Imagens das páginas
PDF

From Pont l'Evêque, the road to Honfleur, | made by the Norman duke3 round their hunting through this part of Lower Normandy, passes the grounds. It has St. Julien's Norman chapel (now old castle of Bonneville, a favourite seat of the Con- a barn), built by Henry II. of England. A little queror's; Quetteville (8 miles from Pont l'Evê further is Grand Quevilly, which had an iinmense gae); Canapville, and the old church of Toques; Protestant church in Henry IV.'s time, pulled down and the old church and château of Criqueboeuf; in 1686. The Princess de Montmorency's château thence, between the heights which overlook the is near. town, to

MOULINEAUX (8 kil.), in a fine spot, opposite the Honfleur (8 miles from Quetteville), a port of little spire church of Sahur, has, on a hil, the 9,600 souls, in department Calvados, with three picturesque remains of the Castle of a fierce soldier, basins, and building slips, whence frigates have Robert le Diable (of Pepin's time), the hero of been launched. It has several old streets and Meyerbeor's opera. It was destroyed by King houses. St. Catherine's Church, which at first was John who, according to some authorities, killed built in the 5th century, of wood, has two pictures his nephew, Arthur, here. by Rubens' pupils, Jordaens and Quellin. St.

BOUILLE (4 kil.), to which steamers from Rouen Leonard's is as old as the 12th century. From the

come, stands under the cliffs, and is a favourite trip ittle fishermen's chapel of Notre Dame de Grace, of the citizens. Le Londe forest, Caumont quaron the Cola de Grace, 326 feet high, outside the

ries, and Jacqueline grutto, are near. town, there is a fine sea view, which embraces Havra, Le Hêve Lights, Tankerville Castle, Quille

BOURZARCHARD (7 kil.) bæuf, &c. The present chapel, which is a favourite Port Audemer (23 kil.), a station on the Glos. resort, dates from 1606 ; but the first one was built | Montfort and Pont Audemer line (see Route 11). by Robert I., of Normandy, in fulfilment of a vow Honfleur, is 23 kil. further, as in Route 12. made in a storm. An excellent prospect may be Thence by rail to Pont l'Evêquc and Caen; or by got from La Roque, up the river. It was at Crois coast road to Trouville. Rouge, near this town, that Louis Philippe embarked in the Express, in his flight to England,

ROUTE 14. 1848, after an unsuccessful attempt at Trouville.

Lison to St. Lo, Coutances, Avranches, The rocks about Honfleur correspond in charac

and Mont St. Michel. ter to those of the Isle of Wight and the Dorsetshire coast. Various manufactures thrive here; Lison Station, on the Cherbourg line, as in eggs, fruit, butter, &c., are sent to England, and there is a trade in honey, cider, fish, &c. High The next stations are water at moon's change, about 10h.

Airel (2 miles), and
Hotels.--Le Cheval Blanc (White Horse); Des

Pont Hebert (64 miles.) At 5 miles further is
de France; De la Paix.
From Honfleur to Rouen, as in Route 13.

ST. LO,

1944 miles from Paris. ROUTE 18.

Hotels.-Du Cheval Blanc (White Horse); Du

Soleil Levant (Rising Sun).
Rouen to Honfleur.

Population, 9,800. An anciont town, and capital
Distance, 68 kil., or 43 miles, by road; but it

of department Manche, once the seat of a bishopric, · may be done by rail, viâ Tourville and Elbouf to

founded by St. Laudus, 549. It stands in a pretty - Pont Audemer; thence to Honfleur by road.

spot, on a rock by the Vire. The Normans destroyed Rouen, as in Route 8. By road, to

it, in 890, but afterwards restored it, though it was PETIT QUEVILLY (3 kil.), on the south side of the almost ruined again, in 1846, by Edward IV., who - Seine, so called, they say, after the fence (chevilla) | took it by storm.

The Cathedral Church of Notre Dame is on the who went over to England with the Conqueror; hill, near Petite Place; it is chiefly Gothic, of the and, being surnamed Alsgernon (or whiskered), 12th century, with two good tall spires in its west Algernon has always been a favourite naine in front, which is of later date. A stone pulpit stands that noble family.] outside. Another church, St. Croix, in the early

AVRANCHES (22 kil.), . Norman stylc, replaces one attached to the abbey,

Near St. Michael's Bay, on the sea coast, is a sousfounded by Charlemagne, about 810, when the

préfecture of 8,600 inhabitants, many of whom aro town was walled round and improved. There is a

English, who settle here for economy and the salle de spectacle, also public baths, a museum of

pleasantness of its situation among the hills. The antiquities, a library of 4,500 volumes, &c. A

Romans called it Abrincæ Ingenæ, and it was forRoman stone, called the Marbre de Torigni, which

tified by St. Louis. was till lately to be seen at the Hôtel de Ville, is

St. André's Cathedral Church, built about 1120, now at Caen.

by Henry II. of England, was pulled down at the Lace, ribbons, and cloth are made; and the trade

Revolution. A statue of Vallıubert, a native, who is in grain, cattle, poultry, butter, cider, fruit, &c.,

fell at Austerlitz, stands in the bishop's garden. and cavalry horses, which are bred at the harai,

The public library, of 15,000 volumes, has also 200 near St. Croix.

MSS. (including one of Abelard's, wbich M. Cousin Conveyances to Coutances, Granville, &c.

published in 1836), and a Museum. A fine view [COUTANCES (27 kil. west-south-west), formerly

from the Jardin des Plantes. Constantin, a sous-préfecture and hishopric, on Hotels.-D'Angleterre; De Bretagne; De France. a hill, 7 kil. from the sea, to which the Soule Trade in grain, cider, hops, &c. river or canal runs. Population, 8,100. It has Conveyances : Daily, to Caen, Cherbourg, Rennes, a beautiful Gothic Cathedral, with two west Granville, Mortain, St. Malo. spires, clustered pillars in the nave (which is [The famous Mont St. Michel (16 kil. south-west), 100 feet high), and an octagon lantern, which in name, appearance, and history, is very like commands a view of the sea and Channel St. Michael's Mount, in Cornwall. It is a heap Islands,

of rugged granite, very steep on the north side, Other buildings are, the churches of St. Nicholas

but sloping on the east and south, where the and St. Peter, the library of 4,500 volumes, the

people (300), with their little gardens scraped theatre, the Hôtel Dieu, &c. Near the Palais

from the rocks, live round the old Abbey,

now a convict prison. The beach below it is de Justice is a bronze figure of Prince Lebrun, arch-treasurer under Napoléon. There are

a shelly sand, completely covered at high remains of the fortifications, and part of an

water, but a causeway leads out to it when the

tide is low, from Ardevon, where guides may aqueduct called Les Pilliers, from the columns

be hired. which it rests on. Parchment, cloth, &c., are

The Druids had a station here, which the early made.

Christians used as a hermitage, and afterwards Hotels.--De France; D'Angleterre.

turned into a monastery, of which the remains In the neighbourhood are, the Pont-de-la-Roque,

are still picturesque. The great door is flanked St. Gerli old's hern:itage, the cast'cs of Regne

by two solid towers ; on the north sides a ville, Lithenaire, Maany, Gavray, the abbeys part called La Merveille, or the Wonder of Blanchelande and Hambye—the latter including the large Montgomery rooms the f)unded by the Paganels, who settled in refectory (90 feet long, a good specimen of England at the Conquest, and gave name to Gothic), the hall of the Chevaliers (near.y as Newport Pagnell.

long), the cloister, the well preserved choir of VILLEBAUDON (19 kil.), at the head of the Soule. the church, and the crypt below, resting on PEROX (6 kil.), was the seat of William do Percy, I great pillars of granite.]

ROUTES TO THE WEST, VIA THE CHEMIN , and Orléans, and Don Pedro; a small park laid out DE FER DE L'OUEST.

by Lenôtre, of 500 arpents (250 hectares or 618

acres), is taken from the forest. Near the railway ROUTE 15.

is Notre Dames des Flammes chapel, a triangular

building, with spires at the corners, commemorating Parls to Versailles, Chartres, Le Mans,

the death of nearly 150 persons, 18th May, 1842, Alengon, Rennes, and Brest.

who were burnt to death by the carriages taking By rail to Brest, 387 miles; opened to Rennes,

fire. One of the victims was Admiral D'Urville. 1857. Embarcadères, as the traveller may pre Rabelais was titular curé of Meudon. Glass and fer ; either 24, Boulevard Mont Parnasse, for

pottery are made. the rive gauche (or left bank of the Seine); or 21,

Bellevue (1 kil.), where Mad. de Pompadour Rue St. Lazaire, for the rive droite (or right bank).

had a splendid seat, is near The first reaches Versailles by Be'levue; the second by St. Cloud. Omnibuses to all the trains. Sèvres (see Route 10), and the rive droite line Four trains a day to Rennes, in 93 to 13 hours.

beyond. Trains to Versailles every hour, in twenty to | Chaville (4 kil.) thirty-five minutes; 14 and 11 fr. Versailles Park

Viroflay (1 kil.), a pretty spot, where the branch and the Trianons are open daily; the museum

of 4 kil. to Versailles turns off, past Petit Montreuil, every day, except Thursday and Friday.

to Avenue de la Mairie, opposite the palace. The This line, to Versailles (17 kil.), is one of the

rive gauche station is near the Hôtel de Ville. Lignes de Banlieue, and the stations are as follow:Clamart, Sèvres, Viroflay,

VERSAILLES, Meudon, Chaville, Versailles.

17 kil. or 103 miles from Paris. Bellevue,

HOTELS.-Hotel du Petit et Grand Vatel: ResLeaving the station at Mont Parnasse, near

taurant, 26, Rue des Reservoirs; Entrance, 1, Barrière du Maine, you have the cemetery on the

Petigny. Pension de Famille: recommended. left, and the large suburb of Vaugirard on the right, towards the river Seine. Beyond the lines

Des Reservoirs ; De France; De la Chasse Imare Vanvres and Issy, and their detached forts.

périale; Du Sabot d'Or, Rue du Plessis, 67. ResThere was a palace of the older kind at Issy. Here

taurants: Du Palais, Rue de la Chancellerie, 4; Du the first French opera, the Pastorale, was acted in

Musée, Rue des Reservoir; Café de la Comédie. 1653. Vanvres château is a work of Minsard's.

Church Service in Rue Hoche.

Population, 50,000. Clamart-sous-Meudon (5 kil.), near Meudon forest. A little further is Pont-du-Val viaduct, on

KT OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-Cathedral — Nôtre a double row of arches, 108 feet high, with Fleury

Dame-Jeu de Paume--Louis XIV.'s Chapel to the left, and Les Moulinceaux, on the Seine, to

Palace and Galleries--Fountains--the Trianons. the right.

The capital of department Seine-et-Oise ('orMeudon (2 kil.), in department Seine-et-Oise, merly Ile de France, Hugh Capet's patrimony), seat is a pretty place, near Meudon forest under the of a bishop, tribunals, &c., and of a magnificent Château built by Louis XIV.'s son, and restored by Palace of the later Bourbon kings, which has been Napoléon for Marie Louise. An avenue, 450 yards turned into a National Museum since 1837. long by 80 broad, leads up to the fine terrace in It was a mere hunting lodge of Henry IV. and front of it (where stood the Cardinal of Lorraine's others, till Louis XIII., in 1624, built a brick older château, made an ammunition factory at the château here, to which Louis XIV., “le Grand Revolution, and pulled down 1804), and commands | Monarque," as he is styled, added the palace a vast prospect over Paris, the Seine, &c.

(1661-81), gardens, and parks (twenty miles in The Château has some pictures and tapestry, and circuit), at a vast expense; some say ten millions, was the residence latterly of the Dukes of Bordeaux | some forty millions, sterling.

A new street, Rue Horace Vernet (who has done to eight each, and 375 windows and doors, with a so much for art here), leads from the station to profusion of vases, busts, &c. Within is a series of Avenue de Paris, the main street, which, at Place splendid rooms and galleries, restored by Louis d'Armes, opposite the palace, meets the Avenues Philippe: as the Gallerie des Glaces, 242 feet long; de St. Cloud and de Sceaux. It is 288 feet wide, the cabinet of Louis XIV. (who privately married and well planted, and divides the town into two Madame de Maintenon here); Louis XVI.'s champarishes.

ber, where he showed himself with the cap of That of Notre Dame, to the north, includes J. | liberty to the people below (a young officer, BonaMansard's Doric church, built 16.4; the palais de

I parte, and his friend Bourrienne, being spectators); justice, Lehind the great stables; Place IIoche, in

also the chamber where the ferocious mob broke which is that general's statue; barracks; a large

in on Marie Antoinette, and other rooms, all now market; the Vénerie, or grand huntsinan's house;

filled with marbles, china, tapestry, busts and the rive droite railway station, &c.

statues of eminent French soldiers, a marine galIn the south, or St. Louis's parish, in Old Ver

| ery, and above 1,100 paintings (good, bad, and in

different), dedicated to the glory of France, includsailles, are the Hôtel de Ville, and rive gauche station, close to another pile of stables (now a bar

ing portraits of admirals, marshals, generals, &c.,

works of the time of Louis XIV., views of royal rack); the Grecian Cathedral, built 1743; the pré

palaces, paintings of battles from Clovis, down to fecture, in the old garde-meuble; the marché St.

H. Vernet's battle of Isly, in Algerie. On the ceilLouis; the Menus Plaisirs, and barracks; and a

ing of the Salon d'Hercule is a masterpiece of small building called Jeu de Paume, where the

Lemoine's, the "Apotheosis of Hercules,” a comStates-General, or National Assembly, met 1789,

position of 142 figures. The ultramarine in the sky, before they moved to Paris. Here they swore

alone cost £400. During the investment of Paris, never to separate till the Constitution was firmly

1870-71, it became the head-quarters of the King established. It contains pictures by H. Vernet.

of Prussia, who was here proclaimed German EmThere are also baths, priests' seminary, &c. All the

peror, 18th February, 1871. The National Assembly streets are regular and well built. Rue Satory is

meets in the theatre, having removed to it from macadamised for the use of the troops at the ex

Bordeaux, when the Commune occupied Paris. (See perimental camp on the Plains of Satory, where Galignani's Paris Guide and BRADSHAW's HandRossel and Ferré, the communist leaders, were

Book to Paris). shot, November, 1871. Blücher pillaged the town

The Gardens, or Little Park, were laid out by in 1815.

Lenôtre, or his disciples, and comprise a beautiful The Place d'Armes, 800 feet broad, brings you to Orangery (one tree is as old as 1421), and a great the Cour d'Honneur and the marble court, 380 feet number of terraces, allées, parterres, bosquets, broad, in front of Louis XIII.'s château, where pieces of water, &c., ornamented with vases and Louis XIV.'s and sixteen other statues are placed. statuary (that by Lebrun, at the Bassin d'Arpollon, To the right and left are ranges of buildings, as for example). The centre walk, called Tapis Vert, Louis XV.'s opera house; the bibliothèque, or pub or green carpet, leads to the Grand canal (a crosslic library of 40.000 volumes; the Grand Commun, shaped piece of water), and the fountains, which now a military hospital; and Louis XIV.'s beautiful are supplied by forcing pumps at Marly (though Chapel, with its high-pitched roof, where Marie Louis XIV.'s intention was to bring water from Antoinette was married. Behind the old château, the Eure, by the aqueduct he began at Maintenon). facing the gardens, is the main or west front of the The Petites Eaux play the first Sunday of every

Palace of Versailles, a noble Ionic range, 1,400 month, but the Grandes Eaux only on special fête feet long, something in the style of Somerset House, days. The potager, or kitchen garden, is near the as seen from the river, but with the wings thrown Jardin Anglais, made by Louis XVIII. when Count back from the domed centre. It was the work of of Provence, and the lake, called Pièces des Suisses. Mansard, and has 102 columns, in groups of four | This garden is now surrounded by an open railing.

Towards the north-west ares- Grand Trianon (on [PoxT-CHARTRAIN (10 kil.), has a seat by Manthe site of the village of Triarnum), consisting of a sard, now the property of Marquis d'Osmont. centre and wings in the Italian style, built by About 5 kil. south-east, near Vaumurier, in a Mansard of Campan marble, for Madame de Main deep valley, are a few fragments of tenon, and lately occupied by Madame Adelaide ; Pont ROYAL DES CHamps, originally a Bernar. and Petit Trianon to the right, a pavilion 72 feet

dine monastery, founded 1204, by Matthew de square, built by Louis XV. (who dicd in it) for

Marli, and called Portus Regius, Porréal, &c., Madame du Barry. Marie Antoinette and the

after Philippe Auguste had found shelter horo Duchess of Orléans resided here.

when hunting; but having become, about Phillip V. of Spain (Louis XIV.'s grandson), 1640-60, the head-quarters of the Jansenist Louis XVI. and his brothers Louis XVIII. and leaders, Arnauld d'Andilly, Lancelot, Le MaisCharles X., were born in the palace. Marshal tre (who translated the Bible), Pierre Nicole Berthier, Generals Hoche and Gourgaud, and the (who shared in Pascal's “ Provincial Letters "), excellent Abbé de l'Epée, were also natives of Ver and other learned and pious recluses, iucluding sailles. Marchaud's statu of the last, was put tip the young abbess, la Mère Angelique, it was 1843, in Marché-au-Fourra e. Many fossil shells are suppressed, 1708. The beautiful Duchesse de found round this place. The agricultural college Longuevillo died here in seclusion. Arnauld's at Grignon, near Thiverbal, was discontinued 1852. house was at Les Granges, a farm still stand

Fire arms, clocks, watches, and jewellery are ing on the hill above. See Mrs. Schimmelmade. Coaches to St. Nom, Villefreux, Dreux, Penninck's Select Memoirs of Port Rovall Jouy, St. Cyr, Chevreuse, Houdan, Montfort, Laverrière (31 miles) belonged to the Conto Septeuil.

de la Vallette, whose escape from prison, through (Buc, 2 kil. south of Versailles, is a charming his wife's means, is so well known. Coaches to Le

little place in the woods above the Bièvre, Tremblay, the seat of the Marquis de Vérac; Dain. here crossed by an aqueducl on nineteen arches, pierre, Chevreuse (8 kil. east-south-east), and tho 70 feet high, built 1683, to supply Versailles fine old castle of its seigneurs and dukes, on the with water. Among other seats is that called Yvette; Montfort, the old donjon of Maurepas; and La Guerinière. Jouy-en-Josas, 2 kil. east of La Queue, on the Dreux road. Near Mesnil-St.it, down the Bièvre, was called Gaugiacum in Denis castle, is the old abbey of Notre Dame de la the 9th century, when it belonged to St. Ger- | Roche, founded in the 17th century by the Sires de main's abbuy. Tie river turns many mills; Levis, who followed Simon de Montfort to the and M. Oberkampf's painted-paper factory is crusades against the Albigenses. here, as well as a fine château. Population, Lartoire (44 mile), was a fief of the Montforts, 1,244.]

by the name of La Ritoire. Coach to Menuts. The next station to Versailles is

Rambouillet (64 miles), a sous-pré:ecture of St. Cyr (34 miles), in the great park of Ver- 4,:30 souls, in a valley, having a royal Chateau in sailles, and known for its Military School for 300 the midst of a park of 3,000 acres (laid out by Infantry cadets, established here, 1806, by Napo- Lenôtre), and a fine hunting Forest of 30,000 acres. léon, in place of the school for young ladies of rank, | The Châteuu (near St. Hubert's Lake) is a largo founded 1686, by Madame de Maintenon, who re- plain brick pile, flanked by spire turrets, and a great ceived a visit from Peter the Great, and died here, machicolated tower of an earlier date, and includes 1719. As built by J. Mansard, it forms five large a grand saloon with a marble floor (the room in oourts. Racine's Esther was performed here for | which Francis I. died, in 1547), stables for 300 horses the first time. Here the line to Droux and Gran &c. It belonged to the family of Agennes, and Wille parts off.

was bought of the Duc de Penthièvre by Louis Trappes (37 miles). Coaches to Le Château, XVI. Here Marie Louise and her son met the Noauplile, Thoiry, Pont-Chartrain, Pontel, Septeuil, Allied Sovereigns, and Charles X. abdicated bure,

1880, in favour of the Duc de Bordeaux, and set of

« AnteriorContinuar »