« AnteriorContinuar »
beneficial in cases of weak lurgs. Amusement is / [From Laon the rail to Tergnier passes Crepyafforded by fishing in the lake, and excursions in Couvzon (64 miles), from which the glass the forest.
works of St. Gobain, and the old castles of Coucy Here the branch to Rheims (32 miles), turns off, and Anizy (Route 5) may be visited; and La vid Bralsnes and Fismes.
Fere (7} miles) on the Oise, the seat of the The next station to Soissons is Anizy-Pinon, oldest Artillery School in France (1719), and a and its old Castle, followed by
fortified post, taken by the Allies, 1815. Here Laon, 22 miles from Soissons, 87 miles from are an arsenal and barracks. Tergnier, 4 Paris, where the branches to Rheims and Tergnier miles further, is on the Paris and St. Quentin make a junction.
line, as in Route 5. Hotels.-La Hure; De l'Ecu; De la Barrière. From Laon to Rheims the rail passes CoucyPopulation, 10,100. Capital of department Aisne
Notre Dame de Liesse (7 miles), St. Erme (in the old province of La Brie), a fortified town, (41 miles), Guignicourt (8 milesi, near the and formerly seat of a diocese, on a rocky hill, 720 Aisne, and Loivre (6] miles). Rheims is 6 feet above sea level, in a fertile wine country, half
miles further, as in Route 55.] way between the Aisne and Oise. It was the
From Soissons the next station is Marle (16 ancient Laudunum, and as it stands high, the air is
miles), followed by keen, though healthy. The old walls and ramparts
Vervins (9 miles), on the Vilpion, a small place command a succession of the prospects on all sides. The Cathedral Church of Notre Dame, the most
and sous-préfecture of 2,80) population, frequently remarkable building, is an excellent uniform-speci
ravaged in the civil wars of France. Henry IV. men of the early pointed style in France; it was
and Phiip II., of Spain, made peace here, 1598. In built 1112-14. It has five towers, portals pierced
the chapel to the hospice, founded 1570, by Jacques with deep entrances (three in the west front),
de Coucy, is a picture by Jouvenet (St. Charles stained rose and other windows, and several orna
Borromeo during the Plague of Milan), and another, mented side chapels. St. Martin's Church is as old
| by the same hand, is in the parish church. as the 12th century, and has two good towers. The
At the next stations, Hirzon and Anor, junctions abbey of that name is now the Hôtel Dieu.
are made with the lines to Mézères, Giv t, CharlcAnother abbey (Notre Dame, founded 645), is roi, and Aulnoye (see Route 55). occupied hy the préfecture, where the library of 17.000 volumes is placed. There are also a good
ROUTE 7. museum of art, a college, theatre, barracks, the Paris to Creil, Beauvais, and Gournay. citadel (on the site of a castle built by Louis
By rail, 73 miles; four trains a day. Outremer, and pulled down, 1831), and the leaning tower of Penchée in the walls, near the Porte St.
Creil, as in Route 1. The intermediate stations, Martin.
Mouy, Heilles, Hermes, and Rochy-Conds, Lothaire I., St. Remi, and Marshal Serrurier, were
as the line ascends the Théraiņ, are ot no imborn here. It was taken by the Allies in 1814-15.
| portarce. Then comes Clovis made it the seat of a bishop, who afterwards
BEAUVAIS, came to be styled Duke of Laon. The caves in the
22 miles from Creil ; 54. miles from Paris. rock are worth notice. The Fort capitulated to the Germans, September, 1870. As they entered the
LIOTELS.-Du Cygne, good; Hôtel d'Angleterre. citadel, the powder inagazine exploded, killing 300 OT CHIEF OBJECTS OF NOTICE.—Cathedral St. French troops and 50 Germans. It was supposed Etienne's Church - Hôtel de Ville-Bishop's Palace at first to have been an act of treachery, but this --Tapestry Factory-Old Towers, in La Cité. was denied.
Population, 15,370. Chief town of department Manufactures of stockings, hats, leather, nails, Oise, and a bishopric, with a tribunale de première and a trade in corn, wine, excellent artichokes, &c. / instance, college, societies of agriculturo and arts. and manufactures, &c., standing in a fertile valley, | older than the cathedral, with good stained windows on the rivers Thérain and Avalon, on the old road of the 16th century. Formerly this town had three to Calais.
abbeys, seven convents, six collegiate, and thirteen This very ancient place was the Roman Cæsaro parish churches, with a commandery of St. John, magus or Bellovaci, which joined the league against &c., attached to it. Cæsar, without success. It gave name to the insur The Bishop's Palace, now the Préfecture, is in the rection of the “Jacquerie,” in king John's time, so castle style, with towers, &c. The Hôtel de Ville, in called after one Jacques, a man of Beauvais, who the Grande Place, is a fine, regular building, with headed the mob against their feudal oppressors. an Ionic front, built 1754. There are also, the The English besieged it, 1472, but were repulsed by college, the bibliothèque, or public library, of 7,000 Jean Lignière. It was again attempted by Charles volumes, the Hôtel Dieu, a salle de spectacle, or the Bold, with 80,000 men, in 1472, when it was so theatre, cavalry barracks, and the government well defended, by the valour of Jeanne Laine, or tapestry factory, founded by Colbert. Joanne le Hachette, and the women of the town, L'Ile Adam, Grand Master at the siege of Rhodes, that they have taken precedence of the men, in an was a native. Small canals and branches of the annual procession, in October, ever since. This Thérain run through the town. Its manufactures heroine's picture and banner are in the Hôtel de are woollens, flannels, good carpets, tapestry, shiwls, Ville.
linens (called demi-Hollands), felt for hats, cotton In La Cité, the oldest part, some round towers of thread, black lace; and it has a commerce in grain, solid construction may be seen, as ancient as the wine, woollen and other goods. The Germans 3rd or 4th century. The ramparts of the 12th occupied the town, 1870-1. century are laid out as promenades. You may Coachesto Songeons, Formerie, Crévecoeur, Grandnotice a great number of timbered houses, curiously villiers, &c. carved, with iheir gables turned to the narrow [CRÉVECGUR (20 kil. north), has the fine old brick streets.
Château of its seigneurs; and in the church St. Pierre Cathedral, in Rue St. Pierre, with its are good fragments of the tomb of Admiral tuttresses and pinnacles, is the great object of at Bonniyet, the favourite of Francis I. traction. It was begun, 1225, but is incomplete, GRÉNDVILLIERS (11 kil. north-west of this, near having no nave or steeple. The latter was over the Amiens and Rouen line), in a wide plain, turned in a storm, 1574. A fine rose window stands was founded, 1213, by a bishop of Beauvais, over the entrance, in the south porch, which is full and has near it the castle of Damerancourt, a of niches and other ornaments. The magnificent curious seven-storied building, with battlechoir is 51 feet broad, but 145 feet high! so that ments and corner towers, 106 feet liigh,--and in this respect it exceeds that at Amiens, by 13 fect, the pretty Château of Sarcus, built 1522, for and Westminster, by about 57 feet. It is the one of the mistresses of Francis I.] highest choir, or roof, perhaps, in the world. The Gournay (18) miles), a small place on the Epte, transepts were built, 1500-55. The long narrow and the Dieppe road, near the mineral water of windows are richly stained. In the chapel is the Jouvence. Gournay may be noticed as having given k celing effgy of Cardinal Forbia de Janson, by | name to the ancestors of the Gurney family, in Coustou, and a piece of tapestry, the “Healing of Norfolk. Here the rail from Pontoise and Gisors the Paralytic." One part, called the Basse CEuvre, makes a junction, and is to be carried on to Dieppe, on the west side, is of the 9th century.
46 miles further (sec Route 8). Roucn is about 35 St. Etienne's (St. Stephen's) is a transition church, | miles from Gournay,
System of France; SUPPLYING MANTES, ROUEN, DIEPPE, HAVRE, EVREUX,
Newhaven. It stands under the cliffs of the
Channel, where the Arques, Bethune, and Aulne Dieppe to Rouen and Paris.
fall into the sea. Close to the edge of these cliffs, By rail, 125miles. Five trains, in 4 to 7
near the old chapel of Caude-Côte, stands the old hours. Each passenger is allowed 30 kil., or about Castle, built 1433 (on the site of earlier structures); 60lbs. of luggage, free. From Dieppe to Rouen is
the conduits for supplying water to Dieppe are in a single line of rail. A direct line to Paris is in
the ditch. It commands a good prospect, and overprogress by way of Neufchâtel, Gisors, etc.
looks the baths. DIEPPE (64 miles from Newhaven.)
June to September is the bathing season here. It was occupied by the Germans, December, 1870,
There are bathing machines, hot and cold baths, at to obtain supplies.
the Establisement des Bains, a range which includes HOTELS.-Hotel Royal, facing the sea, is a first
assembly rooms, with a theatre, &c., all under the rate hotel in an admirable situation.
direction of a Physician Inspector. A ball every Grand Hotel des Bains, exceedingly good in every
The Harbour at the north end of the town has a De la Plage, facing the sea, and close to the
narrow, sandy mouth, and is entered between two Baths; a very good house.
piers, one of which carries a light or pharos, kept The Douane is at the railway station, close to the
for more than a century by the Bouzard family, quay; baggage of travellers direct to Paris need
who are celebrated here for the number of drowning not be examined till they get there.
persons they have saved. This harbour includes Vice Consul, H. Jartin, Esq.
an Avant Port, and floating Basin, and is scoured Protestant worship at the old Carmelite Chapel;
by means of a bassin de retenue behind. It will and in Rue Desmarest. An English Gothic Church
hold about 200 craft, up to 500 tons burden. is in progress.
English Physicians, Drs. Swain and Wilkinson. A large street, Grande Rue, leads from the quay Bankers, Osmont, Dufaur, and Co.
towards the castle at the other end. The houses are Post Office, Rue de l'Epée.
of brick chiefly, with high-pitched roofs and balKT OBJECTS OF NOTICE. – The Castle-Pharos conies, mostly built since the English bombarded it, Baths-Statue of Duquesne-the Pollet-Churches in 1694. The Barre faubourg is the quietest part. of St. Remi and St. Jacques.
The old walls are left. There are six places or Population, 20,200. A fishing port, sous-préfec- squares, the principal, or Place Nationale, having a ture (department of Seine-Inférieure), and bathing- statue of Duquesne (a native), erected in 1844; and place, the nearest to Paris, and within six hours of there are as many as 68 fountains, supplied by an
aqueduct, three miles long. The fishermen live in, in the history of Condé's sister, the beautiful Faubourg Pollet, which is worth visiting; here they Duchesse de Longueville. The church is worth remain a race distinct from, and almost hostile to, notice. their neighbours.
Auffay (6 miles), in the industrious and charmAmong the buildings are, St. Remi's Gothic ing valley of the Scie, which the railway crosses church, near the castle, rebuilt 1500-43; St. Jacques and recrosses above twenty times. Its church and on the site of an abbey, a Gothic church, with but the Virgin chapel deserve attention. There was a tresses, some good carvings, and towers, whence castle on the hill above it. Coach to Bacqueville, you get a fine prospect; Hôtel de Ville, near the | 15 kil. Maison Quenouille, the favourite residence of Saint-Victor (3 miles), takes name from a very Mademoiselle, or the Duchess of Berry, when she ancient abbey, of which the church is lert. Coaches came here for bathing. There is a public library to Tôtes, 5 kil.; St. Jeans, 14 kil.; and to Neusof 3,000 volumes, with a naval Museum ; and a châtel. Navigation school in the Pollet.
The chalk hills and valleys of the Pays de Caux, Dieppe figures in the history of geographical towards the summit of the line, are now traversed progress. Its seamen discovered Canada, and con by several deep cuttings and embankments, the veyed the first settlers to Senegal, where they most remarkable of which is Frithemesnil cutting, founded a port, called Petit Dieppe. Henry IV. | 7,874 feet long, 62 deep. The valley of the Cléres was here before the battle of Arques Castle (6 miles | is crossed by an embankment on the same scale. off), in 1589, when he defeated the Leaguers under [NEUFCHÂTEL (28 kil. east-north-east), is a sousthe Duke of Mayenne. Francis I. visited it in 1532, préfecture of 3,630 souls, on a wooded hill-side, and was entertained by the merchant Ango, whose on the fine valley of the Bethune, and is noted geat or manoir still remains at Varengeville (8 kil.), for its excellent cheese, of three sorts, viz., that not far from which is Cape l'Ailly light, 304 feet from pure cream, the second sort called Hearts high.
of Bray (the district around), and the large • Lace, pipes, clay figures, small baskets, and ivory round cheese. It was called Driencourt when trinkets (at St. Nicholas) are made. Oysters are Henry I. of England built his new castle eaten, fresh from the beds, near the Cours Bourbon. (Neufchâtel) here; which suffered in the wars
High water at the moon's fulland change, 10h.30m. of the League. At Nesnière château they show
Conveyances: By coach, to Abbeville, Neufchâtel, his room. There is a church, with painted Eu, &c.; by steamer, to Newhaven, daily. (See glass; also manufactures of wool, pottery, cot. BRADSHAW's Continental Railway Guide).
ton, glass, and a trade in cheese, beer, cider, &c. [CHÂTEAU D'EU (see Route 2) is about 30 kil., on Hotels.—Du Grand Cerf (Stag); Du Lion d'Or
the road to Abbeville and St. Valery-sur (Golden Lion). Coaches to Rouen, Paris, and Somme. At about 4 kil. on this road, you pass Abbeville.]
a large ancient camp, called Cité de Limes.) Monville (94 miles), a centre of factories, up the Leaving Dieppe, the line passes through the Cailly, from which a chord rail of 14 miles goes to Appeville tunnel, 5,389 feet long, ventilated by six Cléres, and thence on to Monterollier-Buchy, on shafts; then the churches of St. Aubin, Saugeville, the Rouen and Amiens line. Monville was dreadVaudreville (the last turned into a factory), to fully ravaged by a storm of wind and lightning, Longueville (9f miles), on a stream which runs April, 1845. Another cutting brings us to the junc
eppe. The station occupies the tion with the Havre line at site of an abbey, part of which is now a factory. | Malaunay (34 miles), which has paper and cotton Not far from the latter, on the east, is the ruined mills, on the Cailly, here crossed by an imposing Castle of Arques, on a hill top, below which Henry viaduct, 95 feet high, on eight arches, 49 feet wide. IV. gained a great victory over the Leaguers and Maromme (2 miles), on the Cailly. Population the Duke of Mayenne, 1589. It was built in the 2,930, employed in the cotton, paper, and powder 11th century, with corner towers, &c., and is noted factories,
[About 5 kil. south is Cantelou, in the forest of
Raumar, on a height, near the river, with a château of the time of Louis XIV.; and 2 kil west of this is the church of the abbey of St Georges des Boscherville, founded 1144, by William de Tancarville; it is a good Norman specimen, cross-shaped, with round towers and windows (except in the pointed ones of the west spires), an east apse, pilasters, &c., and a tran
sition chapter-house.] Hence the line passes Deville, where the archbishops of Rouen had a country seat, and Bapeaume, with the Seine in view. Enter two tunnels of 1,167 feet and 3,118 feet, in the chalk under Cauchoise faubourg, to the rive droite (right or north bank) station in Rue Verte. From this, two more tunnels (the first, 4,828 feet long) lead under boulevards St. Hilaire and Beauvoisine; thence the line passes Leveillé's and other large spinning and dyeing mills at Darnetul, on the Robec (near the church, which commands a fine prospect of the old city), to St. Catherine's tunnel, 3,445 feet long; then, by the ten-arched wooden bridge over lle Brouilly (each arch 131 feet span), with Rouen on one side and Bon Sécours church on the other, to SOTTEVILLE, where the engine works of MM. Alcard and Buddicom are established; and from this a short branch runs to the rive gauche station, at St. Severs, in Cours de la Reine, on the south side of the river and town. This is the débarcadère, or terminus, from Paris; but through trains turn off at Sotteville, to that on the north side. From Maromme the distance is 3 miles to
Post Offices, Quai du Havre (near the Custom House) and Place des Carmes.
English Service, at the French Church; and the English Church at Sotteville.
High water at full and change, 1h. 15m. K CHIEF OBJECTS OF NOTICE.—The Cathedral -Churches of St. Ouen and St. Maclou-Hôtel de Ville-Fontaine de la Crossc-Palais de JusticeGrande Horloge Arcade- the Vieux Marché-Place de la Pucelle (Joan of Arc)-Hôtel de Bourg Theroude - Madeleine Hospital - the Douane, Quays, and Boulevards-St. Catherine's Hill, for the prospect.
Population, 104,00. This fine old city and port, as remarkable for its past history as for its present commercial eminence, is the chief town of department Seine. Inférieure, in Normandy, seat of a military division, archbishopric, cour impériale, college, school of navigation, &c., and of the French cotion trade, and stands in a very agreeable spot, on the Seine, at the bottom of a circuit of low hills, open to the south. By the bending river, it is 75 or 80 miles from the sea at Havre; but the direct distance is only 45 miles. Several green islands, as Petit Gay, Lacroix, Brouilly, &c., occupy the middle of the stream, which is about 500 to 650 feet wide, and is lined with tall modern houses and broad quais, to which vessels of good tonnage can now come up. Mont Gargan, or St. Catherine's Hill, to the south, commands a full prospect of the city, styled by Y. Hugo
“La ville aux vieilles rues, Aux vieilles tours, debris des races di-parues, La Ville aux cents clocherscari lonnant dans l'air,
Le Rouen des châteaux" which, with its noble cathedral, its steeples, towers, factories, crooked streets, planted boulevards, and spreading suburbs is here laid before the eye. Darnetal Hill, further off, where Carville church stands, is another good point of view; so is that from the Ile Brouilly bridge.
Rouen is the Rothomagus of Ptolemy, which under Clovis became the capital of Neustria. Wrolf, or Rollo, the Northmen leader (912) made it the head of his province of Normandie, which Charles the Simple gave him with his daughter, and which King John, upon the murder of his nephew Arthur, in Basse Vieille tower, forfeited to his suzerain,
ROUEN. 33 miles from Dieppe, 55} from Havre, 73 from Amiens, 85 from Paris.
HOTELS.-D'Angleterre, on the quay. Table d'hôte at 6; a first-rate house.
Smith's Albion, on the quay.
Alger; Empereur's; France; Nord; Midi; Grand IIotel; Normandie; Paris.
Restaurants, in Cours Beieldieu, &c.
Omnibuses from the station to all parts of the town, 40 cents.; or 1 franc, with 132lbs. of baggage, but the baggage may be left at the station.
English Vice-Consul, H. Herring, Esq.