Imagens das páginas

Hôtel Dieu, or Madeleine, built 1749-56, having 600 | finance ; Armand Carrel; and Louis Brune, who beds, and a chapel, built 1781, with a dome, a saved the lives of more than sixty persons: on liis Corinthian portico, and two pictures by Vincent. house you read this memorial from his townsmen,

At or close to the site of Basse Vielle Tour (near | "A Louis Brune, la Ville de Rouen." the Quai de Paris), where they say John murdered | Its manufactures are the cotton Rouenneries alhis nephew Arthur, are the three Halles, or market | ready mentioned, calicoes, prints, linen, thread, halls (328 feet long) for corn, linen, cotton tissues, flannels, cloth, soap, chemicals, steam engines, and checks, called Rouenneries, &c., which offer a leather, refined sugar, confitures of great fame, &c.; very lively appearance on Wednesday, between six and it is an entrepôt for wine and spirits, grain, and twelve. To the west is the old Fontaine de salt fish, spices, dyewoods, cotton, wool, hemp, Lisieux, built 1518; another, the Fontaine-de-la slate, iron, tar, &c. The shipping and foreign Crosse, at the top of Rue des Carmes, has many trade are about one-third that of Havre. By imarabesque ornaments about it; the Fontaine de | provements made latterly in the navigation of the Croix-de-Pierre, is in Rue St. Hilaire: altogether Seine, a large American vessel, the Mary Anni, there are 38 fountains, fed from four different | laden with cotton, &c., from New Orleans, was, in sources. Of eight open places for markets, that 1852, able to reach the city-the first direct imporfor butter is at Rougemar (in Rue Bourglabbé), tation of the kind. where Duke Richard, in 949, beat the French and Conveyances: By rail, to Fécamp, Paris, Dieppe, Germans; the Boulingrin (bowling green), in Bou Havre, Elbeuf, Pont-Audemer, Gisors, Beauvais, voisine Boulevard is used for the sale of horses. and Amiens. Steamer to Elbeuf. The road here leads up to the churches of Long [The line to Amiens, 73 miles long, passes Monpaon and Carville, and Leveille's spinning works, terollier-Buchy, where the chord line from at Darnctal. Near the Champs de Foire (Fair Cléres, &c., comes in. Then Field), the site of the old palace built by Henry V., Forges-les-Eaux, near the intersection of is the tower of Mal-s'y-frotte (which means, “He this line with the direct line from Paris to meddled for the worst ") lying on this side of the Dieppe, and so called because of its mineral spot where William Long-sword, son of Rollo, waters, in a valley near the Forest of Bray, routed the people of Cotentin.

which are drunk from July to September; Two towers, called Donjon and Gascon, in Rue are clear and sparkling, with a temperature de la Glacière, are left of Philippe Auguste's of 43°, and have an excellent tonic quality. château, built 1205, and afterwards turned into an Anne of Austria took them before the birth Ursuline convent. Many local antiquities and of Louis XIV.; and after her, Louis XIII., relics, including Cour-de-Lion's heart, in a box,

and Richelieu, they were named la Reinette, la aro preserved in the departmental Museum, at the

Royale, and la Cardinale. old conveut of St. Marie, in Rue de Poussin, besides Ilotel.-Du Mouton d'Or (Golden Sheep or Fleece). a collection of natural history: open Tuesday and Then como Poix and Thursday, from twelve to three. Old carved houses

Amiens, where lines may be taken to Arras may be noticed in Grande Rue (Nos. 115, 120, &c.), and Tergnier (49 miles).] Rue du Change, Rue Eloupée (No. 4), the house of Leaving Rouen, by rail, we cross to Sotteville and Jouvenct, the painter, and many more. On Sapins its factory chimneys and workshops; then comes hill is the Cimitière Monumental; there are six St. Etienne de Rouvray, and the forest in which others, one being for Protestants. Ecoles de Nata- William the Conqueror was hunting when he first tion, or swimming schools, on Iles Lacroix and heard of the death of Edward the Confessor. The Petit Gay.

next station is Besides the Corneilles and Fontenelle, Rouen Dissel (94 miles), which has a church with a tall claims as natives, Benserade, the poet; Jouvenet, tower and spire. Popula ion, 3,480. Thence across Restoul, and Géricault, the painters; Boieldieu, the the Scine by a narrow viaduct on six arches, each composer; Count Mollier, Napoléon's minister of | 93 feet span, to

Tourville (mile), where is a branch rail of Lieur, near the remains of the abbey church of five miles to Elbeuf. The total fall of the railway Mortemer, founded by Henry II. of England. from Paris to this station is 91 feet.

The other stations towards Gisors are Men[The branch rail passes the Seine, close to a sus esqueville, Saussay, and Etrepagny.]

pension bridge over a bend of the river, and St. Pierre-du-Vouvray (8 miles), near Prasreaches

lin Park, Igoville, André, and other châteaux. Elbeuf, a thriving town of 21,000 souls, among A branch rail to Louviers; thence by coach to

cloth factories, in a valley bordered by a | Beaumont-le-Roger, Neubourg, Bernay (see Route chain of hills, which crop out at the chalk 11). Evreux is 22 kil. beyond Louviers in the same cliffs of Orival in the river. It has two Route. churches, St. Etienne being the older and (Louviers (5 miles south-west by rail), a soussmaller, and both ornamented with stained préfecture of 11,000 inhabitants, chiefly weavers glass; and it is watered by artesian wells.

of fine cloth, and an ancient town in the rich Steamers to Rouen daily. The rail is continued plain of the Eure, where Richard I. and to Brionne and Bernay.

Philippe Auguste made a treaty, 1196. It was Hotels.-Le Bæuf d'Or (Golden Bull); Lion d'Or.] taken by Edward III., and again by Henry V., A tunnel 1,140 feet long leads to the next station who dismantled it, except a small part of the Pont-de-l'Arche (31 miles) to the south, across walls. An old Church of the 12th century, the Seine, here spanned by a long 22-arch bridge, partly Norman in its style; a Knight Temto which it owes its name, is a pretty place, in plar's house of the 12th century, and timber Ouche district, in Upper Normandy, and was built houses (in the old town) are seen; besides and fortified 354, by Charles the Bold, who held several factories, dye-works, a bibliothèque, two councils there. Its high-roofed Church has a salle-de-spectacle, three bridges, &c.] spire and buttresses, with stained glass of the 14th

Gaillon (9] miles), 2 kil. west of the rail, in a century. A house stands in the middle of the

fine spot, has a House of Correction, on the site of bridge, near an island, on which it rests, once

the château of the Rouen archbishops, built about covered by a fort. Behind the village stretches a

1262, burnt by the English, and restored in the large forest. Coaches to Charleval, Fleury, St.

Renaissance style of the 16th century, by Cardinal Andelle, La Forêt, Pont St. Pierre.

d'Amboise, but finally ruined at the Revolution. At Villers, where N. Poussin, the painter, was

| Its gate is now placed in the Palais des Beaux born, 1594, is a tunnel 5,643 feet long, cut through

Arts, in Paris, and a painting of it is at the priin 17 months; another at Venables, 1,410 feet long.

mate's palace at Rouen. Part of the beautiful park The river makes several islands here. At Manoir,

remains. It was a favourite retreat of Francis I. on the north side of the Seine, opposite the Eure's

This is the most northerly place in France for wine, mouth, the railway crosses by a viaduct of six

a poor sort, from a small black grape. Near this arches, each 98 feet span.

is the Château de Navarre, built by Jeanne of [From Pont-de-l'Arche a branch rail of 54 miles |

Navarre, 1532, and rebuilt 1686, by Mangard, for to Gisors, on the direct Paris and Dieppe line,

the Ducs de Bouillon, and for a time the seat of passes by

the Empress Josephine. Grisolle and Rotoirs are Romilly (4 miles), or Romilly St. Andelle, and also near, and Abloville, where Marmontel died.

its large copper foundries, on the Andelle, (COURCELLES is across the river. At 10 kil. which employ 1,100 or 1,200 hands. Here north of it, at the suspension bridge, on a bend Cardinal d'Amboise's great cathedral clock of the Seine, is was brought from Rouen, and melted down for LES ANDELYS, a sous-préfecture of 5,900 souls, cannons at the Revolution.

near Château Galliard, a fine picturesque ruin, Fleury, on the same line, 6 miles further up, on a peak, built 1197, in defiance of Philip has good views of the valley of the river. Augustus (galliard, means careless or saucy), About 10 kil, beyond is Lyons-la-Forêt, on the by Richard Cour de Lion, at Petit Andely, to

command the river, and dismantled by Henry (Gisors (23 mileg north-east), on the Epte, at the IV. The vicious Margaret de Bourgogne was junction of lines to Pontoise, Gournay, and strangled here, 1315, by order of Louis X. ; Pont-de-l'Arche; having the keep and other and Cardinal Balue shut up his victim, Charles remains of a feudal Castle, begun by William de Mellieu, in it. At the hospital, founded by the Conqueror and Henry I. (who received the Duc de Penthièvre, is a plaster figure of Pope Calixtus here, 1120), and finished by St. Main, against which mothers rub their Henry II. (who met Philippe Auguste here, children to cure them of colic. Grand Andely, 1188, about a new crusade). Philippe Auguste on the Gambon, further inland, and an older fled hither on his defeat by Richard I., at place, grew out of a monastery called Andeli Courcelles, 1198, and was nearly drowned by cum, founded by Clothilde, and burnt 1170, the falling of the bridge. It was at this battle by the English. Near the curious old chapel, that Richard chose "Dieu et Mon Droit" for called after her (now a vinegar work), is her his motto. The town walls and moats are now fountain, into which sick persons and new turned into promenades. A Gothic church of born infants are plunged. The half Gothic the 15th century, has a well-carved Renaischurch has a good portal, stained windows, sance portal, a jubé and marble figure by Gouand Lesueur's “Jesus in the Temple.” At the jon, and stained windows. St. Paer's tower, Hôtel de Ville is Poussin's "Coriolanus." of the 13th century, is outside. Population, Blanchard, the æronaut, was a native; Henry

3,700. IV.'s father, Antoine de Bourbon, died here, Hotels.-Du Bras d'Or (Golden Arm); De l'Écu 1552, of a wound received at the siege of Rouen;

(Crown Piece). T. Corneille had a house here in which he died.

Further down, across the river, in the forest of Sir I. K. Brunel, the constructor of the Thames

Vernon, are Pressagny, called l'Orgueilleux Turnel, was born at Hacqueville, in this neigh

(the Proud), though it has not much to be proud bourhood. Cloth is made, and pèches d'ablettes,

of, and Port-Mort, where Louis VIII. married for false pearls, are caught.

Blanche de Castile. The Seine is crowded with Hotels.-Du Grand Cerf (Stag); Des Trois Rois

pretty islands here.] (Three Kings).]

Leaving Vernon, a skew bridge and a massive Vernon (84 miles), belonged to the Norman an

embankment are passed. Near Port Villey (opiocestor of the Vernons, of Kinderton, in England.

site the Epte's mouth, not far from Camp de Caesar), It stands in a fine hollow, at the 22-arched bridge

you leave the province of Normandy and departVernonnet; as a frontier town of Normandy, it was

ment Eure, to enter the department of Seine-Infórifortified by Henry II., and frequently suffered in the

eure. wars with France. An old tower, built by Henry II.,

The next station is remains; also a good Gothic church (Nôtre Dame)

Bonnières (60 miles), where a branch to the having a carved black marble tomb; and St. Just's

Caen and Cherbourg line turns off. (See Route 11.) hospital, or Hôtel Dieu, founded by St. Louis, and

[At 7 kil, north, on the bend made by the Seine, rebuilt 1776, by the Duc de Penthièvre. It has,

here crossed by a handsome suspension bridge, besides, an artillery depôt, and a small salle de

is La Roche Guyon, with the Norman tower and spectacle. To the west is the charming Park, and

chapel of an old castle, taken by the English, Château de Bisy, which belonged to the Orléans

1418; below which is the more modern seat of family. A tower at Vernonnet, is called Julius

the Rochefoucaulds, where they show the bed, Cæsar's; the Château de la Madeline was the seat portrait, and furniture of Henry IV. Ilere of Casimir Delavigne, the poet. Population. 7,400. Francis de Bourbon was killed, by a box thrown Hotel.-Grand Cerf (Stag).

on his head, 1545.) A branch rail to Gisors, via Gasny, Bray, Next to Bonnières is a tunnel, 8,682 feet long, Berthenonville, Bordeaux St. Clare, etc, through the chalk, which cost twenty months, Coach to Baugon, Corbie, etc.

and nearly half a million pounds of powder, to

make; beyond which is the pretty village of Rolle public library contains 4,060 volumes, and there are boise, which has part of the castle taken from the several fountains, with some parts of the old walls. English, by Daguesclin, on the slope of the river, At Limay, opposite, is a hermitage, to which pila little further.

grimages are made. Rosny (34 miles), close to a forest. Here stands Hotels.--Le Grand Cerf (Stag); De la Chasse the old high-roofed brick château in which Rosny, Royal Duc de Sully, the faithful friend and minister of Trade in wine, corn, leather, and timber. Henry IV. was born, 1539. It belonged to the late Coaches to Aincourt, Arthies, Drocourt, Fontenay, Duchesse de Berry.

Gisors, Houdan, Magny, Mollest, Orvilliers, Riche. [At 22 kil. south-west is

bourg, Rosé, Septeuil, Vert, Villette. A new bridge Ivry-la-Bataille, under a hill, on the Eure, | leads out of the town.

celebrated for the victory of Henry IV.and his [At 26 kil. south-west is Protestant subjects, in 1590, over the Leaguers, Anet, near the Eure, with a wing, chapel, and under their Captain-General, the Duke of May other remains of the beautiful château, built by enne, assisted by the "hireling chivalry of Delorme, for Henry the Second's mistress, Gueldres and Almayne.” The field is marked Diane de Poictiers (buried here), and pulled to by a pyramid 56 feet high. Macaulay's stir pieces at the Revolution. Dreux is 16 kil. furring lines on this victory are well known :

ther. (See Route 15.) "And then we thought on vengeance, and all along MAGNY (21 kil. north), a little village, on the

our van, "Remember Saint Bartholomew,' was passed from

Aubette, in a fertile corn country, with a good man to man.

church, and manufactures of woollen, paper, But out spake gentle Henry, 'No Frenchman is

&c.] my fue. Down, down with every foreigner, but let your

Epone (5 miles), is near a dolmen, or Druid pile. brethren go.'"]

Several Celtic and Roman remains have been found, Mantes (3 miles), is a buffet, 354 miles from it possesses an old church, and an older seat of the Paris, 108 from Rouen. Here the line to Evreux, | Créquys. Coaches to Aunay, Maule, Nezel. Caen, and Cherbourg turns off, opposite Limay, Meulan (5 miles), is opposite Mereux, where at the bridge of 3 arches (each 127 feet span, rest- the station is, which the rail reaches by a skew ing on Ile Champion). It is called la Jolie, or bridge over the Ruplat stream. To Meulan, across pretty, because of its situation, and is a sous-pré the Seine, there is an old bridge, resting on the Ilo fecture, with 5,400 souls. William the Conqueror Belle. It was a fortified town, which the Duc de burnt it, 1096, to revenge himself on Louis, and Mayenne unsuccessfully besieged in the civil wars. received the hurt of which he died a little while One of its two churches (it had also a priory and after. Edward III. pillaged the town on his way convent) is now a corn-market. Chateaubriand to Crécy. It was taken from the English by Du had a seat here; and M. Guizot is now a resident. Guesclin, and again by Charles VII.

Population, 2,200. Nôtre Dame church, with its triple portal, tall Hotel.-Royal. square towers of different ages, lofty nave 105 feet [At 7 miles north, is Vigny Château, which behigh supported by buttresses), delicate choir.

longed to Cardinal d'Amboise, minister of pillars, &c., was founded by Jeanne of France. Of Louis XII., and a munificent patron of the another church, St. Maclou, only a beautiful slen arts. Jugien, further on, was a country-house der tower (1340-4) is left. The old château, in which of the bishops of Chartres.] Philippe Auguste died, was pulled down 1721. In | Triel (34 miles), opposite Vernouillet (north side), Grand Rue is a house which la Belle Gabrielle lodged where Talleyrand's brother lived, has an oldin when Henry IV. came to visit her. He was here fashioned church, with a centre spire-tower, built again with his queen, Marie de Medicis, in 1609,by Francis I. ; it contains some stained windows, staying at the château above-mentioned, which and Poussin's "Adoration of the Magi," which the appears to have been a favourite resort of his. The Pope gaye to Christina of Sweden. The Princes of Condé had a seat here before the Revolution. The | that of Argenteuil, from the east, by way of Ermont, suspension bridge is about 1,970 feet long. Popu etc., on the Northern line, making part of the lation, 2,160. Coach to Vaux.

Ceintare de Paris. Here the limestone banks begin to disappear,

Argenteuil (3 kil, north-west), with a populaand the scenery becomes somewhat tame. Médan,

tion of 4,600, is at a ferry over the Seine, and has Vilaines, and Millaud are passed; and then

parts of the old walls, with a hospital founded by Poissy (5 miles), at the old 22-arch bridge on

St. Vincent de Paul, and the Château of Marais, the river, a country-seat of the early kings, from

which Mirabeau left in a dying state. It was to the the time of Charles the Bold (860). It has a high

Bernardine convent here (founded 656) that Héloise roofed Gothic Church, with buttresses and two slen

retreated after parting from Abélard. der spires, containing the font in which Louis IX. or Louis de Poissy (from being born here) was

Colombes, a station of the Banlieue line, near baptised, and the tomb of Philippe, his brother.

which Rollin wrote his Ancient History; the neighAnother church, founded by his son, Philippe le

bourhood is pleasant. At Hardi, 1314 (and destroyed 1793), belonged to the

Asnières, the Rive Droite (right or north bank) Ursuline abbey, where the famous Conference was

line to Versailles turns off up the river (see Route 10), held, 1561, between the Catholics and Protestants,

among several country houses, which suffered Beza and Peter Martyr attending, on the part of

in the war of 1870-1. Here is a well-supported the latter; but it led to no result except the massa

Regatta Club and Swimming School. The old cre of St. Bartholomew. There are also an old

château is now a restaurant. A bridge of riveted hospital, and a central house of detention, on the

iron plates, wide enough for four lines of rails, reabbey sito. "A great cattle market for Paris on

places one burnt in 1848. This brings you over to

CLICHY-LA-GARENNE, which was a country-seat of Thursdays. Hotels.-De Roucn; De la Marine. Population,

le bon roi Dagobert, who was married here. The

washerwomen, an important class, hold their 8,100.

annual fête here, at mi-careme. On one side are L'Etoile-de-Conflans (31 miles), in the middle

Neuilly and the. Bois de Boulogne; St. Denis of the forest of St. Germain (that town is to the

Cathedral and the red hills of Montmorency, on south, see Route 10), leaves CONFLANS 4 kil. north,

the other. Then by two or three short tunnels across the Seine, near the Oise's mouth, and having a church of the 11th and 12th century, where St.

(one is 1,322 feet) to Honorius was buried; besides a picturesque château.

Les Batignolles, outside the Barrière, near Population, 1,430.

the engine shops. The large and handsome terMaisons (2 miles), or Maisons-Lafitte, so

minus, at called after the Banker, whose château, built 1658,

Paris, is in Rue Amsterdam, behind the Madeby Mansard, was occupied by Comte d'Artois

leine, 10$ miles from Maisons. (See BRADSHAW'S (Charles X.), and Marshal Lannes, Duke of Monte

Hand-Book for Paris.) bello. Voltaire was here writing the Marianne,

ROUTE 9. when he caught the small-pox. Herblay château lics 5 miles north-north-east, across the river. A

Havre and Fécamp to Rouen and Paris. wooden bridge over the river brings you to Houille By rail from Havre ; trains, 54 to 7 hours. The and the pretty village of Bezons (in department Fécamp branch joins at Beuzeville. Seine-et-Oise), where the rail again crosses the Seine (which winds three or four times hereabouts)

HAVRE, or Le Havre de Grace. on a wooden viaduct the same size as the last, viz..

574 miles from Rouen, 143 from Paris. nine arches, each 98 feet span. The early French Hotels. De l'Europe, Rue de Paris, highly rekings had a mint here.

commended; good rooms, excellent cuisine. A little beyond Bezons is the junction from St. | De Bordeaux, Rue de Paris and Place du Theatre; Germains, on the west (see Route 10), and next, well situated, moderate charges.

« AnteriorContinuar »