« AnteriorContinuar »
From Calais, the first station is the suburban | old watch tower on the hill, from whence England village of
may be seen, and where stood a house of pilgrimage. St. Pierre (1} mile), the birth-place of the
From here a branch rail to Gravelines (see page famous Eustache St. Pierre, the defender of Calais
2) was opened 1873. The next station (5 miles) is in the siege of 1347 (above-mentioned) against
26 miles from Calais. Edward III. ; who was so incensed by the long
HOTELS.-Hotel de la Porte d'Or, Rue St. Bertin. resistance he experienced here, that he was about to put him and five other leaders to death, when New proprietor, D. Coolen. Very attentive and they were saved by the intercession of Queen
charges moderate. Hotel d'Angleterre; Du ComPhilippa--the subjict of a well-known picture.
merce. Here is Trinity Church for the use of English resi.
English Service, on Sundays, in Rue de Bon dents.
T OBJECTS OF NOTICE.—The Church-St. Ber[The connecting rail with Boulogne, 27 miles
tin's Tower-Jesuits' College. long, passes hence by the following stations :
A fortified town of the third class, and sous-préCaffières (9 miles).
fecture, in department Pas-de-Calais, in a marshy Marquise-Rinxent (6 miles), on the Slack, spot, on the Aa, where six great roads meet; with
which has a fine linden tree and marble quar- | 22,000 inhabitants. During the fury of the Revoluries, is near AJELETEUSE, where James II. tion its name was changed to “Morin la Montagne!' landed, 1688, in his fight from England. Popu It is surrounded by the canals and gardens of a lation, 3,930. Near it are the quarries of Flemish-speaking population. St. Audomar founded Ferques and Landretun, with some remains of a church here, and gave his name to the town. Beaulieu Abbey (founded 1150), and Druid Louis XIV. took it from Flanders, 1677. The old stones, near the former.
cathedral Church of Notre Dame was begun in the Wimille (6 miles), where the two unfortunate
14th century, on the site of St. Audomar's, whose tomb äeronauts, Rosier and St. Romain, are buried.
| it contains, besides good carved work, a pictu: e by In trying to cross the Channel; 1785, they fell
fou | Rubens, &c. It is 321 feet 'long, and deserves exfrom a height of 3,000 feet. Lower down the
amination; the clock shows the moon's changes, the stream is the small port of Wimereau.
months, the signs of the zodiac, &c. This is at one Hence through a flat, sandy, and marshy soil to
end of the town; at the opposite end stands a Tower
only of St. Bertin's Abbey, where Childeric III. died. Boulogne (4 miles), in Route 2.]
It was one of the finest convents in this part, wish Ardres (64 miles), a small fortified town near
an income of half a million livres. The Tower of the field of the Cloth of Gold, where Henry VIII.
St. Denis's church is in the same massive style. and Francis I. met, 1520; 80 called from the
The Jesuits' College, built 1615-36, for English splendid equipages displayed, of which there is a
Roman Catholics, is now occupied by a commercial curious picture at Hampton Court. All this part
school; its church is worth notice. Here O'Connell is now covered with willows and flax fields, in the
began his education when a boy. The Hôtel de centre of which is the village of Les Saules (popula
| Ville is modern, with a dome; the museum has tion, 900), which grows as much as 80,0001. worth
some antiquities; and there are 18,000 volumes in of flax yearly. The écouchers, or scutchers, pre
the public library. An arsenal was built in 1781. pare steeped flax for the spinners, working in little
Occasionally, military manoeuvres on a large scale clay-built huts, or boutiques. Coach to Guines
are practised here, and at Helfaut Camp, 18 miles (once a fortress) with 4,700 souls, and a trade in
distant. cattle and poultry.
Linens, flannels, paper, excellent pipes, &c., are Audruicq (54 miles). Coach to Bourbourg.
| made, and a good trade carried on. Watten (7} miles), the ancient Ilium prom. to! In the neighbourhood are Clairmarais abbey which the sea came up in Cæsar's time. It has an (5 kil.), and its floating islands, and the old Castle
of Arques (2 kil.) near the Sept Ecluses, or seven Farbus-Vimy, followed by locks of the An, which falls 40 feet here, in its Arras, for which, see below, descent to Gravelines.
[The line towards Lille passes Eblinghem (6 miles).
Strazeele (4 miles). Hazebrouek (6} miles), where the lines to Dun- | Bailleul (5 miles), an ancient-looking place, on kirk and Lille join, is a sous-préfecture of 5,600 a hill, with old carved houses, St. Waast's old souls, in a fertile spot, on a branch of the Lys. It church, and a Jesuits' college. Population, 10,200. has a large church, built 1490-1520, with a hand-/ Steenwerck (2} miles). some spire-tower of 276 feet; a new Hôtel de Ville, Armentières (5] miles), on the Lys, noted for fronted by a portico of twelve pillars; a govern- its grain, linen, &c. Population, 11,100. ment tobacco factory, at the old Augustine convent; | Perenchies (3 miles). The next place to this a library of 4,000 volumes. Linen, soap, &c., are (5 miles) is made.
65 miles from Calais. (3 miles) the line reaches
HOTELS.-Dc l'Europe, the best in the town; Aire (3 miles), a third class fortress, where the Paris; Nouvсau Monde; Flandre; France Lys and Laquette meet the St. Omer and Bassée Chemin de fer du Nord. canals. It has a belfry; and St. Paul's Gothic English Service, at the French Church. Church. Mallebranche was a native. Population, " OBJECTS OF NOTICE.—Citadel-Church, and 8,300.
Porte St. André-St. Maurice's Church-Hôtel de Hotels.-D'Angleterre; De France.
Ville-Museum–Hôpital Comtesse. Lillers (4 miles), in department Pas-de-Calais, Population, 131,900. A large manufacturing on the fertile banks of the Nave, where one of the town, on the Belgian frontier, capital of department earliest artesian wells in France was bored, so du Nord (formerly of French Flanders), and a called from the old name, Artois, of this province. strongly fortified post, standing in a fertile and Population, 6,000.
populous plain, covered with windmills and facThe next station Chocques, is followed by tories, on the Deule. It grew out of an abbey,
Bethune (4 miles), a station on the main line founded about 840; was improved by Baldwin V., from Hazebrouck to Arras, a sous-préfecture, and in 1047, and after many events, including the a strong military place of the second class, on the taking of it from the Spaniards, by Louis XIV., in river Brette. The grand place (square) has, near 1667, and from the French, by Marlborough, in the Hôtel de Ville, a curious and lofty spire-tower 1708, it was finally given up to France, 1713. or belfry. Much of the water is supplied by artesian In shape it is an oval, about 2,620 yards by 1,300 wells, which were first tried here. Population, yards, entirely closed in by ramparts and ditches, 8,300.
strengthened by 15 bastions, by Fort St. Maurice Ilotels.—De France; D'Angleterre; Du Lion on the south-cast side, and a Citadel of great exd'Or (Golden Lion).
tent, on the west. The latter, one of Vauban's The wood of Dames Chartreuses offers a fine | best, is five-sided, and considered almost impanorama,
pregnable. The Austrians tried to take it, 1792, From Bethune a rail proceeds to Douai, by way | but without success; a fact commemorated by a of Lens and Carvin; and another, 34 miles long, bronze column, in the Grande Place, nsar the proceeds to Lille, by way of Bully-Grenay and Bourse. Violaine: Road to St. Pol.
Porte St. André is the oldest of its seven gates, The next station is
having been built in 1670; the Porte de Paris has Lens, an old place on the Eleux, where the a triumphal arch, by Volans, built 1682, in honour Prince of Condé, in 1648, gained a victory over the of Louis XIV., whose bust is here, accompanied by Spaniards.
figures of Hercules and Mars. The best streets are , daughter of the sa slender spire onnaie (or mint) y marks the site
yderic," founder ic public library,
in Grande Place; re court inside. | 1785, but since portico of cight
in near the Porte
Convention who uis XVI. nen, Lille thread, sugar, linseed oil, ticles.
Calais, Dunkirk, ne, Bethune, &c.; der places, on the st, has part of an sur of Louis XV., Fontenoy. or Gand, you pass 'n of 70,000 people, and cotton manu
of Arques (2 kil.) near locks of the Aa, whic descent to Gravelines.
Ehlinghem (6 mil
Hazebrouck (6} m kirk and Lille join, is souls, in a fertile spot, has a large church, bi some spire-tower of 27 fronted by sa portico ment tobacco factory, a a library of 4,000 vo made.
Hotel.-Des Trois C
Passing Steenbeco (3 miles) the line read
Aire (3 miles), a th Lys and Laquette me canals. It has a be Church. Mallebranch 8,300.
Lillers (4 miles), on the fertile banks earliest artesian well called from the old n Population, 6,000.
The next station C Bethune (4 miles from Hazebrouck to a strong military ple river Brette. The k the Hôtel de Ville, a or belfry. Much of t wells, which were : 8,300.
IIotels.-De Fran d'Or (Golden Lion).
The wood of Da panorama,
From Bethune a : of Lens and Carvi proceeds to Lille, Vivlaines. Road to
The next station
Lens, an old 1 Prince of Condé, iker Spaniards.
Rue Royal, Rue de Paris, Rue d'Esquermois, Rue / men's hospital, or flôpital Comtesse, founded in the Bt. Sauveur, and Rue St. André. Most of the 13th century, by Countess Jeanno, daughter of the houses are modern and regular, and generally two emperor, Baldwin IX., and having a slender spire stories high; but many work-people live in cellars. like a minaret. The Hôtel de Monnaie (or mint) A broad Esplanade near the citadel is planted with adjoins the Cirque, which they say marks the site trees, and watered by the Deule.
of the Château de Buc, built by “Lyderic," founder The largest open part, next to the Grande Place, of the town. At the College is the public, library, is the cattle and wood Market, near the Douane, of 24,000 volumes, besides MSS. (custom-house); some of the oldest houses are in The Bourse, or Exchange, stands in Grande Place; this neighbourhood, having their fronts cuved in it was built 1652, with a square court inside. the Flemish or Spanish style; and here are the Behind it is the Theatre, begun 1785, but since public baths. Pont Neuf is a small bridge of six enlarged, and having a handsome portico of eight arches, built 1701, on the Grand Rivage, a branch columns. of the Deule, where goods are landed. Pont Royal A large Military Hospital is seen near the Porte is ascended by steps and covered over. In this Bethune, built 1765. The hospital St. Saureur is quarter, also, are the Palais de Justice (with a | near that church, and the Hôtel Dieu, portico of four pillars); the general hospital, founded | At the Administration des Hospices, are a picture '1783; the government tobacco factory, magazines, by Vandyke, and the halbert of the famous Jeanne barracks, the artillery depôt, large public granary, Maillotte, leader of the townspeople against the &c.
insurgent Flemish, who attacked the place 1582. The six parish churches are those of St. André, the
There are at Lille, as might be expected, several best, restored since the Revolution; St. Catherine,
Casernes, or barracks, and magazines; also schools which has an altar piece by Rubens, and a high
of medicine, painting, &c.; and a botanic garden. tower; St. Etienne, having a good portal; St.
Here died, 1852, an old veteran, aged 88, called Madeleine, with a cupola and pictures; St. Sauveur,
Coulomben l'Immortel. Among other escapes, when which had a Gothic spire battered down, 1792; and
taken in the Vendéan war and shot for not giving the ancient Gothic church of St. Maurice (begun
the pass-word, he fell pierced with ten balls and 1022), with its side chapels, and the Duc de Berri's four stabs of the bayonet, and yet survived sixty mausoleum. A part of St. Peter's old tower is all
years after. Another celebrity was M. Fokedy who that remains of that church.
died, near this, in 1853, at the great age of 95. He Near the Citadel, in Rue de la Barre, stands the was one of the members of the Convention who Hôtel de Ville, called the Palais de Rihoult, or Riche
voted against the execution of Louis XVI. bourg, when it belonged to the Dukes of Burgundy,
Manufactures.-Cottons and linen, Lille thread, who began it in the 13th century. It is a Gothic pile of various dates; and includes the tribunal of
lace, soap, chemicals, beet-root sugar, linseed oil, commerce (where are two pictures, by Wamps',
eaux-de-vie, and various other articles. and various official bureaux; also an old chapel, 1 Conveyances: By railway to Calais, Dunkirk, and a modern belfry. Charles V. and Henry VIII. Tournay, Brussels, Mons, Cologne, Bethune, &c.; visited it together, 1542. The Hôtel de la Pré- also by baraque to these and other places, on the fecture is near the Place du Concert and the canals. Cysoing, to the south-east, has part of an Theatre.
old abbey, and a pyramid in honour of Louis XV., Not far from Place St. Martin are the following:
who was here after the battle of Fontenoy. The Museum, in the old church of the Friars From Lille, on the rail to Ghent or Gand, you pass Minors, having several pictures, including some by Roubaix (52 miles), a large town of 70,000 people, Vandyke, Rubens, &c., portraits of the Dukes of and a thriving seat of the woollen and cotton manuFlanders, and valuable drawings by Raphael, factures. Giotto, and others, given by Wicar, a native of Hotels.- Hotel Frrcaille; Du Commerce. EngLille, who died at Rome, 1834. Next it is the old I lish Church here,