Imagens das páginas
PDF
ePub

LONDON : PEINTED BY W. CLOWES AND SONS, STAMFORD STREET.

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small]

L ON DO N : WILLIAM T E G G.
1860.

[graphic]
[ocr errors][graphic]

A SERIES of papers which originally appeared in ‘Fraser’ are now, for the first time, published in a collected form with the consent of the proprietors of that Magazine. It should, however, be stated, that this is not a mere reprint, but that other matter has been inserted, and several illus. trations, which did not appear originally, are now added, by which the work is very materially increased: the whole having undergone a necessary revision. Since the late Mr. Crofton Croker contributed to * Fraser’ the ‘Walk from London to Fulham,” there have been many important changes on the road: time has continued to efface interesting associations; more old houses have been pulled down, new ones built up, and great alterations and improvements have taken place not contemplated a few years ago. It would be impossible, for example, that any one who has not visited the locality

during the last few years could recognize the narrow lanes of yesterday in the fine roads now diverging beyond the South Kensington Museum, which building has so recently been erected at the commencement of Old Brompton; but modern improvements are seemingly endless, and have of late become frequent. It is in the belief that the following pages will be an interesting and acceptable record of many places no longer in existence, that they are submitted to the public in their present shape by

T. F. DILLON CHOKER.

« AnteriorContinuar »