Imagens das páginas
PDF

Philippe Auguste, 1204. Henry V. took it, 1418, 1834. Beyond this is the railway bridge across I'c before the battle of Agincourt, which laid France Brouilly, on ten arches. Quai de Ilavre, below at his feet. “Joan of Arc here expiated the crime the suspension bridge, where the steamers and of having saved her country," being burnt for a shipping lie, is a lively spot; the barges up the witch by the English, 1431. The French re-took it, river, lie at Quai de Paris, &c. 1449. It was given up to Henry IV. 1543, after a Grand Cours, or Cours de la Reine, on the St. siege, in which his father, Antoine de Navarre, was Sever side, near the rail, is a fine promenade, 4 300 mortally wounded. The works then thrown up are feet long, planted in the 17th century, on the ito still seen on St. Catherine's Hill, but the old towers of Grammont priory, founded by and walls (extended for the fifth time since Rollo England. Other walks are at Cours Dauphin, first built then, by Louis IX.), are now replaced by Avenue du Mont Riboudet, on the Dieppe road, open boulevaris, planted 1770-83.

and the hills of St. Hilaire, Bons Guillaume, and Outside, are the faubourgs of Martainville and St. Aignan, where you look down on the town. Ililaire (east), Beauvoisine and Bourreuil (north), The climate of Rouen is changeable and cold, 1 ut Cauchoise (west), and the large suburb of St. Sever, healthy in the upper parts of it. on the south bank, where most of the factories lie; Highly carved mediæval timber and stone houses but many small works, amounting to 200 and 300, meet the stranger at every turn, mostly as old is for tanning, dyeing, &c., are placed on the little the 15th century; but the first object of attraction rivers Aulette, Robec, and Rouelle, which creep is the through the town to the Seine.

Cathedral of Notre Dame, in Rue Grand Pont Rouen was occupied by the Germans, December, begun about 1200 (on the site of that wherein Rollo 1870, and made to pay an indemnity. It is to be- | was baptised), by King John, and finished 1509-31), come an important artillery depôt. At Duclair, by Cardinal d'Amboise. Its length is 434 fext; between this and Havre, six English colliers | breadth, 105 feet; length and breadth of transopit, anchored in the Seine, were boarded and sunk by | 175 feet by 25 feet; height of nave, 90 feet. The the Gerinan commander for military reasons. An Cardinal built the richly carved front, between the ample apology for this rather high-handed proceed- / towers, 180 feet broad, consisting of three deep poring, with compensation, was immediately (ffered tals, with six large windows, a rose window, and by the Prussian government.

two spires above, besides the central porch. Two Three streets, running north and south, namely, unlike towers, of an older date, flank it, 253 feet Rues Grand Pont, des Carmes, and Beauvoisine, high; one, St. Romain's, with a low pyramid at thio make the principal thorough'ares, and open a way to top, has the oldest part of the cathedral in its base, the cathedral, &c. They stand in line with each and was finished 1477; the other, with a beautiful other, and with Rue d'Ernemont, to the north, and eight-sided crown, is called Tour de Beurre, becau: 0 with the suspension bridge and Rues St. Sever and it was built (1485-1505), with the money of those d'Elbeuf to the south, a line about two miles long. who bought leave to eat butter in Lent, and is also

The new Suspension Bridge, 646 feet long, opened | called after Cardinal d'Amboise, on account of his 1st September. 1836. hangs on a cast-iron arched famous brass clock, which was melted down, 1793, tower in the middle, with a pont-levis or draw- for cannon and for medals. These medals, now bridge for shipping to pass. Two piles, a little very rare, bear the fanatical republican rhymeabove it, mark where the old pont-à-bateaux, or

“Monument de Vanité bridge of fifteen boats, crossed, as built, 1626, by

Détruit par l'Utilité, Friar Nicholas. Further up, is the Pont d'Orléans,

L'an II. de l'Egalité.” between Quais de Paris and Grand Cours, built The great wooden spire, or lantern, 420 feet high, 1811-31, by Lunasson, of six stone arches (the 2nd burnt by lightning in 1822, is replaced by ons of and 5th, each 102 feet span), resting in the middle cast-iron open work, by M. Alavoine, 460 feet high, on the west corner of Ile Lacroix, where David's made of 2,540 pieces of metal, weighing 517 tono. theatrical bronze statue of P. Corneille was placed, The Portal de la Calendre, in the north transept, [About 5 kil. south is Cantelou, in the forest of Post Offices, Quai du Havre (near the Custom

Raumar, on a height, near the river, with a House) and Place des Carmes. château of the time of Louis XIV.; and 2 kil. English Service, at the French Church; and the west of this is the church of the abbey of St. | English Church at Sotteville. Georges des Boscherville, founded 1144, by High water at full and change, lh. 15m. William de Tancarville; it is a good Norman Q-CHIEF OBJECTS OF NOTICE.—The Cathedral specimen, cross-shaped, with round towers and -Churches of St. Ouen and St. Maclou-Hôtel de windows (except in the pointed ones of the west Ville--Fontaine de la Crossc-Palais de Justicespires), an east apse, pilasters, &c., and a tran Grande Horlage Arcade - the Vieux Marché-Place sition chapter-house.]

de la Pucelle (Joan of Arc)-Hôtel de Bourg Hence the line passes Deville, where the archbishops

Theroude -- Madeleine Hospital — the Douane, of Rouen had a country seat, and Bapeaume, with

Quays, and Boulevards-St. Catherine's Hill, for the Seine in view. Enter two tunnels of 1,167 feet the prospect. and 3,118 feet, in the chalk under Cauchoise Population, 104,00. This fine old city and port. faubourg, to the rive droite (right or north bank) as remarkable for its past history as for its present station in Rue Verte. From this, two more tunnels

commercial eminence, is the chief town of depart(the first, 4,828 feet long) lead under boulevards St.

ment Scine. Inférieure, in Normandy, seat of a Hilaire and Beauvoisine; thence the line passes

military division, archbishopric, cour impériale, Leveillé's and other large spinning and dyeing mills

college, school of navigation, &c., and of the French at Darnetul, on the Robec (near the church, which cotton trade, and stands in a very agreeable spot, commands a fine prospect of the old city), to St.

on the Seine, at the bottom of a circuit of low hills, Cathe: ine's tunnel, 3,445 feet long; then, by the

open to the south. By the bending river, it is 75 ten-arched wooden bridge over Ile Brouilly (each

or 80 miles from the sea at Havre; but the direct arch 131 feet span), with Rouen on one side and

distance is only 45 miles. Several green islands, Bon Secours church on the other, to SOTTEVILLE,

as Petit Gay, Lacroix, Brouilly, &c., occupy the where the engine works of MM. Alcard and

middle of the stream, which is about 500 to 650 feet Buddicom are established ; and from this a short

wide, and is lined with tall modern houses and branch runs to the rive gauche station, at St. Severs,

broad quais, to which vessels of good tonnage can in Cours de la Reine, on the south side of the river

now come up. Mont Gargan, or St. Catherine's and town. This is the débarcadère, or terminus,

Ilill, to the south, commands a full prospect of the from Paris; but through trains turn off at Sotteville,

city, styled by V. Hugoto that on the north side. From Maromme the

"La ville aux vieilles rues, distance is 3 miles to

Aux vieilles tours, debris des racis di-parues,

La Ville aux cents clocherscari lonnant dans l'air, ROUEN.

Le Rouen des châteaux"-38 miles from Dieppe, 55} from Havre, 73 from which, with its noble cathedral, its steeples, towers, Amiens, 85 from Paris.

factories, crooked streets, planted boulevards, and HOTELS.-D'Angleterre, on the quay. Table spreading suburbs is here laid before the eye. Dard'hôte at 6; a first-rate house.

netal Hill, further off, where Carville church stands, Sunith's Albion, on the quay.

is another good point of view; so is that from the Alger; Empereur's; France; Nord; Midi; Grand Ile Brouilly bridge. IIotel; Normandie; Paris.

Rouen is the Rothomagus of Ptolemy, which under Restaurants, in Cours Beieldieu, &c.

Clovis became the capital of Neustria. Wrolf, or Omnibuses from the station to all parts of the town, Rollo, the Northmen leader (912) made it the head 40 cents.; or 1 franc, with 132lbs. of baggage, but of his province of Normandie, which Charles the the baggage may be left at the station.

Simple gave him with his daughter, and which King English Vice-Consul, H. Herring, Esq.

John, upon the murder of his nephew Arthur, in English Physician,

| Basse Vieille tower, forfeited to his suzerain,

Philippe Auguste, 1204. Henry V. took it, 1418, 1834. Beyond this is the railway bridge across I'c before the battle of Agincourt, which laid France Brouilly, on ten arches. Quai de Ilavre, below at his feet. “Joan of Arc here expiated the crime the suspension bridge, where the steamers and of having saved her country," being burnt for a shipping lie, is a lively spot; the barges up the witch by the English, 1431. The French re-took it, river, lie at Quai de Paris, &c. 1449. It was given up to Henry IV. 1543, after a Grand Cours, or Cours de la Reine, on the St. siege, in which his father, Antoine de Navarre, was Sever side, near the rail, is a fine promenade, 4 300 mortally wounded. The works then thrown up are feet long, planted in the 17th century, on the ic still seen on St. Catherine's IIill, but the old towers of Grammont priory, founded by Henry II. of and walls (extended for the fifth time since Rollo England. Other walks are at Cours Dauphin, first built them, by Louis IX.), are now replaced by Avenue du Mont Riboudet, on the Dieppe road, open boulevaris, planted 1770-83.

and the hills of St. Hilaire, Bons Guillaume, and Outside, are the faubourgs of Marta inville and St. Aignan, where you look down on the town. Hilaire (east), Beauvoisine and Bourreuil (north), The climate of Rouen is changeable and cold, 110 Cauchoise (West), and the large suburb of St. Sever, healthy in the upper parts of it. on the south bank, where most of the factories lie; / Highly carved mediæval timber and stone houses but many small works, amounting to 200 and 300, meet the stranger at every turn, mostly as old is for tanning, dyeing, &c., are placed on the little the 15th century; but the first object of attraction rivers Aulette, Robec, and Rouclle, which creep

is the through the town to the Seine.

Cathedral of Notre Dame, in Rue Grand Pont Rouen was occupied by the Germans, December, begun about 1200 (on the site of that wherein Rollo 1870, and made to pay an indemnity. It is to be was baptised), by King John, and finished 1509-31), come an important artillery depôt. At Duclair, by Cardinal d'Amboise. Its length is 434 fext; between this and Ilavre, six English colliers breadth, 105 feet; length and breadth of transopt, anchored in the Seine, were boarded and sunk by 175 feet by 25 feet; height of nave, 90 feet. The the Gerinan commander for military reasons. An Cardinal built the richly carved front, between the ample apology for this rather high-handed proceed towers, 180 feet broad, consisting of three deep poring, with compensation, was immediately (ffered tals, with six large windows, a rose window, and by the Prussian government.

two spires above, besides the central porch. Two Three streets, running north and south, namely, unlike towers, of an older date, flank it, 253 feet Rues Grand Pont, des Carines, and Beauvoisine,

high; one, St. Romain's, with a low pyramid at tho make the principal thorough‘ares, and open a way to

top, has the oldest part of the cathedral in its base, the cathedral, &c. They stand in line with each

and was finished 1477; the other, with a beautiful other, and with Rue d'Ernemont, to the north, and

eight-sided crown, is called Tour de Beurre, becau: 0 with the suspension bridge and Rues St. Sever and

it was built (1485-1505), with the money of those d'Elbæuf to the south, a line about two miles long. who bought leave to eat butter in Lent, and is also The new Suspension Bridge, 646 feet long, opened

I called after Cardinal d'Amboise, on account of his 1st September, 1836, hangs on a cast-iron arched famous brass clock, which was melted down, 1793, tower in the middle, with a pont-levis or draw for cannon and for medals. These medals, now bridge for shipping to pass. Two piles, a little very rare, bear the fanatical republican rhymeabove it, mark where the old pont-à-bateaux, or

“Monument de Vanité bridge of fifteen boats, crossed, as built, 1626, by

Détruit par l'Utilité, Friar Nicholas. Further up, is the Pont d'Orléans,

L'an II. de l'Egalité." between Quais de Paris and Grand Cours, built The great wooden spire, or lantern, 420 feet high, 1811-31, by Lunasson, of six stone arches (the 2nd burnt by lightning in 1822, is replaced by on, of and 5th, each 102 fcet span), resting in the middle cast-iron open work, by M. Alavoine, 460 feet high, on the west corner of Ile Lacroix, where David's made of 2,540 pieces of metal, weighing 517 tono, theatrical bronze statue of P. Corneille was placed, | The Portal de la Calendre, in the north transept, is full of sculptures of the life of Christ; that in the tered pillars. In 1794, this beautiful structure was south transept, or Portal des Libraires, near the turned into a factory for fire-arms, and several chapter house, is richly decorated with subjects forges were in full work inside it. from the Last Judgment. In the inside are three What remains of St. Ouen's Abbey (one of the rose windows, and 130 others, mostly stained, and oldest in Normandy) to which the church belonged, of the 13th century; and twenty-five side chapels, is now enclosed in the including the Virgin chapel, in which are Philippe Hôtel de Ville, which has a simple Corinthian de Champagne's “Adoration of the Shepherds," façade, built 1818, and grand staircase, with busts effigies of Richard I., and the beautiful Renaissance of Louis XV. and the Corneilles. It contains the marble tombs of Louis de Brézé (husband of Diana Musée, founded 1809, with a gallery of French and of Poictiers) by J. Goujon, and of Cardinal d'Am- other pictures (open from 10 till 2), and Caffieri's boise. The inscription on De Brézé's monument, statue of P. Corneille ; and the Bibliothèque (open states that it was erected by his "disconsolate on Thursdays) of 35,000 volumes, besides 1,200 widow, Diana," who, as she had been an “insepar MSS. from the 11th century. Here are D. d'Auable and ever faithful wifeto his bed, hopes to be bonne's graduel or missal, with 200 paintings, &c., such in his grave! The Cardinal's Tomb (of which in it (which took 30 years to fill, is 21 feet long, there is a cast at the Crystal Palace) is a most

and weighs 79 pounds), and Bishop Jacques de elaborate profusion of carved pilasters, figures, and Lieur's Livre des Fontaines (given 1525), full of arabesque ornaments, and has the two kneeling arabesques, &c. statues of the Cardinal and his nephew, both arch Of other churches (14 being left out of 37) there bishops. Several of the carly dukes, three kings, are-St. Maclou, in Rue Malpalu, ranking next to and fifteen prelates are buried here.

St. Ouen's, and built 1472. It has a finely-carved The Palace, behind the Cathedral, was begun triple portal, a dome 154 feet high, much stained 1461, and finished by Cardinal d'Amboise, though glass, a good staircase to the organ, &c. St. Patrice, altered since. In the Gallery of the States, are four near Boulevard Bouvreuil, built in 1535, in the large views by Robert.

Renaissance style, cross-shaped, with good stained St. Ouen's Abbey Church, near the Hôtel de Ville, windows. St. Vincent, in Rue de la Vicomte, in the is a chef d'æuvre of Gothic art, and one of the most

same style, with a good porch, &c. S!. Amand, beautiful structures existing. It was begun in

another Renaissance church, in Rue St. Nicholas, 1318, by Abbé Marcdargent, and makes a cross, 443

belonged to an abbey, founded 1030, of which a feet by 83, and 107 feet high to the vault, with flying small part is left, covered with wood carvings of buttress, and pinnacles; 125 windows, in three abbesses, &c., one of whom was Anne de Souvré rows (stained with the miracles of St. Romain, &c.)

(died 1654), whose body was found in 1800, unand an extremely elegant Tower of the 15th century,

decayed. St. Romain, near the railway station 260 feet high to the crown, which rests on a square

(rive droite), built 1679, has the granite tomb of its pinnacled base, and is full of traceried windows and

patron saint, whose life is pictured in the dome, &c., open work. The west front and rose windows stand besides various stained windows which were sa ved between small towers, 43 and 54 feet high; this

at the Revolution, from the churches of St. Maur, front, after remaining unfinished for three centu

St. Etienne, and St. Martin, all now turned into ries, was completed between 1946-52, from original | magazines, &c. St. Godard, in Rue de l'École, of designs by MM. Gregorie and Desmarets. Rose the 16th century, has the genealogy of Christ in windows are also seen in the transept; that over one of its stained windows, and a painting by the south door (which has a host of figures and Letellier, Poussin's nephew. carvings), being the work of Berneval, the master At St. Eloi's (near the poultry market and sculptor (buried in St. Agnes's chapel), who, they Theatre Français), a church used by the Protestants say, stabbed his apprentice, because he was out- since 1803, there was a well in the choir, with an done in the opposite window. Eleven chapels sur- | iron chain to it, which gave rise to a proverb, curround the oyal choir (finished 1340) and its clus- | rent here, “It is as old as the well rope of St. Elọi,"

In Rue Chasselièvre, in the north-west outskirts, / A short turn leads into the Place de la Pucelle, is St. Gervais's church, with a very ancient crypt. so called after the unfortunate Maid of Orléans, 1 It was attached to the abbey in which William who was burnt at the stake on a spot now marked the Conqueror died. Near St. Lo's, behind the by a fountain and a ridiculous bronze of her, by Palais de Justice, traces of the Roman wall were Bonet. Opposite it is an excellent subject for the found in the 18th century. St. Nicaise, built 1388, artist and antiquary, an old house, called Hôtel du and St. Vivien, are not far behind St. Ouen's. St. Bourg-Theroude, in the mixed Gothic and Italian Hilaire is near the Rue de Darnetal. St. Paul's style of the 15th century, with a turret hanging stands on the Cour de Pais, near the river side, and | over the front, and, in the court, various carvings includes a fragment of the former one in its sacristy. and bas-reliefs of the Field of the Cloth of Gold St. Sever's, in the midst of that faubourg, is in Rue (see Ardres), and other subjects. Shrewsbury (the d'Elbeuf. In this part also are St. Yon's Asile des the French call him “Scherosbery'), Elizabeth's Aliénés (Lunatic Asylum), on a large scale.

ambassador to Henry IV., was lodged here. The new Jardin des Plantes is open daily. A

The Rue de la Grosse Horloge, is so called from large well-regulated abattoir, or slaughter-house,

the Gothic Clock Tower, dated 1389-98, (the great in the Rue de Sotteville, was built in 1835. The

bell which still sounds the couvre-feu, or curfew, Circus is at the Tivoli Normand. A caserne, or

is a century later). It is ascended by 200 steps; barrack for cavalry, is on the site of Bonne Nou is joined to part of the old Hôtel de Ville, built velle Priory, founded by the Conqueror's queen. | 1527, and has, on the fountain, bas-reliefs of and burnt and rebuilt in 1665; and a foot barrack,

Arethusa and Alpheus, which the people take for in Place St. Sever, near the bridge, in what was an

“Le Bon Homme Rouen,” the “founder" of the immense salt store. A third barrack is that of

town. A little further, in Rue des Carmes, near Martinville, built in 1776, in front of the Champ

the cathedral, are, the half Gothic Bureau des de Mars.

Finances, built 1509, decorated with arabesques,

and the écu de France, supported by porcupines; The Hôtel de Préfecture stands in Rue de Fonte

and the old Chambres des Comptes, built 1525, by nelle, so called after the philosopher, whose birth

Francis I. In the Rue aux Juifs (Jew-street), is place (marked “Fontenelle est né dans cette maison,

one of the most beautiful things in Rouen, the le 11 Fevrier, 1657,") is a little distance off, in the

Palais de Justice, opposite the Neuf Marché (New Rue des Bons Enfans; while that of his uncle, the

Market), a low-pitched Gothic structure, built 1493-9, dramatist, is close by the Préfecture, in the Rue de

by Louis XII.'s minister, Cardinal d'Amboise, for la Pie (marked "Ici est né, le 9 Juin, 1606, Pierre

the ancient Echiquier or provincial States, and Corneille.") The door, which some English amateur

lately restored. The front, towards the court, is wished to buy, is placed at the Rouen Museum.

212 feet long, with pinnacled windows in the roof, The next house to it was inhabited by Thomas

and an octagon tower in the middle; a staircase, Corneille, his brother, to whom the author of the

built 1607, leads to the Salle des Procureurs, 181 “Cid,” used to apply for a rhyme when in difficulty.

feet by 53, having a woodwork ceiling, compared On the Quai du Havre are the Douane, or Custom to the frame of a ship. House, the Bourse (Exchange), and Tribunal de 1 In Rue du Grand Maulevrier is the College, first Commerce, in a building called the Consuls (oppo built for the Jesuits, by Cardinal de Joyeuse, whose site Boieldieu's statue), which contains a hall, with a tomb is in the chapel, which Catherine de Medicis Christ, by Vandyke, and two pictures by Lemon added, 1614. Behind is the Seminary for priests. nier, a native of Rouen. Here, too, is the Théâtre

Between Rues Caquerel and Cavilles is the Bicêtre, des Arts, near the bridge, having an Ionic front,

or House of Correction; and nearer the Boulevard with a medallion of the “Grand Corneille." The

Martinville, the general Hospice, or asylum, an exThéâtre Français, built in 1793, is in the Vieux tensive pile, where 2,000 orphans and poor peuple Marché (or Old Market Place), the oldest in the are kept. At the opposite side of the town, in Rue city, where the scaffold is erected,

de Lecat, is the great bospital for the sick the

« AnteriorContinuar »