Imagens das páginas
PDF
ePub
[ocr errors][ocr errors]

of ground at the junction of the Limmat and Sihl, below the town, is also a public walk : it is planted with shady avenues, but commands no view. Here is a simple inonument to the memory of Solomon Gessner, author of The Death of Abel,” who was a native of Zurich.

Zurich is historically remarkable as the place where the Reformation first commenced in Switzerland, under the guidance and preaching of Ulric Zwingli, in 1519. It was the asylum of many eminent English Protestants banished by the persecutions of the reign of Queen Mary : they met with a friendly reception from its inhabitants during their exile. The first entire English version of the Bible, by Miles Coverdale, was printed here in 1535.

Zurich is the native place of Hammerlin, the reformer; of Gessner, the poet, and Gessner, the naturalist; of Lavater; and of Pestalozzi, the teacher.

The principal manufactures are those of silk, the weaving of which occupies many thousands in the town and along tlie shores of the lake. There are one or two large cotton-lactories. The cotton and silk goods made in the neighbourhood, and in other parts of the canton, are the object of an extensive commerce with Germany and Italy. Many of the manufacturers of Zurich have the reputation of great wealth, without much polish.

The Museum Club contains a capital reading-room, where Galigoani. The Times, John Bull, Examiner, Athenæum, and Literary Gazette, Quarterly and Edinburgh Reviews are taken in; besides all the best Continental journals. Travellers can be introduced for a few days by a member.

At the shop of Henry Füssli and Co., near the stone bridge, will be found the best collection of maps, views, etc., such as travellers often require to supply themselves with.

The New Post and Diligence Office is built near the Liebfrauen Kirche. A letter reaches England in six days.

Diligences go daily to Schaffhausen, Constance, Basle, Bern, Neuchâtel, Lucerne, Schwytz, Wintherthur, and St. Gall, Rapperschwyl, and Coire; four times a-week to Glarus.

A Steam-boat goes twice a-day from Zurich to the other end of the lake (Rapperschwyl) and back. Diligences convey passengers thence to Wesen, where another steamer is prepared to carry them across the lake to Wallenstadt. (Route 14.) Travellers proceeding to the Righi may take the boat as far as Horgen.

The voituriers (Lohnkutschers) of Zurich have the reputation of being extortioners and uncivil. The writer can, from experience, recommend as an exception to this rule (is rule it be) one Jacob Aberli, living, in the Hirschgasse, as having

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[graphic][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][subsumed][merged small][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors]
[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small]

served him with honesty, punctuality, und civility, for more than four weeks.

ROUTE 9.

ZURICH TO CONSTANCE, BY WINTERTHUR.

12 stunden=39 1/4 Eng. miles. A diligence daily in 9 hours.

The road passes through Schwammendingen and Bassersdorf.

On the banks of the Töss, about 3 miles on the rt. of the road, and nearly 4 miles from Winterthur, rise the ruins of the Castle of Kyburg, memorable in history as the seat of a powerful family of counts; who, between the 9th and 13th centuries, gained possession of the N. of Switzerland, as far as the Rhine and lake of Constance, and numbered as their dependents and vassals 100 lords of minor castles, now for the most part in ruins. The line becoining extinct in 1264, their domains fell to the share of Rudolph of Habsburg, and the Austrian family, though long since deprived of them, still retain among their litles that of Count of Kyburg. The ruins now belong to a citizen of Winterthur.

The ancient Dominican Convent of Töss, on the road, now converted into a factory, was the chosen retreat of the Empress Agnes asier the murder of her father, Albert of Austria. Here her daughter-in-law, St. Elizabeth of Hungary, took the veil, and died in the odour of sanctity: her monument, with the arms of Hungary, is visible in the existing church. The cloisters, built with the church in 1469,

are ornamented with fresco paintings from the Old and New Testaments.

4 1/2 Winterthur-(Inns: wilder Mann, good ; Sonne;} -an industrious manufacturing town, of nearly 3500 inhabitants; consisting of two long parallel streets, crossed by eight smaller ones at right angles.

The weaving of muslin and the printing of cotton are the most thriving branches of industry here.

21/4 Frauenfeld-(Inns : Krone, best and clean; Hirsch) -the chief town of the Canton Thurgovie (Germ. Thurgau), has 1200 inbabitants, and is situated on the river Murg, which sets in motion the wheels of numerous cotton, dyeing, and printings mills.

The stately Castle, on the summit of a rock, was built in the 11th century by one of the vassals of the Counts of Kyburg.

On a hill to the S. of the town stands the Capuchin Convent, founded in 1595, now occupied by only seven or eight brothers.

1 Pfyn, a village on the Thur, was, in Roman limes, a frontier fort, called Ad fines; whence its modern name.

3/4 Mühlheim,

1'1/4 Wäldi. A wooden tower has been erected on the summit of a hill near this, called Hohenrain, on account of the extensive view it commands. 2 1/4 CONSTANCE, in Route 7.

ROUTE 10.

ZURICH TO ST. GALL.

14 3/4 stunden=48 English miles.
A diligence goes daily.
The road is the same as Route 9 as far as

4 1/2 Winterthur. Hence by Elgg and Dutwyl, crossing the Murg to

3 314 Münchwyl, 1 Wyl, 2 Flahwyl, station of post-horses, by the Kratzeen bridge (Route 69), to 3 1/2 St. Gall. Route 66.

ROUTE 13,

ZURICH TO BERNE, BY BADEN AND LENZBURG, 23 Stunden=75 1/2 English miles. A malleposte goes daily in 14, and a diligence in 17 hours. As far as

4 1/3 Baden the road is the same as Route 6. This rouie is very circuituus. There is another direct road to Lenzburg, by Bremgarten, but it is a mere cross road, not practicable for heavy carriages.

At Mellingen, the river Reuss is crossed by a wooden bridge. Some have supposed that the battle in which the Roman general Cæcina beat the Helvetians, A.D., 70, was fought here.

3 Lenzburg-Inns : Löve, good; Krone ;)-a manufacturing town of 2000 inhabitants, on the Aa, a stream which drains the lake of Halwyl. The old gothic castle on the summit of a sandstone clif, is now converted into a school, on the plan of that at Hofwyl.

At a village called Hunzenschwyl, the road to Aarau turns off to the right, and that from Schintznach and Brugg joins our route.

1 314 Suhr. On the right rises the ancient fortress of Aarburg (p. 17).

2 3/4 Kreutzstrasse-( Inn : Löwe.) — The high road from Båle to Lucerne here crosses our route. At Rothrist, 1 1/2 farther on, there is a good inn (Cheval Blanc Rössli), kept by a civil landlady. The road runs along the rt. bank of the Aar to,

« AnteriorContinuar »