Imagens das páginas


Uriel Holmes,

Ebenezer Huntingdon, Jonathan 0. Moseley, Timothy Pitkin, Samuel B. Sherwood, Nathaniel Terry, Thomas S. Williams,


Heman Allen,
Samuel C. Crafts,
William Hunter,
Orsamus C. Merrill,
Charles Rich,
Mark Richards.

From New York,

Oliver C. Comstock, Daniel Cruger, John P. Cushman, John R. Drake, Benjamin Ellicott, Josiah Hasbrouck, John Herkimer, Thomas H. Hubbard, William Irving, Dorrance Kirtland, Thomas Lawyer, John Palmer, James Porter, John Savage, Philip J. Schuyler, Tredwell Scudder, John C. Spencer, Henry R. Storrs, James Tallmadge, jr, John W. Taylor, Caleb Tompkins, George Townsend, Peter H. Wendover, Rensalear Westerlo, James W. Wilkin, Issac Williams,


From New JERSEY,

Benjamin Bennett, Joseph Bloomfield, Charles Kinsey, John Linn, Henry Southard,

William Anderson, Andrew Boden, Isaac Darlington, Joseph Hiester, Joseph Hopkinson, Samuel D. Ingham, William P. Maclay, David Marchand, Robert Moore, John Murray, Thomas Patterson, Levi Pawling, Adam Seybert, Jacob Spangler, Christian Tarr, James M. Wallace, John Whiteside, William Wilson.



Louis M Lane.


Thomas Culbreth, John C. Herbert, Peter Little, George Peter, Philip Reed, Samuel Ringgold, Samuel Smith, [ Philip Stuart.


William Lee Ball,
Philip P. Barbour',
Burwell Bassett,
William A. Burwoll,
Edward Colston,
Robert S. Garnett,
William M.Coy,
Charles F. Mercer,
Hugh Nelson,
Thomas Newton,
James Pindall,
James Pleasants,
Alexander Smyth,
George F. Strother,
Henry St. George Tucker,
John Tyler,

Weldon N. Edwards,
Daniel M. Forney,
Thomas H. Hall,
George Mumford,
James Owen,
Lemuel Sawyer,
Thomas Settle,
Jesse Slocumb,
James S. Smith,
Felix Walker,
Louis Williams,


[blocks in formation]

A quorum, consisting of a majority of the whole number of members, being present,

The House proceeded, by ballot, to the choice of a Speaker, and, upon examining the ballots, it appeared that Henry Clay, oné of the Representatives for the state of Kentucky, was duly elected:

Whereupon, Mr. Clay was conducted to the Speaker's chair, and the oath to support the Constitution of the United States, as prescribed by the act, entitled “ An act to regulate the time and manner of administering certain oaths,” was administered to him by Mr. Bassett, one of the members for the state of Virginia; after which he made his acknowledgments to the House, in the following words:

If we consider, gentlemen, the free and illustrious origin of this assembly; the extent and magnitude of the interests committed to its charge; and the brilliant prospects of the rising confederacy, whose destiny may be materially affected by the Legislation of Congress, the House of Representatives justly ranks amongst the most eminent deliberative bodies that have existed. To be appointed to preside at its deliberations, is an exalted honor of which I entertain the highest sense; and I pray you to accept, for the flattering manner in which you have conferred it, my profound acknowledgments.

“ If I bring into the chair, gentlemen, the advantage of some experience of its duties, far from inspiring me with undue confidence, that experience serves only to fill me with distrust of my own capacity. I have been taught by it, how arduous those duties are, and how unavailing would be any efforts of mine to discharge them, without the liberal support and cheering contenance of the House. I shall anxiously seek, gentlemen, to merit that support and countenance, by an undeviating aim at impartiality, and at the preservation of that decorum, without the observance of which, the public business must be illy transacted, and the dignity and the character of the House seriously impaired.”

The oath or affirmation to support the constitution of the United States, as prescribed by the act before mentioned, was then administered, by the Speaker, to all the other members present.

The House proceeded, by ballot, to the election of a Clerk; and, upon examining the ballots, it appeared that Thomas Dougherty was unanimously elected.

The same oath, together with the oath of office, prescribed by the said act, were also administered to the Clerk, by the Speaker.

Ordered, That a message be sent to the Senate, to inform them that a quorum of this House is assembled; that they have clected Henry Clay their Speaker, and are ready to proceed to business; and that the Clerk go with the said message.

On motion of Mr. Desha, Resolved, That Thomas Dunn be appointed Sergeant at arms; Thomas Claxton, door keeper; and Benjamin Burch, assistant door keeper to the House, and that they do, severally, give their attendance accordingly.

On motion of Mr. Desha, Resolved, That the rules and crders established by the late House of Representatives, be deemed, and taken to be, the rules and orders of proceeding to be observed in this House, until a revision or alteration of the same shall take place.

On motion of Mr. Strong, Resolved, That the Clerk furnish the members of this House with such newspapers as they may elect; the expense of each member not to exceed the price of three daily papers.

A message from the Senate, by Mr. Cutts, their Secretary.

Mr. Speaker: I am directed to inform this House that a quorum of the Senato is assembled and ready to proceed to business: they have passed an order for the appointment of a committee, on their part, to join such committee as may be appointed on the part of this House, to wait on the President of the United States, and inform him that a quorum of the two Houses is assembled, and ready to receive any communications he may be pleased to make to them: they have passed a resolution for the appointment of a joint committee for enrolled bills, and have appointed Mr. Wilson, of the said committee, on their part.

The said order and resolution were read and severally concurred in by the House; and,

Mr. Holmes, of Massachusetts, and Mr. Schuyler, were appointed of the committee to wait on the President of the United States.

Mr. William Wilson and Mr. Speed, were appointed of the committee for Enrolled Bills. Ordered, That the Clerk acquaint the Senate therewith.

On motion of Mr. Newton, Ordered, That the daily hour to which the House shall stand adjourned, until otherwise ordered, be twelve o'clock in the forenoon.

And then the House adjourned.

TUESDAY, December 2, 1817.

Several other members, to wit: from New Jersey, Ephraim Bateman; from Virginia, William J. Lewis; and from Tennessee, Thomas Claiborne and Thomas Hogs, appeared, produced their credentials, and took their seats; the oath to support the constitution of the United States being first administered to them, by Mr. Speaker.

Mr. Holmes, of Massachusetts, from the joint committee appointed yesterday to wait on the President of the United States, reported, that the committee had performed that service, and that the President answered, that he would make a communication to the two Houses of Congress to day, at 12 o'clock.

A message, in writing, was then received from the President of the United States, by Mr. Joseph J. Monroe, his secretary, who delivered in the same at the Speakers table, and withdrew.

« AnteriorContinuar »