« AnteriorContinuar »
Pont Audemer, a sous-préfecture, of 6,860 popu- ! Grand Rue is the best built street; the others are
lation, in the fertile valley of the Rille, called narrow and winding, with many curious timbered after one Odomar, who founded it in the 5th houses, which are disappearing before modern imcentury. It suffered in the English and civil provements. There are eight Places, four halls, wars. It has three or four churches. Trade eleven fountains, three churches, an old bishop's in leather (for which it is noted), corn, cider, palace (with good gardens), public library and wool, &c.
museum, &c.; and it has manufactures of coarse Hotels. De l'Image de St. Pierre; Du Lion d'Or woollens, flannels, cotton, and other goods. St.
(Golden Lion). Coach to Bernay on the Cher Peter's cathedral Church is mostly early Gothic bourg line.
(with some Norman portions as old as 1022), and has At 12 kil. north-east, is Quillebauf, a pilot station, a good west front with two towers; besides a Lady
on a point of the Seine, which the Norinan chapel, built in the 15th century, by Bishop dukes gave to Jumièges Abbey, and the walls Cauchon, to atone for the share he took in conof which were reduced by Louis XIV. Popula demning Joan of Arc. Population, 13,130. tion, 1,350. The Seine is full of shifting sands
Hotels.-De France; D'Espagne. here, and the tide frequently rushes in with a
A branch rail to Pont l'Evêque, Trouville, and bore six feet high, at some risk to the shipping.j
Honfleur, turns off here (see Route 12). Several old Bernay (5) miles), has a buffet, and is a sous
châteaux may be examined round Lisieux, as préfecture in department Eure, in a hollow on the
Fumichon, d'Herminal, Quilly-la-Ribaude, BeuvilCharentonne, with 7,600 population, who manufac
liers, Mesnil-Guillaume, and Mailloc, whose last ture linens, flannels, cotton, &c. Besides some old Marquis died, an exile in England, in 1802. An houses (in Rue aux Févres), and two churches of old half-feudal structure, called the Pavements, on the 15th century, it has at the corn hall, part of a
the road to Orbec, should not be omitted. When Benedictine abbey, founded 1018, in the Norman
the Bishop of Lisieux lived in this neighbourhood, style. Here was born, in 1150, Alexandre de he used always to date from the “Chambre du Bernay, from whose productions the French heroic Pavement." measure of twelve syllables is called Alexandrine.
(At 18 kil. to the south is Livarot, which is noted A cattle fair in March is attended by great numbers. for its cheese; and 10 kil. beyond it,
Hotels.-Le Cheval Blanc (White Horse); Le VIMOUTIERS, where large manufactures of coarso Lion d'Or (Golden Lion).
linens employ 20,000 people in and around the About 10 kil. to the south-west is Broglie, with its town.] old church, and seat of the Duc de Broglie, pro Leaving Lisieux, the railway runs through the nounced "Broille."
valley of Auge, the seat of an ancient county; and St. Mards Orbec (84 miles), a village of 1,200
then through Motte tunnel, 7,759 feet long, and population, is 17 kil. from Orbec, which possesses a
comes out at Houblonnière, where Cervoise beer is church and an old château, in a charming situation.
made. Its castle belonged to the Knights Templars, Here we leave department Eure, and enter that of
and is opposite Val-Richer Abbey, lately the seat of Calvados, so christened by the Constituent Assem
M. Guizot. This was a Bernardine house, now bly, after a ship of the Armada, which had been partly restored. lost on its rocky coast.
Mesnil-Mauger (114 miles), on the Vie and Lisieux (9 miles), a sous-préfecture in depart
Viette, near Capo-Mesnil château. Further on ment Calvados, on the Touques, where the Orbec
near the Dive, is Plainville château. Here was the joins it, in a rich valley. It was the Roman Lexovii,
abbey of St. Barbe-en-Auge, which belonged to Tanwhence this part is still called Pays de Lieuvain.
kerville, the Conqueror's chamberlain. Henry II. of England married Eleanor here, 1152 Mezidon (4 miles), is near Breuil (and its and here his rebellious subject, Becket, caipe when church), where a junction with the Mans and exiled, 1169)
Alençon line was cffec!ed in February, 1859 (seo
Route 16). Pass Canon, the seat of Élie de Beau- | English, under Edward III., plundered it, 1346, mont, the geologist, to
and again, 1417, from which year they held it till Moult- Argences (54 miles), on the Muance, under a hill, on which is La Hogue camp, supposed
Only the remains of its walls and 21 towers are to be Roman. Argences still produces a little wine
now left. It looks to great advantage as you apthe only wine in Normandy, and as acid as vine
proach it. The streets are wide, and the houses of gar. Its other productions are wax and honey.
stone-the Caen stone-which was used formerly Coaches to Bray, Croissanville, Fierville, Méry, St.
in England; several old wooden gable-fronted Sylvain.
buildings, with carvings, are seen. The best pro
menades are at Grand Cours, Place St. Sauveur, [ST. PIERRE-SUR-DIVE (8 kil. south-south-east)
Place Royale (which has a statue of Louis XIV.), has an ohil abbey church, founded 1046, by a
and the Quais, to which vessels of 150 tons come Comtesse d'Eu.]
up. Of its 10 or 12 churches the most remarkable Further on, the line passes within view of the plain (bordered by the Muance and the Laison),
St. Etienne's (Stephen's), or the Abbnyc Aux where the battle of Val des Dunes was fought, 1047,
Hommes, in the Norman style, built 1066-77, and between the Normans and French. Wace, in the
370 feet long; with three towers and two turrets, ancient poem of the Roman de Rou, describes it as
a fine west front, and a black marble slab before " Valedunes est en Oismeiz
the altar, marking where the bones of the ConEntre Argences è Cingueleiz."
queror once rested. An inscription describes him Then comes Mondeville and its caves, from which
as “ Invictissimus Guliemus Conquestor, dc." The the stone used in building the tower of London
abbey buildings, in the early pointed style, n ar it, and Westminster Abbey was quarried.
belong to the high school or College of Henry At 8 miles from Moult is the old capital of Nor VI., which was founded as a university by the mandy,
Holy Trinity, or Abbaye Aux Dames, is also a
large and excellent Norman specimen, cross-shaped, 147} miles from Paris; 95 from Cherbourg.
having low towers, and a monument of Queen HOTELS.-D'Angleterre, in the centre of the
Matilda, its foundress. The buildings attached are town, by M. Dubosq, recommended; De Victoire;
now included in the Hôtel Dicu, or general Hospital De la Place Royale.
(built 1726). English Vice-Consul, Chas. G. G. Perceval, Esq.
St. Pierre (Peter) has a beautiful light spire (built Post-Office in Place Royale.
1308), 240 feet high and a good vaulted roof. Englisr service at the French Protestant Church.
St. Etienne-le-Vieil, a fine pointed church, in a KF OBJECTS OF NOTICE. - Churches of St.
state of decay, and serving as a corn market, has a Etienne, Trinity, St. Pierre, &c.—Castle-Cour des
soi-disant figure of the Conqueror. That of S?. Halles-Charlotte Corday's house-Museum.
Nicholas, which he built. 1066, in the Norman style, Population, 44,000; many being English resi is a cavalry stable. At the old Castle, now used dents.
as a barrack, is another Norman chapel; St. Jian's A fine old town, both historically and in an anti- church has two unequal towers: and St. Michael's quarian point of view; capital of department Cal- is a mixture of Norman and other styles. vados, head of a military division, &c., in a fertile | The Manoir de Pollent, called also, the Château corn country, on the Orne, where the Odon joins de Calix, or Gendarmerie, has some curious carving it, three leagues from the Channel. It was called about it. Tôtel de Valois, now the Bourse, or exCathein about the time (1066) that the Conqueror, change, is also ornamented with statues, &c. The The favourite seat it was, founded St. Etienne's Cour des Halles, or de Monnaie, deserves notice, as Ab ey, in which he was buried; his wife Matilda does the Hotel de Than, in Rue St. Jean Charlotle having founded a nunnery at the same time. The Corday's house is in the same street.
Other buildings are, the Hôtel de la Préfecture; | represent the Conquest of England by her husband. the Palais de Justice, with a colonnade round it; It is shown at the public library (7,000 volumes), large Public Library of 48,000 volumes, besides and a copy of it has been made by the Antiquarian MSS., the history of which has been published by Society of London. its curator, M. Trebutier; and the Museum, having The Cathedral, on the site of that built, 1077, by several good pictures, and a cabinet of natural his the Conqueror's brother, Bishop Odo, is of the 12th tory, which includes fossils of the oolite rocks, as century, and has three carved porches, two towers, the ichthyosaurus, &c. There are also schools of 246 feet high, with good oak stalls, and a crypt Medicine, Architecture, Navigation, &c., with Anti under the choir; it is 334 feet long. anarian and other Societies. Botanic Gardens. At the Bishop's Palace is a series of portraits. Deaf and Dumb School, Le Bon Sauveur Lunatic The Hôtel Dieu was a chapel, built 1206; The Hôtel Asylum, &c. They show the house (corner of Rue de Ville is ancient. There are two other churches, Nôtre Dame) whero Malherbe, the poet, was born; a museum, public baths, a new corn-market, colBishop Huet was also a native, and wrote an ac lege, &c., and a house in Rue St. Malo, where A. count of the town. Galland, the translator of the Chartier, the poet, and his brothers, were born, in Arabian Nights, was another. The unfortunate the 15th century. Trade in cattle, sheep, butter Beau Brummel died here, in a madhouse, having cider, &c. held the post of consul.
Hotels.-Du Luxembourg ; Le Grand Hotel; Du Manufactures of millinery, hose, yarn, oil, paper, Lion d'Or. sugar, linen, &c., but especially lace, which the The road to St. Lo turns off here (see Route 14), people, in and around the town, make all day | but the nearest station is Lison. The Bocage, or long. Trade in oil, grain, cider, eaux-de-vie, fish, woodland, between this and Isigny, is very fine. horses, &c.
La Molay-Littry (9 miles) is near F'ormigny Coaches to Granville, St.Lo, Avranches, St. Malo, (12 kil.), where the English were beaten in 1405, Vire, &c.; by steam, daily, to Havre in 3 or 4 hours. and obliged, finally, to give up Normandy. A line is in progress to Flers and Laval. Several
Lison (7 miles). From this a branch rail runs to good village churches are seen in the neighbour
St. Lo (see Route 14); thence by road to Coutances. hood; and within a distance of 6 or 8 miles are Ardaine old abbey, the Norman chapel of Notre
Isigny (5} miles), a pretty little port, in the bay Dame de la Delivrande (near Douvres, visited by
of Isigny, at the mouth of the Vire and Aure, on
the Channel. It is noted for its fresh and salt Louis XI., in 1571), a great resort of pilgrims, on the
butter, in which it carries on a large trade, and its road to the bathing-place of Courseulles, and the
cider. castles of Creuilly and Fontaine-Henri. Falaise
Carentan (54 miles), a fortified town in a is 39 kil. to the south-east (see Route 16).
marshy spot, at the top of a creek, which runs up From Caen, on the rail to Cherbourg, you pass
from the east side of the Cotentin peninsula. It has Maladrerie (1} kil.) or Beaulieu, a house of deten
a good church, and a ruined château fort. tion, on the site of a lepers' hospital, founded by
Coach to Coutances (see Routo 14). Henry II., of England.
[About 20 kil. west is the abbey of Blancheland, Bretteville (:4) with a good church spire, is founded in the 12th century. On the coast, 10 near that of Norrey, in the pure early pointed style.
kil. west-south-west, is the fine Abbey Church Audrieu (3} miles).
of Lessay, in the Norman style. Jersey is in the Bayeux (64 miles), an old-looking place, the
distance.] ancient Civitas Bajocassium, a sous-préfecture, and Chef-du-Pont (7} miles), is not far from St. seat of a bishopric, with: 9,800 souls, on the Aure, in Mère Eglise, which has a good church, and a trade a fertile spot, is noted for its Tapestry, or piece of in grain, butter, and cattle. Aboui hil. northworsted work on coarse linen, about 230 feet long, east of it, is the Grand Cheminée of Quineville, on and 20 inches wide, worked by Queen Matilda, to the coast, a sivgular rock, 27 feet high.
(About 17 kil. to the west, at St. Sauveur, on the It was ascended by the Queen, at her visit, in 1858.
Douve, is a ruined abbey, founded by the Har- | A floating basin, or avant port, is kept clear by courts, with an old castle, which Edward III. | means of a canal de reténue, or sluice, in its rear. gave to John Chandos.]
The Hôtel de Ville has Vauban's original plan of Montebourg (6) miles).
the arsenal, a gallery of pictures, &c., chiefly Valognes (17} miles), a sous-préfecture of 6,400 French and Flemish, bequeathed by a native, T. souls on the Merderet, near the site of the Roman | Henry, whose bust is here, with a library of 2,400 Alauna or Lonia. It has a college of some preten- volumes, a museum, &c. In front is a pillar to the sions, and a library of 15,000 volumes. Traces of a Duc de Berri, with a fountain cut out of a single Roman temple, aqueduct, &c., were seen till lately, block of granite. and it had a castle of William the Conqueror's. St. Trinité Church, near the sea, and an old tower, [About 12 kil. west-south west, is Briquebec cas. | was built 1450, except the spire, added 1825; it is
tle, with a keep 100 feet high. Near this are | 151 feet long. The chapel of Notre Dame du Væu the Grosses Roches (Druid stones), and a (i.e., of the Vow) in Chantier de Chantereine, and Traspist convent. At 16 kil, north-east is St. only 49 feet long, replaces one built by Queen Waast-la-Hogue, mentioned below.) Then Maude, who landed here in a storm. It is now tho follow
maritime hospital. Another church, in the Gothic Sottevast (5 miles).
style, was built in 1831. There are a college, Couville (41 miles), and
theatre, navigation school, baths, fountains, &c. Martinvast (31 miles); and 4} miles further, The Naval Dock and Arsenal, to the north-west, at the end of the peninsula of Cotentin, is
was begun by Napoléon I. in 1803, and is now CHERBOURG,
nearly complete. Three magnificent basins or
docks are opened—respectively named Napoléon, 230 miles from Paris.
Charles X., and Louis Philippe, each about 950 JTOTELS.-Grand Hotel de l'Univers, first-class feet long, and nearly as broad; they have been establishment for families or single gentlemen.
excavated out of the slaty cliffs by gunpowder. Omnibus to and from each train. De l'Aigle.
They are large and deep enough (60 to 70 feet) to Protestant Chapel, in Rue du Vieux Quai, opened hold any number of line of battle ships required 1835.
for instant service. They were opened in form by Consul, H. Himmond, Esq.
the ex-Emperor Louis Napoléon, in the presence of Post-Office, on the Quai.
Queen Victoria, in the summer of 1858; on which Population, 42,000. A strong naval station and
occasion the roads were crowded with English and fortress of the first-class, seat of a maritime préfect, French men-of-war, and the vessels of the Yacht &c., on the cliffs, at the mouth of the Divette, which Clubs. A fine granite statue of Napoléon was also spreads into a wide road or bay, with the great set up, with an inscription from one of his speeches, breakwater, called the Digue, in front. A circle of “ J'ai résolu de renouveler à Cherbourg les merheights, crowned with strong fortifications, com- veilles d'Egypt," I have determined to revive at mands every part of the town and road; so that a Cherbourg the wonders of Egypt -which these vessel, on entering, is exposed to the fire of above vast triumphs of engineering skill fairly rival. 10 of the heaviest ordnance, while the arsenal and Around are six building slips (cales d) construction) forts are safe from shot. It is about 60 miles due on granite piers; dry dock (forme de radoub); south of the Needles.
blacksmiths' shops (ateliers des forges); timber The town is a collection of narrow streets, and shed (hangar aux bois), 960 feet long; machine houses of stone and slate. A quay lines the com shops (ateliers des machines) ; with magazines, mercial dock, or Port du Commerce, at the gap of park of artillery, museum (salle des modèles), large the river. This port extends inward to the junc- barracks for seamen and soldiers, telegraph office, tion of the Trottebec, where the Roule, a steep rock, &c. Entrance to the Arsenal is granted only by with a fortress on the summit, rises up 391 feet high. / special permission from the authorities,
Thc Digue, or Dyke, off the town, is a breakwater, CAPE LA HAGUE (21 kil.), which is sometimes 3,760 mètres, or 4,711 yards long (2} times longer mistaken for Waast La Hogue. It has several than that at Plymouth), and 31 broad at top. It reefs round it, and on the Gros de Ray rock, was begun 1782, carried on by Napoléon and Louis a fixed light, 157 feet high, seen six leagues Philiprc, and completed 1851 ; the stones being sup round. The Race of Alderney, where the tido plied in making the docks, and sunk in great cones. runs six and seven miles an hour, divides it It was upon one of these cones that Captain Brenton from Alderney and the other Channel Is'an13 grounded in the Minerve, 180?, and was taken after in the distance.] å struggle of 36 hours to escape. The breakwater is strengthened by Fort du Hommet, near the
ROUTE 12. middle, which carries a light; other forts and
Lisieux to Pont l'Evêque, Trouvi le, lights are placed on Ile Pelée, near the east corner, where the way in is 1} mile broad, and on Point Honfleur (Havre), and Rouen. Qu rquccille, on the main land, to the west, where
By branch rail, to Pont l'Evêque and Honfleur, the fair way is of a mile broad. There are from
with a branch at the former to Trouville. Fiom 6 to 7 fathoms at low water, inside, and room for
Honfleur, Rouen may be reached by road to Pont 30 vr 40 sail.
Audemer, then by rail; or by road all the way. Iligh water at moon's full and change, 7 hours
Lisieux, as in Route 11. 45 min. The English held this town 1418-50, and again in
Le Breuil (68 miles). Then 1748, when General Bligh burnt the old dockyard, Pont l'Evêque (4} miles), a small sous-préfcc&c. James II. was here at the battle of La Hogue; ture of 3,115 souls, in the valley of the Touques, Charles X. embarked here, 1830; and Don Pedro where they make lace and good cheese. The fertile lan·led here, 1831. A little lace and coarse cloth meadows of the Pays d'Auge send large numberg are made; and eggs, &c., sent to England.
of cattle to the Paris market. Formerly it was Conveyances: By coach, to Barfleur and St. Waast;
called Pont à la Vache, changed to l'Evêque, by a by stcam, to Havre, twice a-week, in 10 hours; to bishop of Lisieux, who rebuilt the bridge. Southampton, twice a-week. Tourlaville castle, At the mouth of the river, 8 miles lower, is the now a farm, or glass factory, lies to the south-east. now fashionable bathing-place and fishing village
From Cherbourg, to the cast, you pass Mauper- | of tuis (10 kil.); St. Pierre (13 kil.), ncar Château de Trouville-sur-Mer, under the cliffs of the Tocqueville; and then at about 22 kil. you come to Channel, which is frequented from June to Septem
BARFLEUR, a decayed port, which Edward III. ber, when steamers run to Havre. The population plundered, 1316, but which, in Norman times, ) has risen to 3,600 since the time when Alexandro was the starting point for England. Upon the Dumas first brought it into notice. There are rocks, near this, Henry the First's son, Wil- | many points of attraction round it, exclusive of the liam, was lost in the Blanche Nef - a loss marine scenery - such as the seats of Comte which struck such a blow to the king's heart
d'Hautpool, Baron Clary, the Duchesse de Rozan. that it is said he never smiled afterwards. Hotels.- Hotel Roches Noires ; De Paris; De la the north of it is Cape Barfleur, or Cape de Plage; Belle Vue; Du Bras d'Or. Gatteville, which has a granite lighthouse 236 [Within a few miles is Dives (to the west), at feet high, with an intermittent flash, seen seven the mouth of a river remarkable as that where leagues off. About eight miles south of it is the Conqueror collected part of his fleet, for St. Waast, or Waast La Hogue, which gives invading England, in 1066. Its rocks, flowers, name to the naval action of 1692, when Rooke and fossils are noted. Château d'Aguesseauburnt the French fleet, under Tourville.
is now the seat of Prince Murat. At Beaumont From Cherbourg, to the west, you come to Beau par-Ronchville, Laplace, the mathematician, mont (14 kil.), and then to