as in Route 62; where the
saline and tonic, and, as usual, are regulated continuation to Gray, viâ a line passing near BOUR-
by government.

BONNE-LES-BAINS, is described. By road to
Bain des Dames is the site of a nunnery; Bain

Besangon (294 miles; Route 21), viâ Maisondes Anciens, or Grand Bain, the oldest, is used

| Neuve, Ryoz, and Voray, on the Oignan.
by the poor ; Bain Tempere, charge 40 to 70
centimes; Bain Royal, or Bain Neuf, has a

ROUTE 60.
salle de comédie (for balls, &c.); Bain des
Romains is the most elegant. Another is called

Epinal to the Ban de la Roche and
Bain des Capuchins; and there are also the Fon-

Strasbourg.
taines du Crucifix, Savonneuses, and la Bour-

Distance, 127 kil., or 79 miles. deille (containing iron). Here Cavour had a

Epinal, as in Route 59. meeting with the Emperor, July, 1858, before

GIRECOURT (15 kil.) the Italian war. Population, 1,500.

RAMBERVILLERS (13 kil.), a place of 4,900 souls, Excursions in the neighbourhood -to Jacquot with a good bibliothèque of 10,000 volumes. farm, the Val d'Ajou, the valleys of Erival [St. Dié, or ST. DIEY (24 kil. east-south-east), a (and its abbey) and des Roches, the Tonnere station on the Lunéville and St. Dié rail stone, &c. They sell wood carvings and kirsch (Route 54), a sous-préfecture in department wasser (cherry brandy) here. Conveyances, in Vosges, and bishopric, on the Meurthe, rebuilt the season, to Epinal, Besançon, Remiremont.

(after a fire, 1756), by Stanislaus, King of FOUGEROLLES (11 kil. south of Plombières), is

Poland. It stands under Mont d'Ornon, has the chief seat of the Kirsch-wasser trade, of some mineral springs, a library of 9,500 which there are several important houses here. volumes, and carries on a good trade. PopuIts perfume arises from the minute quantity 1 lation, 8,700.

One road leads hence, over the Vosges, to

ROUTĒ 81. LA POUTROYE (35 kil.), on the Wuss, and the

Strasbourg to Hagenau, Weissenbourg, lakes at its source, called Lac Blanc and Lac

and Mannheim. Noir, or Black and White. They are near the highest part of the mountain range. At 21 |

For the country along this ronte, now transkil. (urther is Colmar, on the Strasbourg rail

ferred to Germany, see BRADSHAW'S Hand-Book to way (see Route 54).

Belgiuin and the Rhine. Another road brings you to GEMAINCOTTE (12 kil.); and 12 kil. further east, to STE. MARTE

SUB-SECTION B.-ROUTES VIA THE AUX-MINES, on the Liepvrette, in a pretty

DIRECT BELFORT LINE. valley under the highest part of the Vosges, and so called from the mines of lead, silver,

ROUTE 62. copper, zinc, and arsenic around it. It has Paris to Montereau, Troyes, Chaumont, manufactures of cotton siamoises, &c., paper, Gray, Langres, Bourbonne-les-Bains, kirsch-wasser, and dye-works. Population, Vesoul, Plombières, Belfort, and Mul11.600, some of whom are harmless descendants house. of the once turbulent Munster Anabaptists. By rail, 3043 miles. This is the shortest route to Good mineral springs, but the air is sharp. At | Mulhouse; through trains, 12 to 16 hours. Opened, 22 kil. beyond this (past St. Hippolyte and its 1853. Embarcadère in Place de Strasbourg. castle), is Schlestadt, on the Strasbourg rail | A suburban branch of this line to Vincennes way (see Route 54).]

| and La Varenne-St. Maur sta ts from Place de

11 Bastille, passing Bel Air, St. Maudé, VinRaon l'Etape (10 kil.), on the Meurthe, à sta

cennes, and its fort ; then Fontenay-soustion on the Lunéville and St. Dié rail (Route 54).

Bois, Nogent-sur-Marne, Joinville-le-Pont, Up a branch of it, the Plaine (or else by way of

St. Maur-Port Créteil, Parc de St. Maur, Sennones and St. Jean du Mont), you come to

Champigny, and La Varenne-St. Maur. Hence SCHIRMECK (about 36 kil.), in the Vosges, or 39 to Sucy-en-Brie was opened 1872. kil. from St. Dié, as above, over the new German For Belfort, we follow the Strasbourg line to frontier. About 8 kil. south is the Ban de la Roche, Noisy-le-Sec (54 miles), after which it turns for which, and the rest of the road to Strasbourg,

off to see BRADSHAW's Hand-Book to Belgium and the Rosny-sous-Bois (2} miles), followed by Rhine.

Nogent-sur-Marne (24 miles), close to the From Epinal, a short line, called Ligne de la

viaduct over the Marne, 2,625 feet long, on 30 Vologne, in connection with the Chemins de fer des arches, the middle ones being '64 feet wide and Vosges, proceeds up the Vologne, parting off at

87 feet high. Coaches to Petit Bry, Noisy-leArches, 7} miles from Epinal, as in Route 59.

Grand, Neuilly-sur-Marne. It passes Jarmenil (2} miles), Docelles (21

Villiers-sur-Marne (24 miles), in department miles), Deycimont (2} miles) Lepanges (11

Seine-et-Marne. Coaches to Plessis-Trévise, Chenmilel, to Rruvareg 734 miles), and Laveline (2 nevières, Ormesson, Sucy-en-Brie. miles), the terminus, where conveyances may be Emerainville-Pontault (45 miles). Coaches got for Fraize (on a branch of the Meurthe), to Pontant, Ferolles, Chevry, Champs, Forey. Corcieux, Granges (in a fine mountain valley), Ozouer-la-Ferrière (3 miles). and GÉRARDMER. This is a place, 12 miles dis Gretz-Armainvilliers (37 miles), where the tant, in the heart of the Vosges mountains, from branch rail to Coulommiers (20.1 miles) turns off. which a fall called the caut des Cuves, the lake of [lt passes Tournon (1} mile), Marles-laRetournemer, and the Schlouck, and the Honeck, two Houssaye (5 miles), Mortcerf (4} miles), of the finest mountain peaks in the range may be Guérard (31 miles). Paremoutiers (2) visitd.

miles on the Aubelis, Mouroux (23 n;iles),

and Coulommiers (1 mile) on the Morin, as I the old Cordeliers convent, now the hospital, in Route 54.)

founded by the Counts of Champagne, 1050; Villepatour-Coubert (34 miles). Coach to and a mineral spring (with a bath-house), useCoubert.

ful in all cases of debility, &c. Part of the Ozouer-le-Voulgis (3 miles).

old town is excavated into caves and underVerneuil-Chaumes (2} miles). Coaches to ground passages. The rivers turn many cornGuignes, Andrezel, Champeaux.

mills and dye-works. Mormant (37 miles), has a good spire church, Trade in grain, wood, leather, and confectionery and in its neighbourhood) the moated Château de made from roses, grown here—the true seat of Bresscy, with another at Courpalais or Grange the Provins (not Provence) rose. Bienau, which belonged to Lafayette's family. About 17 kil. to the north, near Louan, are the Here Lafayette lived, and was visited by Fox, who fine and extensive ruins of Montaguillon, in a planted the ivy over the gateway. It has portraits forest.) of Presidents of the United States, and of Frank Chalmaison (2} miles). At lin, Kosciusko, Bailly, Rochefoucauld, &c., besides Flamboin (1 mile), is the branch down the The Flag of the States, given to Lafayette on his Seine, to Montereau, uniting this with the Lyons last visit to America. Coaches to Rosoy, Jouy-le rail. Châtel, Breau, La Chapelle-Gant, Melun.

[The first station is Grandpuits (31 miles).

Les Ormes (3 miles). Population, 800. Nangis (34 miles), in a fertile hollow of the

Vimpelles (11 mile). Population, 600. A Brie country, has a population of 2,200, who trade

pretty spire. in corn, butter, cheese. Two towers of the château Châtenay (4 miles). Population, 620. of its marquises remain, besides an ancient Gothic Montereau (8 miles), on the Lyons rail, as in church. Napoléon defeated the Allies here, 1814. Route 20. A viaduct on 4 arches, each 79 feet There is å still older church at Ramillon (4 kil. span, crosses the Yonne.] east).

On the main line, the next station to Flamboin is, Maison-Rouge (6} miles), or Leudon. Hermé (3 miles), near the château of Flamboix. Coaches to Donnemarrie and Chemoise.

Melz (3 miles) on the Forêt river; beyond which Longueville (54 miles). Here a short branch a viaduct in three parts, 216 feet long, crosses the ruil of 37 miles turns off to Provins. Coaches to Seine, near Bernières château. Bray-sur-Seine, on the river's south bank, at the Nogent-sur-Seine (31 miles). bridge to Mony.

Hotels.-Du Cygne d'Or (Golden Swan); Dr [Provins. Population, 7,550.

Signe de la Croix (Sign of the Cross). Hotels.--De France ; De Fontaine.

A sous-préfecture (in department Aube) of 3,600 A sous-préfecture in department Seine-et-Marne, souls, on the Seine, opposite the weir or fall, whero

in a fertile spot, on the Voulzie and Durtein, it becomes navigable. It belonged to St. Denis's on the side of a hill. There are many middle- | abbey, and came at length to the family of Cardinal age remains of walls and buildings, from its de Noailles. The allies, under Prince Schwartzenhaving grown out of a royal castle, founded | burg, took it by storm, when held by Bourmont in before 1120. It suffered much in the civil and 1814, when the Hôtel de Ville and a bridge were religious wars. In Haute Ville are the walls, destroyed. The large church was built between traces of the château, and St. Quirian's church, | the reigns of Charles VI. and Henry II. ; the which has a good choir, cupola, &c. Near it tower has a turret (built 1521-42), with a figure of stood, till lately, the Tour de César, built in St. Laurent on top. Trade in millinery, grain the 13th century.

charcoal, leather rope. Coach to Villenauxe. The two old gates of St. Jean and Jouy lead [About 8 kil. east-south-east, on the Ardasson, aro

down to Basse Ville, where the modern houses remains of the monastery founded, 1123, by are, surrounded by walls, with two churches ; ! Abélard, who fled here from his enemies, and called it Paraclete (i.e., comforter); which be- i well-built look, with a good church, hospital, came a convent under his wife, Heloise, and &c. Population, 4,600. A rail is intended to was the burial-place of both. Their bodies pass við Sézanne, uniting Romilly, on the remained here till removed to the Père la Mulhouse, to Epernay, on the Strasbourg Chaise, about 1793, and placed under the line.] monument brought from Abélard's first grave, Mesgrigny (74 miles) is reached by a viaduct at Chalons-sur-Saône. A pillar set up by across the étang or lake. Coaches to Méry, General Pajol marks where they lay here, Plancy, and Arcis. before this change.

[MÉRY-SUR-SEINE (3 kil.) is a small decayed VILLENAUXE (9 kil.) north-north-west, noted for town, on the Seine, frequently attacked in

its white wine and vinegar, is on a branch of earlier times, and finally burnt by Blücher, the Seine, and was once fortified. The Bene 1814. dictine monks of Nesle la Réposte Abbey ARCIS-SUR-AUBE (23 kil. east), a sous-préfecture, (founded 501), came here in the 16th century, in department Aube, of 2,800 souls, on the and rebuilt their Church of the original stones, Aube, where it is first navigable, was burnt as it now stands-a large and elegant struc in the defence made by Napoléon, with a small ture, having a light spire, beautiful stained force, against 80,000 Austrians, in 1814. A windows of the sixteenth century, when the small suspension bridge, 56 feet long (cost only art was perfected, and, among other carvings, 600 francs), leads to Dampierre, where the a curious one in the porch, of a web-footed general of that name is buried, and which has queen, supposed to be Clothilde.]

a château, built 1671, by Mansard. The views Pont-sur-Seine 145 miles), or Pont-le-Roi, in

from the hills around command good prospects.

Danton, the terrorist, was born here.] a pretty spot on the Seine, where the Aube joins,

St. Mesmin (37 miles), so called after St. Meshad a hunting château of the Counts of Champagne,

min, whom Attila put to death, 451; before that built by Le Muet, in which Napoléon's mother

it was called Brolium. lived. Being burnt by the Russians, 1814, it was

Barberey (84 miles), in a good pasture country, rebuilt by Casimir Perier, 830, in the Italian

noted for its cheeses. At 3j miles further is style. Population, 1,950. In the neighbourhood is a large dolmen or cromlech, of one great stone on

TROYES. three or four others; besides others lying about,

A buffet, 103} miles from Paris, 203 from Mulhouse. called by the people Tombeaux Romains (Roman tombs).

HOTELS.-Du Grand Mulet; Du Commerce; Des Romilly (64 miles) in a fertile hollow on the

Couriers; De France; De Paris ; Du Char d'Or. Seine, has a beautiful château, on the site of an old

19 OBJECTS OF NOTICE.—Cathedral—The Mallmoated fortress. Needles, &c., are made. About

Churches of St. Urban, Madeline, Pantaleon-Hôtel kil. west-north-west are two arches of the

de Ville. Cistercian abbey of Scelliérces, where Voltaire's Population, 36,000; at one time it had 50,000. body (having been refused burial by the Paris Chief town of department Aube (formerly of clergy) lay from 1778 till 1791, when it was moved province of Champagne), seat of a bishop, a society to the Pantheon. A stone, with A V on it, marks

of agriculture, &c., in a wide and fertile plain the spot. Coach to Anglure and Sézanne.

(dotted with country-houses), on the Scii.c, which [SÉZANNE (18 kil. south-south-west of Champau divides itself here into several canals; though the imperial crown. Under its count, Thibault IV., | Remy, a bronze crucifix, 33 feet high, by Girardon in the 12th century, it became a great place for another native. trading fairs; and hence we get the Troy Pound of The Hôtel de Ville, built 1624-70, by Mansard, twelve ounces. It was held by the English after has a good front, with busts of natives, and the treaty of 1420, by which Henry V. married Girardon's medallion of Louis XIV. At the BiblioKatharine, daughter of Charles VI., and was to thèque are as many as 55,000 volumes, and 5,000 succeed to the French crown; but Charles VII. | MSS., in a room 164 feet long; also specimens of retook it, 1429. The parliament of Paris was sent | glass, painted by Linard Gouthier, with scenes here, 1787. Napoléon made it his head-quarters, from the Life of Henry IV. The Musée contains a 1814.

bert), on the Auges, which supplies mills and for drinking the water is entirely drawn from wells bleach works, was a tower of Gallia-Comata, in the chalk. It was the head town of the Tricases destroyed by Thibault IV., Count of Cham or Trecce, whence comes the modern name. Attila pagne. It was rebuilt and taken by the threatened it, 451, and the Normans pillaged it, 889, English, 1223 : and suffered fro 11 the Hugue-, a few years after the meeting here, of Pope John nots and from fire; so that it has modern,

VIII. and Louis le Bégu? about the succession to

gallery of pictures, a collection of minerals, &c. On the top of the old walls, built by the Romans,

Two tombs of Henry I. and Thibault III. (1180-120) but much altered since their time, is a promenade

are placed in the Bishop's Palace. called the Mall. The town gates are called the

Notice the old timbered abattoirs or shambles, Hector, Andromaque, Paris, &c., all fancifully

wine and corn halls (the latter has a fine timbered named in remembrance of old Troy. Porte St. roof), the pepinière, or nursery, &c. Jaques, near the bridge, is flanked by two low-! The manufactures are a chalk preparation, called peaked Gothic towers and turrets. Close to the blanc d'Espagne (Spanish white), cotton stockings, Porte de Paris was a royal château, burnt in the and caps. great fire of 1524, along with a second, which be

Rail or coach to Bar-sur-Seine, Châtillon-surlonged to the Counts of Champagne, and a third

Seine, Les Riceys, Essois. which stood hard by the Cordeliers' convent, which [The rail to Bar-sur-Seine, &c., passes Maimake some derive the town's name from tres arces sons (53 miles), St. Parre-les-Vaudes (11 (three castles). The streets are full of old gable miles), &c., to ended houses, of carved and plastered timber, as Bar-sur-Seine (8} miles), a sous-préfecture of ancient as the 16th century, for the most part. 2,500 population, in a fertile valley among Among its eight churches is

vineyards on the Seine (crossed by a stone St. Étienne's Cathedral, begun 1208-25 (on the

bridge), below the junction of the Qurce and site of one as old as 872), and carried on till the

Laignes. It must have been a large place in west front was built, about 1506-20. This front

Froissart's time (1359), when the English has a good tower, 204 feet high (there were to have burnt “900 bons hôtels,” (houses). Like Barbeen two), and a fine stained rose window. It is sur-Aube, &c., its name (Bar) indicates that 371 feet long, and 164 wide through the transept. it was a provincial frontier town. It has a The nave, exclusive of its five aisles, is 34 feet wide good Gothic cross-shaped church. On St. and 96 high, ornamented, like the choir, with win Germain's Hill, is the rustic Chapel of Notre dows of the 13th century, containing finely stained Dame, founded 1070, by Simon de Valois. portraits of kings, counts, bishops, saints, &c., all Hotel.-Du Cheval Blanc (White Horse). in costume.

At 19 kil. west-south-west of Bar-sur-Seine, is St. Urban's beautiful collegiate church was built

CHAOURCE, near the head of the Amance, in the 13th century, by Pope Urban IV., born the

which turns several mills. Amadis Jamyn, a son of a tailor here, whose trade is painted in one

poet of the 16th century, was a native. of the windows. Excellent stained windows are

About 15 kil. south, in the valley of the Laignes. seen, in Ste. Madeleine's ancient church, of the 11th are LES RICEYS, viz. :-Ricey Haut, Ricey and 16th centuries, with a well-carved rood-loft (by Haute-Rive, and Ricey Bas, three places J. Galdo, 1518), one of five, for which the city was

founded, they say, by industrious Swiss settlers, noted; also in St. Pantaleon's, which has, besides, with good spire churches, and noted for wine. twenty statues close to its pillars. St. Nicholas Population, 3,564. offers a good portal; St. Jean, an altar piece of the Still going up the river, the branch line passes Baptism of Christ, by Mignard, a native; St. Gyé-sur-Seine (5} miles), Mussy (5)

« AnteriorContinuar »