« AnteriorContinuar »
ROADS TO THE SOUTH-EAST.
MEDITERRANEE, AND ITS BRANCHES; SUPPLYING MELUN, FONTAINEBLEAU,
| 276 feet) resting on an island, and not far from the
old ten-arch bridge to Alfort (four are of wood). Main Liue.-Paris to Dijon, Mont Cenis,
Charenton is in a pleasant, healthy spot, and has a Lyons, Marseilles, Toulon, Nice, and
country-seat which belonged to Henry IV.'s misCorsica.
tress, Gabrielle d'Estrées, with a large and excelBy rail, 316 miles to Lyons, or 534 miles to Mar
cellent lunatic asylum for four hundred persons, seilles. Trains to Lyons in 14 to 16) hours for
founded as far back as 1642, and lately rebuilt in ordinary trains, and 10 hours express. Through
the Italian style. Population, 5,530. trains to diarseilles in about 18} hours express.
At Conflans, at the junction of the Marne and It passes the hilly district of the Côte d'Or, and
Seine, was a palace of the Archbishop of Paris, down the Rhône. A connection is made, via Cha
pillaged by the mob, 1831, and now a religious renton and Juvisy, to Malesherbes and Montargis.
house. (See Route 35.) Embarcadère in Boulevard Mazas, near Rue de
Maisons-Alfort(1 mile), is noted forits GovernBercy and Pont d'Austerlitz, opposite Mazas prison.
ment Veterinary College, founded 1766, by BourOmnibuses to all the trains from various points,
gelat. Population, 2,000. Central office, 21, Rue de Bouloi.
Coaches to Port-de-Créteil, Bonneuil, Créteil; The station is a large pile, of stone, 720 feet by
| and frequent trains to Paris. 262, with a hangar or starting-place, 138 feet wide. (Vincennes, to the east (6 miles from Paris,
Leaving this, outside the barrière de Bercy, is La from which there is a rail, við St. Mande), in a Grande Pinte, among wine, spirits, and oil ware forest, where nine roads meet, is remarkable houses, which continue to Bercy, where a suspension for an ancient Château, now strengthened and bridge crosses the Seine. The railway passes repaired, and made a depôt of artillery for the through the gardens (laid out by Le Nôtre), belong capital. It was built in 1337, by Philippe of ing to the decayed Château de Bercy, of the time of Valois, on the site of Louis le Jeune's countryLouis XIV. At the first station,
seat (as old as 1137). Henry V. of England, Charenton-le-Pont (37 miles), near the new died in it, in 1422. Louis XI. lived here, and, fort, it crosses the Marne by an iron five-arched as usual, made it a state prison. Charles IX. viaduct (three arches are 230 feet span, the others died in it, as did Cardinal Magarin (1661);
.nl here the unfortunate Duc d'Enghien was Coaches to Crosne and l'Abbaye d' Yères-the brought from across the frontier, tried, and latter having (at a factory) traces of an old Beneshot, by Napoléon's order, 20th March, 1804. | dictine house; and A marble pillar in the ditch marks the spot Boileau, at a house in Rue Simon. A large viaduct “Hic cecidit" (here he fell.) Louis XV. lived here crosses the valley of the Yères, 130 yards long, on when young; Mirabeau was a prisoner here; 9 arches, to the ministers of Charles X. were also sent here; Brunoy (2} miles), which is in a forest, and has a and, lately, it was the residence of the Duke of château of Louis XVIII., who gave the estate, with Montpensier. Here Thiers, Changarnier, Cav the title of Duc de Brunoy, to our great Wellington; aignac, &c., were confined on the memorable one of his many well-earned rewards though 2nd December, 1851.
scarcely heard of till his death. Rochefoucauld It is a moated space, 4,115 feet by 656, with was at one time the owner. It stands on the site of
remains of towers on the walls; and, besides a favourite seat of Philippe de Valois. There is a three or four courts, includes the tall square spire church of the 13th century. Talma had a Donjon, with round towers and turrets at the house here. Coaches to Guignes, Chaumes, and to corner (now a powder magazine); and la Sainte Brie-Comté-Robert (9 kil. east-south-east), the Chapelle, a later pointed building of the 16th old capital of Brie, in a marshy but fertile spot, century (begun 1379, by Charles V.), having founded in the 12th century, by Robert de Dreux three spires, the Duc d'Enghien's tomb, good (brother of Louis VII.), who built the old ruined traceried windows, stained by J. Cousin, in castle, or Tour-de-Brie. Robert II, built St. Etienne's which you see the devices of Henry IV. (an H.) Gothic church, which has some old tombs. The and Diane de Poictiers (a crescent). The beau Hôtel Dieu is nearly as old. Charles VII, took it tiful armoury is worth seeing; admission by
from the English, 1440. Brie cheese, pens, tiles &c., ticket, on Saturday,
are made, and there is a good trade in grain. A great fête is held in the woods, on August 15th.
Population, 2,800. Under its trees the excellent St. Louis used, Cross the Yères again by a viaduct of 410 yards, frequently, to administer justice to his people.
on 28 arches, 33 yards high in some parts. To the south of it is St. Maur-le-Pont, on the
Combs-la-Ville (2) miles), a pretty place on right bank of the Marne, near a canal of 3,640 feet tunnelled through the rock, for the purpose
the Yères. of cutting off a bend of the river.]
Lieusaint (3 miles), near Rougeau forest, seen The line runs close to the Seine, to
on the south.
Cesson (41 miles). Coach to Seine-Port, on the Villeneuve-St.-Georges (41 miles), a pretty
Seine. At 4 miles further, an iron viaduct 72 feet spot under a hill, in department Seine-et-Oise, on
high, on three arches, each 131 feet span, leads over the Seine, where the Yères joins (crossed by a three
the river to arched viaduct), among many country-seats. That of Beauregard, on a hill, commands a fine view.
MELUN, Villeneuve, so called, is as old as Charlemagne's
28 miles from Paris. time. A suspension bridge leads over to Villen HOTELS.--Du Grand Monarque; Des Princes. ouve-le-Roi.
Population, 11,290. Capital of department SeineCoaches to Drameil, Vigneux, Limeil, Boissy-St. et-Marne, and the Melodunum of Cæsar, in a pleaLéger, Valenton.
sant spot at the foot of a hill, on the Seine, which [BOISSY (5 kil. east), is on a hill covered with winds round an island here, on which the oldest
vineyards and country houses. Grosbois châ- part of the town, with its broad quays, is seated. teau is near it.]
Two bridges, one called the Pont-aux-Moulins Cross the Yères, by a three-arched viaduct, to (Windmill Bridge), on several irregular arches, join Montgeron (14 miles), in Sénart forest, which this part to the quarters on the right and left banks; bas two chateaus.
the lattor being the best built, and called s
after an old solemn-looking Gothic church of the that, a few days after, he sent its owner into 15th or 16th century, which has some excellent banishment. It belongs to the Duc de Vauxstained windows and slender columns down the Praslin.) aisles. It stands on Grande Place, near the préfec
From Melun, on the rail, you pass ture, which, with the ancient clock tower, was part
Bois-le-Roi (37 miles), at the border of the of St. Pierre's Benedictine abbe of very early date
forest of Fontainebleau. The Changés viaduct, on (when Clovis took the town 494, it had several con
300 arches, and the châteaux of Vaux-Pény (finely vents, &c.), but damaged by the Normans in their
seated), and Rochette, are seen; then, 5 miles furinvasion, and finally ruined by Henry IV. in the
ther, comes wars of the League. The préfecture gardens run down to the river, and it stands opposite the
FONTAINEBLEAU, château of Vaux-le-Peny, whence there is a good
367 miles from Paris. prospect. The Hôtel de Ville was built, 1847-8, in
HOTELS.-De Londres, a first-rate hotel, and the Renaissance style, with a new tower, inatching
highly recommended; Hotel de France; Ville de an ancient one, which it includes.
Lyon; Aigle Noir. On the Island you see the House of Detention for
Omnibuses wait on all the trains. Population, this and four other departments, an enormous
| 10,700. square pile, with two towers, &c., and a church of the 10th century, now in course of restoration. It
English Service, in Rue de la Paroisse. is the site (built on, since 1740) of the château or
This place, remarkable for its Château, where palace of the early French kings, where Philippe I. Napoléon abdicated, 1814, is a sous-préfecture, in and Robert died, and Blanche, mother of St. Louis,
department Seine-et-Marne, in a hollow of the kept her court; Isabella, of Bavaria, fled to it Forest. It is well built, and has an Hôtel de Ville; when driven out of Paris.
a church, built 1624; the Palais de Justice, in
Place du Marché, with the bibliothèque of 28,000 There are in the town, a palais de justice, in an
volumes; two hospices, founded by Anne of Austria old convent, a library of 10,000 volumes at the pré
and Madame de Montespan; a château d'eau, or fecture, a theatre, large barracks, &c.
reservoir, in Rue Baver, for supplying the founThe English held possession of Melun between
| tains; statue of General Damesme, erected 1851; 1420-3). Bishop Amyot, grand almoner of France,
and the obelisk to the south, built 1770, when and the translater of Plutarch, was born here, 1513. Louis XVI. was married.
The Château, or Palace, is an irregular pile, comTrade in grain, wine, cattle, Brie cheese, &c.
posed of five or six courts, of different ages and Conveyances : By steamer to Paris, Montereau,
styles, chiefly of brick, and high-roofed; joined &c.; by coach to Barbison, Milly, &c.
together by galleries, and adorned with wall paint[At 6 kil. north-east, on the Meaux road, is Vaux ings, Gobelins tapestry, china, &c. It originated,
Praslin, or Vaux-le-Vicomte, a fine château, 1162-9, in a hunting-seat of Louis VII., called Fonin the Renaissance stylc, built by Le Vau, fortaine de Belle eau, after a spring here; though some Louis XIV.'s comptroller of the finances, explain it Fontaine-Bleaud, from a dog of that name. Vicomte de Fouquet, at a cost of £1,500,000 Philippe-le-Bel died in it; Francis I. greatly iinsterling, and regarded, as Voltaire remarks, as proved it; it was the favourite seat of Henry IV.; one of the handsomest in Europe. It is richly Louis XIII. was born here, as was Henry III.; the adorned with sculptures throughout, and paint great Condé died here, 1686, the year after Louis ings by Lebrun and Mignard. The former XIV. had signed here the Revocation of the Edict nf artist enjoyed a salary of 10,000 francs, besides Nantes; Louis XV. was married here, 1734. Napobeing paid for each picture he finished. Louis leon, too, here married Marie Louise, 1810, and XIV. was magnificently entertained here, 1661, signed the concordat with Pius VII.(who was here but was so shocked at the display he witnessed ( a prisoner) in 1812, and abdicated, 30th March,