« AnteriorContinuar »
Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, whose chaplain he was. In 1681, he was promoted to the sees of Killalla and Achonry; but, during the ensuing civil war of 1688 he was compelled to fly to England, where he was chosen minister of St. Helen's, and so much acquired the esteem of its parishioners, that, on his departure to return to Ireland, they presented him with a handsome service of plate, which remained in the family, and was the subject of a special bequest in the will of his hereinafter-mentioned grandson, Thomas Tenison, the Judge. In 1690, he was translated to the Bishopric of Clogher, where he repaired and beautified the Episcopal palace, and made other improvements, until, in June, 1697, he was translated to Meath, enthroned in the church of Trim, and sworn of the Privy Council. He died in August, 1705, leaving bequests for the poor of the parishes of Ardbrackan, Liscartan, Trim, Navan, and Kells ; he also devised £200 to the Lord Primate of Ireland, as the foundation of a fund for the purchase of lands, to maintain the widows and orphans of clergymen, and with a hope that the bishops of Ireland would contribute thereto. His biographers describe him as having been a prelate of unfeigned piety and learning, of unblemished life, and distinguished for his hospitalities and charity. He left a numerous family of sons and daughters. Of these
1. Henry, his eldest son, was, in 1695, elected one of the representatives for the County of Monaghan, and, in 1703, one of those for Louth; which trust he continued to discharge for several years. On the death of his father he became his sole executor, as he was his residuary legatee, about which time he was appointed one of the Commissioners of His Majesty's revenue, and, in 1707, purchased the estate of Dillonstown, in the barony of Ardee. He married Miss Moore, of the noble house of Drogheda, and had issue by her, Thomas Tenison, his son and heir, called to the Bar in 1731, and subsequently elevated to the Bench, as one of the Justices of the Common Pleas. He had married Dorothea Upton, daughter of Thomas Upton, M. P., and Recorder of Derry and of the Templetown line of ancestry; by whom he had an only son, Richard, who died in 1759, an event which the Judge out
lived for twenty years. A daughter of the above Richard married Henry, the son of Alan, and ancestor of the present Sir Alan Bellingham, carrying with her, to that family, a considerable portion of the Judge's estates, which he specially bequeathed to her.
2. Richard, the second son of the Bishop of Meath, represented Dunleer in the Parliament of 1715, and subsequently ; at which time he also exercised the right of patronage to its union. He was likewise seised of considerable estates in the Counties of Leitrim and Roscommon, amongst which were the lands alluded to as in the Barony of Boyle; he died in 1726, leaving, by his wife, Margaret, one son, William Tenison, and two daughters, Elizabeth and Margaret, who died unmarried, the survivor in 1743. This William, the son of Richard, was, in the alarm period of 1746, Lieutenant-Colonel of the 35th Regiment of Foot, raised in Ireland to oppose the expected invasion in support of the Pretender. He married Henrietta, one of the co-heiresses of Robert Percy, of the City of Dublin, and left issue by her, William Barton Tenison, so styled from the Barton property, in the County Louth, which he inherited; he resided at Carrickmacross, and, in 1765, intermarried with Charité Noble, by whom he had issue, Captain William Barton Tenison, of Lough Bawn, County Monaghan, who died in 1840, leaving a son and three daughters. It must not be forgotten, that the widow of the above Richard Tenison, soon after his death, viz., in 1728, married Doctor Delany, the friend of Swift, who is supposed to have printed, at their residence, Delville House, in Glasnevin, the first impression of his “ Legion Club,” and to have been aided, in many of his productions, by the talent and wit of this lady. In the garden of that very interesting place, where the wits of the day used to assemble, is a temple, enibellished with a fresco painting of St. Paul, and a medallion of Stella, by this Mrs. Delany, while, on the opposite face of the side wall of that little edifice, where the Doctor and his lady passed their happiest hours, is a mural slab, within the parish churchyard, commemorative of their deaths. PousVOL. I.
sin's celebrated picture, and the touching epitaph “ I too was in Arcadia,” could not be more powerfully illustrated than here(a).
3. Thomas Tenison was the third son of the Bishop, whose line shall be noticed hereafter.
4. William Tenison was a fourth son, and he left a son, another Richard, who is mentioned in the will of the Judge, as his first cousin, and a limitation of certain estates in remainder, to him and his issue male, was thereby created.
5. Norbury Tenison, born in 1691, while his father was in exile at St. Helen's, incurred the displeasure of his family by his improvident and reckless habits.—Of the daughters of Doctor Richard Tenison, Mary married Henry Coddington, ancestor of the Coddingtons of Oldbridge, to whom came, through her, the Dunleer property.
To return to Thomas, the third son of the Bishop, commonly called Captain Thomas. He succeeded, under the will of his brother Richard, to the Leitrim and Roscommon estates, before alluded to, and died about 1763, leaving by his wife, Alice (who died in 1775) an only son, Thomas Tenison, the younger, and two daughters, Mary Jane, married, in 1759, to the Honourable and Reverend Richard Roper, son of Lord Teynham, and Anne, married, in 1750, to James Edwards, of Oldcourt. Thomas Tenison, the younger, intermarried, in 1758, with Mary Anne Degennis, daughter of John Daniel Degennis, Esq., of Portarlington, at which place he continued to reside for some years, afterwards at Rosefield, County Monaghan, and lastly at Colville, on his Roscommon estate. The issue of his marriage was one son, Thomas, and a daughter, Frances, the latter died unmarried. Thomas was elected representative of the Borough of Boyle, in the Parliament of 1792, and was afterwards promoted to the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel of the Roscommon Militia. In 1803 he intermarried, as before mentioned in the Memoir of the King family, with Lady Frances King, the youngest daughter of the first Earl of Kingston, by whom he had two sons, Thomas, who died, as before mentioned, at Florence, in
(a) See “D’Alton's History of the County Dublin,” p. 344, &c. 1843, unmarried, and Edward King Tenison, a captain in the 13th Dragoons, and a Deputy Lieutenant of the County Leitrim, who has intermarried with Lady Louisa Anson, the daughter of the Earl of Lichfield, and by her has issue. Colonel Thomas, on the decease of Lady Frances, married Mary Anne Coore, daughter of Colonel Coore, of Scruton Hall and Hauxwell, in Yorkshire, by whom he had issue, one daughter, Thomasine Sophia, married to Robert Saunderson, of Drumkeen and Ravenswood, County Ca
The latter portion of this pedigree, so far as regards the descent from Dr. Richard Tenison, is proveable by the wills of his son and namesake, Richard, dated 30th October, 1725, and by the will and codicil of his grandson the Judge, dated respectively in 1772 and 1776, both of record in the Prerogative Court of Ireland.
Greyfield, not far distant from Kilronan Castle, is another locality associated with the memory of Carolan. Here it was that Henry Mac Dermott Roe, the eldest son of the Bard's great patroness, often received him; and here, as related by Mr. Hardiman, in the Irish Minstrelsy, “ whenever he wished to retire from the noise and bustle of company, he directed his attendant to provide him with a pipe and a chair, and to lead him to the garden, where he used to remain, absorbed in thought, or modulating some of these favourite pieces which have ever since been the delight of his countrymen. Greyfield House,” adds the same author, “is now occupied by Hugh O'Donnell, Esq., the elder representative of the ancient chiefs of one of the most illustrious tribes of Ireland, and the eldest male descendant, in a direct line, from Rory, Earl of Tyrconnel, brother of the celebrated Red Hugh, who, by the talents he displayed, in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, proved himself one of the most illustrious heroes that Ireland ever produced.”
From the village of Loughend, so called, as being at the head of Lough Meelagh, between Kilronan Castle and Keadue, a wild mountain road crosses to the Iron Works, in the valley of the Arigna, whence it passes over that river to Drumkeeran. Another road, however, leads from Keadue, by this locality of Greyfield, into the heart of those coal and iron mountains before described. On these, as on others of the same elevation, although not a tree is at present to be seen, yet is it evident that woods have been heretofore extensive, and their timber of considerable size. The Iron Works, attained by this road, stand on the townland of Derreenavoghy, and, as shewn in the annexed plate, close to the Arigna river. They comprise all necessary furnaces, casting-houses, boilers, steam-engines, forges, &c., for the establishment, a great portion of which was erected within the last thirteen years; yet the operations have been, as before-mentioned, paralyzed, and, although the artist has, in the engraving, represented the works as in full play, the appearance is rather what might be hoped for, than what exists; the valley is silent, and the furnaces give no smoke—even the bridge in front of the works, one arch of which was swept away by the violence of a winter flood, has never since been repaired, although it was the immediate line of