« AnteriorContinuar »
of Livardin, which William Rufus occupied, 1098, | upright. At one corner is a machicolated tower, before the siege of Mans. It belonged to the built for defence in early times. A beautiful basBeaumanoir family.
relief of the Sepulchre is placed over the altar. Domfront-en-Champagne (124 miles), near
Evron has also a large new halle or market; and a the forest of Milesse, where an ancient way is
Benedictine abbey, a modern pile, occupied by the traced. It was attacked by the Chouans in 1796,
Sisters of Charity. but unsuccessfully.
Coaches to Juhelin, Mayenne, and St. Suzanne. Conlie (24 miles). Here traces of the earliest (ST. SUZANNE (7 kil. south-east), up the Erve, inhabitants of France have been found. Passing stands on a rocky height, in the Cocrvon hills, a cutting, 45 feet deep, and then a bank as high, over the gorge of the river. It has a modern we come to another cutting, or tranchée, 5,900 feet château incorporating the old donjon, &c.; long. Near this is Tennie church and castle, which and the ancient ramparts are rather remarkSir John Fastolf, the English governor of Alençon,
able, as being vitrified, like some of the Pictish took in Henry VI.'s reign. At Rouez are some old forts in Scotland. Six or seven menhirs or abbey and castle ruins.
Druid stones are found near this place.
To the north-west of Évron, past the preity Sille-le-Guillaume 174 miles), on the slope of a hill, where seven roads meet, in a forest, is a
château of Mazanger, is very ancient place, and has several remains of
JUBELIN, or Jublaius, on the site of the square
castellum of Voiodunum, a Roman station. towers and walls, among which is the massive Donjon, 125 feet high, to the spire top, and 10 feet
The walls are made of blocks of granite, which thick. The ancient church, begun in the 13th
abound hereabouts. century, is close to it. A fine view from here. Mayenne (25 kil.), a station 25 miles from Laval, · (ST. JEAN-SUR-ERVE, 20 kil. south-south-west, on
by the branch line from La Chapelle (as below), the Erve (in department Mayenne), is so
and a sous-préfecture in the same. departcalled after the ancient Arvii, whose capital
ment, among the hills, on the river Mayenne, is was about 8 kil. south, down the river, pear
irregularly-built, and remarkable only for the the grottoes of Saulge, or Caves de Margot,
old château of its seigneurs, now a linen facwhich are in the limestone cliffs on its banks; tory. Linen goods, of various kinds, are made one is about 64 feet in diameter.]
and bleached, and iron is forged near it. Rouesse-Vasse (3} miles), was the feudal pos
Population, 10,370. session of the very ancient family of Vassé, the last
Hotels. De la Belle Etoile; De l'Europe; Du of whom emigrated in 1791. Here was the MS. of
Petit Pavillon. le Sieur Joinville's life of St. Louis, and a collec AMBRIÈRES (10 kil. north), an ancient place on tion of armour, which was sold off by the sans the Mayenne, fortified by William the Conculottes, at 24 sous a piece, payable in assignats.
queror, to defend the Normandy frontier. It Voutre (5 miles), in the department of May has an old bridge, a pretty spire church, and a enne. Along the route are the Coervon hills, a halle on the castle site. Population, 2, 400.] range of felspar and petrosilex. Cross the Erve, Nexu (41 miles), forinerly Néel, on the Jouanne. and through the Rouzières cutting, to
Here is a quarry of grey marble. At Bréo is a Eyron (54 miles), in a basin of limestone hills. castle which belonged to Hubert de Brée, a Much lime is burnt here. It is an ancient place, crusader. At called Ebronium, where St. Hadouin founded an
Montsurs (37 miles), or Mons Securas, is abbey, of which the Church, one of the best in May another feudal ruin, which, like all in this quarter, enne, remains, dating for the most part from the figured in the wars with the English; and the 13th century, though St. Crépin's chapel (where Chapel of the Three Marys, of the 14th century. several paintings have been discovered) is three From La Chapelle, 2 miles beyond, a branch line conturies carlier. Its spire doclines from the | turns off to Mayenne. (See above).
Louverné (8 miles), is noted for marble quar- 1 of 25,000 volumes; two hospices ; part of the Corries. From this it is three miles to Laval, which deliers' old convent, &c. None of these is of much is reached by an embankment 85 feet high, and a note. viaduct over the Mayenne.
Ambrose Paré, the surgeon, of whom there is a LAVAL.
bronzo statue by David d'Angers, was a nativo.
Lesueur, the painter, was another. Trade in grain, 186 miles from Paris, 461 miles from Rennes. wine, eaux-de-vie, linens, wood, iron, marble, &c. Hotels.-De Paris; De la Tête Noir; De la Conveyance to Angers and Mayenne. Cour Royal; De France; De l'Ouest.
From Laval on the rail to Rennes, we pass the Populati in, 23,15). A manufacturing town, and fine viaduct already mentioned. It is of solid capital of department Mayenne (formerly the pro-) granite, on nine arches, of 39 feet span, and is 591 vince of Lower Maine), on a cultivated slope in the
feet long, and 92 feet high. The vicw is of course valley of ihe Mayenne. The bishopric was re a commanding one. Through a cutting to Sr. established here in 1855. Much linen and cotton BERTIERVEY, where red marble is quarried. cloth and thread is made. The plain around was
Population, 2,140. There are several cuttings beformerly called the Forest of Concise; and the
fore and after. town grew out of a castle built by Guy do Valle in Le Genest (61 miles). Cross the Vicoin to 1002. It was taken and retaken in the wars Port-Brillet (41 miles), a pretty spot, on a between the English and French, 1466.
lake which the line traverses. It has an important An old tower (near the bridge), with its peaked iron forge. The spire of Ollivet abbe church is in top, is all that remains of the Castle, which came to view, built by Guy V. of Laval. the Dukes of Laval and Trémouille, and is used as
St. Pierre-la-Cour (43 miles), is in the neigha prison. The court-yard, and the restored seig
bourhood of iron and coal mines. At Gravello is neurial chapel, deserve a visit. In front of this, the
an old château, burnt by the English, 1429. prince of Talmont, the last of its long line of counts, Further on is Erbric, in the department of Ille-etwas executed, 1794, after the final defeat of the Vilaine, and province of Brittany. The next staChouans, at Mans. They had gained a victory over lion is the Republicans here, the year before.
Vitré (9 miles), a sous-préfecture in department It is a picturesque old place, having many curi Ille-et-Vilaine, on the Vilaine, having regular ous Gothic timbered houses and narrow streets, Gothic ramparts, in the feudal style, strengthened soine rather steep. The Champ de Foire, and
by machicolated towers, between two of which is especia'ly a house called Bel Air, command the a house once inhabited by Madame de Sévigné. Tho best prospects. Two bridges cross the river, the houses are ancient-looking, especially in Rucs view up which takes in the Rue Napoléon, and the Poteric and Notre Dame, and the streets narrow pretty spire of Aucsnières church, in the suburb. and irregular. The best view of this picturesquo which was founded by Guy II. in the 19th century, place is from Tertre Noir, near the walls. At the and finished in the 16th century. It contains a Jairie, once a Benedictine convent, there is a god small figure of the Virgin, much venerated by
prospect of the country, and a public library of pilgrims. Parts of the ancient town walls are left,
,000 volumes, with a plate (taken out of the walls) with the old towers at Porte Beucheresse.
'ecording the siege sustained by the town against Amongst the buildings to be noticed, are the the League, 1589. The college is an old Ursuline churches of La Trinité and St. Vénérand-the convent, and there is a school at the Madeleine foriner being the Cathedral, in the Gothic style of hapel (founded 1209). Good walks in the Parc, the 12th century; the préfecture, in a large garden; on the south side of Vitré, and at Baratière, the the palais de justice (law court), formerly the petit Comte de Traissan's seat. The fine old Castle of château, in the Renaissance style; the college; a he Ducs de Trémouille, at the west cnd of the Irrge linn 'all (ha le aus toiles); a qu').ic library, town, is used as a prisou.
An uniqke stone pulpit is seen outside the Gothic plain, on the Ille, whe.e the Vilaine joins it, and Church of Notre Dame. This handsome building, eleven or twelve roads meet. The Romans called usually called the “cathedral," was attached to a it Condate-Rhedonum, from its situation at the juncpriory, founded 1148. It is 200 feet long, and - lion (condate) of the rivers, in the country of the feet high, to the new granite spire erected in 1858. | Rhedones, a Celtic people of Armorica (i.e., the It offers some beautiful carved work. In the Virgin sea-side), as this peninsula, from St. Malo round to chapel are some curious enamel paintings; and Nantes, was called. Afterwards it took the name that of P. Landais has his monument.
of Bretagne, or Brittany, when the natives of St. Nicolas's hospital, in faubourg Rachat, is of Britain, who fled from the Romans in the 3rd and the 13th century.
4th centuries, settled here. Geoffrey Plantagenet Goat-skin dresses are made here for the country and his son, Arthur, were Dukes of Brittany in people to wear in winter time; besides a few linens, the 12th century. It finally came to the French &c. Cantharide flies are also prepared. Savary, crown by the marriage of the Duchess Anne to the antiquary, was a native. Population, 8,900. Charles VIII. and Louis XII.; to the latter in 1505. Hotels.-Des Sévigné; Des Voyageurs.
Rennes, in Haute Bretagne, was the capital of the Rail to Fougères (23 miles), see Route 18. | whole province; the Normans besieged it 873-4, Coaches to Pontorson, Avranches, &c.
and John-o'-Gaunt, 1336, in behalf of De Montfort. [About 2 kil. south is Château des Rochers, the A great fire, 1720, burnt twenty-seven streets, and
old seat of Madame de Sévigné, with a court, eight hundred and fifty houses, in the heart of the tower, the cabinet of Madame, the eight-sided | town. These have been rebuilt of darkish granito chapel in the grounds, &c.
and sandstone, and the suburbs beyond the old Further on, at Argentré, is the old château de
walls are regularly laid out; but there are many Plessis ; at Chatillon-en-Vendelais, a fine old
small, low, curiously carved timber houses, especicastle, on a height, over a lake; and at Cham
ally near the river, in Basse Ville. It is pavod peau, an excellent collegiate church.]
with caillou de Rennes, a kind of puddingstone, Descending the Vilaine, we come to
very trying to the feet. Châteaubourg (10$ miles), near which is a One old gate, the Porte Mordelaise, by which the great slate quarry. Population, 1,420.
dukes entered, on their accession, has some traces Servon (24 miles).
of a Roman inscription to the Emperor Gordian. Noyal (24 miles), among orchards, which yieli I'wo out of the eleven places are tolerably large, the Breton cider. Population, 3,100. Froin this it viz., the Place d'Armes, planted with trees, and is 71 miles to
Place du Palais, where a bronze of Louis XIV.
stood. It takes name from the large RENNES.
Palais de Justice, on the north side, built 1670, for 23!4 miles from Paris, 127 from Brest (by road). tho parliament of Brittany, with a Tuscan portion,
Hotels.-De France; De la Corne de Cerf (Stay and façade 152 feet long. It has paintings and horn); Julien; Du Commerce; Pire; Do l'Europe, decorations by Jouvenet and other artists, with There is a buffet at the station.
eight statues, one of which is the procurouir ChaloOmnibus from the station (near Champ de Mars) tais, who was expelled from the city in 1762, and to all parts of the town, 3d. or 6d.
received back with great rejoicings twenty-six Post Office, Place de la Trinité.
years after. There are pleasant walks along the Population, 45,550.
uay, nearly a mile long; and on the Thabor, la T OBJECTS OF Notice.-Cathedral-Palais de Motte, le Maille, and other promenades. That of Justice-Porte Mordelaise-Hôtel de Ville-Statuele Thabor, where stands a statue of Duguesclin, is of Duguesclin-University.
the garden of the old Ber:edictine house of St. The chief town of department Ille-et-Vilaine, Mélaine, and commands a fine prospect of the seat of a mllitary division, of a bishop, cour impé- river, &c.; la Motte faces the Préfecture. rialo, university, &c., on a slight bill, in a wide | The Hôtel de Ville, built since the fire of 1720, by Gabriel, near Place de Comédic, is a Grecian pile, Veronese, P. de Champagnc, Van Dyck ("Charles about 213 feet by 82, including a clock-tower, | 1. and Lord Arundel"), Rembrandt, Wouverman, rooms for the tribunals, schools of design, and (be- / Wynants, N. Poussin, and others; open daily, 11 hind it) a public library of 40,000 volumes, among to 4. Two rooms are occupied by various objects which are many ancient books, and 200 MSS. One of art, collected by Dr. Aussant, the director of the of the rooms contains the bust of Leperdit, a tailor, museum, in the province of Brittany. There are who saved Rennes from the worst excesses of the also a college, priests' seminary, jardin des plantes, Revolution, by the good sense and firmness with public baths. A Roman gold vase, with a bas-relief which he combated the proposals of the infamous of the triumph of Bacchus, now at Paris, was found Carrier.
at Rennes, 1774. St. Pierre Cathedral, opposite Porte Mordelaise, Guinguiné, author of the “Literary H'story of replaces the old Gothic one of the 14th century, Italy,"A. Duval, the dramatist, and Lanjuinais, one and is a very modern structure, built between 1787 of the Convention, are among the natives. Rennes, and 1811, in the Grecian style, having a portal 127 like Toulouse, is a sort of provincial capital, whero feet high, decorated with rows of columns, above some of the decayed noblesse may be found, living which rise two towers, 131 feet high. Its shape is in quiet obscurily; but, on the whole, it is a dull a Greek cross; the timber roof rests on pillars, place. which terminate in thirty-three Ionic columns, at Many of the country people dress in sheep-skins the rotonde at the east end. It contains two ban in winter, and wear their hair long; the women put ners from Sebastopol.
on high or wide square caps over their locks, which Sc. Sauveur is the best of the other churches. they sell to the dealers, who come round periodiNoire Dame, in Place St. Mélaine, marked by a cally to clip them. The men make good sailors, statue of the Virgin on the dome, is in some parts and are noted for probity, so that “La parole d'un as old as the 11th century.
Bréton vaut or” (the word of a Breton is worth The pretty chapel of St. Yves, on the quai of gold), is a proverb. that name, deserves attention. Another chapel, Sail cloth, linens, &c., are manufactured; and St. Anne's, of the 16th century, is an iron maga- there is a trade in grain, cider, butter (heurre de la zine. The Visitation Convent is a wine store. | Prévalaye), fowls (poulardes de Jauze), cattle, &c. Bonne Nonvelle convent, founded by Duke John Rennes lies beyond the region in which the vine IV. after his victory at Aunay, is a military maga
fluurishes in France.
By rail to Rédon, Nantes, Lorient, Vannes, The ancient Benedictine abbey of St. George, Brest, St. Malo, St. Brieuc, Morlnis, &c. By couch which was once a Pagan temple, is now a barrack; to Dinan, &c. The canal d'Ille-et-Rance is a series another barrack is placed in the Hôtel Kergus, of cuttings for improving the course of the upper formerly a high school for children of family. The part of the Ille, and joining it to the Ranco, at Colombiers barrack is a large building for the | Dinan. The rail hence is continued to Brest, and artillery. Hôtel Biossac is a building worth notice; / branches run from Rennes to St. Malo, to the 80 is the Theatre, by Millardet. The Arsenal, on north, and Rédon to the south. The latter passes the south-west side of Rennes, is an extensive up the Vilaine to Guichen (15 miles), Messac establishment, increased since 1844. Here are (10 miles), and Beslé (10 miles), to Redon (12 90,001 stand of arms. The Military Hospital is in | miles), for which and the line thence to Vannos, Rue 8:. Louis; the General Hospital for 500 pati &c., sce Route 42. ents, near the cathedral.
An excursion may be made to Prévalaye, a suliThe new University, begun 1849, by the river tary old château, in a pretty part of the Vilaine, side, contains the museums of archæology, geology, noted for its butter. Here Henry IV. once slopt, and natural history, a fine carved altar-piece, by a and the treaty of Mabilas was agreed on, 1799, beFlemish hand, from the old cathedral; a collection tween the royalists and republicans. Another exof engravings, and another of paintings, by P. cursion is to the Roche aux Fées.
ROU TE 15-Continued. I shining for 24 minutes, to a distance of 18 or
18 miles.-At 15 kil. south-west is Moncontour, From Rennes, on the rail to Brest, 155 miles
then Plougenast (14 k 1.), then distant, you pass on to
Loudéac (11 kil.), a sous-préfocture of 6,400 L'Hermitage (7 iniles).
population (on the branch line from Pontivy Montfort-sur-Meu (53 miles), a small sous to St. Brieuc), in a forest, of no consequence préfecture (population, 1,715), on a hill over the except for its toiles de Bretagne, or linens, Meu (where the Chailloux joins), having remains The church has a tall spire, and there is a of a mort, rainparts, and old towers. Among its linen hall, college, chamber of commerce, &c. con its were Jean de Montfort, who became Jean Hotel.--De la Croix Blanche (White Cross). IV., duke of Brittany, by the help of his heroic Pontivy is 22 kil. further (see Route 42).] wife, Jeanno of Flandres, and of Edward III. of Yfiniac (6 miles), the next station to Lamballe, England; and the famous Simon de Montfort, Earl is followed, 7 miles further, by of Leicester, who fell at Evesham in the previous ST. BRIEUC, or ST. BRIEUX. reign. It was taken from the English by Duguesclin. HOTELS.—De la Croix Rouge (Red Cros:); De
Some good mineral springs are here. At the la Croix Blanche (White Cross); Du Chapeau Thermes, or Roman baths, are two basins, each 76 Rouge (Red Hat). fect by 63 each, descended by steps. In the neigh- Population, 15, 340. A port on a bay in the bourhood is an ancient oak, six or seven centuries Channel, chief town of department Côtes-duold; also the tomb of the enchanter Merlin, on a Nord (in Lower Brittany), and seat of a diocese, hill in Brescilicn forest, near the ruins of the among hills (which shut out the sea-view), on the famous fountain of Jouvence. Good beer is made. Gouet, the mouth of which makes the harbour at The next stations are
Legué, for vessels of 400 tons. Two bridges cross Montauban-de-Bretagne (6į miles), in Brit
the river, one being of granite. A promenade, tany; and
made 1788, is carried round the site of the old
walls, and has a fine prospect at the Terrace. In Caulnes-Dinan (9 miles). Then
Place Duguesclin, is a s'atue of that warrior, who Broons (5 miles), in department Côtes-du-Yord, and Basse-Bretagne, a place of 2,600 population ;
is a great favourite with his provincial countrymen. a little beyond which is the site of Lainotte
The Cathedral, with its low plain towers, is of Broons, once the seat of the famous soldier
the 13th century, on the site of a Druid temple, Duguesclin, who died here in 1311, and to whom
which St. Brieuc, an Irishman, turned into a a pillar is set up. The country people here begin
monastery in the 5th century. It has an altar by to speak the Bas-Breton, or Brezounecq, language,
Corlay, and two pieces of Gobelins tapestry. St. a dialect of the Celtic.
| Michel's Church is an ugly structure, with Plenée-Jugon (63 miles), near the Arzuenon.
nothing else noticenble about it. Then
The Hôtel de Ville is an old building. Tho
public library contains 24,000 volumes. There are Lamballe (10 miles), on the Gouessant, was the
a museum, college, hospital, Navigation school, old sc.it of the counts and dukes of Penthièvre (a title now in the Orléans family), whose castle,
theatre, several fountains, besides a race course, or built near a monastery founded, 1084, by Geof
hippodrome, near the old tower of Cesson (which
has a double ditch round it), and the large public frey I., was pulled down by Richelieu, 1626,
gardens, which belonged to the Cordeliers' con vent. except Nôtre Dame chapel and its minaret-like
Trade in grain, cider, butter, honey, cattle, tower. The site is a pretty walk, with good views.
paper, thread, fish. Population, 4,400. Trade in woollens, money,
A branch rail was opened 1872, from here to wax, corn, leather, cattle, horses.
Pontivy and Loudéac (as above) via Quintin Hotel.-Du Croissant.
and Uzel. [About 30 kil. north-east is Cape Frehel and its From St. Brieuc, ou the rail to Brest, the next
revolving light, standing 246 feet high, and I station is