Imagens das páginas
PDF

110.-Friday, January 29, 1847. J. F.-Use the utmost diligence; "avoid excite

ment.”

111.Wednesday, February 10-11-12, 1847. W W. must PROCEED.

112.--Monday, February 15, 1847. W WILL PROCEED. Thanks.

113.Saturday, April 10, 1847. RUFFTUM—WRITE to ADAM, or POOR old Joseph.

114.—Saturday, May 1, 1847. CAROL.-Remember, if unable, WRITE.—May 1.

115.-Friday, June 25, 1847.
is NOT the Opportunity.--"REFUSES.”

116.-Saturday, July 17, 1847. N OTICE.—"3rd of May, 1845 "-London, July 16,

1847. : 117.--Saturday, October 2, 1847. Z. Why should 0. Z. abandon all ; his case is not hopeless. J. & A. must have an INTERVIEW.

118.Monday, November 8, 1847. D. It has COME; I see no other course ; con

sider it again ; against yr. wishes I will not press it. Remember ever what I told you, that the relationship exists.

119.- Friday, December 10, 1847. EAR FITZY, yr. presence is REQUIRED IM

MEDIATELY. Delay not a moment. The little birds, nutmegs, silver beaks, &c., greet you.—Mov.

120.Thursday, December 30, 1847. M ASS.—How could I write, I have not heard since

V the 11th December. She has left, but will not go till after the 12th of January.-L. L. B.

121.-Saturday, March 4, 1848. TOE**** —Your POETICAL EPISTLES of 1846,

1 1847, and that of the present year, have been safely RECEIVED. Their originality is greatly admired. The party to whom these letters are addressed adopts the medium of this journal to express his thanks to his fair but unknown correspondent for the interest she appears to take in him. E**** is entreated not to carry into effect the threat conveyed by the concluding lines of her last poem.-B. P. Feb. 15, 1848.

122.Tuesday, March 21, 1848. I Hereby APOLOGIZE for having wounded the

feelings of a parent, and beg to express my regret at what has occurred.—O. L.-Monday, March 20, 1848.

123.Saturday, May 20, 1848. TFO WRITES any more he will be SHOWN UP.

124.Monday, May 22, 1848. PENITEUS.-BEYOND HOPE or CHANCE.

125.Tuesday, September 12, 1848. TO - Though every hope were blasted, the

worst news would be preferable to this cruel and lengthened suspense.-September 11, 1848.

126.Wednesday, September 13, 1848. E P. S. M.

127.-Friday, September 15, 1848. M R.-August 21 (named in yr. note), £218 145. 6d.

August 21. CHANGED ALL.-B. M.

128.--Saturday, September 16, 1848. R Z.--89.—TWO DULY RECEIVED.-H. H.

September 15, 1848.

129.Saturday, September 23, 1848. TO “INTEREST.”—To numbers I, 5, 6, 7, & 8,

Yes; to numbers 2, 5 feet 84 inches; and to number 9, No.-X. Y. Z.

130.-Friday, September 29, 1848. 7 ILE is BETTER. Dodson and Fogg have the

things and I think will bring the affair to a satisfactory conclusion. My next letter will be directed further on.-Mugger.

131.Friday, October 20, 1848. NOVEMBER was NAMED. Will that explain ?

[ocr errors]

132.Monday, October 30, 1848. TO C. C. E.—The REPORT is totally False. There

1 has been a sale of furniture lately at the private house that I left eight months ago.

133.Monday, November 13, 1848. ALFRED.-Affairs are looking dark, but I will

explain on Thursday.

134.–Saturday, November 25, 1848. VES. Address, 49, B. S. D. R.

135.Thursday, December 14, 1848. 0.-To-morrow, where we last parted, 6 p.m.-R. S.

[ocr errors]

136.Monday, December 18, 1848. ELCOME the Family Friend.

W

137.Tuesday, December 19, 1848. VOU know my wishes, my ardent wishes—what more

can I say or do? I am ill and powerless, but as well disposed as ever. Why not arrange matters ?--B. M. T. A.

138.Monday, January 1, 1849. TO A FRIEND. All the GOOD WISHES that a

real and sincerely heartfelt affection for you can dictate are OFFERED at this season.

139.Tuesday, January 2, 1849. TO C. P. A.—Your affectionate friend has no other

means but to appeal in this way to your generous heart. Pity and forgive. Forget yr. pride and unkindness with the past year. May health and happiness for ever attend you. Bear no grudge, and add not contempt to his silent grief by a dead cut.-January 1, 1849.

2. Bermine May healing pride senerous

140.Thursday, January 4, 1849. A FRIEND'S Reply. — The expressions addressed n “To a Friend” on New Year's-day, are deeply valued by him, and are interpreted as an acknowledgment and virtual approbation of a letter which he wrote you in November last, signed with his initials. Your reply can be signified by advertisement or the post.

141.Thursday, January 11, 1849. TO WALTER. -I am LOST (if you please).-Zion. Poet's-corner, Westminster Abbey.

142.-Friday, January 12, 1849. TO ZION, Poet's-corner, Westminster. If Walter 1 refuses write to J. B., King's newspaper office, Chancery-lane, who wishes most particularly to see you.

143.Thursday, January 25, 1849. V A,—“There is a tide,” &c. Yours, F.

144.—Monday, February 5-& 6-7-8-9-10, 1849. TORQUAY.-ONE LINE, no matter what its im

port, is asked by one on the verge of distraction. Silence may be thought more merciful, but it is mistaken kindness to suppose so.

145.-Wednesday, February 7, 1849. | V.-Would my DEAREST FRIEND honour me • with some indubitable proof of my position ?

[ocr errors]

a.

146.- Wednesday, February 21, 1849. F.-IS KNOWN. B. trusts they are happier than they so kindly but erroneously imagine B. to be.

« AnteriorContinuar »