« AnteriorContinuar »
Tourcoing (14 mile), noted for its linge-de- , seminarist of Douai, visiting England in the 17th table, or table linen. Population, 33,500. Hotel. century; was asked, “Quid vidisti?"- What most Du Cygne.
astonished him there? “Vidi," said the scandalised Mouscron (34 miles), where carriages are priest, “Vidi episcopos, et episcopas, et episcopachanged for
tulos." (I have seen bishops, and bishops' wives, Belgium. Travellers are advised not to have and bishops' children!) cigars, tobacco, lace, &c., about them, without | Population, 24,500. Tapestry, sewing thread, declaring it at the douane, as the regulations are bone lace, &c., are made. very strict; about half-a-pound of tobacco and 25 At Douai, the line to Valenciennes and Brussels cigars are allowed. The direct route from Lille to parts off, as in Route 4. Cambrai (see Route 5;. Brussels (5+ miles distant), crosses the Belgium | The next stations towards Arras are frontier, and follows Tournay, Ath, Enghien, and Vitry (54 miles), and Hal; for which see BRADSHAW's Continental Guide. Roux (41 miles), and 54 miles beyond that, is Passengers from England to Brussels, pass through Arras, on our main line.] Lille without change of carriages.
84 miles from Calais, 119 miles from Paris. Phalempin (1 mile).
Hotels.--Du Griffon ; L'Europe; St. Pol; CemCarvin (4 miles), in departinent Du Nord, with merce; Du Petit Paris. its population of 6,100 starch-makers, &c.
7 OBJECTS OF NOTICE.-Hôtel de Ville--St. Leforest (37 miles), in department Pas-de- Waast's Abbey-Robespierre's House. Calais; then comes Du Norá again, at
Population, 26,000. A strongly fortified town, Douai (5 miles), a strong town, and sons-pré-chief place of department Pas-de-Calais (formerly fecture, having a tribunal, college, and School for of Artois province, which gave title of Conte Artillery and engineers, to which the Duke of d'Artois to Charles X.), a third-class military staWellington was sent when a boy.
tion, seat of a bishopric, tribunal, college, chamber IIotels.-Du Commerce; Du Flandre, &c.
of manufactures, &c., in a fertile plain, on the It was once a seat of the Caluaci, in Belgic Gaul, Scarpe. It was the Atrebates of Cæsar, and even and stands on the river Scarpe, which is joined to in St Jerome's tiine (5th century) was noted for the Escaut, or Schelde, by a canal. Marlborough its trade. took it in the wars of Anne's time. The old walls The Cité, or old town, on the highest ground, was are strengthened with several towers; there are built round the hermitage of St. Waast (founded in good walks on the ramparts. It has a large place the 6th century), which afterwards became a large (square), a Gothic Hôtel de Ville, with a pinnacled abbey, and has left some remains in the public belfry tower and chimes over it; an arsenal (where Library (3,000 volumes). Near this is Nôtre Dame the English prisoners were kept in the war), cannon Cathedral, built 1832, in the Grecian style, on the foundry; public library of 30,000 volumes, botanic site of the old Gothic one, which was destroyed by garden, picture gallery, museum, theatre. Every the partisans of Robespierre, who was born here.
the partisans other year an Exhibition of works of industry takes His house, a plain-looking one, built 1730, is pointed place. Another exhibition, which occurs yearly in out in Rue des Rapporteurs. July, and is attended by vast crowds from the The Ville, or lower town, divided from the other country, is the procession of Giant Gayant and his by the brook Crinchen, has good houses and streets wife, with their family, and other personages. The of hown stone, and adjoins the citadel, built by Giant is about ten yards high, dressed in armour. Vauban. Near the liðtel de Ville, a very good This popular show has been kept up for four centu- Gothic building, worth notice, are the great and ries. At the English College for priests, founded | little squares (places), surrounded with old Flemish by Cardinal Allen, the Douai version of the old houses and arcades. Other buildings are the Piem Testament was first published, 1609. A worthy | fecture, the Museum, containing remains of antiquity found here, the conspicuous Beffroi, or clock- to whom the shepherds and shepherdesses of this tower, deaf and dumb school, large barracks, riding part make an annual offering of cakes. Coach to and military schools, and theatre. The ramparts Peronne. are strong and high, and the country can be soon [PERONNE (22 kil. east-south-east), a sous-prélaid under water
fecture and fortress, with 4,500 inhabitants, in Damiens, who was broken on the wheel for trying the marshes of the Somme, was the old capital to assassinate Louis XV., was also à native. At one
of Santerre. It has a castle, enclosing a very tiine it was held by the Spaniards, who put up this old tower, called Tour Hebert, where Charles rhymne on the gates
the Simple (placed here by Heribert, Count of “Quand les Français prendront Arras,
Vermandois) died a prisoner, 929, and where, Les souris mangeront les chats ;"
too, the old fox, Louis XI., was trapped by his which when it came into French hands, some one vassal, Charles the Bold, as related in Scott's proposed to retain, merely suppressing the p in
“Quentin Durward." Having been unsuccessprendront.
fully besieged by the Spaniards, and by Henry Manufactures of cotton, woollen, lace, soap, salt,
of Nassau, 1536, it styled itself la Pucelle
(maiden), but it was taken, 1815. It has an old bett-root sugar, linseed oil, pottery, and leather are
Gothic church, and Hôtel de Ville, with a belcarried on; besides a trade in grain, wine, and
fry. At Château d'Applincourt, the famous spirits—some of the latter being kept in the chalk
League against the Protestants was signed by celiars in the Cité part. "Arras" tapestry, once
Henry III. and the Guises. Hotel.-D'Angleso much in use all over Europe, was made here.
terre.] Near this, at Plancy, is the society of St. Victor,
Corbie (10 miles), has the curious portal, &c., of founded 1841, by M. Colin, author of the Diction
a Benedictine abbey, founded 664, by St. Bathilde. naire Infernal. At Mont St. Eloy (6 kil.) is a
Coaches to Harlonnières and Rosières. At 9 miles ruined abbey; and two stones at Acq mark the spot
from this, we come to where Charles the Bald was defeated by Count Baldwin, 863.
AMIENS, Rail or Coach to Cambrai (see Route 5), Bethune, 122 miles from Calais, 81 miles from Paris, at a and St. Pol.
bifurcation, where the line to Boulogne parts ell, [St. Pol (31 kil. north-west), on the old road to
either at Amiens, or sometimes at Longueau, close Montreuil, is a sous-préfecture (population,
by it. Passengers by the night train may stop here 3,50:9), pleasantly seated on the Ternoisc, in a
to avoid getting into Paris too early. The morning healthy spot, where four great roads meet, and
train affords time to breakfast and see the Cathehaving traces of the old Castle of the Counts of
dral. Here Gambetta descended in a balloon in St. Pol.
which he escaped from Paris, October, 1870. It About 20 kil. further is Agincourt (see Route 2).
was occupied by the Germans in November, after Boileux (54 miles) is the next station from
the defeat of the army of the North by Manteuffel. Arras.
HOTELS.- De France et d'Angleterre. OmniAchiet (5} miles). Coach to Bapaume, a place
buses at the station convey passengers to the hotel, as old as the eleventh century, fortified by Charles
where there are private carriages for the use of V. against France, but given up 1659. An artesian
travellers. well was sunk here, 1723, by Feullon. It has a
Du Rhin, Place St. Denis, near to the railway. ruined castle.
De l'Univers; Des Trois Pigeons; De la Somme.
OBJECTS OF NOTICE.--Cathedral Hôtel de Ancre, which makes a fine cascade here. It has a population, 59,000. A large, fortified, and very quarry, in which various fossils are found ; and at old town, the capital of department Somme (formerly the church is an image of "our Lady of Breberie," ) of Picardy), seat of a cour impériale (assize court),
tribunal, college, and bishopric, on the river Somme, (of the 14th century), the King's House in the pas. which divides itself in its course hero into eleven or sage of that name (Logis du Roi). twelve canals, and contributes to the manufacturing Peter the Hermit, Ducange, the scholar, the poct prosperity of the towu. It was the Roman Ambiani. Gresset, and Delambre, the astronomer, were born The Spaniards took it by stratagem, 1597, but it was here. almost immediately recovered. In 1802, the peace of Manufactures of velvet, camlet, plush, ribands, Amiens was signed here, as being a sort of half-way cotton goods, and savon du nord (soap), but the place between London and Paris-a petite paix, at velvets cost twice as much as those made in Manwhich the English rejoiced so much that it made chester, in consequence of protection. Nelson say he was “ashamed of his country," and The old châteaux of Baves and d'Hæilly may be which lasted about a twelvemonth.
visited from this point. Conveyances : By railway, The streets and houses are regular; the largest to Abbeville, Boulogne, and St. Valery ; to Poix place or square is the Marché aux Herbes (herb and Rouen; and to Ham, Tergnier, St. Quentin, market), which extends about 145 yards by 48. Laon, Reims, &c. A short cut (avoiding Paris) is Good walks are laid out on the old fortifications; projected to Dijon and the south, viâ Compiegne, but the best is the Hautoye promenade, which is Château Thierry, and Troyes. regularly planted, and set off with a large piece of (VILLERS-BRETONNEAUX (16 kil. east), on the water.
Peronne road, has a thriving stocking manuThe Virgin Mary Cathedral, one of the finest in facture. France, was built between 1220 and 1288, Bishop de
AUMALE (43 kil. west-south-west), on the Rouen Fouillay having laid the first stone. Length, about
road, pleasantly seated on the Bresle, gives 440 feet; height of spire, an elegant one, 425 feet; title to the Duc d'Aumale, and has two columns the navo, which is 45 feet broad, is of the sur near the bridge where Henry IV. was wounded prising height of 141 feet, and is supported by above on his way from Rouen. The old fort stood 120 delicate pillars, some of which sound like a bell about a dozen sieges. On the north side are when struck. But the front, flanked by two towers, some useful mineral waters; and the ruins of and pierced at the base by three deep portals, is the Auchy Abbey are not far off. finest part. It has a circular window above; and NEUFCHATEL (see Route 8) is 25 kil. further the whole is a wonderful profusion of tracery, bas thence to Dieppe, 47 kil., or to Rouen, 46 kil. reliefs, niched figures, including the Last Judg Doullens 30 kil. north) has a good church, and ment, the Virtues and Vices, the Months and Sea one of Vauban's best constructed fortresses. sons, the Massacre of the Innocents, &c. Notice Population, 5,000. Hotels.Du Grand Turc: also the circular gallery, the fine windows (not De l'Europe. It can now be reached by branch stained), the tombs of the founders, Godefrey d'Eu rail, viâ Longpré (see page 16). Arras is 35 and Cardinal Hemart, the carved stalls and pulpit, kil. north-cast.] and the monument of the Enfant Pleureur (weep Boves (54 miles), on the Noye, where the Ayre ing child. It is in course of repair.
joins it, is the next station from Amiens. There The Hotel de Ville, built by Henry IV., stands on are remains of its old castle. Then comes arcades, and has some pictures. Here they show Ailly-sur-Noye (6 miles), on the Noye. the room where the plenipotentiaries signed the Coaches to Conty, Hangest, and Moreuil. Peace of Amiens.
(MOREUIL (8 kil. east) on the Ayre, or Avre, has The public Library (bibliothèque) is a large paper and stocking factories, and the château building in the Ionic style, with a good collection of Margaret de Rongé. Near it, on a high hill, of 45,000 volumes, including 400 volumes of MSS. is the Folleville Tower,sometimes called Beau
Other buildings are—the Préfecture, the Lycée voir, because of the fine view it commands. or college, the museum, corn market, citadel, jar It has a very striking appearance, and din des plantes (botanic garden), hospital of St. stands above 100 feet high. The chapel reCharles, the cavalry barracks, la Barge cloister / mains, having the marble effigies of Raoul de
Launey (and his wife), viceroy of Naples, with | Detention for women. Here Philippe le Bel was a chain round it, similar to one given him by born. It once belonged to Robert, son of St. Louis, Louis XI. at the taking of Quesnoy.]
who, marrying a dame de Bourbon, then a small Breteuil (101 miles), 6 kil. from the railway, is fief in the centre of France, first brought that illusat the Noye's head, and takes its name from the trious name into the royal line. Another seigneur Roman Brantuspansium (1 kil. south-east), where was the accommodating husband of La Belle coins, &c., have been discovered, and which was Gabrielle, who was married to her by Henry IV., destroyed by the barbarians in the 5th century. It on condition of never seeing her after the cerecame into notice after St Marie's abbey was founded, mony. Notice the old church, near the town-house, 1649; was fortified, taken by the English, and be- both spire buildings; also a museum of agriculture longed to the Montmorencies and others. The and geology; with a library of 6,000 volumes. church is as old as 1226. Population, 2,900. Hotel. Cherries and other fruit are abundant here. At D'Angleterre.
St. Felix, in the neighbourhood, excellent fossil Coaches to Beauvais, Crèveceur, Aumale, Mont- shells are found. didier, Roye.
Hotel.-L'Epée (Sword). [At 13 kil. west is
Liancourt (54 miles), on the Bresche, in a pretty MONTDIDIER, a sous-préfecture of 4,300 souls, in spot, has part of the Château (of the time of Louis
department Somme, on a hill by the Dom. It XIII.) of the late Duc de la Rochefoucald-Lianwas a seat of the Merovingian kings, and has court, who, after the Revolution, established an remains of its walls, with many old houses and English farm here, with a school of industry, &c., buildings in its narrow streets. St. Pierre's besides introducing vaccination. He is buried in church, though large and ugly, has a carved the park, under a plain tomb. porch and curious effigies of one of its early Creil (41 miles), a buffet for refreshments, 42 counts, Raoul II. In the porch of St. Sepul- | miles from Paris. Here the branch lines to St. chre's stands the tomb of another Raoul, as old Quentin and Beauvais, &c., turn off (see Routes 5, 7). as 1074; and its pulpit deserves notice. At It'stands among hills, on the Oise, and has an old. the Hôtel de Ville, in the belfry, is a niched bridge, a church with a good spire, manufactories figure, called Jean Duquesne, which strikes of pottery and pipes ; with traces of the old château the hours. The ancient Bailliage is turned into (on an island), where Charles VI. was placed the law court, or tribunal, where several when lunatic, and of St. Evremond's Abbey. The pieces of tapestry are to be seen. A cabinet of direct line to Paris, cutting off the corner towards natural history is placed in the college, a large | Pontoise, has a branch to Senlis and Chantilly. building; as is the hospital, or Hôtel Dieu. Population, 3,630. Hotel.-Du Chemin de Fer Hotels.-De Condé; De Grenadier.
[Senlis, 4 miles from Chantilly (as below) by It was an Aubry de Montdidier who was over rail, is a sous-préfecture with 5,800 population,
come in single combat, and murdered in the in department Oise, on a hill-side among the forest of Bondy, by Macaire; the murder was forests of Halatte, Chantilly, &c., where the discovered by the victim's dog-the dog of Aunette and Nonette join. It was the capital Montargis. Excellent pork pies are made here.] of the Silvanectes, iu Cæsar's time, and has St. Just (94 miles), at the head of the Arre. traces of Roman-built walls, with several old Coaches to Roye, Ansauvilliers, Cavilly, Mont gates, as the Porte de Meaux, Porte de Bellon, didier, Rosières. The country improves towards the Porte de Compeigne, &c., besides St. Louis's next station.
ruined castle. Philippe Auguste was married Clermont-Oise (8} miles), a sous-préfecture here, 1180, to Elizabeth of Hainault; and i of 5,700 souls, was burnt by the English 1359; and stood seven or eight fierce assaults of the has a famous prospect of the Vallée Dorée, on the Leaguers, 1588. The old cathedral Church, hill over the Bresche, from the Chatellier prome rebuilt by Louis XII., on the sight of CharleDade, close to the old castle, now a central House of magne's, has a plain front, with a corner spire
on a pinnacled tower, 225 feet high; also two used to show the boat in which Sir Sidney good north and south porches, built by Francis I. Smith was captured at Havre, 1796. This picThere are, besides, a theatre in St. Aignan's old turesque mixture of woods, hills, rocks, lakes, church; a hospice, now the Hôtel de Ville, a canals, falls, &c., is thought to be more English public library of 8,000 volumes.
than any other place in France. Traces of a At 2 kil. from Senlis is the old abbey of St. Vic
Roman camp are seen at Butte-Mahet.] toire, a favourite resort of Louis XI. The cross
Boran (2} miles), and its suspension bridge. bow men of this place were noted in the 16th
Beaumont-sur-Oise (41 miles), on a rock at century.
the bridge over the river, has a tower of its old Trade in wool, cotton, lace, grain, wine, chicory, |
feudal castle, which commanded the pass here. The stone, &c.
promenade overlooks a rich prospect. Conveyances Hotel.-Du Grand Cerf (Stag).]
to Viarmes (ncar Royaumont old abbey, in Ch9nSt. Leu-d'Esserent (41 miles), in department tilly forest); Noailles (near Pierre-aus-Fées druid Oise, on a hill side, with a conspicuous church in stones); Jouey, Presle, &c. the transition style. It has important lime quar [At 12 kil. east is LUZARCHES, on a hill-side, with ries, and lace is made.
remains of a Château on the site of a palace [Chantilly (6 miles from Creil by rail, 25 miles which Charlemagne gave to St. Denis' Abbey.
from Paris), has remains of a Château of the The Collegiate Church, of the 13th century, was Montmorencies and the great Condé, who was built over the relics of St. Côme, the patron visited by Louis XIV., when Vatel, his cook, of surgeons.] killed himself because the fish had not come; Ile-Adam (41 miles), so called from an island in and which, as enlarged by liis family, was the river, on which stood a château, built 1200, by pulled down at the Revolution. What remains, the seigneurs, one of whom was the famous Grund including a hunting-seat on the lake, a chapel, Master of the Knights of St. John, Philippe de l'Ilesplendid stables, for 180 horses (built 1719-35),
Adam, who held out so long at the siege of Rhodes, the English garden and grounds, was sold, 1852, 1522, against 200,000 Turks. The neighbourhood is along with the Forest of 20,000 acres, and Hez
striking. Its château afterwards came to the family Forest of 43,000 acres, but has since come back
of Condé. again to the Orléans family, its former owners.
Auvers (41 miles), 0.2 the Oise, has an old conTwelve roads meet at the centre of this Forest,
spicuous church. called the Round Table, where the "Derby''
Pontoise (2 miles), a sous-préfecture of 6.100 and “St. Leger” are run for, at the annual
persons, in department Seine-et-Oise, on a rock, over Races of the French Jockey Club, in May and
the Oise (where the Viosne joins), here crossed by a October. Hunting parties are got up here.
bridge or pont, which gave it its present and its On Lake Cammelle, is a lodge, built, they say, 5|
ancient name (Brira-Isaræ). It was held by the Nor. by St. Louis's mother, Blanche of Castile, and
mans, and by Talbot, 14:9-41, who took it by a ruse lately restored. English Church service here.
de guerre, viz., dressing his men in white when snow Blonde lace, articles in wood, &c., are made.
was on the ground. St. Maclou's church is ancient, Hotels.-Du Cerf; Du Cygne; Des Bains; Du
Bains; Du and has an alarm bell, with an inscription on it. Lion d'Or. Population, 2,980.]
There are also a large hospital and a library of 3.000 Precy (21 miles) is the next station.
volumes, besides remains of its oid walls and a casile. MORTEFONTAINE (13 kil. south-east), has a cha General Leclerc was a native; as was Flamel, an tenu, built 1770, which belonged to Joseph alchemist and illuminator of the 14th century. Bonaparte when the French treaty with notels.-Grand Cerf; Des Messageries. America was signed here, 1800. The prelimi- | Rail to Gisors, Chaumont, Gournay, and Vernon naries of the Peace of Amiens were adjusted (see Route 8.) in the Vallière pavilion, in the park (on the site (Chaumort-cise (32 miles north-west), on a of a castle of the 11th century), where they hill, topped by the Gothic church, whence there