Imagens das páginas








[ocr errors]


MONDAY, January 2, 1871. Pursuant to the provisions of the Constitution and the Statute, the Assembly was called to order at twelve o'clock noon, by the Hon. C. N. Noteware, Secretary of State.

The roll was called, and the following members elected answered to their names, took the oath of office administered by Justice Garber, and subscribed thereto:

Messrs. Barber, Beck, Bowman, Buckingham, Burlingame, Brown, Canavan, Child, Cowen, Dangberg, Delano, Dovey, Ellyson, Fuller. Garaghan, Gray, Greenhalgh, Harris, Hatch, Hay, Hogan, Jones, Lawson, Likens, Lockwood, Lowery, Manning, McClelan, McLeod, Murphy, Owen, Organ, Patchen, Piper, Potter, Rogers, Roney, Savage, Saville, Simpson, Smith, Tennant, Trousdale, Wagner, Willard, Williams.

Mr. Tennant offered the following resolution:

Resolved, That the Assembly do now organize by election of permanent officers in the following order:

Second-Speaker pro tem.
Third-Chief Clerk.
Fifth-Assistant Sergeant-at-Arms.
Sixth-Assistant Clerk.
Seventh-Minute Clerk.
Eighth-Engrossing Clerk.
Ninth-Journal Clerk.

Tenth-Chaplain. Mr. Beck moved to amend the order of business by striking out Chaplain.

Nominations for Speaker being in order, Messrs. Robert E. Lowery and

John Bowman were placed in nomination. The first ballot resulted as follows: Lowery received 24 votes, and Bowman 20, Lowery and Bowman declining, to vote; whereupon the Secretary of State declared Mr. Lowery elected Speaker of the Assembly.

Messrs. Beck and Williams were appointed a committee to wait upon the Speaker elect, and conduct him to the chair.

The committee performed its duty, and the Speaker assuming the chair, addressed the House with a few appropriate remarks, and declared the Assembly ready for business.

A motion was made to adjourn until three o'clock P. M., which was lost. Mr. Williams moved to strike from the order of business Speaker

[ocr errors]

pro tem.


Nominations for Chief Clerk being next in order, Messrs. Geo. W. Cassidy and Andrew Whitford were placed in nomination.

On the first ballot Cassidy received 25 votes and Whitford 21; whereupon Mr. Cassidy was declared elected. Mr. Bowman moved to adjourn until four o'clock P. M. Lost.

Mr. Smith then moved to take a recess for one hour, which was ruled out of order.

Nominations for Sergeant-at-Arms were announced as next in order.

Messrs. David Weaver and D. H. Pine were placed in nomination. The first ballot resulted as follows: Weaver 25 votes, Pine 21; whereupon Mr. Weaver was declared elected.

P. H. Burnham was placed in nomination for Assistant Sergeant-atArms, when Mr. Hogan moved to adjourn until 3:30 P. M.


Messrs. P. H. Burnham and P. J. H. Smith were placed in nomination for Assistant Sergeant-at-Arms. On the first ballot Burnham received 24 votes, and Smith 22 votes; whereupon Mr. Burnham was declared elected.

Nominations for Assistant Clerk being in order, T. W. McGovern and Richard Rison were placed in nomination. First ballot McGovern received 24 votes, Rison 22 votes; whereupon Mr. McGovern was declared elected.

Minute Clerk being next in order, Messrs. J. P. Curtis and Theodore Davenport were nominated. Curtis received 26 votes, and Davenport 20; whereupon Mr. Curtis was declared elected.

Engrossing Clerk being next in order, Messrs. Robert Cavanaugh and W. J. Smith were placed in nomination. Smith received 24 votes, and Cavanaugh 22. Mr. Smith was declared elected.

Mr. Buckingham moved to adjourn for one hour.
The following message received from the Senate:


Carson City, January 2d, 1871. I am directed to inform your honorable body, that the Senate is fully organized by the choice of the following officers:

President pro tem-D. L. Hastings.
Secretary-Chas. F. Bicknell.
Sergeant-at-Arms-M. S. Thompson.
Engrossing Clerk-Frank Sperling.
ChaplainGeo. B. Allen.

And that they are ready to receive communications from the Governor, and are prepared to proceed with the legislative business of the session.


Secretary A motion was adopted, amending the order of business, and merging the offices of Minute and Journal Clerk into one.

Nominations for Chaplain being in order, Rev. J. D. Hammond and Rev. J. P. Slayton were placed in nomination. On the first vote Mr. Hammond received 35 votes; Mr. Slayton, 6; scattering, 5.

Another motion was made to adjourn one hour, which was lost.

A committee, consisting of Messrs. Lockwood and Trousdale, was appointed to wait upon the Rev. Mr. Hammond and inform of his election as Chaplain.

Mr. Williams offered a resolution: That the Assembly meet the Senate in joint convention at 4 P. M., for the purpose of having the Governor and the Lieutenant-Governor elect, sworn in, which was adopted.

Justice R. R. Parkinson appeared and administered the oath of office to officers elected.

On motion, the clerk was instructed to inform the Senate that the Assembly was fully organized and prepared for business.

It being ascertained that the latest statutes required the election of a Minute and Journal Clerk separately, on motion, the Assembly went into an election of Journal Clerk.

J. C. Dorsey and Theodore Davenport were placed in nomination. On the first ballot Dorsey received 24 votes and Davenport 20; whereupon, Dorsey was declared elected.

Mr. Dorsey and the Rev. Mr. Hammond appeared and were sworn in. On motion, the Assembly then adjourned until 3:45 P. M.

[ocr errors]


Assembly met pursuant to adjournment.
Speaker Lowery in the chair.

On motion, Messrs. Lockwood, Williams and Tennant were appointed a committee to wait upon the Senate, and inform that body that the Assembly was fully organized, and ready to meet in joint convention.

A message was received from the Senate returning Assembly concurrent resolution so amended as to have the convention held in the Assembly Hall.

The committee returned, and reported that the Senate stood upon its dignity, and declined to act until the Assembly should have transmitted in proper form its concurrence in the Senate amendments to the resolution.

The Clerk transmitted the resolution in proper form, and the Senators marched into the Assembly Hall.

Lieutenant-Governor Slingerland being invited to the chair by Speaker Lowery, stated briefly the object of the convention.

On motion, Assemblyman Tennant and Senators Shamp and Hopkins were appointed a committee to wait upon the Governor and Lieutenant Governor elect, and escort them to the Assembly Hall.

On motion, Senator Bonnifield and Assemblyman Beck were appointed

« AnteriorContinuar »