Imagens das páginas
PDF

De l'Amirauté, on the Quay.

door, whence there is a good view of the Docks. Angleterre; Commerce; France; Normandie; The Bourse or Exchange is also hero; built in Marine; Richelieu; Paris; Rouen; Trouville, 1785. The Custom-house, or Douane, built in Seine, Wheeler's; Belle-vue; Dieppe; Espagne; 1754, is on Quai Nôtre Dame; so called After that Paix.

church, built in the 16th century, cross-shaped, in English Consul, F. Bernal, Esq.

the Renaissance style; the front was restored English Chapel in Place du Commerce, Rue

in 1829. Originally it was a fishermen's chapel. d'Orléans; American Chapel, in Rue de la Paix; St. François' church was erected between 1553 and French Protestant Temple, Place du Commerce. 1681. English Physician, Dr. Tarrel.

One of the best buildings is the Theatre, or Salle de Post-Office, in Place Louis Seize.

Spectacle, at the end of the Bassin du Commerce, Large Sea Baths near the north jetty.

begun 1817, and rebuilt since the fire of 1845, by 9 OBJECTS OF Notice.-The Docks-Theatre Charpentier. At the Cercle de Commerce, or - St. Pierre's House-Ingouville Church-La Lloyds, the merchants meet. The old prétoire, or Hêve Lights.

bailliage, in the Market Place, is now the Palais Travellers through to Marseilles should declare de Justice. A public library of 25,000 volumes is to that effect, to save any delay at Paris.

in the new Museum (on the site of the ancient Omnibuses run to Ingouville.

Hôtel de Ville), with David's statues of Saint Pierre Population about 75,000, including English, &c. and Delavigne in front. It is open on Sundays Havre is a thriving port, a fortress, sous-préfec- and Thursdays. A marble slab marks the house, ture, packet station, &c., in department of Seine- | in Rue de la Corderie (No. 47), where St. Pierre Inférieure, in the old province of Normandy. It (the author of Paul and Virginia) was born; and ranks as the second port in France, by which the another, at a house on Quai de la Barre, marks the Paris foreign trade is carried on; and its harbour | birth-place of Delavigne. It is near the governis, perhaps, the best in the channel, on the French ment tobacco factory and Entrepôt, both large side. It stands in a flat damp spot, on the north buildings. Mad. de Scuderi, Mad. de la Fayette, side of the Seine's mouth (where it is five miles Ancelot, &c., were also natives of Havre. wide), 100 miles from Southampton, and 80 from Three bassins or docks, viz., Bassin du ComNewhaven.

merce, Bassin du Roi (or Vieux Bassin, begun by Francis I. walled it round, Richelieu added a Colbert in 1660), and Bassin de la Barre, open into citadel, &c., and others have since improved it; the Port Neuf (dating from 1843), and Avant Port, but, hefore the 15th century, it was an insignifi which are just inside the jetties, and round which cant fishing place, near which Henry V.of England the steamers and hotels are found. A telegraph landed on his way to Agincourt, and whence at the entrance, on Francis I.'s old Tower (69 feet Henry VII. embarked as Earl of Richmond. War high, 85 round), communicates with La Hêve wick held it for Elizabeth, 1562, but gave it up Lights. These Docks, with that of Vauban after a long siege; and Rodney bombarded it in (opened in 1842), will hold about 700 shipping. The 1759.

tide rises 20 to 27 fcet, so that large ships may Within the fortifications, the town is composed come in three hours before and after high water. of two divisions, St. François on the North, and At low water the Avant Port is dry, and its mouth Notre Dame, on the South, with the Docks lying is kept clear by sluices from a reservoir called the between. The Rue de Paris is the most bustling Retenue de la Floride. street, as it leads to the Docks and Quais; but the The Bassin de la Barre has a floating dock at newest houses are up Ingouville Hill, in the north one end, with a communication to Bassin Vauban, suburbs, where most of the English live.

near the railway station in Cours Napoléon. New Few of the town buildings are of any note. The docks are projected along the Seine, between it Hôtel de Ville, built in 1753, stands in Place and the Florida reservoir, near the south Jetty. Francis I.; whose crest (tho salamander) is over the Many useless fortifications are levelled; and Louis

Napoléon haring decreed a new Boulevard Im- | daily; Caen, daily, 4 hours; Trouville, daily, 2 périale, which unites the town with Ingouville, hours; Pont Audemer, daily; Southampton, three great improvements may be looked for in Hayre, times a week, 12 hours; London, every 5 days, 20 commensurate with its increasing prosperity. hours ; San Sebastian, Corunna, Cadiz, Gibralter, The Seine runs with such power past the pier and Malaga, every 20th day, in 8 days; New York, heads of the harbour as to prevent the water monthly, 15 days. There are also lines of sailing inside from falling sensibly for even three hours packets, &c. (See BRADSHAW's Continental Railway after high water; so that 120 sail have been known Guide.) to leave in one tide, with the wind against them. The first station from Havre (leaving Graville Boh sides of the river above Havre are well and its old abbey church, to the north) is lighted, to guide small craft past the shifting | Harfleur (41 miles), a decayed village on the sands. There is good anchorage in the Roads, with | Lezarde, now 3 ki), from the Seine's mouth (here p'enty of water; but the current often sets with seen to advantage), but once the chief port of dangerous swiftness. It was off this port that Sir Normandy. Henry V. took it after seven weeks' 8. Smith was captured, 1796, and sent to the siege, 1415, and sent the population (8,000) to Temple.

Calais and elsewhere-which was the ruin of it. Ship-building and kindred trades are carried on. The Church has a slender tower, and good portal, Many ships are engaged in the Newfoundland cod, with a beautiful crocketed spire. On a certain the herring, and other fisheries. One of the first day in each year, the bell strikes 104 times, to ships ever built here, was the Nef Francoise; a commemorate the escape of as many of the townsgreat vessel of 2,000 tons, in the reign of Francis I. people, after the siege above-mentioned. Coach to Unfortunately, before she got off the stocks, she Montvilliers (5 kil. north), up the river. was overturned by a tempest of wind, and her A little east is Orcher château, seat of Madame timbers were used to build houses at the Barre.

Mortemarte, once belonging to Law, the financier. At Ingouville there is an old church; and the | The line winds round the hill at the back of prospects are extremely good, especially from La Honfleur, and coraes to Côte, where the villas of the English and Foreign

St. Romaine-de-Colbose (7 miles), a station merchants are fixed. The low space to the north 2 kil. from the village, which stands in a pleasant wat is lined with windmills, and leads to Cape la country, and has 1,710 population, with manufacHéve, where the chalk cliff's begin, on which stand tures of stockings and prints. Coaches to the two fixed lights, 446 feet above the sea. St. Criquetot, Semeval, Angerville, Étretat (on the Adresse, near this, is a well-wooded spot, with Channel). a pretty church, cemetery, oyster park, &c., and a

[At 8 kil. east-south-east, on the high cliffs of monument on the heights to Count Denouettes,

the Seine, opposite Quillebænf, are the fine who was shipwrecked off Ireland in 1834. More

remains of Tancarville Castle, including the di tant excursions may be made to Étretat and its

gate and its massy round towers, chapel, &c. chalk cliffs, near Cape Antifer; Honfleur and

It belonged to the Conqueror's chamberlain Trouville across the Seine.

(ancestor of the English Tankervilles); the Among the article3 manufactured are tobacco, Harcourts; Dunois, the soldier; Law, the soap, pottery, iron, cordage, starch, vitriol, paper, financier; and is now held by the Montmobeer, refined sugar, lace, &c. The imports are rencies, but is not inhabited.] sugar, coffee, spices, cotton, &c., to the value of Further on you come to Mirville aqueduct, 1,640 £10,000,000, of which cotton is one-fourth ; and feet long, on forty-eight arches, some 108 feet high, the exports include silks, cloths, gloves, perfumes, Beuzeville (5 miles), or, B. le Grenier, trinkets, wine, brandy, &c.

whence there is a branch rail of 10 miles to Fécamp, Conveyances by coach to Fécamp, Dieppe, Mont across the Pays de Caux. Beuzeville is 39 miles brilliers, &c, By steam to Honfleur and Rouen, | from Rouen, 164, from Havre,

[Grainville-Goderville (4 miles) station is 2 after Cæsar's daughter. It remained a place miles from Goderville. Both villages are in a of some note under the Norman dukes, and fertile country

has been revived by the cloth manufacture Les Ifs (3} milos), near Tourville; and 33 Population, 5,200. An ancient semi-circular miles further is

theatre, about 200 feet across, cut out of the Fécamp, a fishing port, in a healthy spot, in a hill-side, was traced 1826; and baths, coins,

gap of the cliffs, having the church (all that is pieces of statuary, &c., have been discovered. left) of the abbey of Notre Dame, built There is a good spire church. Above it are between the 11th and 16th centuries; partly the tower and ruined walls of the Harcourt's Norman, but mostly early Gothic in style ; old castle.) with some good carving, effigies of abbots,

Yvetot (7 miles), to the left, in a fertile spot, a and a tower, 231 feet high. The light-house,

sous-préfecture of 9,920 souls, with a brick church, on Montagne-de-la-Vierge cliff (near a chapel)

old wooden houses, and manufactures of ribbons, is 427 feet high, and can be seen 21 miles.

cotton velvets, &c., is celebrated for its roi d'Yvetot, It has a chamber of commerce, navigation

a burlesque title, first conferred in an edict of 1392, school, theatre, library, &c.; with cotton and on its seigneur (like the King of Kippen, in Perthsaw mills. Herrings, mackerel, &c., are shire), and taken up in Béranger's song, written caught. Population, 12,250

in 1813: Hotels.-Grand Cerf; De la Forte ; Du Com

"Il faisait ses quatre repas merce. About 9 miles south-west is Cape de Caux, or

Dans son palais de chaume, Cape d'Antifer, past fine chalk cliffs all the

Et sur un âne, pas à pas, way, from 150 to 700 feet high. They rival

Parcourait son royaume." those of the Isle of Wight for brilliancy and At Allonville (6 kil. south-west) is a famous oak, variety of shape. The picturesque cliffs and 36 fcet round, and eight centuries old. It is fitted caves of

up as a chapel. Coaches to Cany, Ourville, ValÉTRETAT were first brought into fashion by mont, and Caudebec. Alphonse Karr. Population, 1,500. Hotel.- |

[CAUDEBEC (11 kil. south), is a pretty fishing Blankret. About 42 kil. further is HAVRE.

village of 2,500 souls, in a gap of the cliffs of the From Fécamp towards Dieppe, to which a coast Seine, where the sands begin to be troublesome. Jine is projected, you pass St. VALERY-EN-Caux, It belonged to St. Wandrille's abbey. Henry (44 kil.), a fishing port, in a pretty spot. Popu V., of England, Charles VII., and Henry IV., lation, 5,400.

at various times took possession of it, the last, At Bourg-Dun, 13 kil. further, is a church of the in 1592. The old walls are gone, but it retains

15th century. DIEPPE is 19 kil. beyond it (see many curious wooden houses, and a beautiful Route 8.)]

Gothic Church, built 1416-48, having a richly. Bolbec-Nointot (34 miles) station, to the south carved triple portal (the old arms, “threo of which (3 kil.) is Bolbec, a thriving town of 9,600 pearls, on a blue field," are seen), a side souls, where four valleys meet, on a stream which tower, with a tiara-shaped spire, and a Virgin runs down to the Seine. Here was born General chapel, with its great pendant, hanging from Ruffin, whom Marshal Lannes presented to Napo the roof. Biscuits, beer, &c., are made; at léon, after the Battle of Friedland, as the "most one time it was noted for gloves, and for hats valiant" of his generals. Cotton and linen goods, called “Caudebecs." The ruined churches of leather, &c., are made.

St. Gertrude and Notre Dame-de-Barre-y-va, are Hotels.-De Rouen; De l'Europe.

near-the latter being of the 13th century, and Coach to Lillebonne.

a votive chapel for the bargemen, &c. Opposite [LILLEBONNE (8 kil. south), in a hollow, on the it was an island, which sunk in 1641, with a

Bolbec, once the Roman Julia Bona, so called monastery upon it.

At 4 miles east, are the Gothic remains of a | a fall in 1846. To this succeeds the tunnel of

Church, on the site of the abbey, founded 684, | Nôtre Dame des Champs, 7,218 feet long (under by St. Wandrille, kinsman of Clovis, and called | Poville hill); then a cutting 105 feet deep, in somo Fontenelle, but burnt in 1230. Theodoric, son parts; and at length, of the last Merovingian king, died here. The Malaunay (5 miles) and its viaduct, at the buildings round it are used for a cotton factory. junction with the Diepse line (see Route 8) which St. Saturnin's little Norman chapel is near; comes down the valley of the Cailly. and there was another, Caillouville, so full of statues that it was called the "gathering of

ROUTE 10-A. paradise." Across the river (4 kil. south), in

Paris to St. Cloud and Versailles. Brutonne forest, is the old château of Meilleraye, or Meslerèe, seat of Madame de Mortemarte.

This is one of the three or four Lignes de Banlieue, At 4 kil. south-west of Caudebec, is the pretty

or short lines, in the environs of Paris, which branch village of Villequier, and its spire Church, in a

out of the Chemin de Fer de l'Ouest. For the

short line to Sceaux, see Route 34. gap of the river.]

See also, Motteville (5 miles), in the wide and fertile

BRADSHAW's Guide to Paris, plain of the Pays de Caux, or Vexin Normand, as

By rail to Versailles (rive droite, i.e., right or it was called, was the seat of Madame de Motteville,

north bank of the Seine, opened 1839), and St. who wrote the Memoirs of Anne of Austria.

Germain (opened 1839), 35 minutes past every hour, Coaches go to Yerville, St. Laurent, Luneray

from the terminus, Rue St. Lazare. Omnibuses (35 kil.), on one road; and to Doudeville and St.

meet all the trains. Distance to Versailles, 23 kil. Valery-en-Caux (38 kil.) on another.

or 14 miles; to St. Germain, 18} kil. or 11 miles. Leaving this, you come to Flamanville tunnel,

The stations to Versailles are :541 feet long, the first of a series between this and

Asnières, Suresnes,

Chaville, Rouen. Then

Courbevoie, St. Cloud,

Virofiay, Pavilly (7 miles), up the Austreberthe, in a Puteaux, Sèvres, Ville d'Avray, Versailles. pretty spot, has an old château, Esneval, of the Asnières, as in Route 8. 13th century (now a cotton work), and a church, in Courbevoie (at the bridge to Villiers), has a which the first wife of Diane de Poictiers' husband | large barrack and a church, rebuilt 1789. Popuis buried. Population 3,160.

lation, 5,100. The Marquis de Fontanes' seat is Cat 15 kil. south-south-east, are the fine Norman one of the best about here. Here Francis II. and ruins of the abbey church of

Marie Stuart parted. A little further on, over the Jumièges, founded 661, by St. Philibert, and river (here crossed by Peronnet's beautiful stone rebuilt in the 11th century. It has two con- | bridge, built 1772. 750 feet long, of five arches, spicuous towers over the west front, and parts each 120 feet span) is Neuilly (see Route 10-C.) of the central towers, &c. To this abbey the Puteaux, on the border of the Seine, has a Confessor sent Harold to renew his promise of population of 4,350. the kingdom to William. Charles VII. was Suresnes, in a pretty spot. Population, 3,200. here when his mistress, Agnes Sorel, died at Its vines and roses were at one time equally Mesnil château (3 miles south-east) now a farm celebrated. In front is Mont Calvaire, or Valerian,

house, near the river, opposite Mauny forest.] 590 feet above sea level. A suspension bridge Barentin (1} mile) lower down the Austreberthe crosses the Seine to the Longchamps walk in the (which falls into the Seine at Duclair cliffs, 11 kil. Bois de Boulogne. south-south-west, in the forest of le Trait-to | St. Cloud, on a well-wooded hill side, close to which a coach runs) has some cotton works, and a the Seine (by which steamers come up), in a population of 3,070. Beyond this is a great charming spot, is so called after Clovis's grandson, viaduct, on twenty-seven arches, 108 feet high, St Clodoald, who was murdered here. It was 1,640 feet long, as rebuilt by the contractors, after burnt by the English, 1358; here Henry III. was assassinated, 1389; and Henrietta Maria, wife of

ROUTE 10-B. Charles I., died here, 1670, in great poverty.

(Lignes de Banlieue.) The Palace, built 1572, by Gondy, a banker, having been bought by Louis XIV., was given to

Paris to St. Germain. his brother, the Duke of Orléans, and rebuilt by By rail; trains, 35 minutes past every hour. To Mansard, &c. It makes three sides of a square, Argenteuil, 5 minutes past every hour. The stawith a principal front of 170 feet long, and had tions to St. Germain aremany painted and gilt saloons full of pictures, Asnières, Rueil, Le Pecq, statuary, Sèvres china, tapestry, &c., most of Colombes, Châtou, St. Germain. which was ruined, 1870, when the Palace was Nanterre, Vésinet, set fire to by the French to prevent its occupa Asniéres, as in Route 8. The small branch to tion by the Germans. Louis XVI. gave it to his Argenteuil (Route 8) turns off before qucen; Bonaparte, when consul, carried out the Colombes (department Seine) where our present revolution of 18 Brumaire (10th November, 1799,) | branch turns off from the Rouen line. Coaches to here; the capitulation of Paris was here signed, Bézons, Houilles. 1815, when it was occupied by Blücher; and hence Nanterre was the birth-place of St. Geneviève, Charles X. issued the famous ordonnances against the patron saint of Paris, and is noted for its sauthe press, 1830, which ended in another revolution. sages and cakes. The rest of the line to St. GerIt was one of the principal residences of the main is worked on the atmospheric plan, by two Emperor Napoléon.

fixed engines here, and others at Châtou and St. The private grounds and Grand Park were laid Germain. out by Le Nôtre, and are open to the public. In Rueil (department Seine-et-Oise) to the left, the latter, are the water-works and cascades, with has a large barrack, and a church, partly as old as a jet d'eau, rising 140 feet, and Napoléon's Lantern the 13th century, in which are monuments of of Diogenes, a copy of that at Athens, whence Josephine and her daughter, Hortense; the latter there is a fine prospect. A three weeks' fête is placed here by her son, the Emperor Napoléon. held in September. The unfinished church has Population, 5,000. two paintings. A fourteen-arch bridge leads over Malmaison, the favourite seat of Napoléon and to Boulogne, in the Bois or wood of which the Josephine (who died in it, 1814), now belongs to English encamped, 1815. It is noted for its duels, Queen Christina. It is a plain building, and inraces, its new waterfall, and the Longchamps cludes Napoléon's library and cabinet (near the promenade. A tunnel under the park opens out, lodge), in which he was nearly captured, 1815, by with

Blücher's cavalry, but his guards having time to Sèvres on the left, near the bridge, towards break down the wooden bridge of Châtou, he fled Passy. It was founded 560, and has a population to Rochefort. Coach to Bougival (5 kil. south) of 6,330, with a church full of new stained windows, near La Jouchère château, once the seat of Louis and the government factory of porcelain, or Sèvres Bonaparte and Count Bertrand. At La Celle-St. china, established 1755. The show rooms are open Cloud is the château, given by Louis XV. to daily; there is also a fine museum of china, pottery, Madame de Pompadour, with that of Beauregard, &c., of all ages and countries, to be seen, by order. in a fine spot, on a hill.

The line here runs close to the rive gauche, or Châtou, in Vesinct wood, where the railway Bouth-bank line, past

crosses the Seine, resting on Ile Chiard, is to the Ville d'Avray, Chaville, Grand Montreuil right. To the left are Croissy and Les Gabillons, (where Gen. Hoche was born), to tho main line of Coaches to Le Pecq and Neauphile-le-Château. the Chemin de l'Ouest at

(Beyond (across the river) are seen the Port Viroflay, leaving the old line to go on to the Marly waterworks, and aqueduct, on 36 arches, terminus in Rue Duplessis, at

2,165 feet long, 70 feet high, erected at great Versailles (see Route 15),

cost, for supplying Versailles, Tho viaduct

« AnteriorContinuar »