Imagens das páginas
PDF

for Cherbourg and Poole. At the revolution of At the end of the noble Park, are Druid stones 1848, the Château was let for a cabaret! but is now called the Berceau (cradle), the Pierres de Garganthe seat of the Duke de la Trémouille, a leader of tua, &c. The remains of an Aqueduct, begun from the Legitimists. Hunting parties are got up here. Pont-Gouin, about 60 kil. west-south-west, up the Marie Antoinette's Jardin Anglais and her farm, Eure, 1684-8, by Louis XIV., to supply Versailles with its laiterie or dairy, have been properly with water, are also seen, supported by 47 or 48 restored. Some of the earliest mérinos in France arches or piles, above 80 feet high, and to make were bred here. Hats and lace are made.

which 30,000 troops and masons were sometimes Lotels.-Du Lion d'Or (Golden Lion); St. Pierre. cmployed. One avenue of the Park is named after

Coaches to Ablis, Auneau, St. Arnoult, Dourdan, Racine, who is said to have composed in it. Culin St. Leger, &c.

d'Harleville, the comic writer, was born here. [AUNEAU (6 kil. south of Rambouillet), in depart Population, 1,900. ment Eure-et-Loire, has a tower left of the old Coaches to Nogent-le-Roi. castle of its seigneurs, one of whom was Henry | (NOGENT-LE-ROI (10 kil.), down the Eure, was so de Joyeuse, marshal of France in the 16th called after Philip de Valois (who died here, century.]

1350), and suffered much in the civil and rellPassing the large park of Voisins, and the gious wars. The English, under Salisbury, Vicomte de Marainville's seat, we come to

carried it, sword in hand, in the time of Henry

V. of England. Epernon (8 miles), a pretty, well-watered

Near Le Péage (8 kil. west-south-west), is a spot on the Guesle, in department Eure-et-Loire, has remains of the old Chateau of its dukes, the

cromlech of one stone on two others.] first of whom was the favourite of Henry III.,

Jouy (51 miles), up the fertile valley of the Euro. Nogaret de la Vallette, whose pride was so ridicu

At 41 miles beyond, with the cathedral full in lous that he was styled king of Epernon. Formerly

view, after crossing the river on a threc-arch it was called Sparnonum, and strongly fortified.

bridge, and the ravine of the Vauroux, by a viaPopulation, 1,700.

duct on eighteen arches, is Coaches to Gas and to Gallardon and its old

CHARTRES, tower, called l'Epaule de Gallardon (the lower half being partly gone), and its equally ancient spire

A buffet, 54 miles from Paris, 1784 miles from Church, which coinbines the Norman, Gothic, and

Rennes. later styles.

HOTELS.-Du Grand Monarque; Du Duc de

Chartres; Restaurant de l'Ouest. Pass Morville château and Hanches church, to

The pâtés des Chartres, at Lemoirie's, corrier of Maintenon (5 miles), in the fertile valley of the Rue de Cygne, are of hereditary celebrity. Eure (here crossed by a fine viaduct on 32 arches) OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-Cathedral-Hótel de where the Vaisc joins it, gave title of Marchioness Ville - Porte Guillaume-St. Andre's Church de Maintenon to the widow of Scarron, whom Museum. Louis XIV. privately married at Versailles. A

Population, 19,630. The chief town of departe square, and several round high-peaked towers, ment Eure-et-Loire, scat of a tribunal, bishopric, most picturesquely grouped, are seen in the moated &c., in the fertile corn plain of the Beauce, on a Château, now belonging to the Duc de Noailles, hill (crowned by its noble cathedral), over the but in part as old as Philippe Auguste's time. Eure, which runs round the old ramparts, now They show Madame's portrait (by Mignard), and turned into public walks. The other promenades her bed-room, also the rooms of Louis XIV., and are near St. Pierre's Church and Places des Epares Charles X., who spent a night here after his abdi- or des Barricades, &c. Basse Ville, or Lower cation. These are carefully preserved by the duke. | Town, is full of narrow streets and Gothic-looking The chapel has some stained glass of the 15th houses of wood, with their gables to the front, : nd century.

| is joined by very steep ascents to Haute Ville,

where the best buildings are found. Among these are the yast and imposing

Cathedral of Notre Dame, built 1026-1260, in the shape of a cross, 422 feet long, 208 broad through the transept, and 113 to the roof. It is calculated that 15,000 persons might easily stand within the walls, allowing a square yard to each. The front, 160 feet broad, consists of a nob'o triple portal between two towers of equal breadth with it. One tower has a plain spire, 364 feet high; the other, to the north, 402 feet high, is later built (1514), and in a more florid style, by Jean de Beauce. Three entrances, covered with carvings of prophets and apostles, are in the portal, which is 40 feet by 30, and recessed 18 feet, having statues in the jambs, with a fine rose window above. Above this is an open gallery from tower to tower, then 17 kings in niches; above these the Virgin and Child, and a figure of Christ over all, on the apex of the roof. Two other ornamented porches and rose windows are in the north and south sides. The nave is 239 feet long, but the interior is dark, on account of the painted windows, of which there are 130. A beautifully carved screen of the 15th or 16th century, leads to the choir, which has 45 niches in it, and a multitude of sculptures, besides bas-reliefs of the Descent from the Cross and the Presentation, by Bridan; another over the altar by the same artist, of the Assumption of the Virgin, was saved at the Revolution by having a cap of liberty put on her head. Bishop Fulbert's crypt and chapels of the older foundations are below. It is worth notice that there are 1,800 statues on the exterior, 2,000 in the interior, besides 500 figures in the windows. One statue, the Vierge Noire, is a great olject of worship. In the bishop's garden is the stone coffin of St. Chalétric, bishop here in the 6th century. An Hôtel Dieu stands in the cloisters, of the 13th century.

St. André's large old church, in Basse Ville, of the 12th century, is a store-house; St. Pierre's, lately a barrack, but now restored for public worship, belonged to the Benedictines, and has some stained windows. The Préfecture stands in a good garden. At the Hotel de Ville (near the corn market), which was formerly Hôtel Montécot, and originally the Ursulino convent, the Museum is bont, with several objects of natural history,

Charlemagne's glass, Phillippe le Bel's armour, and the sword of General Marceau. The latter w:8 a native, and a pillar, erected to him in Place Marceau, or the herb market (where the old palace of the dukes stood), states that he was "Soldat à 16 ans, Général à 23. Il mourut à 27,"—at tho battle of Altenkirchen.

The public library contains 30,000 volumes and 1,000 MSS. There is a theatre, formerly the old church of St. Foy; also a college, normal school, school of design, public baths, and a bridge, by Vauban. The old Gothic Hôtel de Ville reinains standing in Rue des Changes. In Ruc Jean de Beauce (s) named after the cathedral architect) is the new Cattle Market. In Rue des Ecuyer is a curiously carved circular house, with a spiral staircase w.nding round the exterior froin top to bottom.

Of its seven gates, Porte Guillaume, with its old machicolatcd towers, remains; and there are some traces of aqueducts made by the Romans, who called this place Autricum, when it was the capital of the Carnutes. The Northmen attacked it under their leader, Hastings, and again under Rollo, the founder of Normandy. It gave title of duke to the Orléans family. - Nicole, one of the Port Royal writers, and the advocate Pétion, were born here. A very large market for corn and flour every Saturday, lasting an hour, when six millions of quintals are sold. Leather, woollens, &c., are made.

Conveyances: By coach, to Orléans (80 kil.), Chateau-neuf-en-Themerais (24 kil. north-west), Illiers (25 kil. south-west), Brou (13 kil. further), Bonneval, Châteaudun, and Courtalain. A rail from Chartres to Louviers is in progress. [At MORANCEZ (5 kil.) is a very old church, having

no side chapel, but a Lombard porch and buttresses in front. It is supposed to be at least

of the 10th century. BONNEVAL (31 kil. south-south-west), a pretty

place of 2,800 population, on the Loire, having a church with a good spire, and a mill which was once a Benedictine college. Coudreaux, which belonged to Ney, is near; and there are several Druid stones (called menhirs, dolmen, &c.) in the neighbourhood. One dolmen near Baudouin mill on the river, towards St. Ger

e.

'main, is 12 feet long; another of 10 feet, is on and Messrs. Hunebelle were the contractors for the Houssay road, besides peulvans, or ring | this work. The next station is stoncs.

Bretoncelles (6f miles), in the district of le

Perche and department of Orne, near Butte, de Châteaudun (14 kil. further), a station on the

Château (in S ussaye forest) and the old castle of Paris and Tours direct line, and the ancient

Launay, now a farm-house. The railway has a rival Castellodunum, and a sous-préfecture of 6,750

here in a Roman road, called the Rue Ferrée (Stone population, in the valley of the Loire (see Route

or Metalled Street). It follows the Corbionne, to 37).

Condé-sur-Huisne (41 miles), near which is From this, via Tournoisin, it is 48 kil. to Or

| a seat of Comte de Baulny, and the old castle of léans.-Vendôme is 40 kil. further; and 56 kil.

Montlandon. Coach to Mortugne. beyond that is Tours (see Route 35).-Blois is

[MORTAGNE (30 kil. west-north-west), a sous-pré3 kil. from Vendôme.]

fecture of 4,900 souls, once a strong place, and Across the wide but well-cultivated plain of La

the capital of the Perche, is on a hill over the Beauce to

Chippe, and was founded by Yves de Bellême, Courville (11] miles), on a hill, in a fertile part

968, who strengthened it by a double moat, of the Eure valley, once a marquisate in the Sully

forts, &c. In the wars of the Leagile it was family. Population, 1,650.

pillaged twenty-two times. The streets are steep; (VILLEBON (7 kil. south), has the fine old feudal

has the old Gothic Church of St. Jean, with brick Castle, with towers, moats, battiements,

richly carved culs-de-lampe (pendants) in the &c., in which Sully, the great minister of Henry

vaulting of the nave. The hospice was founded, IV., died 1641. It preserves its ancient decora

1523, by Margaret de Lorraine. There are largo tions and furniture, with the staircases, chapel,

market halls, a p:ison, public fountains, &c. picture gallery, &c., all worth notice.]

Manufactures of hemp, strong linens, sheep skins, Courville is near Louis XIV.'s aqueduct, which

&c. The old church of the Capucins is now a begins at the next station,

linen factory. Its langues fourrées, or stuffed Pontgouin (5 miles), on the Eure, and was

tongues, are noted. completed as far as Maintenon, following a zigzag

Hotels.- Des Trois Lions; De la Bouteille. course of upwards of 30 miles. The châteaux of

About 6 kil. from it, near the road to Soligny, is Vaux and la Rivière, belonging to the Marquis

the old Romanesque church of Champs, with d'Aligre, are near this station.

stained windows. La Loupe (6} miles), has a trade in grain and SOLIGNY-LA-TRAPPE (12 kil. north), in a sandy cattle, and gave birth to the learned Vincent de la spot, has remains of the Cistercian abbey Loupe, of the 16th century. The rail crosses a dried of La Trappe, founded in the 12th century, by up lake near the station, on an embankment; and Rotrou II., Count of Perche, reformed by the beyond it, is one of the greatest works on the line severe discipline of Abbé de Rancé, 1666, and a vast cutting through a rock of silex and ferrugi suppressed at the Revolution. After taking nous earth, 2 miles and 854 yards long, and about shelter in Switzerland, the Trappists settled in 50 feet deep. One-half is on a level, the other on England, and returned here 1815, but in 1974, an incline; and the whole length is crossed by six on a dispute with the bishop, moved to Meilleviaducts for roads passing over the line. In the raye.] middle, where the hill lies deepest, is a tunnel of Nogent-le-Rotrou (41 kil.), a sous-préfecturo 3,700 feet, drained by a network of wells and sub in department Eure-et-Loire, of 7,000 population, on terranean aqueducts. About 1,200 men were the Huisne (which has a fall at the entrance of the employed for several years on this colossal work, town), under a rocky hill, crowned by remains of by whom a colony was extemporised, called a Castle of the Counts of Perche, and the famous “Nouveau Monde," near the site of the Duchesse Duc de Sully, whose tomb, with that of his wife, is de Verneuil's castle. M. Ducos was the engineer, | at the Hôtel Dieu, founded by Count Rotron. The old church of St. Hilaire, and the remains of St. Connerre (54 miles), is near Dollon, so called · Denis's monastery, deserve notice. Excellent trout after a dolmen or cromlech, of one stone, 20 feet and cray fish are caught in the pretty valley of the .ong, resting on eight others. Before you reach Arcisse.

this, you leave on the right, at Croix-de-Fer, an(BELLESME (about 20 kil. west-north-west), in a ther dolinen called the Pierre-de-Vouvray, near

forest, has the lerse mineral waters (2 kil.) | which coins have been found; some of a Gaulish near it, discovered 1607, rising out of a fountain character, called pirtilos. marked by a Roman inscription (?).]

Pont de Gennes (62 miles), was originally Pons Le Thiel (67 miles), formerly Tilium, was burnt | Hiogenæ, after a Roman bridge, since replaced by by the English in 1424, and again by Sully, who a later one, on the Huisne, near the new railway took it for Henry IV., ia 1594. It stands in depart viaduct. merit Orne, which we now leave for that of Sirthe, St. Mars la Bruyère (49 miles), is in a wide and pass through a pastoral country, to

tract of what was once a mere heath (bruyère). La Ferté Bernard (3} miles), on the Huisne, Yvre-l'Evêque (2} miles), was a country-seat and so called from a corruption of forte (strong). It of the bishops of Mans, in a large park. was one of the keys of France when the English

We follow the Huisne to Pontlieue (so called from held Norinandy. It is a miniature town, having a an old bridge) in the suburbs of Mans, of which tho moat round its ancient battlemented walls, a castle- lerce and important station, with its workshops, like gate, with two solid high-peaked towers, now

magazines, &c., is 4} miles from the last station. used for prisons, Hôtel de Ville, and a fine Gothic Church of the 16th contury, looking like a cathedral.

LE MANS, It is 190 feet by 70, and 80 high to the vault, or A buffet, 130 miles from Paris, 1011 from Rnnes. about 160 to the low spire over the west front, Here the branch line to Alençon and Mézidon (un which, as well as the sides, is supported by tall but- the Cherbourg line) turns off (see Route 16). tresses. The windows are finely stained. Notice HOTELS.-Le Dauphin; De la Boule d'Or: De also the Halles in the town, built 1635. The English, France; De l'Europe; De l'Ouest ; Du Maine. under Salisbury, took La Ferté, 1424, and it was

KT OBJRCTS OF NOTICE.-Cathedral-Churches given up to the Prince of Conti, 1590. Population,

of La Couture and Nôtre Dame. 2,620. Linen is inade. Coach to Mamers.

Population, 37,200. This chief town of department (About 19 kil. west, is BONNẾTABLE, a town of

Sarthe, seat of a bishopric, &c., on a hill-side, by 5,100 population, in a fertile spot, having the

the Sarthe, near the junction of the Huisne, or old Castle of its seigneurs, surmounted by six

Huine, was the Roman Suidunum, or capital of the towers, and ornamented inside with woou car

Cennomanni (whence the modern name), afterwaris rings and portraits.

of the province of Maine, which was held by MAMERS (32 kil. north-west), a sous-préfecture of Geoffrey Plantagenet, whose son, Henry II., was

5,800 population, in departinent Orne, on the born here, 1133. It was, of course, often attacked Dive, having a Church founded 1145, and re- in the early times of French history, until tho stored 1831, and an old convent, now the mairie, English were finally dispossessed in 1147. In 1793, &c. Some ditches, called after Robert le Diable, it was occupied by Larochejaquelin and 60,000 are traced ; and at 6 kil. off, is a Roman camp. Vendéans, who were driven out with great slaughter To the north are the ruined walls and arches of | by Marceau. The Chouans also took it at their Persuignes Abbey, founded 1145, by the counts rising, in 1799. On the 11th and 12th of January, of Alençon, who were buried here till 1377. 1871, in the height of winter, the strong position Abbé Rancé, who reformed the Trappists, was taken up here by General Chanzy and his army of a monk in this abbey.)

the West, was carried by the Germans under Prince Sceaux (53 miles), on the Huisne. The next Frederick Charles, being the last great action of station,

the war,

Three bridges cross the Sarthe. Pont Yssoir joins paintings (including a portrait on copper of Geoffrey Gourdane quarter to that of the Poè; Pont Perrin | Plantagenet), and a museum of natural history, leads to St. Jean, and Pont Napoléon is opposite arınour, Roman stones, &c., besides an Egyptian Place des Halles, the largest square in the city, mummy. where the hotels and cafés are found. Another Nôtre Dame du Pré church, of the 11th century, equare, called Place des Jacobins, an 1 planted with

planted with is cruciform, and has a carved doorway: it is ono poplars, was the site of a convent, and of a Roman of the curious buildings here. At St. Benoit's is a amphitheatre; Place du Greffier is a walk by the good painting of a Dend Christ. St. Vincent's Sarthe, near the qu:is, with prospects of the fertile abbey church, with an excellent frort, is used for country beyond, and the station at one end of it. the priests' seminary. Near it is the bishop's new The best part of the town is up the hill, that on the Palare, in the Renaissance style, by Delarue. St. river being a collection of narrow, steep, and dirty | Pierre's old church is altered into a school; tho streets. The houses are of stone and slate; many residence of the monks of the Oratory is used for old buildings are in Grande Rue, Place du Château, the college, and contains a collection of coins ; Rue des Chanoines, &c. An ancient seat of the while that of the Visitation is employed for tho Knights Templars yet remains, and there are four or Palais de Justice, prison, &c. An old seat of the five modern fountains, one of which was opened counts of Maine is now the Hôtel de Ville; they 1854, on a part of the ancient town walls.

still show remains of an earlier building, which it St. Julien's Cathedral, 416 fect long, is on the replaced. The circular corn hall, on the Grando site of a Roman temple, of which traces are said to Place, was rebuilt 1822, on the site of a wooden be visible in the oldest part, the Norman nave, one, which was as old as 1563. There are a good which is of the 10th and 11th centuries, and has a theatre, built 1842, by Delarue; and public buths. good south door. The fine lofty choir and the tran Ledru Rollin, author of the Décadence de l'Anylosepts are of the 13th to the 15th centuries, the former | terre, was born here. being 106 feet high. A square tower, ornamented Manufactures of cotton, woollen, wax candles, with niches, &c., stands over one transept, 217 feet black soap, leather, paper, and beer. from the ground, or 331 from the river. The fine Conveyances : By rail to Tours and Angers. rose and other windows are beautifully stained; in [l'he branch rail to Angers, 60 niilcs long, one of the thirteen side chapels are monuments of down the Sarthe, passes Richard Cour de Lion's queen, Berengaria, whose La Suze (12 miles.) tomb was brought bere 1821, from the abbey of Avoise (11 mile:). Epau (now a linen factory, 4 kil. off), which she Sablé (7 miles), an old town on the Sarthe, founded; and of Charles IV. of Anjou, L. Dubellay, which is crossed by a marble bridge, uniting &c. A carved house in Grande Rue is called Queen the two parts of it. Above stands a chûteau, Berengaria's. Near the cathedral is the Grabatoire, built by Manzard, for the brother of Colbert, A house with spires and a peaked roof, once used the statesman. It commands a noble prospect. by the canons. The first bishop of Mans was St. The town belonged to Geoffrey of 'Anjou, and Julien, in the 3rd century. At No. 1. in Rue St. was taken by Henry IV. in person. Gloves, Michel, close by, lived Scarron, the comic writer, linens, &c., are made, and marble is worked who held a canonry here, till he married his wife, Population, 5,680. who afterwards, as Madame de Maintenon, became Ilotel.-Do Notre Dame. mistress and wife of Louis XIV.

Morannes (9 miles), and Tiercé (9 miles), La Couture Church is partly Norman and partly whence it is 12 miles to Angers. (See Route Gothic, of the Ilth and 13th centuries; it has a good 36).) west portal (with carvings of the Judgment), and Leaving the station at Le Mans, the rail crosses an ancient crypt. The Abbey buildings near it are the Sarthe, and the canal nt its side, by a viaduct, used as the préfecture, which contains a library of 533 feet long, on four arches, the two largest of 45,000 volumes, with 500 MSS., also a gallery of which are 50 feet span. Then pass the old château

« AnteriorContinuar »