« AnteriorContinuar »
Chatelaudren (10 miles), which commands a 1 have been found on the river; and on the fine view from the ruins of its old castle.
Plæmeur road is a menbir stone, 26 feet by 10. Guingamp (7 miles), on the plain of the Trieux, is Hotel.-Des Marchands. a sous-préfecture (7,350 population), in department Plounérin (12} miles). Côtes-du-Nord, and in the old duchy of Penthièvre, The next station is with some remains of its old walls, a college, and a Morlaix (14} miles), a port and sous-préfecture market-ball, near the fountain, in the Place. Its in department Finisterre, where the Jarleau and church is large, and ornamented with a tall spire Kerlent fall into the Channel, under some picturat one end, and a sort of domed tower at the other. / esque hills. Its quays offer good prospects. Popula. Linen goods, from hence called ginghams, are tion, 14,010. Some curious old houses are seen at made. At the July “pardon," about 10,000 pil Lances, and on the Trigieux side of the creek, grims meet for devotion and business.
which runs up to the principal Place. Others are Hotels.--Des Voyageurs (Travellers); De Bre seen in Rues des Nobles and du Pavé. Of the tagne. .
four churches, St. Mathieu's is in the pointed style, (PONTRIEUX (16 kil. north), is down the river, St. Martin's stands on a hill. The Mairie and here crossed by a bridge to which the tide markets are in the Place, on the site of an hôtel de comes. Pierre de Rohan sacked the old castle
ville, pulled down 1836. It has a salle de spectacle, of Châteanlin, which stands near, in the 15th a large factory of tobacco (only pretty good century.
navigation school, &c., and walks, near the FonPAIMPOL (13 kil. north-west of this) is a bustling taine des Anglais. Notice the old Château de Tau
little port, in the Channel, with a ship-yard, &c. rean, and the viaduct over the river, 300 feet high. Population, 2,108. To the south are the old
General Moreau was a native. The English held it round church of Laneleff and Beauport Abbey. | in the 14th century. TRÉGUIÉR (12 kil. north-north-west of Pontrieux), Hotels.-De la Boule d'Or (Golden Ball); De a pleasant place, where the Gwindy and Jaudy l'Europe. join, not far from the sea, grew out of a monas Conveyances : Daily, to Paris, Brest, St. Malo, tery founded by St. Tugdual in the 6th | Rennes, St. Pol, Lannion, &c.; and by steam to century, and made the seat of a bishop. The Havre, on Wednesdays, in 20 hours. Druid stones Spaniards took it in their descent, 1592. Some are to be seen at Brenmlis and Meneguen, and of the streets are good; there is a large | other spots in the neighbourhood; and at Touqueoctagon halle and a priests' seminary. Its doc (to the cast), are fine remains of a Castle of the old cathedral Church is a curious structure, 13th century. About 15 miles north-west is with an open tower, and many quaint carvings Roscoff, facing Ile de Bas Lighthouse, where on it. Formerly it held the tombs of a duke Mary Stuart landed, 1558, on her way to marry of Brittany, and of St. Yves (or St. Ives), the the Dauphin. It is a great place for lobsters, patron saint, who was born near this.]
cray fish, and sardines, for the London and Paris Belle-Isle-Bégard (11 miles), or Belle-Isle markets, as well as for onions and artichokes. At en-Terre, on the Guer.
the Capuchin Convent is a fig tree, 200 years old, [About 24 kil. north, down the river, is
propped up by thirty stone posts. LANNION, an old-fashioned sous-préfecture (ST. POL-De-LÉON (20 kil. north-west) to the
(with 6,600 population), in department Côtes right of the road to Brest, on the coast, is a du-Nord, and a smuggling port, with a quay, decayed cathedral town, with several old about 7 kil. from the sea. The spire Church is Gothic houses, and takes its name from tho of the 12th century: and there are a college Roman legion stationed in this part. Populaand two hospitals--one on the quay, near a tion, 7,500. The beautiful granite spire of mineral water which is useful in cases of Kreisker Church, 394 feet high, was built in stono. Traces of the site of the Roman the 14th century by an English architect; and Lexonium (from which Lannion is derived) the Cathedral, with its two good tower
rose window, carved porch, stalls, &c., and f in the suburb of Recouvrance on the west. The tombs of Conan Méridec, or Meriadoc (brother Cours d'Ajot has a good view of the harbour; and to St. Patrick and king of South Wales), there are promenades at Champ de Bataille, Place Bishop Visdelou, and of the patron saint, de la Liberté, &c. deserve notice.]
A narrow passage, called Le Goulet (the gullet), Saint Thégonnec (9 miles), not far from about one mile wide, leads in from the Bay of LANDIVIZIAN, which has a good Church, and a Biscay, on the west, to the noble land-locked Rade population of 3,300.
or Harbour, which is about nine leagues in circuit, Landerneau (17 miles), where the line from would hold about 500 ships of the line, and, towards Vannes and L'Orient joins. It stands on the the east, divides off into two channels, to Lander. Elorn, which falls into the east end of Brest har- neau and Châteaulin. It is strongly defended by bour, and is a place of 5,200 population, to which batteries on every point, numbering about 1,000 vessels of 300 tons come, having large barracks for pieces of cannon; a telegraph communicates with sailors, long quays, a church of the 16th century, Paris. Outside the Goulet, about 10 miles off, is and the Plaudiry fountain, in the shape of an Ouessant or Ushant light, at the mouth of the obelisk.
Channel, where Keppel fought an action with the On the road to Lesneven (to the west), in a wild French, 1778. heath, are the beautiful ruins of Nôtre Dame du The Dock Yard includes 10 building slips, large Fol-Goet, a church built, 1423, by the dukes of dry docks, rope works (corderies) of great length, Brittany; it abounds with delicate carving and shears (machines à mâter), sail lofts (voileries), tracery.
cannon foundry, and general magazine, forges, At 11 miles further is
&c.; besides the “Cayenne," or Sailors' Barracks BREST,
for 4,000, victualling office (parc aux vivres), 245 kil., or 127 miles from Rennes. museum of models (salle des modèles), the ClerHOTELS.—Hotel des Voyageurs; La Marqué, 21, mont-Tonnerre hospital (a large building with 1,310 Rue d'Aguillon; Grand Monarque; De Provence; beds in it), a marine library of 15,000 volumes, an De la Tour d'Argent; De Nantes.
observatory, &c. English Consul, R. Swift, Esq.
The Bretagne, a four-deck screw ship, was French Service, twice on Sundays.
launched here, 1858. She was visited by the Bankers, H. Guilhem, Sh. Boëlle.
Queen, at Cherbourg. Populat on, 80,000.
The new workshops for Steam Engines, stand on A naval Dock Yard and Arsenal, seat of a mara- a scarped rock, the Plateau des Capucins. time préfecture, first class military station, &c., At the Bagne, an immense building, about 850 feet on the fine harbour, or Road, of Brest. It had a long, on a hill, there is room for about 3,000 forçats castl> of the dukes of Brittany, which Robert or convicts. Knolles held for Richard II. of England, against In the town are, a naval school, called the Duguesclin, in 1373, and which was given up to Collége Joinville, the Hôtel de Ville, St. Louis's the French, 1395. Louis the XIV. made it a church, salle de spectacle (theatre) with a good naval station, 1631, by the advice of Richelieu and front, bibliothèque of 8,000 volumes, museum, Duquesne, and built the arsenal, after Vauban's | botanic garden, medical school with a library of plan, round the old tower of the Castle of the 8,000 volumes. dukes of Brittany, which is 100 feet high, standing | Howe fought the battle of the 1st June, 1794, off at the mouth of a creek of the Penfeld (on the Brest; where the fleet continued to watch all north side of the harbour), along which the Town through the war. One of the boats of the unand Dock Yard lie.
fortunate Amazon escaped in here, 1852. The town is divided into Haute and Basse, or The climate is moist and cloudy. apper and lower, so steep as to be joined by steps | Trade in wine, eaux-de-vie, sail-cloth, rope, &c. in several places; some of the newest houses are Conveyances : By rail, to Rennes, Nantes, Lorient, &c.; by steam to Châteaulin, up the Aulne. Across naissance, has a curious chimney and a carved the harbour, and thence to Camaret, brings you to clock-tower. There are also a college, good hospital, a Druid circle called Foull-Inguet, of about 60 and several timbered houses. stones, some 18 feet high. Near it is a view of the Of the old Château, which Catherine de Medicis Bec du Raz, at the mouth of Douarnenez Bay (see | gave to her son, the Duc de Alençon, 1559, you see Route 42).
an enormous brick donjon (now used as a tele(a) From Brest, along the coast towards the west, graph), a ruined chapel, with sculptures as old as you pass Conquet (20 kil.), at the mouth of the 1142, and a highly-finished modern Chapel in the Roads, near St. Mathieu's old abbey, and the light Greek style, built by Louis Philippe. Here his on St. Matthew's Point, and overlooking the Bay family are buried, including his mother (who began of Brest, where the French were so carefully the chapel), his aunt the Duchesse de Condéwatched by the English fleet in the war ; also the Bourbon (the poor Duc d'Enghien's mother), his Passage du Four, which lies inside the Ushant, sister, Madame Adelaide (died 1847), his son, the and the other wild rocky islands, in the Atlantic. Duc d'Orléans (killed 1842), his daughter, Marie of Further on (to the north), you come to the Menhir Würtemburg, &c. A high tower close to it leads by of Plouarzel, a Druid rock 30 feet high, near a subterranean way to the chapel. St. Renan. Beyond this, are the Porçal rocks, On the plain close by, in the battle of 1562, the Abervrach haven, &c.
Calvinists, under the Prince of Condé and Coligny,
were defeated by the Royalists, under MontROUTE 15-A.
morency, after a severe action, Condé being taken Paris to Versailles, Dreux, Laigle, Ar prisoner.
gentan, Flers, Vire, and Granville. Rotrou, a dramatic writer; Philidor, the chessVersailles, as in Route 15. Hence to
player ; and General Sénarmont, were born here. St. Cyr; in the same Route. Turn off the main
Hotels.—Du Paradis; Du Lion d'Or (Golden Lion) L'Ouest line to
Du Saumon (Salmon).
Coaches to Evreux, &c. Plaisir Grignon (7 miles), and
About 15 or 20 kil. north-east, down the Eure, Montfort-la-Maury (7} miles), under the re
are Anet and Ivry (see Route 8). Up the Blaise mains of a castle built by A valric or Amaury
(10 kil. south-west), are remains of Crécy château, de Montfort, and enlarged, with more modern ad
built by Louis XIV., for Madame de Pompadour. ditions, by the Duc de L yne. It has also a fine old church, with stained windows. Near Auffargis
Here the line to Conches and Serquigny parts off. are remains of the abbey of Vaux de Cernay. Then Nonancourt (9 miles), on the Avre. Here is
Houdan (11 miles), on the river Vésgres, where the house in which Henry IV. slept the night bethe Opton joins, having a fine Gothic Church, built fore the battle of Ivry. by Robert le Pieux, and an old tower, with some Tillières (7 miles), on the Avre, is near Mesmilremains of its ancient fortifications. Population, sur-l'Estrées, the paper factory of Firmin Didut 2,500.
Frères, the first printers in France. They employ Dreux (12 miles), in a fertile part of the Blaise, above 400 hands, and make about five leagues, or near the Eure, is a well-built sous-préfecture of | twelve miles, of paper daily, in strips four feet broad. 6,950 population, who make cloth, hats, linens, &c.; A willow in the garden was produced from that and stands under a hill covered by the remains of | which overhung Napoléon's grave at St. Helena. its old castle. It was the capital of the Durocasses Verneuil (6 miles) on the Avre; and in Cæsar's time; Louis le Gros gave it to his son L'Aigle, or Laigle (see Route 11.) Here the Robert; it was burnt by the English (being on the line to Conches and Serquigny turns off. border of Normandy) 1188, and taken by Henry IV., Almenèches (11 miles), and 1593, after repeated assaults.
Argentan (7 miles). Here the line falls in The Church is early and later Gothic. The | with the Le Mans and Mezidon line. (See Route square Hotel de Ville, a mixture of Gothic and Re- | 16.) At
Briouze (18 miles), a short branch turns off to High water at full and change, bh. 80m., the tide La Ferté-Macé, 9 miles long.
setting in with dangerous swiftness. A steamer Messel (8 miles.)
comes from Jersey every Monday morning (on the Flers (3 miles.)
arrival of that from Southampton), and returns on (Here is a branch vi& Berjou Pont d'Ouilly, to Tuesday, in turn with that to St. Malo. It passes Condé-sur-Noireau, 8 miles down the river, the Chausée Minquières, and other shoals, which
where the Druane falls in, and once held by abound here. the Huguenots, who met in synod here, 1674.
ROUTE 18. Population, 6,400, who manufacture linens, nails, cotton, thread, &c. St. Martin, one of its two old Le Mans to Alengon, Argentan, and churches, is decorated with stained windows,
Mezidon. and has a statue of Admiral D'Urville, burnt By rail, 83 miles. to death, 1842, on the Versailles railway. Le Mans (as in Route 15), 130 miles from There are remains of a château which St. Louis Paris. Descending the Sarthe, our line crosses it
inhabited, 1257, and the English took, 1418.] once or twice, and reaches Vire (17 miles), on the Paris and Gran Neuvillie (6 miles). Then ville line, an old place and sous-préfecture, La Guierche-sur-Sarthe (3 miles). in department Calvados, with 7,650 inhabitants, Montbizot (2} miles), on the Orne-Sonnoise, noted for its good-looking, sprightly women. It is near Ballon (6 kil.) and its old castle on a hill. well placed on a rock, where the Vire and the Vivoin-Beaumont (61 miles). Vivoin, to the Viraine join: and the environs, being hilly, are | east, has remains (at a farm) of a priory church. To very pleasing. Among the best buildings are the
the west, 2 kil. is Foundling Hospital; a general hospital founded Beaumont-sur-Sarthe, or B.-le-Vicomte, in a beautiful by the Norman Dukes, Nôtre Dame Gothic church, amphitheatre above the Sarthe, here crossed by and a public library of 7,000 volumes.
two bridges. It is a small bustling place, of 2,400 Cards, linens of the best quality, and paper (by
population. The old Castle of its viscounts and machinery) are made here.
dukes serves for a prison; and a well-preserved Botel.-Du Cheval Blanc (White Horse).
tumulus near it, is called Motte à Madame. Several grottoes and Druid stones are near; and
Fresnay (41 miles), from which it is 5 kil to at Brimbal Hill, the highest in this quarter, the Fresnay-le-Vicomte, on the Sarthe, in a very pretty Vire, the Vey, the Seez, the Noireau, and the spot, containing several linen factories (population Grenne, all take their rise.
about 3,000), a Norman Church, two round towers Villedieux-les-Poeles (9 kil.), where the
of an old château, with parts of ancient walls, roads to Vire (see Route 17) and Granville part off,
perched on the limestone rocks, in some parts, has been noted for its manufactures of copper
90 to 100 feet above the river. The vertical strata goods from a very ancient date.
of the transition limestone, are here crossed by Granville (37 miles from Vire), at the ter- horizontal beds of Jura rock. minus, on the cliffs, in sight of the Channel Islands,
La Hutte (2 miles.) with a good sized, but shallow, harbour, inside a Bourg-le-Roi (1} mile), on the confines of fine mole, well fortified. The Vendéans tried to Normandy, was fortified by Henry II. of England, take it, 1793. Its old Gothic Church has carvings with towers and walls, now a ruin. in granite, and a spire, 312 feet above the sea. From this, it is 84 miles to . The people (17,200) are pilots, fishermen, boat.
ALENÇON. builders, and carry on a trade in grain, cider, salt, &c. There is a light on Cape Lihou, 154 feet above
165} miles from Paris. the sea.
HOTELS.Du Grand Cerf (Stag), good; De la Hotels.--Du Nord; Des Trois Couronnes.
Normandie ; De la Poste; De la Garo. English Vice-Consul.-R. May, Esq.
This old seat of the Ducs d'Alençon, is a pleasant, Sees (64 miles) or Seez, on the Orne, the old well-built town, the capital of department Orne, in Civitas Sagiorum, and a bishop's see, with an a wide, fertile plain, covered with forests, where elegant Gothic cathedral of the 12th century, the Sarthe and Briante join. It belonged to the remarkable for a fine porch, between two beautiful county of Perche, once part of Normandy. Mar- | spires, a lofty nave, carved altar-piece, &c. At guerite, Francis I.'s sister, duchess of Alençon, by the new episcopal palace are portraits of all the her firs: husband, resided here, and gave an asylum prelates. Priests' seminary in the large old abbey to many persecuted Protestants and others, who, in of St. Martin. Population, 5,050 : linen weavers, return, styled her the "tenth Muse." Some &c. The bronze statue of Conte, is by Droz. remains of the ancient walls exist in Rue du Cours. Hotels.—Du Cheval Blanc; Du Dauphin. The Préfecture is a brick building of the 17th
[To the east (5 kil.) is the old moated château d'O, oentury.
or Mortrée, built, they say, by Isabelle de The Hôtel de Ville on the site of the old Castle Bavière, but now restored.] (of which two or three round machicolated towers
Almenèches (7 miles). are left at the prison opposite it), has a fine
Argentan (74 miles). Here a line is carried on promenade.
to Vire and Granville (see Route 15A.) It is a sousNôtre Dame Cathedral, built between 1353 and |
préfecture of 5,700 inhabitants, on a hill by the 1617, is a small Latin cross, 107 feet by 32. The
Orne, in a fertile plain, near the forest of Goutfern. beautiful triple portal, with its centre arch in
Here Henry II. received the papal legates, who advance of the other two, is richly carved, and set came to mediate on behalf of Becket. The ditch off with statues; the nave has some good carvings of the old Castle of the Comtes d'Argentan makes and stained windows; and the altar is decorated
a beautiful promenade; and the portico of St. with the Assumption, and black marble, and a Germain's church is worth notice. copper canopy. A spire, 156 feet high, was struck Manufactures of gloves and linens; and a trade down by lightning, 1744. Montsort church, in the in grain, leather, fruit, cattle, poultry, and good suburbs, across one of the two bridges, is of the
cheese. 8th century.
Hotels.--Dévary; Des Trois Maures (Three There are also a palais de justice; public library | Moors); Du Pont de France. of 12,000 volumes in the Jesuits'church; theatre, &c. A Roman camp and some Druid stones are near.
Hébert, an infamous revolutionary hero, who At Pin (12 kil.) are large disused stables. edited the Père Duchesne paper, was a native.
Fresnay-la-Mère (13 miles.) A trade in grain, cider, coarse linens (toiles d'Alen-| Couliboeuf (2 miles) is the nearest station to con), bread, goose feathers, &c., and horses of a
Falaise, to which a branch line of 4 miles is made. good breed. Its manufacture of delicate lace,
[Falaise, a sous-préfecture in department Cal. called point d'Alençon, first introduced from Venice
vados, in Normandy, is a curious old town, by Colbert, has died out, but may possibly revive
founded by the Normans, and noted as the with a turn of fashion. It is rich in a geological
birth-place of William the Conqueror, whose point of view, as the neighbourhood produces
statue on horseback, was set up in October, kaolin, grey granite, &c.
1851, in the presence of Guizot, and others. Coach to Mortaigne.
Perched on the highest rocks, is the once impregThe old castle and church of St. Cenery le Géréy
nable Norman Castle, where the Conqueror first (12 kil.), stormed by the Earl of Arundel, 1484, the
drew breath, including the walls, 16 to 42 feet du Gaz glass works in Ecouve forest (8 kil.), and
high, with the keep and Tower (100 feet), remains of a monastery in Persaigne forest, may
built by the great Talbot, who took the be visited from here.
castle in the time of Henry V. It was again Leaving Alençon, the next station is
re-taken by Henri Quartre, 1589; and is now Vingthanaps (64 miles).
partly used as the communal College.